Search:

SIYE Time:5:45 on 18th June 2018

Reviews For Ancestors

Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2014.08.07 - 11:18PM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice, and I'm glad Harry was able to spend some time with his ancestors and learn a bit of his history. Thanks for taking the time to share your story-telling with us!

Author's Response: The more I think about Harry's longing for a family, the more I'm convinced that he's been cheated by all the adults he knows/has known because it seems that hardly anyone wanted to take the time to tell him about his extended family, the people he saw in the Mirror of Erised. This story was one way for him to learn about his family's history and thus feel that sense of belonging we all have from knowing who came before us. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.



Reviewer: Dopeydo Signed Date: 2014.07.12 - 08:01AM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Dopeydo Signed Date: 2014.07.07 - 08:24AM Title: Experiment

starstarstarstarstar

It's so sweet :D

Author's Response: Thanks. I look forward to more of your reviews.



Reviewer: Dopeydo Signed Date: 2014.07.07 - 08:11AM Title: Plans

starstarstarstarstar

Holy cow, Harry planning something properly :D And his manner is so sweet. I like the look back into Hermione's past; she gets so little attention in that regard in Rowling's works. Curious as to what Harry's going to do with the Horcrux. Nice one :)

Author's Response: I think Harry, Ron and Hermione did try to plan the foray into the Ministry properly, they just didn't carry their plans past getting into the building or how they would escape once they successfully retrieved the Horcrux from Umbridge. I also think Harry learned from that experience and from what occurred during his last encounter with a Time-Turner back in third year; with this knowledge, he was able to formulate a simple, easy to carry out, plan so that he could return to his time without changing much. As for Hermione, I agree with you. Inventing a past for her was fun. Also, Harry didn't take a Horcrux with him when he went back to 1901 because his purpose wasn't to hunt Horcruxes but to explore his extended family and get to know the people who came before him. I'm glad you liked the chapter.



Reviewer: Dopeydo Signed Date: 2014.07.07 - 08:01AM Title: Discovery

starstarstarstarstar

Your attention to the little details makes this feel so very well grounded and personal :) And the Cleaning Charm bit was just perfect. I'm curious as to how long Harry will keep this hidden from Hermione though.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like my writing style. When a reader can "see" what I want them to, I know I've been successful. The cleaning charm bit was from another story I've had to abandon because most of it is held captive in a broken computer. I'm glad you liked it. As for how long Harry will keep his plans secret from Hermione, keep reading to see what happens. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.



Reviewer: Jeograph Signed Date: 2014.05.21 - 10:59AM Title: Sheep

A lovely tale of discovery, and a wonderful side adventure for Harry. I loved your descriptions of the sheep farm and the activities engaged in, there. In some ways I wanted to see Harry reveal to his Grandfather that he was a Wizard, but I understand it all worked better for him not to. In any case, I enjoyed your story very much. Thanks for writing and sharing!

Author's Response: In the early stages of planning this story, I did consider Harry telling Cameron that he was a wizard, and he nearly did when the two boys were in Cameron's room and the photo waved at Harry. However, the dialog didn't flow as smoothly as I thought it should, so I scrapped that bit and have Harry leave the Potter farm with everyone thinking he was a Muggle. That way, he didn't upset the timeline too much. Doing the research for this story was fun because it showed me an aspect of Scottish history other than the political one we usually read about in history books. I think what fascinated me most was the creative ways people came up with for making sheep washing an easier task. The pictures on Google Images of sheep washing pools, pits and dams fascinated me and helped me decide how Harry's great-uncle was going to carry out the task. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts with me.



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2014.05.18 - 09:29AM Title: Experiment

P. Sherman?
Not the P. Sherman from 42 Wallaby Way in Sidney?
Or did you intend to make a "Finding Nemo" reference?

Author's Response: Now that you mention it, I may have unconsciously tuned into the "Finding Nemo" character. At the time I pulled the name out of my head, I thought it rang a bell, but no, the reference was not intentional! Thanks for helping me figure out why P. Sherman seemed so familiar! Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.05.16 - 11:27AM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Good story. Read it all in one go. Definitely the best way.
Good luck for the challenge.

Author's Response: I was thinking reading it straight through in one go is the best way to do it because the story isn't that long. Thanks for the best wishes and for reading my story.



Reviewer: Brennus Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 02:36PM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

Great story: very different take on the whole 'go back in time' thing. I guess my major complaint is that it was a bit too much like work. The day I read this chapter I'd endured an hour long lecture on the effects of changes to European subsidy payments on farms in wales and Scotland! Coming home and reading a HP story about a sheep farm was nearly too much. ;-) Still, I can't fault the agricultural stuff at all. Nice work.

Author's Response: I'm very sorry my story reminded you of work. Honestly, it wasn't meant to! The reason I chose a sheep farm in rural Scotland is that a story I had to abandon last year due to seven un-backed-up chapters being imprisoned in our broken computer included the description of a farm Harry owns. That gave me a good jumping-off place and a chance to use some of what I'd written in the abandoned story. (I still have hopes of being able to recover the files and eventually publishing the story...however, the process is quite expensive.) Once Harry learned of the farm, it made sense for him and Hermione to hide there, explore it a bit, and have Harry find the hidden Time-Turner and use it to go back in time to spend time with his ancestors. I'm glad you like the story. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 08:30AM Title: Discovery

starstarstarstarstar

I was just tweaking you about the 'implied intent' of the challenge; expressing admiration for choosing a counter-intuitive path and using it as a vehicle for something you obviously have passion for. Anyway, it's possible that someone else may deliver an eleventh hour surprise, but it seems pretty clear to me that this is the best of the bunch!

Author's Response: The fact of the matter is that I wanted to write something a bit different. As much as I dislike parts of Harry's saga, I really don't think I'd want to change any of the original tale because it gives us fan fiction writers so much to branch off from. When a Challenge is at hand, I usually wait to read all of the stories until after the deadline so they're fresh in my mind when I make my People's Choice vote. You're clearly correct that someone may enter a brilliant eleventh hour story, but at the moment, your praise is making me blush Weasley red.



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 06:57AM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

Lovely story for the challenge, and made me wish Harry could have stayed longer so that we could have found out even more about his ancestors. Still, I'm sure that 1 or 2 days back in 1901 was better to Harry than 10 years with the Dursleys.

Author's Response: My thoughts exactly. I think now that Harry has spent some time with his ancestors he won't feel quite so lonely when thinking of his family. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 12:59AM Title: Sheep

Thanks for sharing your reasoning and the timeline. :-)

"Also, having Cameron's cousins die sometime in the 1880s doesn't seem to be that strange to me, either."

Strange no, it makes perfect sense in the context of your timeline. That wasn't my point though, you had Harry musing on death rates in the early twentieth century near the beginning of chapter 4, even though the cousins died in the late nineteenth century.

- SC



Author's Response: Small points like that are easily corrected. I wrote this story in less than a week and it's not been through my cadre of betas because of the Challenge deadline. Normally, little things like that would have been caught by that super group. Should I add you to my list? I'll go fix that now. Thanks again.



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 10:53PM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Loved the story!!! I read it all in one go!!!

Author's Response: That's probably the way one should read it. It's not that long and covers only a few days' time, so one can't get lost in the timeline. Thanks for reading. I'm glad you liked it.



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 06:39PM Title: Sheep

The only issue I had with this story is with the year of the setting... You have it set in 1901, with Cameron about to enter his 7th year. That would mean that Cameron and Iona would have been well into their 70s before having James. While wizarding life-spans might make that a possibility, it seems quite odd to me.
Also it being set in 1901 means Cameron's cousins would have died in the 19th century, not the 20th.

That aside I really enjoyed this story. :-)

- SC

Author's Response: I actually drew a time line and placed my characters on it when I began writing this Challenge story. I knew I needed to go back three generations and give at least the magical people a few more years to live. I also had the clue from JKR that James' parents had him later in life; I interpret this to mean that his parents were in their sixties or seventies when they had him. Here's the breakdown of the Potter family tree: 1860 Herry Potter (Squib) is born, 1867 James Robert Potter (Great-grandfather) is born, 1884 Cameron Potter is born, 1960 James Potter (Harry's dad) is born. Therefore, in 1901 Cameron is 17 and will be 77 when his son James is born; Cameron's father, James Robert, is 33, having married straight out of Hogwarts and become a father that same year; his Uncle Herry is 41 and will die twenty-six years later at the age of 66 when Cameron is 42. I hope this timeline helps. I also think that people have different concepts of what "later in life" means; for example, I was considered an "older mother" when I became pregnant at the age of 36 fourteen years ago, so adding another thirty years to Iona's "old age of youth" or her "youth of old age" didn't seem like much of a stretch to me. Also, having Cameron's cousins die sometime in the 1880s doesn't seem to be that strange to me, either. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to explain my time line of the Potter family. I'm glad you enjoyed the story enough to ask me about it.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 05:39PM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

Beautiful, lucid prose, vibrant imagery and very pleasant characters. What I like about it most is the artful way in which you subvert the implied intent of the challenge :>)

Good job!

Author's Response: The rules for the challenge state that the dials on the Time-Turner appear to let one go back in time many months. I took that to mean that as long as the date was relevant to Harry's life, he could go back in time to whatever date caught his fancy. The other, more important mandates of the challenge were to explain how he finds the Time-Turner and more importantly, what he does with it. The Challenge was very broad, leaving it up to the author how he/she would interpret it. No matter what, I'm glad you liked what I wrote. Thanks for letting me know.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 01:05PM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

Well, that was a very enjoyable little story. No great angst or adventure, just some pleasant exploration of the Potter family alongside Harry. Great work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I'm hoping I managed to carry out the Challenge's mandates of explaining how Harry finds the Time-Turner and what he does with it. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 12:13PM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarstar

Great story! I loved Harry getting to know his relatives. I was wondering why Hermione was aware of the trip so I'm glad that was explained. Harry's time with his relatives was really nice. At one point in the middle of the story Mrs Potter refers to Harry as Mr Potter instead of Mr James. It's when she's telling him that he needn't wear Cameron's clothes. I'm glad he got to learn a bit about Cameron's family. I was wondering why he never mentioned magic. Cameron is obviously a wizard. Good luck in the challenge - this is really a good story.

Author's Response: For this story, Herry Potter is Harry's great-uncle, a Squib whose family purchased the sheep farm for him so he can make a respectable living for himself away from magic. Cameron is the son of Herry's younger brother, James Robert, who is a qualified wizard. Cameron will be in his seventh year at Hogwarts, come September 1. Because he is living in a non-magical household, is surrounded by Muggle day laborers and doesn't know Harry is a wizard, he wouldn't want to mention magic for fear of violating the Statute of Secrecy. I'm glad you enjoyed my story. Thanks for catching my mistake; I've made the change. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 09:55AM Title: Sheep

starstarstarstarhalf-star

“Oh, and Mr Potter, change quickly. Lunch is nearly ready.” - I think that's an "Oops".

Author's Response: Thanks for catching that. I've made the correction of the definite "oops". Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 06:19AM Title: Discovery

It occurs to me that if he wants to keep it hidden from Hermione for any length of time, continuing to keep it inside a book in a prominent bookshelf isn't going top work for long. ;-)

- SC

Author's Response: Sometimes hiding something in plain sight is the best policy. If he puts the books back just as they were, there won't be a hole to fill with something else that might not fit as well. Any gaps would give away the fact that something had been moved from one shelf to another. Good question. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 01:11AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Really liking the story! I love how Harry just jumps in and helps. I hope he returns to the farm with Ginny someday. What a great legacy :)

Author's Response: If I do decide to make this part of my Family Series of stories, Ginny will most definitely accompany Harry when he goes to inspect the property. Harry is the sort of person who can't sit idly by and let someone serve him; maybe it's all the years he spent serving the Dursleys or maybe it's just that it doesn't feel right to him not to help. No matter what, Amelia is appreciative of his efforts. Only one more chapter to go. I hope you'll enjoy the conclusion. Thanks for reading.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear