Search:

SIYE Time:13:08 on 23rd October 2017

Reviews For Knavery

Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2016.08.18 - 02:13AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.12.28 - 07:19PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

What intrigue!

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2013.12.11 - 11:04AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

A fun little one shot that I think captures the character of the two main characters very well, while pointing out the absurdity of the pairing. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. That's pretty much what I set out to do. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2013.11.28 - 06:27PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

That was really good. I was wondering what your Ginny and Draco story would be. As always you write both Ginny and Draco very faithful to the book characters. I love your Ginny.

Author's Response: Thank you. I try to keep the characters as faithful as I can to the books. Not everyone thinks I succeed, but I do my best. I'm glad you like my Ginny. -N-



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2013.11.14 - 02:18AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstar

Love the story !

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.11.01 - 09:16PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Interesting story, but I'm trying reason out the "why?" of its existence. Ginny tries to see if there's a chance for a truce between the Weasleys and Draco? She's trying to determine if Draco is really reformed? She's just saving Fenella from having to deal with Draco? Maybe all, but I'm guessing definitely the last one. I can't imagine how that meeting could go well for anyone. A Luna meeting with Draco would have been interesting, however.

So, Fenella is from one of the most ancient pureblood families? I shouldn't be surprised; she was in Slytherin. But she doesn't have the stereotypical pureblood attitude (or snobbery). Part of what makes her interesting, I suppose.

I assume Astoria Greengrass is the other person who accepted the invitation. I wonder if Draco's meeting with Ginny throws him off balance enough for him to be civil with her? Perhaps not - although they end up marrying, there isn't any indication that it was anything more than a marriage of convenience (numerous fanfics to the contrary).

Is Draco's character nuanced enough to be considered complex, like Snape (and Dumbledore for that matter), and maybe deserving of pity and understanding? I don't really think so. I think all of his actions can be explained but a combination of cruelty, cowardice, and self-interest. I really don't think he's capable of compassion, no matter how many fanfics consider him the redeemable bad-boy that ends up with Ginny, Hermione, or Luna (ick), or even with Harry (squick-ick). I think even JKR has said as such in interviews - that woman tend to romanticize the wrong kind of guy way too often.

Regarding the bottle of mead - Really nicely done; especially the part about three glasses missing, but only one that was drunk. It even made me wonder if she was working on getting revenge for Ron's poisoning and near death. Bravo!

Please keep writing, I'll keep reading and reviewing.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

You’re correct that Ginny’s visit is due to “all of the above” plus a degree of curiosity as to what Malfoy Manor is like and (as you suggest in your penultimate paragraph) a reminder to Draco that the Weasley’s haven’t forgotten what he did.

There will be more revelations about Fenella in my other stories. Her father (it should be obvious) is a snob. Her mother, however, is much more easy-going.

Astoria is a very good guess (I may even write a one-shot about her visit, one day). At the moment, however, I’m working (almost exclusively) on my chaptered stories as I try to get at least one of them completed. But, Christmas is approaching, and I’ll probably try for a Christmas story, too.

I agree with your assessment of Draco. In canon, all of his actions can be explained but a combination of cruelty, cowardice, and self-interest (and, I believe – bigotry). Draco is the first young wizard Harry meets, and his first question to Harry is a coded “are you a Pureblood?”, which Harry misunderstands. Draco is the KKK member who’s been unmasked. In fanfiction, he usually gets a complete personality change (only "gorgeous and fashionable" Hermione suffers similar indignities – although you could argue that Ron the evil Death Eater is even worse).

JKR’s quote is: People have been waxing lyrical [in letters] about Draco Malfoy, and I think that's the only time when it stopped amusing me and started almost worrying me. I'm trying to clearly distinguish between Tom Felton, who is a good looking young boy, and Draco, who, whatever he looks like, is not a nice man. It’s a romantic, but unhealthy, and unfortunately all too common delusion of — delusion, there you go — of girls, and you [nods to Melissa] will know this, that they are going to change someone. And that persists through many women's lives, till their death bed, and it is uncomfortable and unhealthy and it actually worried me a little bit, to see young girls swearing undying devotion to this really imperfect character, because there must be an element in there, that "I'd be the one who [changes him]." I mean, I understand the psychology of it, but it is pretty unhealthy. (The Leaky Cauldron and MuggleNet interview Joanne Kathleen Rowling) The standard response to this (I've found) is JKR was wrong.

The next chapter of Hunters and Prey has been submitted.

-N-



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2013.10.29 - 06:20PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 07:46PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Loved it. The mischievousness of Ginny really shines through in this story.

Author's Response: Thanks, I’ve always thought that Ginny has a wicked sense of humour. -N-



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 06:38PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

You had mentioned to me earlier in a review response that you are planing to write a draco/ginny story. I was waiting for it since then and was secretly hoping that its not gonna be be some lost love story between the two. However I read the entire story with no worries despite the fact that you expertly put the "next occupant of the bed" twist. That's because you uploaded the story on SIYE first and I knew that story has to be purely H/G if it got validated on SIYE. If you uploaded it on ff.net first, I am sure you could got into me.
Any how the story writing and the idea behind it is superb. The interaction between Draco and Ginny is also perfect. The need to put Fennilla case is a little bit forced as I didn't think that Ginny would visit Harry's Rival without his approval just to fulfill an unneccessary promise. But I hope that this part was important in explaining as to why Ginny went to the Manor in the first place and the entire story takes place. A more Genuine cause or an accedental bump would be good.
The discussion in the Manor was exactly character driven as I always thought Ginny to be a little aggressive and very protective of Harry especially infront of his rivals and Durseley. I despise the idea of some fics in which Ginny act as a piece maker between Harry and Dudley. I think Ginny will punch Dudley the minute she meets him.

All in All, Excellent Story. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review
My “lost love” story involving Ginny is called Mistletoe Kisses, there won’t be another one. You’re right, of course, if this was a real… (that’s the wrong word, isn’t it? – I’ll try again) If this was a misguided Draco/Ginny story then it wouldn’t be here.
I could, and should, have clarified the reasons for Ginny’s visit. It takes place on Ron’s birthday, four years to the day after Draco almost killed him, and that was uppermost in Ginny’s mind when she decided to go. Thanks for pointing that out. I’ll take a look at the story again.
I agree with you, I think that Ginny is a fierce defender of Harry (and vice-versa). I’ve actually written a Ginny meets the Dursleys chapter (for the sequel to Hunters and Prey) and she’s certainly not a peacemaker.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 04:31PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

An excellent story as always. Though I think Hermione's pranks at Malfoy Manor are perhaps a tad more fun.

Author's Response: Thanks, I suspect that you may be right. -N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 02:04PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

Nicely done. I admit I had to read the previous reviews, just to be on the safe side.

Author's Response: Sorry about that. :-D
I never know how to advertise these things. The reviews help settle readers nerves (I do the same). I intend to submit this to fanfiction.net in the next few days. Harry hardly appears in this story, but if I put Ginny and Draco down as the main characters I may get some less than positive reviews.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 07:58AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant little interlude. Meanwhile, back at the ranch.

Author's Response: Thanks
Yes, Dad. Sorry, Dad. I'll get right back to it, honest.
-N-



Reviewer: trigg Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 05:39AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

Great one shot. Liked it. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. -N-



Reviewer: zequist Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 01:42AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

Well done! I enjoyed the whole story, but especially the conversation between the two of them. It seems like a Malfoy thing to do to seek a marriage for political or practical reasons rather than romantic ones, and it definitely seems like a Weasley thing to do to turn the process into a farce!
I remember about ten years ago having discussions with some D/G shippers because I wanted to know why they liked it...frankly I found the whole idea abhorrent (and still do). They said (among other things) that they loved the parallels with D/G to Romeo & Juliet. I disagreed with that. I don't see in-character D/G working as an R&J story at all, and I told them that the only context where I could see a plausible D/G relationship dynamic would be something more akin to Hamlet. Draco has a lot more Hamlet in him than Romeo, and while Ginny is much, much stronger and more proactive than either Juliet or Ophelia, I think between the two basic scenarios - either a) the R&J scenario of the two of them totally besotted with each other and tossing all their family ties, upbringings, and previous beliefs aside to elope at the first opportunity, or b) the Hamlet scenario of Draco seeing Ginny's presence as something he might be able to use to further his own ambitions in some way, and his manipulations eventually driving her 'round the twist - the latter seems far more in-character for both. Although Ginny being Ginny, she'd be much more likely to get angry in that scenario, hex him, and walk out the door, rather than clinging on until his behavior drives her into a full-on mental breakdown like Ophelia. From the way you wrote this, it sounds to me like you were thinking along somewhat similar lines.

Author's Response: Thanks for the long and thoughtful review.
Sometimes I think that I should write more about the Malfoys, they make great villains. I really can’t see the Malfoys abandoning their Pureblood status, as Draco is a Mudblood-hating bigot, so an arranged marriage is really the only choice.
The Romeo/Juliet analogy works only in that it’s a romance between members of warring families. However, Montague didn’t try to sacrifice Juliet to the Dark Lord and Romeo didn’t poison Juliet’s brother. Those are thing which I doubt canon Ginny could forgive, or forget. We’re always told that Ginny is a forceful character (although Harry doesn’t notice the fact until OotP). As I entirely agree with your assessment, I’ll say no more.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 12:42AM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

I admit to being shocked when it appeared that Ginny had gone out with Draco, especially since in the first section the other occupant of Ginny's bed wasn't named. My mind, after reading your author's note, had already jumped to conclusions.

Narcissa's plan certainly backfired when it came to Fenella, Luna and Ginny. It certainly proved to Ginny that her son was still the self-centered twit she'd had to put up with in school, no matter what her boyfriend believed. Her prank was priceless and definitely proved its point.

Well done.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I vacillated (a lot) on whether or not to name Harry in the first section. I even considered deleting the section entirely. To mislead, or not to mislead, that is the question. :-D My author’s note was intended to reassure readers.

Narcissa’s plan did not entirely fail. You’ll probably be able to guess who Draco’s other visitor. That meeting will go a lot better for Draco. I may even write it one day. As for Ginny’s prank, she’s in discussion with Katie Bell about the possibility of sending Draco a necklace at Christmas.

-N-



Reviewer: G3ntle1 Signed Date: 2013.10.27 - 11:40PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Love it!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.10.27 - 09:29PM Title: Knavery

What a warp trip...kutgw

Author's Response: Blame Ginny, not me. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.10.27 - 07:03PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent one shot! I love the bit with the mead.

Author's Response: Thanks, this story grew from the original idea of Draco/Ginny and the mead. -N-



Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2013.10.27 - 05:30PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2013.10.27 - 05:25PM Title: Knavery

starstarstarstarstar

"Knavery" is an interesting title for this one, since we all have a bit of the knave in us, including Ginny.

Author's Response: Thanks. Titles don’t often give me problems (although Hunters and Prey was originally Beastly People – which I hated). Titling this one was a lot of trouble. It is filed as “Draco Story” on my hard drive, and I tried several titles. I dismissed “Harry’s Rival” because it’s untrue (unlike Ginny’s Rival which is, in a way, correct). I considered “Kindred Spirits?” but I don’t like titles with a question mark in them, and I eventually settled on Knavery because it’s obscure, and also because it brings me one letter closer to my aim of having an alphabet of story titles. :-D -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear