Search:

SIYE Time:22:09 on 18th November 2017

Reviews For Trix

Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2017.10.06 - 08:18AM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

Qudditch loss doesn't look like a loss, more of a case of loads of bad luck produced by evil plots. Might teach a lesson of responsibility though :P

Attack seems just a cover for Teri's jumper to leave in Nott's rucksack. Might've been a test for zombie army as well ). Very interesting developments, Quidditch game seems secondary to all the other happenings.

Author's Response:

Sharp as always! While I usually like to leave detailed responses to reviews, I think in this case it's best that I keep my words to a minimum so that I don't give things away for other readers.

One thing to say, though, is that 'yes', the Quidditch match (both here and in general) is rather secondary to the behind-the-scenes intrigue. And, indeed, it was rather a learning experience.

Thank you for the review, Aimless!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.09.29 - 03:28AM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

What the trip to Haiti just a trick to lure them away from England? Probably not, the attack of the Bokor, presumably Bella's ally, was certainly planned especially for the trip.
Who betrayed the location of Dolwyddelan to the attackers, it's under the Fidelius Charm and, as far as I know, unplottable. They shouldn't have found it without help.
And again the jumper. I'd suspected right from the beginning that it'll somehow find its way to Bella. I guess that someone forced Nott Jr. to nick the jumper during that incident. The sole reason for the attack might be to get hold of the jumper. They should give Teri another jumper to protect her.
Hermione and the house elves, lol.
The Silver stranger, I must admit that my first guess was Lucius, the usual suspect, but, of course, Roland fits in quite well here.


Author's Response:

Some interesting speculations here.

First of all, correct to not assume Malfoy was having any involvement with dark Caribbean magic -- he was too relentlessly busy in England during the time frame. He does remain at large in this AU, however. He's largely been ostracised at this point by both the dark and the light, yet it's not inconceivable that he might attempt some sort of desperate move. But he doesn't. Not in this book.

Bellatrix has a bit of a history with the house, considering she was scouting out the nearby village early in the book and was, by Teri's own insinuations, probably using her as a window into the place for a while. Teri's protections are too strong for that now, but a combination of previous 'intel' plus some other unwitting manipulation likely got her close enough. Fortunately, it was unsuccessful.

Finally, it does seem I have managed to maintain an element of surprise for you on a few points. That's probably not a bad thing.

Anyway, you made it through! I do recall saying, a long while back, that I feared you would not like this story. It's a testament to your character that you kept with it. Hope you're on to some good fun reading for a while!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.09.06 - 11:29PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarhalf-star

What a game! Thankfully the flying circus' members are well. and the plot thickens.

Author's Response:

Yes, it was a wild one. Thank you, LG!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2017.09.05 - 02:17PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

Yes Yes. Dawn was certainly not the reason for the delay. This is my response ability. As far as the review I am here to make, it would begin at responses to reviews which I read. The Overall tone appears as "What doix you think upon this idea?" And from werre it was thought upon was the choice of the writer and the reader; and now also the reviewer.

My part in the creation of O.N. How it was written: The vowels are carriers, the consonants modulate. Also, you may also find it necessary to expose yourself to a sprinkle from the African Doctor. Ah, that one still makes me :).

Timalice and his weirdness. Some O bo at work I think. Fuzzing the senses, capturing awareness. Interested to see where GHL takes this. I can only speculate.

Big thanks to GHL for the patience. Also, have a 'you're welcome' for all the contributions I have made. NO, I will not pay a premium. Sharing is caring. Tooootles!


Author's Response:

Ah, mais non non non! Not your fault in the delay -- that one is strictly mine own, involving some travel, a business plan, some consultancy (and blah blah blah).

In all of that, indeed, a proper thank you is certainly owed for the character rendition that livened up Chapter 16! I personally found the dialogue to be very melodious, and meaningful when spoken. Living life merely on the written page, however, is rather limited...

Anyway, I also benefited greatly (as alluded previously) from the cultural back-and-forth. An expert on the West Indies, I am not.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 06:36PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

I don't mind admitting I was relieved when Harry caught the snitch and ended the match. The tension was making me nervous both from the game and from their presence in Haiti, particularly after the injury. Even with the threat of attacks on the wards, I'm glad they're all back home. Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Oh, perfect!

I mean, it's not quite so goo to have readers discomfited, but I was very much aiming to convey (without actually saying) that nobody was being a quitter by shelving the match; the time had indeed come to get the heck out of there. And yes, the return home brought some fresh mysteries, but was far from unwelcome...

Thank you very much for the thoughts and feedback! Time for me to return the favour!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 01:43PM Title: Strafe and Secure

Sometimes the past should stay isn't he past and just prepare for the future...kutgw

Author's Response:

Fascinating bit of wisdom there (though I suspect your keyboard wasn't cooperating perfectly), in that yes -- it is perfectly valid to wonder whether the past holds any real insight into the future? Historians and philosophers tend to advise us to heed the past, but what if the future is too different?

Excellent thought, Fred. I shall ponder it as things move forward.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 09:09AM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Not too sure what we learnt in this chapter, but still a good read.

Author's Response:

Learn? Hah! I guess one might learn that everyone in this story is falling maddeningly short of learning anything.

Some of the most intuitive guessers (such as those that used to haunt TPC and Splinters review pages) would likely spot three or four things that are lurking just barely below the surface; things that they might partially guess but that our protagonists are still stymied by. A challenge for anyone out there who thinks they may be smarter than Hogwarts' best :)

Anyway, thank you for the kind words, Dad!



Reviewer: LysCsuri Signed Date: 2017.09.04 - 08:17AM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstarstar

Why is it that when things seem easy, I'm sure it's going to be hard? An easy win against the attackers, Teri feeling secure, and all that? I get the feeling this is not supposed to be a happy happy little story.

Author's Response:

All too true -- in an upside down story like this, good news is not to be trusted.

Thank you very much for the review, Lys!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.09.03 - 11:52PM Title: Strafe and Secure

starstarstarstar

Daphne gets the funniest line to wrap this chapter...

Author's Response:

Thanks Aragorn!

Ultimately the desperate humourist in me wonders if I could have done a little more to set up the line, but sometimes a one-liner can still ring, even without buildup.

In any case, I (as always) appreciate your take on things!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear