Search:

SIYE Time:5:25 on 23rd September 2018

Reviews For These Cuts I Have

Reviewer: isabel380 Signed Date: 2018.02.28 - 10:57AM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

FYI: Luna was kidnapped from the Hogwarts Express by Death Eaters on her way home for CHRISTMAS holidays, not Easter. The Death Eaters had had her a long time when Harry and Ron rescued her, Dean, and Ollivander.



Reviewer: isabel380 Signed Date: 2018.02.28 - 10:51AM Title: Time Stands Still

FYI: Luna was kidnapped from the Hogwarts Express by Death Eaters on her way home for CHRISTMAS holidays, not Easter. The Death Eaters had had her a long time when Harry and Ron rescued her, Dean, and Ollivander.



Reviewer: Time Shifter Signed Date: 2018.02.26 - 11:24AM Title: Beginning Again

I read this whole story in three days. You did an excellent job during Harry struggling after the war, and with his childhood, and seeing everyone want and try to hello him was wonderful. I especially liked your characterization of Ginny and every scene they had together, as well as Mr. Weasley and how good he was at handling Harry's trauma and attempts to ignore his own suffering. The only thing that didn't really make sense was the deaging potion. It was entertaining to read, but since Lestrange had left a real dangerous potion behind that just felt like a mechanic to write scenes of baby Harry with the Weasleys. I enjoyed it, but I didn't believe it. Overall though this was very fun to read, and I'm excited to move on to the sequel for more Ginny and Harry!



Reviewer: Time Shifter Signed Date: 2018.02.26 - 11:24AM Title: Beginning Again

I read this whole story in three days. You did an excellent job during Harry struggling after the war, and with his childhood, and seeing everyone want and try to hello him was wonderful. I especially liked your characterization of Ginny and every scene they had together, as well as Mr. Weasley and how good he was at handling Harry's trauma and attempts to ignore his own suffering. The only thing that didn't really make sense was the deaging potion. It was entertaining to read, but since Lestrange had left a real dangerous potion behind that just felt like a mechanic to write scenes of baby Harry with the Weasleys. I enjoyed it, but I didn't believe it. Overall though this was very fun to read, and I'm excited to move on to the sequel for more Ginny and Harry!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 08:36PM Title: Distractions

starstarstarstarstar

Nice touch to go to some levity, though encased in angst, to help dry the tears from Harry's confession. Damn! So well written!

Author's Response: I've really been enjoying watching your reactions as you've gone through this story. Thanks for that! As for Harry feeling like a murderer, while I agree with your assessment, I still think it would trouble him immediately after the fact. It's a lot to take in. Right after he'd been told the prophecy, his thoughts dwelled that his life must either include or end in murder. He eventually pulled himself together and set forward on his task. I think the same thing would happen immediately after it was done. Maybe its my feelings coming through, but I cant help it would take him some time to absorb it all. Shrugs - that's where I was coming from anyway.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 08:25PM Title: Fallout

starstarstarstarstar

Very well done!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 08:15PM Title: Hard Truths

starstarstarstarstar

Don't know how I didn't remember the first chapter, but now realize I have read this before ... at least some of it. That isn't important. What is important is the fact that you have created a simply marvelous story here, a literary portrait painted richly with character development and an amazing range of emotions! Outstanding!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 07:50PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Perfection! Beautifully conceived and executed.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 07:27PM Title: 1. After the End

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Don't know how I missed this story when it was published. I love your first chapter! Only one concern ... the issue of Harry, who never actively tried to kill anyone and who was clearly only using a defensive spell, was no murderer. I know, I know, you say he wasnb't, but that he knew he was, nonetheless. No. He told Dumbledore that he would want to be the one who destroyed Voldemort back in the spider infested shed at the Burrow. Harry knew he had to end Voldemort, and he wanted to be the one to do it! Sorry to nit-pick here. Your work is always so extraordinarily good, but nowhere in the canon did Harry ever express a fear of becoming a murderer and JKR never ran that mistaken belief up the flagpole. She, like her lead characters, knew the difference between self-defense and murder murder ... and more fundamentally, between killing and murder. Despite this issue, I'm still thrilled beyond belief to see a new story from you, and one waiting after this one!!!



Reviewer: Mysinger1 Signed Date: 2017.07.20 - 11:12PM Title: Beginning Again

starstarstarstarstar

An amazing story. I loved the depth of the characters and their relationships with each other, both familial and romantic. Their journey made me laugh and cry. I am sorry to see it end. Beautifully written. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm currently engrossed in writing the sequel, so I haven't given up!



Reviewer: isabel380 Signed Date: 2017.03.04 - 06:23PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

In the books, Harry is usually the calm, levelheaded one in the midst of all of the chaos. Hermione is brilliant and powerful, and Ron is an excellent strategist. They're brilliant fighters, but they just can't think on their feet like Harry.



Reviewer: parakletos Signed Date: 2017.01.16 - 11:46AM Title: Echos

Re-reading the story and I thought I'd stop and say thanks for this comment:

In Deathly Hallows, it was Harry who jumped on the dragon first while Hermione had to be convinced. Iím aware the movie changed it, but the movies often gave everyone elseís best moments to Hermione. Books rule.

The books do indeed rule.



Reviewer: BuffyRose Signed Date: 2016.10.13 - 11:06PM Title: Beginning Again

starstarstarstarhalf-star

One of my favorite fan fiction stories I wish it continued



Reviewer: Kraewen Signed Date: 2016.04.10 - 01:57PM Title: Beginning Again

starstarstarstarstar

I just recently began reading FF in general and this site in particular, and while I often abandon a story after the first chapter because I find it to be too soppy or I dont like the direction the story is taking, I have read through the whole of this one in two days.

I very much appreciate the down-to-earth / grounded approach you took. You managed to write an exciting story without having to introduce anything that strayed from the original books (something that I find to be failing more often than succeeding, but then again I'm new and havent read a whole lot ;)). The pacing and storybuilding is excellent, as well as your vocabulary!

Please carry on like that.

I saw that you are writing another story, will it be an continuation of this one? Please let it be, and let it be soon ;)



Reviewer: Kezzabear Signed Date: 2016.03.04 - 10:27PM Title: Beginning Again

starstarstarstarstar

I loved that mirror ending



Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2016.01.25 - 05:29AM Title: For the Thrill of It

starstarstarstarstar

wonderful chapter like the races great story



Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2016.01.25 - 02:28AM Title: Hope

starstarstarstarstar

very nice chapter great story



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2016.01.21 - 09:50AM Title: Beginning Again

starstarstarstarstar

So sad to see this end, but the promise of more will hold me over.

I really enjoy how you're bringing the wizarding world into the future. I've always believed that their society was antiquated solely because of isolation, not ability.

No fussy speeches! Thanks for that. It seemed like a good night for them, and that's really all that matters.

Loved the imagery at the station! Harry running and waving after the train the way Ginny did before his first year brings everything full circle, and it's a great place to end it.

You've left yourself a lot to work with for the next story. I can't wait to read it!

Author's Response: And a bonus double review! Thanks very much. I really didn't want to write out any speeches - they've already been done so many times, so I skipped them! I used to do that with the Sorting Song, too, lol!



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2016.01.21 - 09:35AM Title: For the Thrill of It

starstarstarstarstar

So late, sorry...

Hermione has grown so much since 1st year, but she's still herself and therefore not to be invited to the broom races. I love it! I wouldn't mind a little race myself, come to think of it.

You didn't need to write it, but I can see Pierce's grudging respect at Prongs in my minds eye. More than anything, I think that's what I've enjoyed most about this story and your writing; it pops right out of the screen much the same way the books did for me. Thank you!

Author's Response: You're never too late! Thanks so much for the lovely and kind words. I do appreciate it!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2016.01.21 - 04:10AM Title: Beginning Again

starstarstarstarstar

Melinda, another great, touching, and cleverly executed story. Very touching. I am sorry I did not leave many reviews, but I've been reading non-stop to get caught up after a heart arrhythmia nearly killed me sixteen days ago. Thankfully the doctors were great and my lovely wife of 38 years stood beside me in much the same fashion as you show Ginny supporting Harry throughout. By the way, I had thought you had turned the de-aging potion into a clever story arc. But you outdid yourself with the introduction of the poison! Great job! Thank you for sharing such a touching story!

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review during your recovery even! I'm so glad you're on the road to recovery, and two cheers for your lovely wife! Take care of yourself! I'm pleased the de-ageing came off. I wondered how it would be received, but after coming across the concept, I just had to give it a try, lol.




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear