Search:

SIYE Time:22:09 on 18th November 2017

Reviews For Homecoming

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.10.28 - 04:24PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Love the last line of this chapter, and it certainly seems to be true. He is a very different Harry from the usual.

Author's Response: I do always try and put Harry in different situations. I mean, what's the point of writing Fan Fiction unless you're going to do something different with the characters? I admit, I'd watched too many Cold War spy thrillers when I came to write this.



Reviewer: SorachiBlue Signed Date: 2015.05.30 - 07:16PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Loved the story!!M. Please continue with this story! There's still lots to expand upon!

Author's Response: Who knows, maybe when I've finished with the 685 other ideas I have. Obsessed? Me??



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2015.03.06 - 10:27AM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

I've not been receiving new story emails so imagine my surprise when I log on and see a new story from you! Brilliant and different start! :)

Author's Response: I'm like a ninja warrior - I appear out of nowhere!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.02.26 - 04:31PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

ah harry is on the move to go back home and make it work again....NORMAL....how will he know what normal looks like....nothing but what he has been thought is normal to him....kutgw

Author's Response: It's alright; nothing will be normal at home, either.



Reviewer: GazingIntoTheAbyss Signed Date: 2015.02.22 - 06:45PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

I am glad to see you back with another story! As a belgian, I can only approve this!

Author's Response: Go, Belgium!



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2015.02.22 - 01:46PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Exciting storyline. Post Hogwarts (if I can call it that) is my favourite era to read, and it should be fun seeing which characters have survived, and what is going on in England after Voldemort's demise. Slightly ironic that Harry's been kicked out of his job on moral and ethical grounds when he's been happily screwing someone else's wife for months!

Author's Response: To be fair, Harry's ethical problems were due to Department M's rather ruthless assassination program, next to which diddling some other bloke's wife rather pales. Still, Harry's no saint in this story, but he'll still be a lot nicer than I showed him in 'Hail Odysseus'.



Reviewer: stefanvh Signed Date: 2015.02.22 - 02:15AM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Great to see you with another story! :) How many chapters will this one be?
I do feel the kind of tone expressed in "Nameless Man" also here. With Harry having relationship problems and the like, and then finding love with Ginny. Will this continue in the same way?

Either way, welcome back!

Author's Response: 16 chapters in all, although the last one is just an epilogue type of thing. There's definitely a 'Nameless Man' flavour to this, although it is significantly different in a number of ways. You don't really want me to tell you how Ginny comes into this story, do you?



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2015.02.21 - 10:54AM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You're off to a great start, per your usual. I can't wait to see who Harry knows and doesn't know when he returns to England, and I hope his hopes aren't dashed. However, I suppose there will be a few more bumps in the road along the way to him discovering his true place in the world.

Author's Response: Ah, you know me - I can't write a story without a few bumps in it. Not to mention sex, violence and alcohol, of course. I am British, after all...



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.02.21 - 09:09AM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good and interesting start.

Author's Response: 'Interesting' certainly seems to be the most common description used to describe this chapter, which I'll take to be a good thing. Things will liven up a bit in the next one.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.02.21 - 08:50AM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Welcome back, Brennus.

International agent Harry with a moral characteristic!!...interesting.

Only thing I found in your story was that Maurice had a sip of his coffee...not a slip of his coffee.

Looking forward to the next chapter being validated.

Author's Response: No, it was definitely a slip - it went all down his nice clean shirt, too. Err, I'm not fooling anyone, am I?



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2015.02.20 - 11:14AM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Aha! A gripping cloak and dagger (or cloak and wand?) tale, well-crafted to entertain, and to sharpen my commenting quill!


This is a scintillating start -- your writing skills just continue to grow, leaving most of the rest of us in the dust. That, however, does not exempt it from punctilious punditry:



Belgium accent -- there really is no such thing. With a surname like Goossens, I would expect perhaps a Flemish accent. The alternative would be French.


over generous -- this is typically either a single compound word, or else hyphenated


breech the protections -- should be 'breach'. I only know this because William Saffire wrote an article about breech vs. breach years ago and this fact stuck with me, in mockery of all the much more useful things I forget.



Author's Response: Nice to see you've resolved your problems of inserting gaps in your reviews, really big gaps . Actually, I did agonise about referring to the accent as Belgium, but as Aurorofthelight points out, his natural langue could be Dutch or German, as well as French. As so little was known about Goossens, I figured Harry might think of it as a generic 'Belgium' accent and leave it at that. It's probably not technically accurate, but it's good enough, I think.



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 11:25PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Really good start!

Author's Response: Ah, so it will all be downhill from this point, then!



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 10:46PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

Messed up Harry should be fun :)

Author's Response: Actually, nearly ever character we meet in this story will be a bit messed up, to some degree. Then again, who isn't?



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 09:35PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

HE'S BAAAAACK!!! The Mickey Spillane of startlingly spine-tingling soirees into literary brilliance has returned at last! (Was beginning to think you'd fallen into a black hole, mate!) Love the unique plot! You have me hooked on this one like a trout taking a lure in Bassenthwaite Lake! This Harry is certainly a randy lad -- and fresh off a tryst with a married lady - sleazy indeed! Can't wait to see if Harry's future in jolly olde England involves a certain fiery red head. Vous ne pouvez pas attendre le prochain épisode! Kann nicht warten, für die nächste Tranche! Kan niet wachten tot de volgende aflevering! (Translation: Can't wait for the next installment! Sorry, couldn't resist! Belguim's official languages are French, German and Dutch!) :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Fallen into a black hole? I wasn't gone that long, was I? On a (semi-) serious note, I would say that this story is, as is my normal way, completely finished and just needs beta reading. Starting to post stories before they are finished makes no sense to me, as I always need to go back and fiddle with plots and ideas once I get to the end. Chapter 2 should up soon, and things will start to look up a bit for Harry as he starts running into some familiar faces. I do have several recurrent themes running through this story, but I can't tell you what they are without giving some of the plot away. My, that must be the most serious reply I've ever given to one of your reviews. What's wrong with me?



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 09:15PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Pleased to start a new journey with you. An intriguing premise.

May your Ginny continue to hold up the high standard you've set for her in the past. And a heathy dash of Tonks as well, it looks like.

Author's Response: Unlike a few authors who are publishing stories on this site at the moment, I will never write Ginny as a weak or unpleasant character. It's simply not how I see her. To this day, if I see anyone describe her as a 'fan girl' or 'slut' I want to slap them over the head with a especially wet piece of haddock. It will be a few chapters before Ginny makes her first appearance, as I concentrate on the main plot line first. In fact, it will be another Weasley that we encounter first, and not one I've used much before.



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 08:28PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

I find it interesting story

For me I not used reading story that Harry don't seem like a good person

Author's Response: Oh, the Harry in this story is still a good person, he's just in a pretty dark place right now. Although he was pretty much a paid assassin at Department M, the people he was taking out were the very worst of criminals who probably deserved everything they got. His carrying on with a married woman probably says a lot about his loneliness more than anything. Chapter 2 will be a lot more upbeat, and Harry will be a lot happier and carefree once he encounters a few familiar faces.



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 07:35PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Mr Brennus you are back!! Yes I am so looking forward to another brilliant story with exceptional writing and some wonderful banter. Between the characters and of course between the author and the reviewers.

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy it. This story features Tonks quite a lot, which is a character I haven't really used much in the past. I suppose she did feature in 'Butterfly Effect' quite a bit (before I killed her off, anyway) but here she's in a pretty much central role. I have to say, I loved writing some of the parts for her and I have got some good banter going between her and Harry. Hopefully chapter 2 will be up soon, which is a lot more upbeat than this rather black start.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 05:27PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice start. Can't wait for more.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: You're welcome - the next chapter should be up shortly.



Reviewer: Macsr71 Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 04:14PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, well done, his cock-up in Istanbul reminded me of the Bourne Identity where he could not shoot Wombosi there with his daughter on his chest…and now into his new life needs to come a feisty little Harpy Chaser eh? (one would hope)

Author's Response: I must admit, I do like the Bourne series of films. In fact, I have a taste for Cold War style spy dramas in general. I very much enjoyed Gary Oldman in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy a few years back, almost as good as the Alec Guinness original. A Harpy? Nah, none of those here, mate. There will, however, be a short, feisty redhead around in another guise, obviously.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2015.02.19 - 03:29PM Title: Chapter 1 - The Interview

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Always great to see a new Brennus update! I've always like stories set after the war where Harry never went to Hogwarts so I'm looking forward to this one. The idea of a disillusioned, burned out Harry is quite interesting so I can't wait to see where you take him and Ginny in this tale.

Author's Response: I, too, love Harry never went to Hogwarts tales. You can just immediately eliminate so much baggage in a story, not to mention avoid going over ground same ground a million other writers have already done to death. I mean, who gets excited if they see a story marked as a GoF re-write, or something, these days?




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear