Search:

SIYE Time:5:46 on 18th June 2018

Reviews For Curing Dudley

Reviewer: Mysinger1 Signed Date: 2017.07.18 - 09:29PM Title: The Solution

starstarstarstarstar

A delightful Story! Glad that Dudley made peace with Harry.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the story. It was a fun one to write because I was able to explore what went on in Petunia's head. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: wrappedinharry Signed Date: 2015.02.05 - 04:19AM Title: The Solution

starstarstarhalf-star

Well, I am glad for Dudley that he finally fits in somewhere, though once again I do find the total personality transfortmation a bit hard to take: that bullying, small-minded Dudley could not only fall for a witch, but a physically disabled one is nothing short of miraculous. But Petunia has reverted to type in this chapter...I was sure her 'niceness' was an aberration. She was positively rude to the three witches.

Why did Big D's wand only cost 3 galleons when Harry's cost him 7; I suppose it's because so many people are hurting financially after the war. But Mr Ollivander would be suffering too and 3 galleons is less than half waht he used to charge.

I didn't think Petunia would stay away from Vernon for too long. Dudley seems to be just as unaffected by the distancing from his parents as they are from him.

I always pictured James as having dark hair like Harry...same as Albus. Mind you, this might be because redheaded men don't really do anything for me at all. Little boys are OK, but they grow up. And this is coming from someone who is a redhead. LOL.

I'm sure you know by now that I have copied and pasted these reviews over at SIYE so that your review count over there is increased by 3.

Lesley

Author's Response: My premise with Dudley in this story was to treat him as a child. For years I have heard my own son parroting the opinions of my husband and me as though they were his own. It's just been in the last year or two that his thinking has matured and he's dared to disagree with us. This is what I have based Dudley's character on. Growing up, Dudley watched his parents belittle his cousin and discovered that being like his father made other kids like himself gravitate to him. Then, at the age of eleven, he goes off the Smeltings where I imagine he bullies kids and joins the boxing team simply because he is bullied himself and needs a positive outlet for his aggression. Also, while JKR doesn't show anything that happens to Dudley while he's away from his parents, one might think that someone at the school might try to influence Dudley into changing his attitude a little. Of course, years of certain attitudes at home won't be erased overnight, but maybe the teacher Dudley is mentored by might have helped him start to consider what sort of person he wants to be when he grows up. Therefore, when Dudley finds out he's a wizard and his mother gets him away from his father, Dudley can become his own man, making his own decisions on what he wants his life to be. I'm glad you like how Petunia reverted once Dudley's problem was taken care of. She's had too many years being jealous of Lily to fully embrace her son's magic and stay away from her husband. Also, you nit pick about the price of Dudley's wand; my only defense is that I picked a price out of thin air because I was in a hurry to finish the story prior to the entry deadline. Finally, I don't think the color of James' hair is very significant to this story. As long as he looks like one or both of his parents, people will know he is a Potter/Weasley. Thanks for reading and reviewing.



Reviewer: wrappedinharry Signed Date: 2015.02.05 - 01:28AM Title: The Problem

starstarstar

Hmm, I'm afraid I found Both Harry and Ginny to be very OOC in this chapter. I can't believe that Harry's bitterness didn't show through and as for Ginny...this is a redhead, a Weasley and Molly's daughter and to be so accepting of the woman who made the boy she loves, life an absolute misery all the time he was growing up I can't imagine she wouldn't have let her ire show through. Ginny Weasley is a very feisty lady; she wouldn't have made the grade as a national and international Quidditch player otherwise.

Petunia too, I think, would have been very stiff and formal and a lot more disapproving of Ginny, just as she always was of Harry. She showed her disdain of the females who might be helping Dudley and Ginny must have also reminded her a little of Lily...both redheaded witches.

I think Harry's attitude at Grimmauld Place was more to the point and it just seems so strange that he went full circle from being bitter and angry to actually liking his aunt.

I would have liked to see some more fireworks, certainly from Ginny.

Lesley

Author's Response: Since this was a Challenge Story, I was limited to 20,000 words and I needed to make sure I had enough room left for the third chapter. That's why Harry and Ginny seem a bit out of character; I wasn't going to waste space on ranting and raving when I needed to get to the heart of the Challenge. I think I wrote Petunia the way I did because she's desperate. Dudley wants to continue learning magic and is at odds with his father in a big way. As for Harry, I imagine his ordeal with the Horcrux hunt taught him what was important to waste as little energy arguing as getting things done. The thing is, you don't know what sort of other conversations Harry and Ginny had between him getting Petunia's letter and the two showing up at the restaurant. I think by that time Harry was resigned to the fact that his aunt wasn't going to go away until he helped her. Also, his remark about them being civil to each other reflects, to me, on just how mature he became while on the run. I hope this helps you understand some of the whys of this story. I hope you enjoy the final chapter better than you seem to have liked this one.



Reviewer: wrappedinharry Signed Date: 2015.02.05 - 01:27AM Title: The Conflict

starstarstarstar

I like the way you have started this tale just after the dementoids-dementy-whatsit-demented-thin gies attack and progressed through time from there. It is appalling that Petunia and Vernon covered up Dudley's accidental magic and even more appalling that they punished Harry for ALL the accidental magic that went on in the house. Vernon would have loved that; it must have felt good that he finally had an outlet for the frustration that Dudley's powers must have engenedered in him. I am surprised that Harry didn't ever see any sign of Dudley's latent talents, but then I suppose he was too busy trying to outrun Dudley and his gang all the time.

Dedalus is to be commended for convincing Dudley that his magic was in no way freakish and in teaching the young wizard how to harness his power. That Petunia's jealousy of Lily would spill over and influence her feelings for her son is just so sad. Petunia is in fact the one most at fault IMO because she was the one who grew up with a magical person and she was the one who would have influenced Vernon's (and then Dudley's) opinion that magic was a freakish thing and not to be tolerated under any circumstances.

At least Petunia isn't able to just turn her love for her son off like a switch, but it appears as if Vernon is able to do just that...but then, he was probably a bully as a child and teen, just like Dudley became. I did wonder why Dudley didn't hear from Hogwarts...but he did. He must be very bitter now that he has embraced magic so wholeheartedly that he may never reach ihis full potential as a wizard. But who knows, he might have ended up a bully at Hogwarts just like Crabbe and Goyle.

I don't know what Petunia thinks Harry can do to help Dudley though, and it doesn't seem as if Dudley's opinion of Harry has softened at all either.

Nicely written and a great premise...I have read one story where Dudley asks for Harry's help because his daughter is proven to be magical.

Lesley

Author's Response: You're right about Harry not seeing Dudley doing accidental magic because he was too busy trying to avoid his cousin as well as dodge his Uncle Vernon. I suppose he is so accustomed to being blamed for everything Dudley does that it didn't even register on Harry's radar that he hadn't done some of the stuff he was being blamed for! Once Dudley is forced to face up to the fact that he really is a wizard, he decides magic isn't all the freakish as his parents have always told him. At this point, he has absolutely no remorse for what he did to Harry when they were kids, but I think that once Vernon turns on him, he begins to understand just how horrible it must have been for Harry to live in their house. Because this was a story written for an SIYE Challenge, there were things I absolutely had to include and those included Petunia contacting Harry and begging for his help. Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoy the next two chapters.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2013.11.20 - 09:01PM Title: The Conflict

starstarstarhalf-star

I find it hard to believe that Dudley would put up with the way his father is treating him and can't really picture Vernon attacking his belved (even f he is magical) son. However I'm keen to see where you're going with this:)

Author's Response: One of the difficult decisions a writer for this Challenge had to make was how in character or out of character to make Vernon and Petunia. For this story, I used Vernon's behavior at the beginning of OotP and a couple of other references in canon which state that Harry has learned to stay out his angry uncle's reach as the basis for his behavior. I also thought long and hard about how he reacts to things he doesn't understand; like many people, he's afraid of and dislikes magic because it's something beyond his comprehension. Put that with his keen sense of what others think of him and it's easy to make the jump from abusing Harry because he's magical to abusing Dudley because he's magical. I hope this helps. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2013.11.20 - 01:02AM Title: The Solution

starstarstarstarstar

Legend has it that, "As the twig is bent, so grows the tree." Happily, Dudley isn't a tree!

Author's Response: I've always thought that Dudley is young enough that if he could get away from at least one parent, he could at least begin to form his own opinion about magic. Getting to actually do it is just icing on the cake. Thanks for reading and sharing the legend.



Reviewer: zequist Signed Date: 2013.11.15 - 01:48PM Title: The Solution

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good story! When Harry mentioned bringing over a potential tutor last chapter who had battle injuries I was wondering if you were going to sic Lavender on Dudley; that would have made for an amusing scene, but Morag definitely seems like a better match for him from what little we see of her. Shame Aunt Petunia still couldn't bring herself to accept his choices in the end anyway, but it's hard for small-minded, fearful people to stop being small-minded and fearful. It's to Dudley's credit that he at least was able to grow beyond that life. For all of Uncle Vernon's many faults, the man did seem to have a good head for business (even if his people skills stunk), and it's good to see that Dudley appears to have inherited that from his father, at least.

Author's Response: I actually thought about using Lavender, but I'm not sure I could write her successfully. By using fairly obscure characters for Dudley's tutor and girlfriend, I felt I could create the personalities I needed to make the story believable. The other thing I thought long and hard about was whether or not Petunia could let go of her envy and loathing of her long-dead sister. In the end, I decided that these emotions were so ingrained into her personality that it would be impossible to let go of them. Dudley, on the other hand, is still young enough to break free from his parents' prejudices, make up his own mind about what he feels about magic and then make a successful go at running his own business. I'm glad you liked the story enough to share your thoughts with me.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.11.15 - 12:01PM Title: The Solution

Very nice ending.....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and letting me know you liked the story.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.11.15 - 07:25AM Title: The Solution

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Happy for Dudley.

Author's Response: Everyone needs an happy ending, especially someone who grew up in such a prejudiced household as Dudley and Harry. Thanks for reading. It sounds like you enjoyed the story.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.11.13 - 09:45PM Title: The Problem

Well that went better then I thought...kutgw

Author's Response: I agree. But then again, Ginny knows just what to say to Harry to persuade him to do something he doesn't want to do. It doesn't hurt that Petunia is desperate to help Dudley either. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2013.11.13 - 04:06PM Title: The Problem

starstarstarstarhalf-star

It's good to see Petunia needing a little more time to change her attitudes--her personality wouldn't change overnight.

At Mrs. Figg's? How does she think she's going to be safe from Vernon when she's at most a block away?

Author's Response: I'll address your second concern first. Petunia had a problem with where she could go because she was taking Dudley with her and he wanted to continue doing magic: I agree that Mrs Figg's house isn't the best or safest place because the Ministry doesn't have record of her (OotP) since she's a Squib, but at least she's connected to the Floo Network. The idea was that Petunia and Dudley would stay less than a week at Mrs Figg's while Petunia arranged for suitable, magical lodgings and a tutor for Dudley. I think Petunia thought the concept of "hiding in plain sight" was best until she could make the arrangements where Vernon was concerned. For this story, I'm assuming that Petunia thinks that learning magic is just another "phase" in Dudley's life and she's willing to put up with it for a little while, indulging Dudley as it were until he tires of it like he has with so many other things. Mums do that sort of thing, worrying only when the latest fad becomes a little more permanent than expected. As Ron would put it, hippogriffs don't change their spots… and neither will Petunia, I expect. Thanks for reading and taking the time to share your thoughts with me.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.11.13 - 08:17AM Title: The Problem

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I always like Dudley stories.

Author's Response: He is an interesting character to explore simply because if you get him away from Petunia and Vernon's prejudices and let him have his own opinion, he just might be a decent bloke! Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.11.11 - 07:51PM Title: The Conflict

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I think it's impossible to write some of these AU challenge stories without making some of the characters OOC. Particularly this one with Petunia and Dudley. However, it looks like you've managed to do it without bending their characters too much. Just as long as you don't end up making Dudley and Draco into best buddies and fashion icons at Hogwarts, just before the Yule Ball where all the hot girls want to date them. :-)

Author's Response: Whenever I write some of the "major" peripheral characters, I think it's important to remember what little we know from canon about them before further developing their personalities and psychologies. I promise to keep the rest of the story as realistic and true to Petunia and Dudley's characters as possible while not making them so OOC that they are unrecognizable as the characters we know. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2013.11.11 - 04:43PM Title: The Conflict

starstarstarstarstar

I liked the changes you made! I'm looking forward to more and seeing if Dudley's attitude towards Harry will change. Your title had me wondering what Dudley will be cured of - being a wizard or his prejudice towards Harry and the magical world.

Author's Response: The more I've thought about the title, the more I think it's a change in Dudley's attitude toward both his cousin and the magical world itself as he learns to work with the powers his parents were afraid to let him explore as a child. Also, ultimately, Petunia hoped that by exposing her son later in his life to magic, he would choose not to be magical and thus be "cured" of his fascination with his abilities and not use them! You'll have to wait for the epilogue to see if she's right. Thanks for all the help you've given me on this story.



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2013.11.11 - 03:53PM Title: The Conflict

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Intriguing extrapolation of Vernon's character.

Author's Response: My inspiration for Vernon's characterization in this story is the opening chapter of Order of the Phoenix and a reference in Half-Blood Prince to Harry keeping his distance when his uncle was angry. Also, I think most of Vernon's rhabdophobia (fear of magic) is based on his lack of knowledge on the subject: he fears what he doesn't know, and because his personality is such, he reacts badly when magic is performed near him. I hope this explains his demeanor in the story for you. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.11.11 - 02:22PM Title: The Conflict

Some times people need to get the heads out of there butts and allowed to see what is becoming in front of them....kutgw

Author's Response: If you're referring to Uncle Vernon, you may just be correct. Thanks for reading and reviewing.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear