Search:

SIYE Time:18:12 on 18th October 2017


Reviewer: JustValeP Signed Date: 2016.06.02 - 08:04PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: zhengjx1 Signed Date: 2015.09.22 - 09:57PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

dsfsdfsdf

Author's Response: No idea what this means.



Reviewer: demonesprit Signed Date: 2015.06.03 - 03:31PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed this and I'd love to read more, if you ever feel like adding chapters ...

Author's Response: Thank you, so much!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.05.27 - 02:05PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

I love this rewrite of the Goblet of Fire. Everything is as it should have been, instead of having Harry bumble around as if he's completely clueless or just too shy to open his mouth. I like how confident he is now that he's made friends with certain portraits who like him as "just Harry" rather than the Boy Who Lived and all that rubbish. By the way, I cheered when Edward told Harry about Rita Skeeter's Animagus form and her ultimate fate at Sirius' hands.

However, I think what I liked best about this story, besides Harry's friendship with the portraits, is his friendship with Ginny. Boyfriend and girlfriend two years early! What a great thing for Harry! He's probably going to be so much less irritable and hard to be around because he knows Ginny understands what he's going through with Voldemort.

Fantastic story. I sincerely hope it does well in the Challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I liked a bit more confident Harry and of course having Harry notice Ginny two years early is best!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2015.05.24 - 09:15PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well done -- I very much enjoyed a satisfying retelling of one of the less gratifying episodes in JKR canon. It always feels good when deserving characters are rewarded without strings or the tarnish of trying repercussions.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I enjoyed giving Harry a bit more support during the Triwizard Tournament - and helping Sirius at the same time.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2015.05.24 - 12:02PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

What a great story. How do I compliment you appropriately without uttering spoilers. Not allowed (Rule # 4). Regardless, this was an edge of the seat read. I enjoyed your twist on things, and the Goblet of Fire year was the perfect setting. I had no initial warning that this was an AU work. I got to where I was looking forward to each tweak to canon. The incorporation of the portraits was subtle, but effective. Thanks for a fantastic tale--Eric B.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had fun reworking Goblet of Fire and helping Harry and Ginny get together a bit earlier than in canon. Glad you enjoyed it :)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.20 - 05:20AM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

The idea that Ginny and Harry come together after the draw for the Triwizard Tournament has always been very charming for me. It would have been a good possibility, as Ron turns away from Harry and Hermione also withdraws a bit from him. It's nice to see how the two of them are trying to help each other and get to know each other better. The scene, as Harry puts Hermione in her place was splendid. I would have liked that Harry acted this way in canon. Maybe the help from the portraits made the difference...
And yes - Ginny and Harry together at the Yule Ball, this is a dream!

I'm happy to read that you're fairly certain to continue the storyline at least through the end of the year. I can assure you, that you would have at least one loyal reader. ;-)


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I always wanted Harry to put Hermione in her place also. While she's a good friend to him, she also tends to nag and not give him much credit (i.e. her repeated reminders that he was supposed to block Voldemort in DH). I think she needs to realize that he's growing up as well and she's not always right. I always wished he took her to the Yule Ball.



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2015.05.19 - 03:23PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I liked the assortment of portraits Harry encountered; they all had different aspects to offer him. While I liked Harry bonding with Ginny and getting to know her better, at this point in canon (as much as we all detest it) he had an immense crush on Cho Chang. I think despite his developing friendship with Ginny, he would still have to contend with the feelings he had for Cho. Other than that, a very enjoyable read and it's always nice to see our favorite couple wind up together sooner rather than later. Good luck with the challenge.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I wanted a variety of portraits to help him out. I will admit that I purposefully ignored the charming Miss Chang. I was thinking that once he got to know Ginny better, thoughts of Cho left his mind.



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2015.05.19 - 09:24AM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really liked your story and it is very well written. But I think it is a bit inconsistent. Mc Gonagall accepts Sirius' permission to Hogsmeade visits even before knowing he is not guilty. That doesn't make sense. Either Minerva knows anything before that or Dumbledore is the one accepting it and Minerva just accepts that Harry has a permision without knowing who gave it. Perhaps that's just what happened, but it would be better if she told Harry dumbledore assured her it was fine or something like that. The way it is written induces us to think she is the one who examined the form.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I admit, I hadn't thought of that. Oops! Let's say that Dumbledore told her Harry now had permission. Good catch.



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2015.05.18 - 11:15PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Dreaming Haven Signed Date: 2015.05.18 - 09:34PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

Aww, I really l enjoyed this story. I'm a little sad that it's already over though. Really loved how you had the portraits helping them out.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. It was a fun challenge.



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2015.05.18 - 12:54PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

A great story good luck with the challenge

Not sure if you would consider it but I would love to find out what happened next

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.05.18 - 11:36AM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar


What a fabulous story.
Loved the way Harry found and befriended the portraits. Loved the way Ginny was introduced and became invovled in the story. Mostly loved that Harry involved Ginny even when Ron, and Hermione also, started talking to him again, properly. He didn't ignore and forget her.
Would love to see more, maybe to the end of the year (at least) or longer. With Sirius's influence, Harry's school life and Voldie problems would have to be different to canon.

Best of luck with the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I imagine that once Harry notices Ginny, he won't forget her again. I'm fairly certain I will continue this at least through the end of the year.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 04:45PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

That was how book 4 should have gone for Harry and Ginny....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks! I always wished he would have asked her to the ball :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 12:54PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed reading this.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :)



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 08:18AM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

I just finished a reread. (what can I say, I really liked the story) :-)

This time through I noticed a few other issues:

"He rubbed the dirty glass the arm of his robes."
"As he watched the students in and out of the carriages"
These two sentences both seem like they are missing a word. (after glass and students respectively)

The first scene starts out in a room, then it's a corridor for several paragraphs, then it's a room again for the rest of the story.

"She can use a friend"
I think that this should be "She could use a friend" though perhaps this is just pedantry on my part.

"I wrote to him went I was entered into the Tournament"
Went should be when.

"Two of my bottles on ink broke."
On should be of.

"Padfoot whinged slightly and tried to hide behind Harry and Ginny"
I think that would read better as whined. While whine and whinge can sometimes be used interchangeably, it seems an odd word choice in this context.

If you ever do decide to extend this story I'd love read in more detail about what happened between Crouch Jr being outed and Harry and Ginny getting back to the common room. I have to say that the presence of Amelia Bones in the castle was a nice touch. For all that she got almost no screen time in the books, I think she's one of my favourite characters. :-)

Good luck with the challenge awards. You got my vote for Peoples Choice. :-)

- SC



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I noticed the corridor/room thing yesterday, but I'm glad you told me there were words missing in the first sentences. I kept just filling the word in and didn't see anything wrong with it :). I made all of the corrections - I really appreciate you letting me know. I do like the idea of seeing what would happen with the changes made :).



Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 08:04PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstar

This is a really cute story, Thank you for writing it for the competition.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 06:21PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Awww.. How sweet. Things are moving very quickly now. Do you plan on slowing down any? I rather like it this way. Fun
Thanks
Tricia

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I did feel a bit rushed, but I wanted to get through the Yule Ball before my 20,000 word limit. You'd have thought that wouldn't be enough words :)



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 04:20PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: minerfan Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 03:47PM Title: Chapter 1 The Portrait Network

starstarstarstarstar

I know you wrote as a one shot, but you should consider continuing the story, it is one of the best I have read in a while

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I would kind of like to finish out the year for them - who knows :)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear