Search:

SIYE Time:22:27 on 26th May 2017


Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.01.26 - 12:28PM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarstar

Fabulous! Simply hilarious!

Author's Response:

:) Thank you, Ed!

The climactic scene of Secrest may well be the best scene I've done. Certainly in terms of humour, and lord knows I've tried many other times.

Great to have you reading these!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.01.25 - 10:19AM Title: Prying Portraits

starstarstarstarstar

Now, that is funny!

Author's Response:

Glad you thought so!

There would be things I'd probably go back and fix in this story if given the chance (there always are, right?) but it may be the one I'm most satisfied with in general shape and balance.

Thank you again for the review!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.01.25 - 03:06AM Title: Diary Dither

starstarstarstarstar

Go, Ginny! I like her active approach to managing Cho and can't help thinking Harry will finally figure out why he likes Ginny's touch so much! Maybe it will happen about five seconds before Ron figures out that Hermione's statement about red-heads with freckles was not really about Ginny -- or has she begun playing for the other team? Great stuff, once again!

Author's Response: I've actually had a lot of fun, in the various stories, writing H&G at different ages and stages of emotional development, and 'discovery' is perhaps the most enjoyable thing for a writer to unravel.

And speaking of 'discovery', I believe your first instincts serve you best regarding Hermione. I think she's right at the age [~12.9] for moving from i) analytical thoughts about what girls or women might strive for in order to be considered pretty, to ii) those sort of thoughts that even the smartest, most responsible teens simply cannot avoid. Letting that slip in the presence of girlish gigglers is, perhaps, a little... awkward :)

Thank you very much for the review; great that you're enjoying the show!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.12.30 - 08:01PM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

One of the few stories where I can tolerate the hosepipe 'coz you've made her so silly. A wonderful and funny story

Author's Response:

Heh. Yes, it was fun to turn Cho Chang into a harmless background distraction. Cedric was also fun to write, even though he's mostly a straight foil. Although left out of the Animal Quackers silliness, he will make an appearance in the final story... though I think I'll let Cho rest on her silly laurels.

Great that you enjoyed the story -- thank you very much for leaving feedback!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.12.30 - 07:41PM Title: Prying Portraits

Still loving this chapter

Author's Response:

Ah yes -- this one was a fun / silly one.

Thank you for reading through again!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.12.30 - 07:19PM Title: Diary Dither

Laughed so hard while reading this chapter. Love your Harry and Ginny

Author's Response:

Super to have you back for another round, thank you!

Certainly made my New Years Eve!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.06.24 - 08:32AM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

Laughed so hard at the "OPEN" "CLOSE"....this is brilliant

Author's Response:

Yes, the one thing that always struck me about Chamber of Secrets was that Tommy was so stodgy and pompous, that he really deserved some brash irrelevance. That was way too much fun to write, and once I fulfill some other obligations, I truly intend to go back and bring the 'trilogy' to a natural (and very silly) conclusion.

Thank you again for chiming in, nayin1704!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.06.24 - 08:00AM Title: Diary Dither

Super love Harry and Ginny's friendship here. Oh and it's so funny and sweet how Harry run away from the annoying hosepipe coz he doesn't want Ginny to get mad at him

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Nayin1704!

Not sure if you've had the chance to read Fuddle Fog & Fungus Bumps? It is a comparably silly (if also hopefully uplifting) story that provides the back story on how this incarnation of Harry and Ginny came to be. Fundamentally, this is an exploration of where our favourite pair would be if they could have first met up via a shared adventure, not distracted by other assertive personalities like Ron and Hermione).

Anyway, it's great to hear that you enjoyed this little alternate universe piece.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2015.09.02 - 12:22AM Title: Prying Portraits

starstarstarstar

Reading a little late, sorry bout that. Your Trojan horse idea is grate. Full of life those paintings that are 3verywh3re. A little frightening for those unsuspecting students who keep oddities in their side tables, I am guessing. 21 women 6 dudes, 27 people. Curious numbers.


Author's Response:

No apologies necessary -- thank you for popping a few thoughts onto the page!

Interesting quantitation. That reminds me of myself -- when writing, I spend a lot of time dwelling upon secondary and tertiary details that many people would simply gloss over. I guess that part of the fun when writing (and sometimes even when reading) is to learn something...

Anyway, yes, I would consider it rather dystopic to have a bunch of pseudo-sentient portrait characters watching and gossiping like that.



Reviewer: BobVosh Signed Date: 2015.07.02 - 10:26AM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarstar

I think I speak for everyone when I say "more."

Also playing keep away with Voldemort and a chunk of his soul is excellent.

Author's Response:

Great that you enjoyed it -- thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Bob!

Yes, I definitely enjoyed writing the 'keep-away' segment. Since that point, I had been struggling to arrive at a good, novel comic motif for the third and final installment of this mini-series, and recently I believe I finally did come up with another wacky scenario (hopefully just as fun as the Chamber scene) to light-heartedly accomplish what could otherwise be a fairly dark moment. Now just have to write it.



Reviewer: BobVosh Signed Date: 2015.07.02 - 09:55AM Title: Prying Portraits

starstarstarstarstar

How convient.

Author's Response: Yes, it was convenient, wasn't it? Perhaps the Challenge judges weren't as thrilled with my pragmatism, but the challenge specifications worked exceptionally well with what I needed to accomplish in order to line the plot up. So ultimately, I think I ended up going with the plot device that worked best with the story.



Reviewer: BobVosh Signed Date: 2015.07.02 - 07:28AM Title: Diary Dither

starstarstarstarstar

No 12 year old boy has ever thought "really aces" outside of 50's television.

I'm going to have to read all your stories on here, aren't I? *sigh* Enjoyable past time, all your fault.

Author's Response:

Re, "my fault" -- very witty rejoinder... and a kind one at that. Thanks!

As far as 'really ace' is concerned, I will happily take reader advice on this. I find myself in the unenviable position of being a couple decades removed from 1992-era pop culture, and even further removed from the true parlance of a twelve-year old. I have been the recent recipient of some advice from a ten-year-old girl (one of my son's buddies) on how to sound 'meta', but I'm afraid I will (at best) come across sounding so '2015'.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2015.05.24 - 12:38PM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So many twists and turns. I love AU as much as I hate spoilers when I need to compliment it. The resolution in the Chamber was especially good (no skipping to the end boys and girls). I also enjoyed your including the Quidditch parts. They added to the story and character development. This was a really enjoyable read. Thanks--Eric B.

Author's Response: Definitely flattered by the find words, and very heartened that you enjoyed the whirl. Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Eric!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2015.05.24 - 12:31PM Title: Prying Portraits

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I don't know which is better...your puns or your characterizations of the portraits. I'm still scratching my head about how you're presenting an eleven-year-old Ginny. Hagrid keeps chicken? That would be convenient. Without revealing spoilers (Rule #4), how you are now utilizing the paintings for the diary quest is effective and original. I'm again looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Very gratified that you enjoyed the word-play and the portrait personalities! It is my one regret in this story to have created a bunch of potentially interesting portraitures, but not been able to make substantial use of all of them in a 20K word story. Ah well -- this is what sequels are for!

Hagrid and the chickens is actually based on canon, whereby in CoS he actually did go to Dumbledore complaining about his dead roosters. Apparently in this AU, Cho was a more prolific (and messy) chicken killer.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2015.05.24 - 12:24PM Title: Diary Dither

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was a nice chapter--certainly humorous. I like how you tied the use of the diary to the flow of the plot. I wasn't expected this type of relationship between Harry and Ginny during her first year, but it seems to work. The ending has me anxious for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it Eric! The relationship between Harry and Ginny in this AU is predicated on various events in the prequel to this story (Fuddle Fog & Fungus Bumps) in which (among other things) Ginny decides that Harry needs a friend far more than he needs a starry-eyed admirer. There is thus a fair bit of water under the bridge by the time that this story rolls around.



Reviewer: dannbard Signed Date: 2015.05.20 - 10:21AM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant -- a story for the ages! I didn't think it would be easy to sustain the standard you set with Fuddle Fog, but this is even better!

Author's Response: Wow -- thank you Dann. Glad you enjoyed!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2015.05.19 - 09:25AM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response:

Oh dear -- did I render my favorite articulate and insightful reviewer speechless??

Just kidding. Thank you very kindly for the stars and for continuing to follow the saga!



Reviewer: epicvux Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 01:37PM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

This sequel was awesome!!! I want more, I love what you've done with the characters and I hope you will make more sequels because I love it!!!

Author's Response: Ah, well my two protagonists would certainly have to take that as an endorsement -- thank you! Now the authour has to get up off the couch and figure out a few plot points!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 11:41AM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Funny story, very clever. Loved how they got Cho and Cedric together and out of the way.

Author's Response: Thank you very much Sharon! I owe your story a read through as well -- looking forward to it!



Reviewer: SageDefender Signed Date: 2015.05.15 - 07:08PM Title: Seek and Ye Shall Find

starstarstarstarstar

Delightfully rollicking romp of an adventure! Wonderful playfulness as they took out the Horrid HeadBoy Tom in the Temple under the Toilets.

Author's Response:

Playfulness -- yes exactly! That really crystallizes the dynamic -- these two face difficult situations and encounter angst, but this series is ultimately a thought-experiment in 'what would happen if no great hardship ever unfolded to stifle Ginny's vivacity. And in this thought experiment, the effect is very tangible not just on Ginny herself, but on Harry who finds himself blessed with her optimistic spirit.

In any case, I'm very happy to have given you some entertainment!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear