Search:

SIYE Time:7:48 on 25th September 2017

Reviews For Trix

Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.24 - 02:28PM Title: Black and Blue

I was just wondering if the laundry fetishist still knows which knickers belong to whom, or whether he sometimes simply picks a random piece from the dirty laundry to attack a victim.

Ah-yes, Ginny's Christmas jumper. I still remember the jumper very well. I'd suspected, and I'm still suspecting, that Bella will use the jumper to go after Ginny. As far as I've read Trix earlier, i.e. chapter 13 or 14, Ginny didn't get it back. I'm pretty sure about it. I just don't know if Teri still has the jumper, or if laundry fetishist already has claimed it.

I hope they'll try to help Teri using Harry’s first-hand experience and Ginny’s mind skills. But as far as I remember, Zabini will keep the two of them busy in the near future, so they won't have much time to worry about Teri.

Great chapter, as always. Thank you so much.

May I can invite you to a drink on my place under the top 20 reviewers?

Author's Response:

Oh ho! Tied for 20, are you? And higher quality reviews than many of those above you on the list, too!

Anyway, yes, I would be happy to join you for a drink of your choice on this occasion. And if "Fires of Time" nudges me past Northumbrian into 18th on the list of most verbose authours, then I shall have to return the favour :)

Have drafted chapters 4 and 5 of FoT, by the way. Not quite ready to release it to alpha reading yet, though, since I'm still rearranging vignettes and correcting some my more puzzling typos.

I believe that chapters 17 and on of the earlier ones (13 or 14) do answer many of your questions above, so I will leave them be for the time being.

Anyway, thank you for having expended a very fair number of your noteworthy 1060 reviews on my stories!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.24 - 09:46AM Title: Tears in the Dark

I still could remember the visit to Mrs Parkinson, and the three options she presented to Harry. I suspect, however, that there will be an up till now unknown option 4.
Even if the title "The Seekers Daughter" wants to make this option credible, I don’t believe in option 3.

I do not believe that the author will fall back on previously undescribed conception methods where the participants are e.g. under the influence of Polyjuice potion or some kind of dark magic mimicking someone else's identity, maybe even multiple identities. With the latter all three options could be feasible at the same time, couldn't it? However, it all sounds so farfetched that I don't believe the author would use such an approach. Hence my best guess is on the still unknown option 4.


Long distance mind control; seems Ginny has a reasonable suspicion that Teri might be "a kind of" medium controlled, occasionally or permanently, by someone, for whatever the term medium I'm using might stand for. As far as I remember, Ginny and Harry didn't learn much more yet about Teri in the later chapters of Trix. On the other hand, maybe I forgot about it.


Author's Response:

Ah, the power of persistence! I will admit that I had a somewhat nebulous notion of the precise resolution to the story's most pressing mystery -- rather like authours or playwrites who write two or three alternate endings to their work, except I had not yet committed the notions to paper. Well, in view of your speculations, I have now committed to a resolution that is neither overly complex nor simple; is not lurid or trashy; is not cliche; does not follow Rose Parkinson's prescription, yet also doesn't make her seem foolish. Furthermore, it bears upon the personalities of those people most affected by the issue, and ties into a poignant climax and conclusion.

Or so I believe, anyway... Now, I only need to write the chapters to reach that point -- a pox on the poxy, daft authour for devising such a long, complex story :|

Yes, Ginny's (and your) assessment of how Teri is being affected is accurate. However, the understanding of Teri's situation is incremental and does grow appreciably from where you are here and chapter 17. Chapter 17 introduces a new perturbation, however.

Anyway, those readers who are following the story should thank you for forcing my hand regarding a real resolution. Muy Bien!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.21 - 05:15PM Title: Happy New Year?

I'm not sure if it is a prejudice or a brilliant idea, but I wonder if Bella managed to somehow imperious Zabini to lure Harry and Ginny to the public with his circus to make them vulnerable. Or is the author using Zabinis Circus to distract the reader from more important things.

I really like Harry's train of thoughts. Teri looks like Bella, who looks like Andromeda. It doesn't seem too farfetched that Teri is a Black, too. Somehow I'm pretty sure that Teri's ancestry will have a very simple explanation.

Ah, Ron's missing his boxers. Seems the purple stocking man got hold of his dirty laundry. I wonder if Remus is also missing parts of his underwear. Nott jr., too?

Somehow I have the same feeling I had when I read the story the first time. Obviously, someone is practising with easy targets, to be proficient with his or her weapons when he or she will try to kill his or her real targets. Maybe practicing is also necessary to learn to bypass the occlumency shields of the real targets.

Teri's encounter with Tonks was quite noteworthy. I wonder if Teri is a kind of medium who witnesses the "accidents", and was shocked when she suddenly saw a victim of a former vision when she met Tonks.


Author's Response:

Interesting questions that bring me back to the back-and-forth dialogue with readers during Splinters!

One answer I shall grant and that is that Zabini is not Imperiused. He is just a Slytherin, acting in his own interests, as you intuited in the earlier review. As far as other questions... who knows? All depends on just how demented the authour is, right?

As far as your observation that the villain is practising... brilliant! No denying that one.

And finally, yes, Teri's response to Tonks is indeed noteworthy, and in a manner that is 'similar' but not exactly what you've pegged.

Keep guessing and I will... keep you guessing ;)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.21 - 04:24PM Title: Momentary Lapse of Reason

It is very Slytherin of Zabini to lure Harry and Ginny into his Quidditch squad to increase his chances to be scouted.
I am very curious from whom the purple stocking man has nicked all the underwear. I guess that Ron, without even knowing it, is also missing parts of his underwear.
Asteria Lestrange ... well, even if Malfoy knows her under the name Lestrange, it's no prove that she really is a Lestrange, isn't it? Is it a distraction, a first hint, or a red herring? I know someone who knows, but he'll certainly won't tell me...


Author's Response:

Absolutely -- it is very Slytherin of Zabini to scoop up the best talent remaining at Hogwarts to surround himself with in his bid to make the League. The only less-than-Slytherin part about it is that he's at least somewhat honest about it

Yes, a good question as far as who has lost clothing. If someone has been affected by the 'wierdness', then it's a good bet that they lost clothing, but are there any others whom we're not yet suspecting?

And finally, yes, 'Asteria Lestrange'. I'm not sure if I've come up with any better name in all of my HP writing. I was a bit miffed when I discovered that Rowling was creating a 'Leta Lestrange' (a name almost as cool from a Mythological and Symbolism perspective) for Magical Beasts, and that this was another shady, conflicted, powerful witch. But this *is* Rowling's world of course :) Anyway, as to whether she is truly a 'Lestange', well... Time will answer at least 'some' questions :)

Thank you for stirring the pot a bit more, Martin!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.20 - 05:44PM Title: Eyes

Oh, I just noticed that I left a couple of rather lengthy babblings when I read Trix for the first time. I'll try to make it shorter this time. ;)

It's always a good idea to talk about things. However, I've got the feeling that the two of them sometimes are talking a bit too much, and an occasionally step beyond the snogging stage would do wonders for their relationship. Since it will take six more years for James to be born, I'm afraid that they'll wait another five years to do this step, lol.

Ah yes, and then there still is Teri. I must admit that Teri's story is one of the things that fascinates me the most in this story. I'm really curious how and when her mystery will be solved.


Author's Response:

Ah, now for some things you might wish to use your imagination. To read 'outside' the lines, so to speak.

Regarding the depth of their physical relationship, I did go a bit further in TPC than I generally have in Trix. Matt went further yet, of course. Tastefully, I might add. But the fact of the matter is that I'm aiming to preserve a PG-13 rating, and in doing so I stick to sweet supportiveness and quiet companionship in times of strain, relegating the spiciest (perhaps quite torrid) encounters to the white space that trails on between the paragraphs...

I suppose I could leave more innuendos, though, as I likely could also offer a greater number of quiet, personal, moments... All things to think about.

Regarding Teri, if Seeker Daughter is any indication, some aspects of her mysteries may never fully resolve -- or at least never be revealed to any more than an extremely select few... She is, after all, both a real human and a creature of mystery -- someone who walks among us with that odd combination of awesome powers and very human frailties. She is one of us, and yet, she is not.

Maddening, aren't I?"

Long or short, thank you for the re-review!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.09.06 - 11:29PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarhalf-star

What a game! Thankfully the flying circus' members are well. and the plot thickens.

Author's Response:

Yes, it was a wild one. Thank you, LG!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2017.09.05 - 02:17PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

Yes Yes. Dawn was certainly not the reason for the delay. This is my response ability. As far as the review I am here to make, it would begin at responses to reviews which I read. The Overall tone appears as "What doix you think upon this idea?" And from werre it was thought upon was the choice of the writer and the reader; and now also the reviewer.

My part in the creation of O.N. How it was written: The vowels are carriers, the consonants modulate. Also, you may also find it necessary to expose yourself to a sprinkle from the African Doctor. Ah, that one still makes me :).

Timalice and his weirdness. Some O bo at work I think. Fuzzing the senses, capturing awareness. Interested to see where GHL takes this. I can only speculate.

Big thanks to GHL for the patience. Also, have a 'you're welcome' for all the contributions I have made. NO, I will not pay a premium. Sharing is caring. Tooootles!


Author's Response:

Ah, mais non non non! Not your fault in the delay -- that one is strictly mine own, involving some travel, a business plan, some consultancy (and blah blah blah).

In all of that, indeed, a proper thank you is certainly owed for the character rendition that livened up Chapter 16! I personally found the dialogue to be very melodious, and meaningful when spoken. Living life merely on the written page, however, is rather limited...

Anyway, I also benefited greatly (as alluded previously) from the cultural back-and-forth. An expert on the West Indies, I am not.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 06:36PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

I don't mind admitting I was relieved when Harry caught the snitch and ended the match. The tension was making me nervous both from the game and from their presence in Haiti, particularly after the injury. Even with the threat of attacks on the wards, I'm glad they're all back home. Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Oh, perfect!

I mean, it's not quite so goo to have readers discomfited, but I was very much aiming to convey (without actually saying) that nobody was being a quitter by shelving the match; the time had indeed come to get the heck out of there. And yes, the return home brought some fresh mysteries, but was far from unwelcome...

Thank you very much for the thoughts and feedback! Time for me to return the favour!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 01:43PM Title: Strafe and Secure

Sometimes the past should stay isn't he past and just prepare for the future...kutgw

Author's Response:

Fascinating bit of wisdom there (though I suspect your keyboard wasn't cooperating perfectly), in that yes -- it is perfectly valid to wonder whether the past holds any real insight into the future? Historians and philosophers tend to advise us to heed the past, but what if the future is too different?

Excellent thought, Fred. I shall ponder it as things move forward.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 09:09AM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Not too sure what we learnt in this chapter, but still a good read.

Author's Response:

Learn? Hah! I guess one might learn that everyone in this story is falling maddeningly short of learning anything.

Some of the most intuitive guessers (such as those that used to haunt TPC and Splinters review pages) would likely spot three or four things that are lurking just barely below the surface; things that they might partially guess but that our protagonists are still stymied by. A challenge for anyone out there who thinks they may be smarter than Hogwarts' best :)

Anyway, thank you for the kind words, Dad!



Reviewer: LysCsuri Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 08:17AM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

Why is it that when things seem easy, I'm sure it's going to be hard? An easy win against the attackers, Teri feeling secure, and all that? I get the feeling this is not supposed to be a happy happy little story.

Author's Response:

All too true -- in an upside down story like this, good news is not to be trusted.

Thank you very much for the review, Lys!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.09.03 - 11:52PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstar

Daphne gets the funniest line to wrap this chapter...

Author's Response:

Thanks Aragorn!

Ultimately the desperate humourist in me wonders if I could have done a little more to set up the line, but sometimes a one-liner can still ring, even without buildup.

In any case, I (as always) appreciate your take on things!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.08.15 - 10:29PM Title: Mist and Vault

starstarstarstar

Thanks for the update but, to be honest, a mixed grade. A for ambition...but much lower for the creative choice. Personally I found the accents way too hard to bother with...but that's just one opinion.


Author's Response:

In truth, your 'thanks' was kind and appreciated. I certainly hear a bit about my delays in posting, but the most common response for the late nights taken to give faster turnaround is more of an implied 'meh, whatever'.

Moving quickly ahead to your substantial comment, I really don't disagree. You might have seen the comments in my AN, basically absolving readers of any guilt in not bothering with the thick dialect. My attention to language in this chapter was motivated primarily in crafting the 'atmosphere'. This Haiti trip was distinctly unsettling and disorienting for the group, and in hitting the audience with non-plot-critical snippets of semi-authentic (and thus disorienting) dialect, I seek to give readers a share of the protagonists' disorientation.

Of course disorientation justifiably 'bothers' a lot of readers, but that's actually a writing tactic, which others have pulled off quite effectively too. In recent weeks' reading, I'd admit to have been significantly unsettled by passages in some SIYE stories. Yet, in each instance I realised quickly that my discomfort what very likely what the authour intended. Ultimately, there is a bit of perverse satisfaction in the experience, knowing that a writer has pushed me into emotions more nuanced than happy/sad/angry.

All the same, I freely also admit that many (perhaps most) readers are looking for escape more than discomfort, and I respect that, hence the way I phrased those cautionary pre-chapter notes.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.08.14 - 06:30AM Title: Mist and Vault

Bout time Ginny acted like the caption she is and get her crew to the end.....kutgw

Author's Response:

Interesting take on the matter -- that Ginny should take charge.

From the perspective of hindsight, this whole 'Flying Circus' business was really not her idea, and so she hasn't really asserted much leadership prior to this, but that's not to say that a star does not need to eventually take ownership.

Anyway, to your main point ('get her crew to the end') I can't agree more. Unfortunately, as I implied to Dad, it's not quite over yet!

Thanks again for leaving your thoughts, Fred!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.08.13 - 05:14PM Title: Teeming

THING 1 and THING 2 are so dead when Ginny finds them....kutgw

Author's Response:

Yes, it would be natural to expect so!

In fact, as you've now seen, the twins will have lucked into some remarkable leniency from their sister, but will suffer the consequences in other ways. Such is life...

Thank you for the review!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.08.11 - 05:45PM Title: Mist and Vault

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, what a mess! I really want to be furious with Zabini and the twins, but it seems almost cruel to be upset with them. They have fallen victim to a magical culture and drinking culture they were clearly unprepared to handle. Admittedly rum really can be a vicious drink for the uninitiated.

Author's Response:

Yes, I'm completely aligned with your ambivalence -- that hard edge between callow impetuousness and hard circumstance which trips up so many of us at least once sometime around that tricky cusp of adulthood. I'm not going to go into my own 'rum' story from some time ago...

Anyway, as you've likely noted, the whole Flying Circus thing is a series of allegories of personal growth -- each of these good but flawed people being placed in difficult circumstances that make them better. Basically a 'Quidditch as life' schtik."

In any case, thank you so much for your thoughtful words. As always!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.08.10 - 07:01PM Title: Mist and Vault

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I am worn out just reading about this quidditch match.

Author's Response:

Indeed! You may want to bring a dose of Pepperup when chapter 17 is released because, as a wise man once said, "You ain't seen nuthin' yet." :)

Great to hear from you, Dad!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.08.02 - 01:52AM Title: Eyes

Seeing your latest installment, I have decided to start afresh on this story! What a great ... CREEPY ... beginning!

Author's Response:

Well, thank you!

Not sure I deserve such faithful readers / reviewers considering I let a few distractions get in the way of completing my series of review for your fine story. However, the feedback is most welcome!

And yes, as a dark comedy, Trix does indeed have its dark moments... and I've recently written another one. Hope to get the editing done reasonably soon to post it!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.07.30 - 12:58PM Title: Teeming

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Finally you updated this story! Good to see Harry and Teri. I hope he can usethis property of residual magic to protect people against voodoo.

Author's Response:

Indeed yes -- this little discovery is going to be a significant plot element as things move forward into the final third of the story. And yes, it did take a crazily long time to update.

Doing my best to not undertake any new projects that might distract me from it. This story, in all its complexities and intricacies, is proving to be a bit of a bete noire. But I shall prevail.

Great to still have you on this slow-moving train, LG!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.07.30 - 12:16PM Title: Teeming

It's not a review, yet. I’m sorry for that. I just wanted to say that I'm glad you’ve updated. To my shame, I must admit that I've just noticed that I haven't written a review for the last three chapters.
However, I've just started re-reading Taking Control, and plan to re-read Trix afterwards. I suppose it'll take a couple of days. I'm curious what will happen earlier, that I've caught up reading Trix, or your next update.

Author's Response:

Oi mate! If you real the whole sequence (TC,FL,TPC,Trix), you're committing to the better part of a million words. Kudos to you if you can race through that in a couple days :)

Anyway, it's great to have a high profile, celebrated authour such as yourself reading through this! ;)




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear