Search:

SIYE Time:13:25 on 26th June 2017


Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.08.15 - 07:01PM Title: Chapter 7: The Adder and the Cistern

When I said "had to wait a bit", I have just read this chapter to get the feel of it. 10 months is a bit of a wait!

Author's Response: I apologize. I haven't abandoned this, but I had to put it on hold while I finished my master's program. I haven't done much writing at all in these past ten months except for thesis writing. There are also a couple of wrinkles in the plot that I needed to clear up.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.11.10 - 10:04PM Title: Chapter 7: The Adder and the Cistern

starstarstarstarstar

This was definitely NOT a chapter to read while eating lunch or dinner or while cooking either meal! The steaks I was broiling for dinner weren't quite as appetizing once I came to the description of the welcoming committee hanging from the ceiling of the chamber. (Insert horrified shiver.)

I love how your Ginny is so bold and brassy. She's a young woman who has a purpose and wants to get things done and I admire her for keeping her mouth shut when she, Fred and George had to deal with Percy. I'm glad she and her brothers ran into Seamus because it seems he had some valuable information for them and just might end up being another recruit for the DA.

So the entire Malfoy family is out of commission, huh? As much as I dislike Draco, finding his severed head would put anyone off his dinner. And what's with this voice Harry keeps hearing in his head? I'm hoping you'll post again soon so that we'll learn more about that as well as more about this chamber Nagsasama knew about. By the way, she's a brave snake to lead Harry and his friends to the chamber complex. The entire sequence gave me the willies.

Well done.

Author's Response: It nearly put me off my supper while I was writing it. I of course can't go into detail about the voice, although if I didn't make it clear in the text, I'll clarify it now: at first it was only Harry hearing it, but after they found Malfoy's head, all of them started hearing it. Still, there are implications in everything the voice was saying which will be hugely significant throughout the series.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.11.08 - 06:59PM Title: Chapter 7: The Adder and the Cistern

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Had to wait a bit, but definately a powerful chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, I'm sorry for the wait. I haven't been able to work on this as much as I would have liked, and I had to re-write the Ginny narrative several times.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 06:37AM Title: Chapter 6: A Shadow Over Glossop

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Your chapters always have me thinking on what you have written.
The feeling in the town has me intrigued as to why everyone is reacting the way they are.
Can't wait to read the next chapter.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.05.15 - 06:08PM Title: Chapter 6: A Shadow Over Glossop

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I can not wait to find out what this is all about.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.04.29 - 11:05PM Title: Chapter 5: Outside Prescribed Domains

starstarstarstarstar

I just finished reading the entire story, mostly because I wanted to make sure I had a good grip on the plot and also because I love the way you're writing the goblins. This is a race in canon and fan fic that has been much maligned because readers and wizards alike haven't taken the time to try to understand the another race. The fact that JKR's world mirrors what goes on in the real world is rather scary, but it's a fact of life and I commend you for tackling such a difficult subject and making Harry's mentors someone other than his own race. The other thing I liked about the story, especially chapters four and five, is that Ginny is being empowered to work behind the scenes to do whatever she can to undermine Voldemort and the Death Eaters. I love Remus' line in chapter four about the Order needing to involve young people more often. Clearly, he understands the value of young minds and ideas and in this one line, you show this understanding at its best. I had to smile when Professor McGonagall reluctantly allowed Ginny to go with her to interview the new Muggle-born family. While her outburst may not have been as diplomatic as Minerva would have liked, it clearly explained the situation and will hopefully help the family escape Voldemort's tyranny.

I'm glad you're keeping the chapters coming. I'm enjoying the story and the series immensely.



Author's Response: I noticed that goblins and Ginny are, both in canon and in fanfiction, generally neglected elements, which is unfortunate because they both have a lot of potential; that's partly why I decided to put so much focus on them. I've intended, from the moment I started writing this, for Harry and Ginny to be parallel protagonists; equal in their importance, but separate for much of the story. It's the way I think JKR should have handled Ginny in DH.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.04.27 - 06:18AM Title: Chapter 5: Outside Prescribed Domains

starstarstarstar


Good chapter.
I hope the address in Ireland leads somewhere for Ginny.
Awaiting the next chapter.



Reviewer: Marinka Signed Date: 2015.03.25 - 09:33PM Title: Chapter 4: The Study of Ancient Runes

starstarstarstarstar

:) please come back?:)

Author's Response: I intend to soon. I'm terribly sorry about the delay, and I promise I haven't given this up, but I've been extremely busy with university. The semester will be over in three weeks, though, so after that I'll be able to devote more time to this. Thanks for your patience, though. Again, I'm very sorry.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.11.13 - 07:28AM Title: Chapter 4: The Study of Ancient Runes

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Very interesting chapter on Ginny's life during the war. Luna is priceless. She knows a lot more than anyone would guess.



Reviewer: Dreaming Haven Signed Date: 2014.11.09 - 09:14PM Title: Chapter 4: The Study of Ancient Runes

I'm very glad that you updated, but more so that you had it focused on Ginny. She's my favorite part about this story, so even if it is short it's still a great chapter.



Reviewer: mljbar Signed Date: 2014.11.08 - 12:14PM Title: Chapter 4: The Study of Ancient Runes

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2014.11.08 - 02:28AM Title: Chapter 4: The Study of Ancient Runes

starstarstarstarstar

While shorter than previous chapters, you packed this chapter with all sorts of things for your readers to ponder while waiting for the next chapter. That Ginny continues to help Fred and George is a very good thing and seems to be mutually rewarding for all three. Also, bless Luna for unwittingly giving Ginny and Remus a clue to their own little mystery. I hope Remus' letter to McGonagall proves fruitful. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! I like to think that Luna has a tendency to know, merely from observation or from conjecture, things that she probably shouldn't, and sometimes surprises people with it. I think it fits right in with her, especially if she's oblivious to the fact that she seems to know a lot that she shouldn't. Just like how in the previous story, she guessed long before anybody told her that Harry had left.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2014.09.25 - 11:53PM Title: Chapter 3: Dhárdin di Ginbaingh Revisited

starstarstarstarstar

Another very interesting and engaging chapter. It's good to know that Harry is now in fine fettle and a bit impatient to get back to helping fight the war. Hermione and Cecilia's experiments intrigue me and I really want to know more about what they're studying. Poor Ron...I suppose he won't be too receptive to learning a second language very soon. Even if he learned just enough to communicate a little, his frustration level might go down, but I doubt he'll want to take the time.

Looking forward to the next chapter. Well done and good luck with grad school.



Reviewer: Marinka Signed Date: 2014.09.24 - 05:06AM Title: Chapter 3: Dhárdin di Ginbaingh Revisited

starstarstarstarstar

I find that because of the complexity of your story, I have to go back with updates to remind myself about precous chapter developments.
So Narcissa is dead.. a bit suspicious... Was she killed perhaps to teach Malfoys a lesson?

Author's Response: No, she really did commit suicide. All evidence points to that. The mystery behind Narcissa's death is why she killed herself, not whether she did. That will become more apparent as the story moves on, but it is related to the note she left. I'll leave you to speculate.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.09.23 - 02:30AM Title: Chapter 3: Dhárdin di Ginbaingh Revisited

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Quite an informative chapter.

I can understand Harry getting frustrated with occlumency. Also, his frustration at being on the island whilst there is things to do regarding the war. Surely, Ginny must also be there, and he must be wondering how she is.

Looking forward to the next chapter.



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2014.09.20 - 06:03PM Title: Chapter 3: Dhárdin di Ginbaingh Revisited

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Another fine chapter, of course they all have been, you are on a continuing roll. :>)
It now seems we might have a run-in with the Order or the DA huh? I would like that Ginny could help Harry a bit and they would know that each other are still fighting. More please.
Tricia



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2014.09.20 - 05:12PM Title: Chapter 2: The Unspeakable's Disclosure

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Another excellent chapter, Croaker name has been used in other fanfic as the head of the Department and the unspeakable. One of yours? Can't remember right now. Anyway good move. I am happy to have a mention of the Goblins.. Making the connection between Harry and the Goblins would be very helpful for the good guys just don't let the bad guys know. Thanks for the chapter as always
Tricia



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2014.09.20 - 04:31PM Title: Chapter 3: Dhárdin di Ginbaingh Revisited

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Heh -- I'm amused that "Hermione hated horses". (Each of my sisters wanted a horse when we were all (much!) younger.)

Grimrook's familiarity with idiomatic English is remarkable. (Ref. "Rome wasn't built in a day.") :-)

Ron seems to be presuming that Narcissa Malfoy was a Death Eater. Your Honor, I'm not at all sure that the facts to support that assertion have been presented as evidence. :-} (Mind, I rather expect that Ron wouldn't be applying the highest evidentiary standards.)

Hmmm... I wonder who they might encounter during their field trip.... :-}

Author's Response: I laughed when I read your bit about Ron. Spot on. When I wrote that conversation, I remembered his remark "Poisonous toadstools don't change their spots." I don't remember exactly when he said that, though. Book 5? Anyway, thanks for the laugh. As for Grimrook, he was raised speaking both Gobbledygook and English, and spends as much time around humans as he does other goblins.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.09.10 - 12:06PM Title: Chapter 2: The Unspeakable's Disclosure

starstarstarstar

Interesting chapter.



Reviewer: Marinka Signed Date: 2014.09.09 - 12:54AM Title: Chapter 2: The Unspeakable's Disclosure

starstarstarstarstar

Very, very interesting plot. And I know I did winge about the ending but I just could not help myself and here I am, reading it:)

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear it. I love hearing from readers and their feedback, so please continue giving it.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear