Search:

SIYE Time:22:27 on 26th May 2017


Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.01.25 - 12:50AM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

Awesome stuff! I truly envy your ability to use guffaw-inducing, ridiculously pompous language, yet somehow keep the tension, drama, and budding romance intact! You have quite the gift and I enjoyed this story thoroughly. I look forward to the next installment in your series!

Author's Response: Well, my profound thanks for the kind words! There seemed to be a magic in the air when Fuddle and Secrest came to me -- words and images and silly scenarios all seemed to flow. Hopefully I'll recapture that, although it's hard to get into a nice groove with so many other things on the go. Great reviews like this are a potent incentive though!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.12.30 - 09:22PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

Read this already though wasn't able to leave a review then. It's so wonderful to read a story of the start of a good friendship between Harry and Ginny. Oh can't stop laughing of Dobby and Ginny's descriptions of food lol

Author's Response:

I think that, although I have a certain fondness for each of the stories I've written, writing Fuddle and capturing that special balance of friendship was particularly satisfying.

Glad you enjoyed the silly humour!

Thank you again for reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.12.30 - 09:10PM Title: Plum Porridge & Squash Guts

Oh loving your Ginny

Author's Response:

Ah -- great that you like her! One of the great pleasures of HP/AU is imagining how we could discover Ginny in a world where she was not so shunted to the background and then dragged down so terribly by the CoS...

Thank you for reading again, and for chiming in!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.09.26 - 12:38PM Title: Sneezewort & Shady Plots

starstarstarstarstar

I missed reviewing this story...written in early 2015. I can vaguely recall this time period. You made extensive(first wrote full but I realize that would have been hyperbole) use of your vocabulary (people will look at you funny if you use your clever speech patterns in person...well maybe not people like me ...but let's close this bracket because I have tangented with my uhhhh) words. This was gud read.

Author's Response:

Ah, well thank you very kindly for cycling back to this story -- it's definitely a favourite of mine, and set a tough standard to live up to in writing sequels.

Early in my writing, I think I tossed vocabulary around a bit too casually, but now (especially in my short stories) I do sometimes dwell a long time over key emotions and descriptions, and sometimes change a word three or four times before it sticks. Unfortunately that slows down the writing, but... oh well.

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2015.03.20 - 10:18AM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, this was... Just wow!

This is well thought-out and just so entertaining that it would be a shame if you didn't do a second year follow-up, showing how they dance around each other trying to deny their obvious attraction. XD

Apart from a few obscure terms and Americanisms, I'd say is is a pretty good job, literary-wise, too.

Keep narrating,
Ranma-sensei

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the kind comments, Diether! If you happened to have jotted down the specific phrasings that you considered awkward, I would definitely appreciate knowing them (please PM me) since I fairly frequently revisit stories to tweak them and clean up glitches.

Yes, I have gotten a fair amount of encouragement to continue the story, and clearly there is premise and character development to work from. It would have to be comedic of course (the drama and emerging romance would be complementary elements), and good comedic sequences are very demanding to write. That said, however, I have several fun sequences already taking shape in my mind, so perhaps I should toss a pilot out there and see how much interest it gets.



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2015.03.13 - 12:36AM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

Excellent. I certainly would like to see more in this universe, if the Muse strikes.

Author's Response:

Ah yes, it's a tempting premise to work with. I think the most interesting challenges to this universe would be drafting credible Ron and Hermione characters, since a courageous, confident, outgoing Ginny alters their roles in the dynamic. I suspect they might grow up a bit faster, since they would no longer be in a position to petulantly compete for Harry's favour. Needless to say, I'm thinking about it.

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to read and offer your valued thoughts!



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2015.03.13 - 12:09AM Title: Plum Porridge & Squash Guts

Dobby thinks chapter is good. Dobby likes powerful witch Wheezy's sense of humor. Dobby enjoys GHL writer's story.

Author's Response: Merci encore! I was delighted at how this chapter was received -- I went out on a bit of a limb with some of the complexities in Ginny's character (sometimes wry, sometimes shy; quick transitions from funny to furious) but I'm grateful that readers seemed to value that as an honest characterization. Dobby, of course, was an authour's dream exercise.



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2015.03.12 - 11:02PM Title: Sneezewort & Shady Plots

I just realized that I forgot to leave a review on this one. Yes, I enjoyed this story very much. Ginny's sense of mischief is captured perfectly.

Author's Response: Thanks Andrew -- I greatly appreciate your thoughts! Yes, I've frequently regretted never getting to meet the younger Ginny that Ron occasionally alludes to in CoS (chatterbox, bundle of mischief, takes no guff -- even from the twins) and have found her to be immensely fun to write. I sincerely believe that if she had been able to discover Harry on her own terms, she would have no trouble moving quickly from awestruck to sidekick and soon enough thereafter to full-fledged partner in crime.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.03.02 - 04:39PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

Not only was this most humorous and ingenious but I'd add kudos for magnificently brilliant as well! This is one of the funniest and most entertaining stories I've read in awhile!

Author's Response: Coming from one of the most witty and incisive reviewers to liven this site, I have to say I'm flattered. Thank you Cosmo!



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2015.02.23 - 12:50AM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

Loads of fun.

Author's Response: Thank you Chris -- great to hear from you again, and I greatly appreciate the review!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2015.02.22 - 04:49PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

I have been on holydays for a long time and have only seen the end of your story in the tablet. And I'm lazy to write in English on the tablet. A very late review to say your story is really great. Dobby helped a lot, much more than in CoS and that was fine. It made more believable that two children could defeat death eaters. It's a shame taht yours is the only story in the Challenge, because it would be better to win a few trophys with competition, because it is really awesome.

Author's Response:

Hey Silvia! Great to hear from you -- hope you enjoyed your downtime! I certainly understand about tablet typing, so no worries whatsoever!

I agree completely regarding realism and the need for a bit of help. I can see a single child successfully thwarting two idiots, but when you make it four wizards, of which all are now suspicious, and two actually have a bit of intelligence, then I think it's justified to expect that even a smart, resourceful child like Ginny could use some help. Harry alone might have given her some help, but at this point Harry has not had much experience in fighting 'humans' (I don't count Quirrell for various reasons). Interestingly, when I first thought about crafting this story, I considered doing it when they were older, but all of those summers were cluttered by various canonical scheduling conflicts. So having Dobby spirit Harry away from Privet Drive seemed to work.

And finally, yes, I agree wholeheartedly that it's a shame no other stories were submitted. I mostly say that because it's nice for the readers to be able to make an objective comparison, and for authours to see what inspiration other authours derived from the challenge call. However, I can't complain too much since I did have a story idea for the Married Lives challenge, but didn't follow through because I was focused on finishing TPC. (BTW, my apologies to Pleurocoelus for not stepping up, but belated congratulations on your story!). Ah well...



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2015.02.21 - 02:14PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

Loved how the seriousness of what might have happened was tempered by the hilarious Dobby!! And I do want to know how the shoe helped!

Author's Response:

Ah yes -- although this is definitely more comedic than dramatic, the serious (even slightly foreboding) undertone is a clear reason for not labeling it as 'fluff'. And yes, I also wanted to make the story humourous without poking fun at Ginny or Harry (though admittedly Harry takes it on the chin a bit, and Ginny's subconscious is a tad madcap at times) which meant primary reliance on secondary characters for the chuckles. Dobby was a true revelation in this respect -- clearly he is much more the CoS Dobby (idealistic, frantic and possessing slightly questionable judgment) as opposed to the GoF / DH Dobby where he becomes more staid and thoughtful. Methinks if I continue to expand this thread, I will have to keep him on as a key conspirator. I will also have to consider whether / how to earn him his freedom.

Thank you again for your thoughts, Joy!



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2015.02.21 - 09:49AM Title: Plum Porridge & Squash Guts

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ginny's master plans made me think of "Home Alone" and I loved all Dobby's conversations..."evil boobies" probably was my favourite!

Author's Response:

One of the more gratifying things about responding to the comments for this story has been that nearly everyone who's been specific has mentioned a different passage. It would have been much easier to write this story without trying to devise some spicy little ridiculousities to sprinkle throughout, but many of those little investments in silliness have proven well worthwhile!

Thank you very much for reading through and providing your feedback!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2015.02.16 - 11:31PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

My face hurts from smiling!

Author's Response: And thank you again for brightening my morning!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2015.02.16 - 11:31PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

My face hurts from smiling!

Author's Response: Wonderful! That was really the intention of that final sequence -- leave the readers with feel-good smile! Thank you for reading and opining!



Reviewer: LysCsuri Signed Date: 2015.02.16 - 11:16AM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

How touching! With the little race at the end, it's like Ginny realizes that she's being accepted as a 'big kid', so now she feels free to be carefree around Harry. It's so endearing that Harry feels that, despite all the pressures, he can let loose and be frivolous around her. Unlike must of the rest of the story, the end is not 'funny', but it is ever so sweet.

Author's Response:

Ah yes -- I think that's a great way of looking at it. Although these two have just faced down a real and very dangerous threat, they are, after all, only 11 and 12 years old. This is something that JKR doesn't always heed in her earlier books, but I think is important to keep in mind. I have 9, 10, 11-year-olds tearing through my house often enough to know that although they can be fairly responsible at times, none of them have anything against the occasional indisputable silliness. Same is true of the authour!

Merci beaucoup pour la revue!



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2015.02.15 - 02:55PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

I suspect Lucius is not going to be pleased. This turn-of-events will surely change quite a few things for Ginny and Harry for her first year at Hogwarts, happily so. Loved your Dobby, as well!! Well done and good luck with the challenge.

Author's Response:

Old Luce may have a weedy row to hoe, I fear. And yes, the next step in the thought experiment could be to see just how things may unfold in the '92-'93 school year. Who will end up with the diary? Will a titanium quartet (instead of the the golden trio) be able to tolerate all of the strong personalities? What about a certain paragon of evil who is so motivated to vindicate his son's death -- how will that play out when the wizard starts, in his cunning but highly disturbed mind, to conflate memories of his dead son with the still very-much-alive Harry?

Ach -- too many crazy ideas!

Thank you again for reading and sharing your valued thoughts!



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2015.02.15 - 12:14PM Title: Plum Porridge & Squash Guts

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I was wondering how Harry would wind up in the mix, and I was not disappointed. I was afraid you would have Ginny be completely confident when he arrived, but was happy to see a bit of her awkwardness and shyness appear in the presence of the great and good Harry Potter. 😄 I am looking forward to seeing how the break the ice and get to know each other better, and more importantly, get rid of the bad wizards once and for all - at least for this story.😉

Author's Response:

Ah -- great that I met your expectations on that. As you now obviously know (since you finished the story before I got around to responding) you've seen that it took a while for Ginny to transition from hero worship to friendship aspirations to outright cameraderie. Much much faster than canon though! :)

Thank you again for opining!



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2015.02.14 - 01:44PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

A fitting end (or beginning?) to Harry and Ginny's story. I especially enjoyed the alliteration and the excellent use of indigenous flora and fauna throughout, as well as the bad guys' accents. All in all a really creative comedy that seemed to capture the spirit of 'Home Alone'.

Author's Response:

Splendid to hear that you got a kick out of it! It was a fun exercise to write -- I've included comedic sequences in my other stories, but this is the first attempt at making humour the top priority. This last chapter was a bit more serious by force of having to achieve resolution to the conflict and, more importantly, conveying the outcome of the Harry/Ginny character drama in a light-hearted but semi-serious way.

Gratifying that you enjoyed the local colour! Accents, for better or for worse, are a great facilitator of comedy, though unless canon dictates, I tend to avoid letting any character fall too stereotypically into a single dialect (political correctness I guess). I also try not to overdo the descriptive text, but I do think readers appreciate it if it 'feels' a bit different for them to walk in the woods in Devon, as opposed to bouldering in the Grampians or strolling the Manx seacoast.

Anyway, thank you so much for reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: gracepark Signed Date: 2015.02.14 - 12:18PM Title: Chapter Without Ampersand

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! And this is why you also called it an action/adventure? Funny/ironic that Ginny was able to succeed without magic in the end (just as the challenge required). Also very cute that Harry is thinking of ways to protect Ginny at the same time that Ginny saves Harry. Oh, and the shoe is a metaphor for youthful innocence prevailing over old intransigence (giggle).

Author's Response:

Yes indeed -- this chapter has a bit more drama to it. Great that you enjoyed the subtle ironies here! Oh, and brilliant stab at it, but of course the shoe symbolizes the sacrifice inherent in pursuit of the common good. And yes, I'll be a good sport and, er, giggle.

Thank you for following through to the end and for sharing your worthy thoughts!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear