Search:

SIYE Time:16:43 on 27th June 2017


Reviewer: mysinger Signed Date: 2016.06.12 - 10:29AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

An absolutely fantastic story! I loved it! I liked that you found a way to save Sirius , Hedwig and Fred. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you! To me those were the deaths that affected Harry the most.



Reviewer: demonesprit Signed Date: 2015.09.16 - 12:43PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Paternas Signed Date: 2015.08.07 - 09:57PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

Great story. I just read it for the second time. It is rather obvious why this story won the contest.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.07.25 - 05:11PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstar

A nice contribution to Potterverse!



Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2014.11.20 - 09:04AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

Its the first time-turner story I read. I always thought that kind of story must be a kind of confusing.
But after reading the Journey through Time I think I will do it again.

There are so many ideas and thoughts involved in story line; it could be the base of a much longer story or even a series.
Many thanks for providing the stuff for an enjoyable hour of reading!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Time turner stories can be confusing - trust me its just as confusing to write one as it is to read one. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Several people have asked to me to expand on this story - I had to condense a lot to make it in before the end of the challenge.



Reviewer: maquislady1388 Signed Date: 2014.09.01 - 03:12AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

Loved it. I always thought Ginny should have been more involved in the horcrux hut then she was.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I agree - it was fun being able to go back and 'fix' the things I wish hadn't happened in the books :)



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2014.08.13 - 05:37PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

Love. My only quibble is when Harry and Ginny first used the time-turner they wound up at Grimmauld Place instead of in Aunt Muriel's garden (unless I missed something), but otherwise wonderful. I love how they were able to nearly save everyone and everything turned out so happily. Thank you and congrats again on winning some challenge awards for this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I put an author's note to explain that. In the books, when they used a time-turner they went to where they were at the time. They start in the hospital wing and after the rings stop spinning they are in the corridor where they were hourse earlier. I extrapolated that it would transport you to where ever you were so they ended up in Grimmauld Place because that's where they were in August 1995.



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2014.07.25 - 01:28PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

I just reread this: - still an enjoyable read. :-)


"We have to let whatever happened, but we can change things behind the scenes.
I think that should read: "We have to let whatever happened happen, but we can change things behind the scenes.

You have Harry hesitate when saying Dumbledore's title, rather than when saying his actual name... considering that Dumbledore is hardly the only professor Harry knows, this felt odd to me.

- SC




Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. It was fun to be able to save Sirius and Hedwig - I'll go back and edit the story.



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.16 - 03:28AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

This is a very good story

Molly and Arthur took it too good that Ginny is married

I find it hard to believe that Lily and Snape was ever friends, just look at Snape personality which I doubt has change any over his lifetime.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it! I always imagined Lily as the type of person to look for the best in people so I can see her befriending Snape as a child, especially as he was introducing her to the interesting new world of magic.



Reviewer: griffinhawk Signed Date: 2014.05.20 - 05:02PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstar

Fantastic one-shot! Skipped over a lot of time, but, hey it IS a one-shot! I think it covered all the major plot points.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I could have made it a lot longer, but I was up against the deadline.



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2014.05.18 - 09:50AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

I was about to freak out that I had seen this somewhere before, then I realized that I had read it over on your FFN account. Therefore, I will say here what I said there:

Excellent story! I understand why they couldn't save Dumbledore, but I do wonder why they couldn't save Moody as well as Hedwig.

I enjoyed it a lot.

Also, I will add that I agree with everyone who wanted this to be longer. This is a marvelous melding of the do-over fic and the Harry elopes fic.

Author's Response: Thanks! I didn't think of Moody as he didn't have as much impact on Harry. I think it would have been a lot of a risk with a huge potential for disaster. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.05.17 - 08:17AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar


I really enjoyed reading your story.
Loved that Sirius and Hedwig were both saved and lived on.
Best of luck with the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I thought they were the two he missed the most :)



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2014.05.17 - 08:16AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

Smart to take Ginny back and work on things that can be worked on.... Kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought so :)



Reviewer: Brennus Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 02:42PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

See, Sharon, I wasn't the only one who said this should be expanded to a multi-part story; it's practically crying out for it. Still, with all your other stories still on-going it should probably wait a while. Something for the future, perhaps? Great story, though, even with Harry's shiny helmet...

Author's Response: It wasn't Harry's and I really almost did change the adjective to shiny! Thanks!



Reviewer: dannbard Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 08:07AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarhalf-star

This is a fun plot-bunny. The characters and imagery are thin, but that's to be expected with the equivalent of about 4-8 chapters worth of plot crammed into 11K words. The thing that breaks this for me is that the Hufflepuff Cup was in the Lestrange Vault. Sirius wouldn't have access to that.

Author's Response: Thanks! I did have to truncate a lot. I have used the premise before that as the head of the Black family Sirius would have been able to get into Bellatrix's vault - not the Lestrange Vault, but if she didn't merge hers with her husband. Sorry if that didn't work for you.



Reviewer: trigg Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 07:28AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful story. I wish it had a few chapters instead of one. And a bit longer. Still loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2014.05.15 - 02:37AM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

Very, very nice!!!!! Loved it!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Marinka Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 07:51PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarstar

as i said before, i wish it was longer:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Several people have said that.



Reviewer: Hippothestrowl Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 07:02PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This story works really well, especially the handling of the timeline which is spot on. Okay, maybe some parts of the storytelling are not so rich but overall it does work. Perhaps the lengthy end after they explained to the others what happened was a bit sort of yada yada etc but it's hard to see what to do about that without a kind of second story added on with more variations or the opposite: truncate it to a summary. I mean, Nagini wasn't directly mentioned as being killed (or did I miss that?) and what about using Draco's wand to defeat Voldemort? Anyway, I took it as read that the rest worked out.

Technically the only error I saw was a typo something about 'the Potter' which I think was meant to be in the plural, so high quality.

The story also is very readable and is closer to JKR's simple style which is my own preference and who I try to emulate.

Altogether: very enjoyable! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I know I really skipped or truncated a lot, but when I decided to go back that far so close to the deadline it was rather inevitable. I meant to imply that everything else happened the same way if I didn't explicitly say - Nagini killed and Draco's wand used. I fixed the Potters. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Good luck in the challenge!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2014.05.14 - 04:04PM Title: Chapter 1 Harry Potter and the Journey through Time

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Just the sort of enjoyable Harry/Ginny tale I've come to expect from you. Aside from the always welcome Harry/Ginny time, I loved the way you saved Sirius and Hedwig. Very original. About the only complaint I can voice was that the story was too short! I know you were doing this for the time turner challenge, but your story idea could have easily filled a multi-chapter story.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. Actually several people have mentioned it was short - I wish I could have had the time to fill in the missing months, but I don't have access to a time-turner :)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear