Search:

SIYE Time:8:10 on 16th December 2017

Reviews For No More Secrets

Reviewer: grniys Signed Date: 2016.12.02 - 09:07PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

I honestly hate Hermione in this. I absolutely despised her through all of it, but at the end she had a renewed sense of pride because she learned something, and felt she could do a better job? She should have a renewed sense of shame for her actions and previous ignorance. Ugh.

Anyway, please don't take the above comment as an indication that I hate your story. I think it's fantastic. You did an amazing job portraying a difficult subject realistically and in a way I could see happening in canon. Your writing was also fantastic. Thank you for sharing this story with us. It truly is great.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I do understand your frustration with Hermione. I figured at this point she still has some growing up to do. It always amazed me how Hermione never said anything about his relatives. I think in part it was because they were so young when they met that things like child abuse don't enter your mind. Unfortunately, there are still many children out there whose friends miss the signals they are sending out.



Reviewer: InwoodHP Signed Date: 2015.01.12 - 02:07AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

So well done.

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: clandestinelyours Signed Date: 2014.12.08 - 03:12PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

Wow. That was a very moving and thought provoking story. You dealt with a very difficult topic rather skillfully. I have long been a supporter for victims of domestic violence, and yet still find it hard to believe that anyone could do such a thing. I feel that this is they type of story to be shared with everyone so they can begin to understand that domestic violence can be anywhere, even in the fantasy worlds that we like to delve into. Really well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree it is hard to believe that anyone can do such a thing, especially when you see 'normal' looking people in front of you. I'm glad you enjoyed the story and if it opened a few eyes I'm happy.



Reviewer: Akvis Signed Date: 2014.11.28 - 04:23PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: JetLaBarge Signed Date: 2014.11.05 - 07:02PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

Good writing. More importantly, a story that has to be told.

Thank you for writing it.

Jet LaBarge

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2014.09.08 - 12:25AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

excellent. I think I have read this begore and reviewed it as well. It does go to show you how good a storyteller you are keeing me interested and enhthusiaiasti the secon time around.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think you dd read and review this before, but I'm glad you still enjoy the story.



Reviewer: maquislady1388 Signed Date: 2014.09.01 - 03:55AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstar

Wow. Very Powerful. I always hated the way JKR downplayed the abuse Harry suffered. I like to think that if events at the end of the third book had gone as they should have Sirius would have noticed and done something. I also see it as the reason Dumbledore didn't do more to clear Sirius.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree I think Sirius would have noticed.



Reviewer: MidnightDream Signed Date: 2014.09.01 - 02:46AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

As a person that has gone through the 40 hour training in Domestic Violence (United States) and volunteers in a domestic violence shelter and a child advocate I can tell you that you have written everything beautifully. It really describes the situation of a battered women and the children. Many people believe that domestic violence isn't an issue or it's all in the women's head but it isn't. Its a serious problem that needs to be addressed as well as teen dating violence. Thank you for using this platform to spread the word about domestic violence and create awareness in those who might not have heard of it or didnt have an interest in learning about it.
Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was actually doing my domestic violence training and the idea for the story just came to me. I agree that many people think domestic violence is someone else's problem or exaggerated or a ploy used to get out of punishment. I was glad to be able to dispel those myths a bit and hopefully entertain at the same time.



Reviewer: ebdenis Signed Date: 2014.08.30 - 01:47PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

This is my favorite piece on the entire site for several reasons: it is very very well written, it achieves effective, non-preachy advocacy on a very important issue, and it is, quite simply, a good story with compelling characters.


I particularly like that you have chosen a male character for the advocate. While I would sincerely like to believe that our sex would be more sensitive to this issue, I believe you will have a bit more success in advancing the importance of this issue using Harry as your messenger. I'm glad that he was able to convince Hermione in the end. Well done!


Ellen



Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I believe that Harry would definitely be a defender of those abused or in peril.



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2014.08.29 - 05:08AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

It would be so easy to simply repeat the praise heaped on this story by other reviewers. I'll try to be original in my praise.

This story meets a genuine need, both in terms of the Potter universe itself and the real world. It needed to be written, for so many reasons.

One of my favorite parts is the way you had Ron realize his mistake. So many fans just don't want to have Ron grow up, but I see no canon evidence that is the case. I like stories where Ron grows up. I also liked how you had Hermione realize her mistake. You show the mistakes they make as human beings without resorting to character bashing.

I also significantly enjoyed how you had Ginny be supportive of Harry and how he found it difficult to open up to her, despite his love for her. That's very much how my headcanon goes. Harry has trouble relating on a deep emotional level due to the Dursleys. This also keeps him from opening up and communicating on a level deeper than simple friendship. I see Harry freezing up in certain situations due to this. I also see Ginny patiently trying to coax Harry out of his shell.

My only real objection is your use of the phrase: "murder in defence of another." The term I would use is "justifiable homicide." I should at least note that I am neither British, nor a lawyer. The term "murder" implies an unlawful, premeditated killing. This killing was not premeditated, nor was it unlawful since it was in defense of an innocent third party.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Ron and Hermione both grew up a bit sheltered and I think it is understandable that they would have trouble recognizing abuse, especially in the case of Harry. They met him at children and children tend to just accept things. In Ron's case, he would have chalked odd things up to Harry being brought up Muggle. As for Hermione, I'm sure she knew about abuse as a concept, but that is very different from recognizing it in friends. I'm glad you liked by version of Ginny, I think you described the situation perfectly! Thanks :)



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2014.07.30 - 05:10PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstar

I haven't read or written any fanfiction in quite some time, but I was feeling nostalgic, and I came across this piece. It was very nicely done. This overlooked aspect of the series has always intrigued me, and I'm eager for the stage play JKR is working on about Harry's younger years I wonder how much will be touched on.

You stirred lots of emotions, and I could feel the tension building as Ron and Hermione headed on this collision course with reality. Your tale was beautifully woven. Thanks so much for an interesting afternoon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm a big fan of your work and thrilled that you enjoyed my story. I've seen many stories that amp up the violence when Harry's a child, but never how it affects him later in life.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2014.07.17 - 06:28PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

This is an excellent piece of work. The topic is so true and in real lifel it sadly exists. And the victio? Healing takes so much time, money, effort and resources. It truly is a great shame. Well doenl you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed the story.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.06.09 - 11:35AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar


A very well written story. A difficult and often 'overlooked' subject in life as the emotional abuse seems to cover it up too effectively.

Glad that Hermione and Ron have had their eyes opened to the violence that does happen and realise that the victims are, often those you don't expect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the story.



Reviewer: Jeograph Signed Date: 2014.06.07 - 09:39AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

Very nice story, and a true eye-opener. Thank you so much. Again you have taken on a difficult subject matter and treated it beautifully. You teach us all the real power of fan-fiction.

The subject of Harry\'s abuse at the hands of the Dursley\'s is often portrayed in fan-fiction, and I know that I have sometimes reacted to such stories poorly, particularly those that ramp it up to truly, physical abuse.

I recall once mentioning something to Brennus, about it, and he replied that he felt it was just an dramatic starting point, and therefore easily and often used (something like that.)

After reading this story, I think I have realized that what has really bothered me about such stories is that often the abuse is portrayed as so much worse that Rowling described, and yet, ultimately it is used as a hook and then sort of dropped, or glossed over when it comes to exploring the real effects of abuse on the persona. Even Rowling failed to explore it much as an aspect of Harry\'s ongoing personality development. (Which I suppose is fair given her intended audience.)

In any case, I thank you for tackling the subject matter, and doing so, so well.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the story. I feel that even from the level of abuse that Rowling described Harry would have issues - she clearly described emotional abuse/neglect, so this was my interpretation of how it would affect Harry later in life. I think he would be more sensitive to abuse and someone like Harry would attempt to right any wrongs he found.



Reviewer: Kukia Signed Date: 2014.05.31 - 07:16AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

Great story. I like how you are helping to teach others about domestic abuse through a fanfiction.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope I was able to open a few eyes and entertain as well.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.29 - 11:41AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

Well done! The subject matter is certainly worthy, and I like your caricatures of the older, professional versions of Rowling's cast. Most importantly, the writing is crisp, even and does not diminish the message. I've seen a fair number of well-meaning authors take on a serious topic and ultimately do it a disservice by not communicating clearly and respectfully -- there's no such problem with this piece.




I have a couple minor stylistic comments:

* toward the end of your first section, when Harry is expressing righteous indignation, I think you may have overdone the language a bit -- he runs the risk of sounding like Percy in a couple of statements.

* in the last section, Harry makes a statement (Iím sorry that it was my actions that led to his probation. Iím not sorry he was put on probation, but Iím sorry it was me who caused it.) that does not ring true with the persona he's demonstrated fairly consistently through the story prior to that point. It sounds squishy. I think that Harry could make an insightful and important statement here that would set a nice capstone on the story. As to exactly what that statement would be, I'm certain you would know better than I.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can see your point about the language - I put it down to him being upset. The last section I do see your point - I wasn't exactly happy with it. I was trying to express that Harry didn't condone anything Ron did, but didn't like that he was the one to call Ron on it. After all they are still best mates. Thanks for your comments.



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2014.05.29 - 09:38AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

An interesting choice of subject,and I liked the extra dimension it gave to the work of an Auror. While it was slightly sad to see that the two couples had drifted apart despite sharing a house, it was good to see that Harry had matured into a confident and capable professional. I'd have liked to see something of his POV, although you did show us enough for the needs of the story. But oh, Ron and Hermione refusing to see what was under their noses. At least Ron seemed quick to admit his mistakes so hopefully here is the wake up call to make him grow up, but poor Hermione - still relying too much on what she finds in books even after all these years. I'm not sure that she'd ever learn to trust what her own senses should be telling her in a situation such as you describe.(And thanks for not making her the Ms Perfect, always right, joined at the hip best friend of Ginny.)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that it rang true. I've never really bought into Hermione and Ginny being best of friends. I can certainly see them being friendly especially once they've graduated and are dating best mates, but in school they are two years apart and very different people.



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2014.05.28 - 07:55PM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent story. Well written great characters both canon and OC. Harry's righteous indignation at both Ron and Hermione's cavalier attitude to abuse felt right on. The whole time they are talking about they'd know it if they saw it, I'm thinking of poor little Harry, in his too big clothes, his broken glasses, and his stunted growth, why didn't they notice?
Loved it, always a pleasure to read one of your stories.
Tricia

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: miriel_zoldrick Signed Date: 2014.05.28 - 09:29AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

I really cried while i was reading it. One of the best fics regarding Harry's childhood problems. What is the best about it? Probably considering an ugly problem like domestic violence. I would like more fics like this.



Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2014.05.26 - 12:29AM Title: Chapter 1 No More Secrets

starstarstarstarstar

Over the years, I've read many stories about what Harry's uncle has done to him and how, as a teen, he copes and begins to heal because of the love his friends and their parents show him. This is the first story I've read that deals with how his upbringing has affected the way adult Harry works, how he empathizes with the children and spouses who have similar experiences and the good things he is doing for those people.

Your characterization of Ron and Hermione certainly rings true. I think most people want to shove domestic violence under the rug and pretend it doesn't happen or that the perpetrators are absolutely horrible people that anyone would recognize them just by looking at them. Your Ron and Hermione are just as human as the rest of us, but because of their jobs, they needed to learn the hard lesson that magic doesn't always protect and then wands can be taken so that fists can dominate. I'm glad both were open-minded enough to grow in their thinking and accept that the world isn't always the rosy place we want it to be.

Thanks for sharing this wonderfully troubling story. It's really made me think.


Author's Response: Thank you so much! As I was thinking about it, I thought that Harry wouldn't want to talk about it when he was younger, but once he started confronting situations at work, he would realize he needed to talk about it. He's a very giving kind of character so he would definitely use his experiences to help others. I'm glad Ron and Hermione rang true. You are quite correct that most people want to pretend that domestic violence only happens to other people. The first time I confronted it, I was talking to parents knowing that one of the two of them had broken their child's leg - it was an eye opening experience. I'm glad you liked the story.




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear