Search:

SIYE Time:13:10 on 23rd October 2017

Reviews For Friends and Foes

Reviewer: RhuddCaruDu Signed Date: 2017.05.30 - 02:50AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

I love all your stories, they just bring the characters that extra bit of life. Your details and writing style make for a fantastic read. Now I just wish you would finish all of them. I've been aon about of a judge read this week and it's so frustrating getting suxked it to one of your excellent stories into yo abruptly reach the end. But such is the life of a fabrication reader. Anyways love your stories, keep writing. Please update..... All of them 😀

Author's Response:
Thank you.
My plan is to finish them all, although I've no idea when. Strangers will be done this year. James and me won't. Strange Place might be. As for the others, I need to finish Strangers first.
-N-



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.12.19 - 04:25PM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoying this story! You write a large variety of characters so well. I'm quite curious to see what will happen with Astoria and Draco, as well as with Pansy and Nott. Rather creepy relationships, but intriguing nonetheless! Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I try to makethe minor and original characters distinct individuals. I'm currently working hard on "Strangers at Drakeshaugh" and "James and Me" (a story about adult James Sirius and Annie Charlton). I'm adding bits to this when I get the chance, but I doubt you'll see another chapter for a few months, sorry.. -N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.02.17 - 03:48AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Good chapter.
Robards is a bit like the wizarding world...a bit backwards and not ready to accept change.
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks Robards is suspicious of change, and harks back to a "better time". I'm currently very worried by the sheer number of my fellow countrymen who appear to feel the same way.



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.02.15 - 04:12AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

This is great work. I am very happy that you have started writing again, North. I understand you were having some personal issues. I hope things are better with you.

I both dislike and like Nott. He is a true Slytherin and I think you write his character extremely well. Nott is smart but Pansy isn't and I have a strange feeling she will be his downfall. I don't understand what he is doing with her anyway. A guy like that would be better suited for someone to match his intelligence. It could just be business for him but that is an awfully stupid thing to do if he wants to be a criminal mastermind.

In some ways he reminds me of Moriarty. He is obviously intelligent but he prefers to get others to do the work all the while seeming innocent. I love it all though. Poor Abigail. She needs to tread carefully here.

Author's Response:
Things are getting better, thanks.

Thanks for your thoughts on the Theodore/Pansy relationship. I agree that heís a true Slytherin, he tries to keep his options open. I try to get into his head with a couple of one-shots (The Pencil Portrait Problem and Nott: Father and Son). Why is he with Pansy? He has his reasons. Someone better suited to match his intelligence? There may be such a person, but thatís another story. :D

Abigail is going to be in trouble.

-N-



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2016.02.14 - 12:05PM Title: Home Life

Glad to see you are back! Although I was very sorry to hear about the loss of your mother.

I love all of your stories, or as you say you're one large extended story. I am always thrilled when I say an update.

I'm anxious to see how this is all going to work out. Now that the shipment is coming in things are getting interesting. Not quite sure what to make of Nott. I had to go back and skim parts of the story to refresh my memory I might have to go back and reread the whole thing to see what I've missed.

Very much looking forward to your next update! Keep up the great work you're an excellent storyteller.

Author's Response:
Thanks

This story is the first one I plotted. In fact youíve yet to see the first scene I ever wrote (and you won't because although I like the idea, I don't like the way I wrote it), which was the capture of Goyle. I had this idea for a scene, and then thought ďHow did they get there?Ē I didnít realise how many years it would take to answer that question.

I know what Nott is trying to achieve, and youíll find out eventually.

-N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2016.02.11 - 12:01PM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

Neil is back!. Thats brilliant, and I hope it means job problems are solved. A cosy chapter and you managed to give a lot of information about the case anbd even about Bobbie, even if it"s Sunday. Abigail is sort of trouble, isn't she? I hope her indiscretion isn't a problem to their investigation.

Author's Response:
Job problems are resolved. After Easter I wonít have one! Iíll be getting a payout, so weíll see how things go.
I was trying to move the plot forward while also giving a glimpse into the home lives of various couples. I may do the same in the next chapter, Iím not sure yet. Weíll see when I start writing it.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2016.02.11 - 08:03AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

If your designs are to have your readers read the entire story in order to remember what is happening in the plot, I applaud you. The time between chapters was long enough for me to forget what was happening, so I spent the time to read from chapter one. Hopefully, you'll update a bit sooner next time.

That said, my respect for Theodor Nott has gone down several pegs with this chapter, since he's just as involved with the Blechleys and Flints as Pansy is, it seems, just in a different capacity.

I enjoyed the Mirrorphone scene with Abigail. Despite all of the warnings Harry gave her, she acted like a typical, star-struck teenaged girl and her hero worship, and that of her friends, made me giggle. Hopefully, nothing too serious will go wrong with the shipment now that Nott is definitely involved.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I had no intention of being away for so long that people would forget. Iím certainly hoping that Iíll have more time for writing and Iím concentration on my unfinished stories and trying to resist the temptation to write one-shots.

Theodore Nott is going to appear in the next chapter, too. Weíll see what you make of him after that.

I donít think youíve seen the last of Abigail.

-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.02.10 - 06:29AM Title: Home Life

Ron is right but so is ginny to have harry trust his instincts and go with the flow of the investigation.....kutgw

Author 's Response:
Ron was wrong about the toaster. :)



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2016.02.10 - 03:57AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Lovely to see you posting again ,I hope all is well.I have had a couple of years away as both my parents were very frail with the dreaded Cancer that blights so many lives ,I just read stories not write so appreciate what little time is left of free time.I have caught up with your stories on here and fanfiction.net, You are truly a skilled and masterful story teller it was a pleasure to catch up with your universe again . The plot of Friends and Foe is thickening very nicely indeed! we are getting to the exciting parts , I really enjoy your take on Theodre Nott and his relationship with Pug nosed Pansy.I if he is going to be Harry;s Moriarty ?.

Author's Response:
Thanks. Things are as good as they can be under the circumstances. My mother was top priority from October until she passes away, and then I was her executor. That was only sorted a few weeks ago.

In the next chapter youíll see more of Theodore and Pansy, and Bobbie and Lavender, and Siryf Dyddgu Phillips, andÖ well lots of others. At the moment itís a very confusing, because Harry is confused.

Theodore is, in some way, a Moriarty, although heís amoral and self-serving rather than immoral and ďevilĒ. At least I hope he is.

-N-



Reviewer: parakletos Signed Date: 2016.02.10 - 03:49AM Title: Home Life

I'm trying to work out, why in the midst of a long list of things showing how ancient his family is, Nott would use a word like 'burglarising' rather than burgled?

Author's Response:
Damn! Good point. Iíll change that.

Sometimes I forget these things.

-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2016.02.10 - 01:19AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

Yet another excellent chapter in spite of the dad joke (and the second update in one day! It's like Christmas!)

Author's Response: Thanks. I tell my kids that dad jokes are an essential part of growing up. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2016.02.10 - 12:08AM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

Neil, it's great to see you make your triumphant return! I hope life is treating you well. An exciting and plot moving update! Between this and the updates to James & Me and the newest MIT things look like they are picking up. And with so many stories set past this one it's incredibly interesting to see the pieces of the puzzle click into place.

Thanks, as always, for taking the time to keep up on your insanely expansive addition to the Potter mythology.

Author's Response:
Thanks. I lost my mother in early December to the stroke she suffered two months earlier, Iíve now had two month, and Iím beginning to come to terms with things. My younger brother has pointed out that Iím now the family Patriarch! Iíd done a lot of work on both James & Me and MIT: Entente Cordiale before my motherís stroke, so they were the easiest to get completed. Other than the ďelectronical toast makerĒ part of the Ron/Hermione section, which was in my folder full of ďscenes Iíll use when I get opportunity," this chapter is new. Itís the first thing Iíve sat down and written this year (although the latest chapter of MIT was written only up to Auror Cresswellís appearance, about halfway through.

Iím not sure which piece of the puzzle youíll see next. Iím trying to finish some stories, and MIT is top of that list (because itís closest to completion). As for my Harry/Ginny stuff, I need to find Jacquiís voice, and remind myself about what you know. Whether Strangers, this story, or something else comes next, Iím not sure?

-N-



Reviewer: Inquisitor Signed Date: 2016.02.09 - 09:21PM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice chapter, I'm so happy you are updating this story again!

Anyway, I'm always of the opinion that those Slytherins who tortured their fellow students in year 7 should all be sentenced to life in Azkaban.

Remember, even one use of unforgivables means life, and they certainly used them many times.

Harry should finally draw some lessons from giving bad guys second chances. If Colin was really killed by Goyle according to your story, Harry then would at least suffer some serious guilt trips.

Also, letting Dolohov go resulted in the death of Remus Lupin.

Author's Response:
Iím happy Iím updating this story, too.

Harry has cast both the Cruciatus Curse and the Imperius Curse, soÖ

Itís interesting that you say ďIf Colin was really killed by GoyleĒ anyone who wants to know more about Goyle, Lavender, Susan and many others should read ďTales of the BattleĒ for answers. The version on ďArchive of Our Own is the most recently edited/expanded version. I keep meaning to update the version on fanfiction.net, but it takes work, because it involves stripping out the html code.

-N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2016.02.09 - 09:13PM Title: Home Life

starstarstarstarhalf-star

LOL. The mirrorphone episode was funny. So was EDAM. Your last sentence is really frustrating me because I have to wiat for an update I know will take a while as you are a vey busy writer. The last sentence is kind of hanging.... anyway, excellent update as usual. I look forward to more updates of this story and the others. Well done, you.

Author's Response: Thanks Itís been too long since I updated, and Iíve really missed this site, and my reviewers. Hopefully Iím back to making regular updates as life returns to normal. -N-



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2015.07.10 - 04:45AM Title: Diagon Alley

starstarstarstarstar

Thanx for the update.
I like how you develop these secondary characters like Astoria, Lavandet etc.

Author's Response: Thanks. If things go according to plan, the next chapter will be mostly Harry and Ginny (and about time, too). -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2015.07.07 - 03:50PM Title: Diagon Alley

starstarstarstarstar

That was masterfully done by Ron, Neville, Bobbie, and Lavender. Separating Draco and Astoria so Lavender can work on the interrogation. And Lavender plays the role very well.

The Astoria in your stories isn't very bright, is she? I've seen her written various ways, but this characterization seems to make the most sense.

The variation of the Marauders Map is quite a useful tool for the Aurors. I can see where it could easily be abused.

Author's Response:
I'm glad you saw that as a plot. Because I wrote the last section from Astoria's perspective, and she had no idea what was happening, she thinks Lavender's arrival just after Ron & Co. have separated her from Draco is concidence.

Astoria is, I think, a bit of a chancer. She's not completely stupid, but she's not the brightest button in the box.

Exactly; restrictions will be imposed on the use of Maps, although Trudi Corner will have cause to complain about them to Harry (in Strangers chapter 20)

-N-



Reviewer: PikkuNika Signed Date: 2015.07.07 - 12:59PM Title: Diagon Alley

starstarstarstarstar

As always, a great chapter!

Harry's little run-in with sexy Abi was really funny. I can just imagine him being horribly embarrassed and Ginny being just a little bit angry at a teen, when he tells her about this after work. I bet Ginny still gets a tad jealous even after all this time, and over a ridiculous teen girl, too.

Lavender sure knows how to work her best assets, Astoria didn't know what hit her once Lavender got going and was all chatty and sympathetic. I do hope she'll get a bit more confident once Daphne is back and she's settled down with Draco, I like to picture her as the woman who made Draco become good.

Author's Response:
Thanks
Once invented, the Mirrorphone system is out of control.You may see some reference to Abi in the next chapter.
Lavender can chatter. As for Astoria, I'm not certain how much Draco will change, but she'll gorow into someone he relies on.
-N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.07.07 - 09:07AM Title: Diagon Alley

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Great chapter. Loved the idea of the map. Draco is in trouble, again.
Lavender totally worked Astoria.
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks
What someone made, others can re-engineer. I've often thought about writing a story about Hermione, Ron, George, Harry, Terry and Fenella working on the map, but that will probablt be a Terry/Fenella story.
Lavender did.
-N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.07.07 - 05:19AM Title: Diagon Alley

starstarstarstar

Whoa. Now, I am truly intrigued. JKR did not really say much about Daphne or Astoria Greengrass and this really opens up a very wide field to play in for fanfiction writers. I am curious to see where you are going with these characters. I would love to hear how Bobbie will get to know aboug Quidditch. I think that a chapter update or interlude of her education into the magical world would be great fun to read. A lot og humour could be ingected into this and also sadness as in a visit to St. Mugno's and then there is WWW.... now that would be great, wouldn't it? And Gringotts.... now, that should shake her up, surely! And Azkaban.... oh, dar me.... will Alcatraz come into play perhaps?

Author's Response: Other that "she's one of Pansy's gang" JKR said almost nothing about Daphne in the books, and Astoria is simply a JKR quote. I've been told that Daphne is usually portrayed as extremely attractive in fanfictions. Were that true, I think we'd know. Soon after Ron and Hermione's wedding, Bobbie becomes a Puddlemere fan. Her introduction to the wizarding world will continue in this, and other stories.
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.07.06 - 03:42PM Title: Diagon Alley

Ah lab did what she needed to do and Draco just played in to RONS hands....kutgw

Author's Response: Yup. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear