Search:

SIYE Time:6:55 on 19th October 2017

Reviews For Trix

Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.27 - 05:26PM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstarstar

Bill and Teri got along surprisingly well, considering that Teri wanted to talk to Harry only. I'm pretty sure it would be the same with Ginny, if Harry would ask Teri nicely and give her enough time to get used to the idea. I remember when I read Trix for the first time, it was quite irritating that Ginny has never shown the slightest interest in talking to Teri. Something is wrong here!

The birthday party for Ron was a great idea, and a nice surprise, not only for Ron, but for me as well. I hope this nice gesture will help Ron to overcome his prejudices.

Author's Response:

Yes, I figured that Bill would be a good choice for a Weasley who could bridge fairly well with Teri. He is somewhat affable but most importantly (at least in canon) he is the calmest Weasley. Teri respects calm, and she is quite averse to frenetic, nervous, or otherwise volatile people. Perhaps she has a wizarding equivalent to Asperger's or some other autistic spectrum disorder?

In that light, although Ginny is really rather calm and balanced in this AU (as well as various other retellings; not so in canon), Teri will not easily get over the ferocity with which Ginny protected Harry during the incident on the warding day. Ginny understands this, and one might assume she worries that her presence would stifle the openness that Teri has around Harry alone. The question of Ginny's and Teri's abilities to interact with each other will play into the climax, though.

Yes, I think birthdays are a time for personal growth... and Ron is indeed growing, albeit at his own pace.

Thank you for your thoughts, Martin!



Reviewer: sdourse Signed Date: 2016.06.09 - 12:55PM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstarstar

Fun story! This one has been going for a while. How long do you plan for it to be?

Author's Response:

That's an awfully good question. I want to guess that the story is roughly half over; there is a lot of *action* yet to play out, so I'm unlikely to rush the narrative. That said, though, I would hope that the second half doesn't take as much real time to release as the first half did.

Anyway, thank you for reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: dannbard Signed Date: 2016.06.08 - 08:37AM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting contrast between this story and Splinters. You don't have many of those breathtaking passages in this one, but everything is smooth, easy to read. Is Trix basically pulp? If so, it's good pulp. Lot's of fun.

I liked that Teri got on so well with Bill. You haven't used Bill much since the end of Counterpoint, but he's a good complementary character.

Anyway, a fine chapter. More soon?

Author's Response:

Is this pulp? Sure, I guess so. It's clearly easier to write (and edit!) than Splinters or Biscuits were, since they forever hinged on colourful imagery, whereas this is earthy black and white class fiction.

Yes, it's true that the secondary/tertiary Weasleys play less of a role in this than in The Prevailing Counterpoint. Bill was almost as prominent in the earlier story as the twins were. Will he regain such prominence in this one? I'm not sure yet -- I'll have to see as I improvise my way through this.

Thank you very much for your latest thoughtful comments, Dann!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 11:39PM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstar

Am presuming that Lamont is referring to Ginny....but the possibility of it being Bellatrix (in some weird synchronicity) also seems real.

...or it could refer to both, consciously or unconsciously. Unlikely but interesting contemplation nevertheless.

Author's Response:

Of course, to presume Lamont is referring to Ginny is the reasonable default. If this were Splinters, you would be perfectly apt in suspecting that I might be conflating multiple subplots, or establishing weird synchronicity, but Trix derives its weirdness fro other sources, and is actually a rather linear story-line, with normal (largely parallel) threads.

All that said, however, I believe your thought process is well attuned. This story is ultimately about Harry figuring out who he is, post-Voldemort. In that sense, he needs to figure out whether he 'wants' Quidditch enough to make it a lifelong goal, and he needs to figure out whether he's focused and dedicated enough to the concept of peace and light to defeat the elements of chaos and darkness such as Lestrange.

So a very useful, thought-provoking review. Thanks Gene!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 08:28PM Title: Elders' Insights

Well at lease they are working on why trix is having the issues and maybe startred to figure out where to go in her defence...and lamont is right ginny wants it more....kutgw

Author's Response:

Which witch tricks Trix? ;)

I believe by the context of your note, you're referring to Teri, as opposed to the diminutive 'trix' which may be short for Bellatrix. Or perhaps it's not, and the authour is only toying with you. In any case, if you made a slight slip then it's all my fault anyway since I've been taking so long to update.

So, to properly reply to you, yes Harry & co. do make the occasional progress on practical protection for Teri who is in a fairly constant state of endangerment. It remains a race, though, since the secretive plots in the background remain ambiguous and forever shifting.

Oh, and there will be a bit more light shed on Lamont's statements in the next chapter (drafting of which is in the early stages).

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Fred!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 06:51AM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstarstar

Well, I am definitely rather fond of Lamont. He is also quite correct I believe in stating that Ginny wants it more than Harry. Great surprise birthday for Ron in the Slytherin common room. Bill's examination of what is happening with Teri is unfortunate, but not surprising. Harry and the others still have to find a solution and catch the perpetrators as soon as possible.

Author's Response:

Indeed, for all Harry is exceptionally mature (and arguably even wise) for his age, there are other wise perspectives out there and Harry tends to attract them. Glad you liked Lamont -- he might come across to some as 'unsettling', but perhaps that's a normal impression to form of people who have a somewhat different way of looking at the world.

Yes, your assessment of Harry's and Ginny's different priority ranks is correct and is at least approximately faithful to canon. Harry was, early in the story, confronted with Zabini's perspective that he (Harry) was a shoo-in for professional Quidditch if he so chose, but at numerous steps along the way one gets subtle hints of the guilt Harry feels for undertaking the Flying Circus adventure half-heartedly. Ginny, by contrast, is outwardly understated in her dedication to playing, but the evidence of her true commitment shines through in every non-verbal way possible. She is partaking in the whole criminal investigation subplot with all due energy as well, but I think astute readers such as yourself have noted that she doesn't have quite the passion for it that Harry does.

And so it is (as is so often the case) we have two strong individuals, accommodating each other fairly selflessly, but each with his/her own somewhat different life to lead. The underlying unspoken question, of course, is whether those two lives can be aligned in harmonious parallel...

Oh, and speaking of very different life paths -- yes, another step along the gradual re-integration of Ron.

Thank you very much for the review, MollyandArthur!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.06.06 - 05:05PM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good chapter. Great game.

Author's Response:

First of all, glad you enjoyed the chapter -- kind of an incremental one, but some furthering of plot nonetheless.

Secondly, I'm equally glad that you got a kick out of the latest match. They're going to thin out a bit going forward for a reason that will arise in the next chapter, but I'm fairly certain that there will be three more. In approaching the matches, I aim for a diversity of subplots and outcomes, and also aspire to some character development on the part of Harry, Ginny or some other character. Hopefully the remaining contests will be comparably entertaining.

Thank you for the kind words, Dad!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2016.06.05 - 11:23PM Title: Elders' Insights

starstarstarstarstar

I don't watch televised sports anymore, gave them up decades ago (not good for the heart), but reading your accounts of the Flying Circus certainly Exceeds Expectations!

Author's Response:

Interestingly enough, I too swore off televised sports about a decade ago for what I recognised, in retrospect, were similar reasons. On the front of it, I just didn't feel I could spare the time to be a true fan, but in truth I found soon enough that I really didn't miss the highs and heart-breaking lows. Anyway, I figured out when writing The Prevailing Counterpoint (and especially The Seeker Daughter) that I did have some ability to write about those crazy swings, and that it was fun to compose.

Anyway, thank you very much for the kind words, and for reading Trix, Ronald!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear