Search:

SIYE Time:13:27 on 17th August 2017

Reviews For Trix

Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.03.12 - 03:19AM Title: Strange Operations

starstarstarstar

How did this story become "Complete"? Know that you were seeming a bit discouraged after the last chapter...but were clearly intending to finish it.

Is that no longer true? Don't have any judgment around that. Believe it's a good story and warrants more attention than it's been getting. But, if it's lost its juice for you, that is understandable.

Have never checked if you are on fanfiction.net or not. Are you?

Thank you...




Author's Response:

Oh? I have no idea how the story got marked complete, but it's fixed now.

As far as whether I still intend to complete it, the answer is yes. Late in the fall, through around New Years I got semi-serious about working on it and did a fair bit of editing, but then I got hit with an odd whimsy that prompted me to instead write music. Three halfway decent piano pieces later I think that compulsion has temporarily run its course, so perhaps I'll once again devote my evenings to writing.

I indeed am not on ff.net. Back when SIYE validation queues were clogging, I began posting things on my own site, but that's not been a problem for quite a while, so from a fictional perspective, I am an SIYE-exclusive writer. Or at least I have been.

Anyway, thank you for the note!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2016.07.10 - 12:40PM Title: Strange Operations

starstarstarstar

I've been a bad girl and haven't reviewed. Actually now I only read this side on the tablet and it is really difficult to write in English.on it. You write really well and the chapter is good, butthe story is dragging a bit.

Author's Response:

Yes, I suppose it may be dragging. Unlike my other recent stories, this one involves cautious 'feeling around' on the part of the antagonist, while H&G still don't know enough about the threat to know *how* to charge in and make things happen more precipitously. That's all in the design of a gradually building drama, but the result is a somewhat prolonged dance of tease and discovery which may well come across as dull. There is also the bit about having two plots in one.

Anyway, the project as a whole has always baffled me a bit -- the story has gotten a surprising amount of recognition, but the reviews are sparser than my other stories and (except for a couple of refreshing exceptions) tend to be more tepid. The people who requested the story in the first place seem to have have long since abandoned it. As a result, it's easy to put it aside when other things come up, as is again the case (I wrote part of chapter 15, but am temporarily sidetracked by a few non-HP projects, plus one other HP story).

On the flip side, though, I do have a clear plan for the rest of the story (including a spiral-out-of-control path to the climax), and when I occasionally go back to reread the story, I generally find it to be a fun read.

So ultimately,I will finish the story, but it will probably be on the back burner for a while again until the enthusiasm deficit subsides.



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2016.06.23 - 05:09PM Title: Strange Operations

starstarstarstarstar

I have to ask, who is Hyperia and Anders?

Author's Response:

Imagine if the Wizarding World had the kind of fan-fic phenomena that ours does? Hyperia and Anders would be the Ginny and Harry of that world -- the fictitious stars of romance and adventure of varying degrees of sensuality and/or cheesiness.

Thank you for the review, Aimless, and thanks for the recent PM discussion on aspects of other recent chapters.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.06.23 - 04:35PM Title: Strange Operations

starstarstarstarstar

You are moving right along with your Trix GHL. I believe the '98 Circus vs Portugal match had Emilio Estevez in attendance. There is probably something to that, so ya, indeed. I get it, and better late than never.

Some of these reporters, like Kikis....I would say at least one of the squad was prepared if not pleasantly surprised with that line of, uh.... questions(let's go with that)

I am looking forward to Haiti, I will review some some more upon this chapter after you have replied to this review. I might have something to say about the challenge issue as well.

Author's Response:

Ah, I hadn't realised that Esteves wasn't a Muggle. There should be good celebrity seating for him, fortunately, as the match will be at Wiltshire Downs.

Yes, it was inevitable that the press coverage should not always be so glowing. I think the twins could have handled the question fairly scathingly too, but there are times when a captain's responsibility is manifest.

Great -- if you had more opinions to render, that would be superb. Thank you for following along!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.06.22 - 04:51AM Title: Strange Operations

Well getting new people in to the safe house is never easy but sometimes you can figure out what all is going on with the other side with them....kutgw

Author's Response:

Too true. I think the message is that it is not always one's friends who can be seen to have hardships. Enemies, too, have their fears and privations. I often think back to Slughorn's inspirational speech about Death Eaters not being a fearsome force, but rather the thugs and wretches on the fringes of society. True, perhaps, but how did they get that way? I prefer to believe that although a few people are innately and irredeemably evil, the vast majority are not.

Thanks for the review, Fred!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.06.21 - 02:28PM Title: Strange Operations

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A pleasure to read.

Author's Response: Thanks Dad! Compared to my other stories, this one has always been inherently easy to write, and I think that translates into a favourable reading experience. The prose may not be artful; the images not so vibrant, but I think the characters speak easily, and the action flows. Anyway, glad you're enjoying it!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.21 - 08:57AM Title: Strange Operations

starstarstarstarstar

Another very interesting chapter and a great way to start my day. I am quite curious about Mrs. Crabbe and Amelie, and how they will fit in with everyone at the safe house. Harry should certainly be concerned about the possibility of unknown deaths and disappearances among the old death eater crowd. There may well be widows and young orphans who have been too frightened to request assistance, but who could appear at any time. The game in Haiti should definitely be something. Haitians take their magic seriously, and most of it can be rather dark. They would do well to be prepared for anything because they are likely to see and experience a lot.

Author's Response:

Ah -- much truth in this review. Thank you MollyandArthur!

Indeed, there is definitely discomfort within the dark community. Among the dirty 'trix' playing out right now, only a fraction are affecting the targets one might normally associate with a revenge scenario. So why the peculiar fratricide? That may be the biggest mystery right now.

Haiti! That will definitely be the next adventure, and (though I haven't written much yet) may well span multiple chapters. And yes, a lot of that excursion will not be about Quidditch.

Anyway, sincere appreciation for the astute thoughts and kind words!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear