Search:

SIYE Time:7:17 on 18th October 2017

Reviews For These Cuts I Have

Reviewer: isabel380 Signed Date: 2017.03.04 - 06:23PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

In the books, Harry is usually the calm, levelheaded one in the midst of all of the chaos. Hermione is brilliant and powerful, and Ron is an excellent strategist. They're brilliant fighters, but they just can't think on their feet like Harry.



Reviewer: parakletos Signed Date: 2017.01.16 - 11:46AM Title: Echos

Re-reading the story and I thought I'd stop and say thanks for this comment:

In Deathly Hallows, it was Harry who jumped on the dragon first while Hermione had to be convinced. Iím aware the movie changed it, but the movies often gave everyone elseís best moments to Hermione. Books rule.

The books do indeed rule.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.15 - 11:47AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter. I hope that Bill and Charlie continue to come through for everyone as older brothers should.

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you're enjoying the bits with the older Weasley brothers. I like them, too,.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.07.08 - 04:58AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

I had hoped that the Ministry would not take advantage of Harry so fast. Apparently, someone has mixed something in his tea without asking for permission.
I cannot believe that Harry uses his status and his fame to join the Ministry without completing his education... and to hand over the control over his life to the Ministry. That would be so un-Harry-like. In addition, that would mean to leave Ginny behind again. On the other hand, that would be so very Harry-like. The way he treated Ginny after Dumbledore's death made it difficult for me to like him. Somehow, I fear that everything repeats itself.
Itís good to know that Ron has become an adult and Harry can count on him.

Great chapter! Many thanks for sharing.


Author's Response: I'm not entirely sure we're seeing things the same way. I don't think Harry is handing over any control. I never saw him as enjoying school all that much. He's always wanted to be an Auror, and I can't imagine him back at school after all he's been through. It would be too confining for him. I also don't think he treated Ginny badly. She was underage, and he couldn't have done what he needed to do if she were with him. I thought he was very upfront about that. He proved at the end of DH when he went after Bellatrix rather than Voldemort that she made him think with his heart, not his head. If he hadn't done what he had to do, they never could have been together. The think I liked about Ginny was that she got that. That's how I saw it, anyway.



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2015.07.03 - 05:48PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Good chapter - things are starting to be sorted. Totally agree with your movie analysis of Hermione - frustrates me no end!

Author's Response: It frustrates me, too! I have to g back to the books to remind myself why I like Hermione.



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2015.07.02 - 11:07AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Yayy Charlie! He really helps show us how different things are now. Charlie is like a relic to their childhood, but they are not children anymore. He might as well have a sign over his head blinking "things are different now" in bold red lettering. Of all the information he's being bombarded with, I think the only thing he's impressed with is flying a dragon. Boys and their toys...

Overprotective Ron makes so much sense, I'm surprised I've never seen it before. There is so much to work out! Where do you even begin picking up the pieces?

Author's Response: I am SO happy you get Charlie! I got so many questions about what was up with him, lol. For him, it's like stepping through a time warp - and finding his baby brother actually rode on one of his beloved dragons! I'm glad you think Ron is right, as well. It seems to me, he did a lot of growing up in his time away. He finally gets his friends back, and Hermione is tortured, then Harry dies. I think that would mess with his head a bit. I hope you continue to enjoy.



Reviewer: Kezzabear Signed Date: 2015.06.29 - 06:22AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

YES!

Author's Response: Kezza! So good to see you back! I hope you enjoy it.



Reviewer: HPmum2014 Signed Date: 2015.06.27 - 11:50PM Title: Echos

starstarstarhalf-star

Had to review, even if was just to say I appreciated your last comments about Hermione!! LOL Good chapter, interesting story, well done!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.06.27 - 10:12PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Enjoying the retelling....

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2015.06.27 - 10:52AM Title: Echos

It's good to read another story from you. :-)
To be honest I don't normally read post-DH-final-battle stories, but there are are small selection of authors whose work I'll read because of who wrote it and you're one of them. Welcome back. :-)

I don't really have much to say about this story yet, but I like it so far. Looking forward to seeing where you take this.

-SC



Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much. I hope you think this story is worth it by the end!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.06.26 - 10:49PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Another magnificent chapter! I really like how you are laying this out! It just seems much more realistic and respectful of the books! I agree with you about the movies! I also think that Steve Kloves made a lot of mistakes with his scripts!
He made a total mess of HBP and seemed to have something against the pairing of Harry and Ginny as evidenced by their first kiss(I mean come on, it should have been better than Harry and Cho)! He also completely missed the importance of love as the power he knew not in DH 2! Keep up the good work! Looking forward to the next chapter!
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you! I think you're spot on about the fact Steve Kloves glossed over the whole point of Harry's greatest power. I wish the BBC would do it over. I think they'd get it right.



Reviewer: PikkuNika Signed Date: 2015.06.26 - 09:03AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Again a great chapter! I think every single character is behaving in a way that certainly could have happened like that.

I especially liked the little freak-out Ron had when he couldn't find Harry! He'd never tell anybody, but I think he was scared shitless when he saw Harry's body and I picture him as someone who tends to go just a little mental when something or someone is threatening he beloved ones!

Author's Response: Thank you. I really do think seeing Harry's body would've affected Ron, particularly after Hermione being tortured and then Fred's loss. He's realized how fragile life is and it scared him.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.06.26 - 07:00AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarhalf-star


I am enjoying your story. Love how protective of Harry both Ron and Ginny are being.
Charlie is feeling guilty because he has missed the lead up to the final battle.

There is one thing.... In the first section when Harry and Arthur come into the common room, you have repeated a line twice. It starts of with Arthur talking...."There's a lot we all want to know...."

Anyway, looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Urguuuu. I had some trouble with the coding this time. I'll have to check. I'm so happy you caught what Charlie's issue is. I think a lot of. Characters will need to go through some adjustment time. I hope you enjoy.



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2015.06.26 - 04:49AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great opening chapters. All too often stories set after the battle ignore or dismiss within days the effect on people, so I have high hopes for this story. I especially like the way you are telling the tale using different viewpoints - it brings the characters to life.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! Story will alternate POVs between Harry, Ginny, Ron and Hermione. I'm with you on having them need recovery time so I hope you'll enjoy.



Reviewer: wvchemteach Signed Date: 2015.06.26 - 12:16AM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Welcome back stranger.

Didn't think I would ever see you back in this corner of the world.

I had always wondered what your take on a post-DH Potter would be and now I get to find out.

Too early to tell how I'm feeling about characterizations beyond Ron. I think you've got him down pat. Being and over-protective git over Harry at this stage is an interesting twist, but I like it.

Jury is still out on how I feel about how Harry's acting. I guess he could be in shock after having time to dwell upon things, but I for some reason always viewing him just being more relieved than anything else that it was over and maybe confused on what comes next.

Looking forward for what comes next.

Author's Response: Oh, it is so awesome to see all these familiar names! JKR said Hogwarts will always welcome you home, and that is exactly how it feels. Not sure if you'll like my take or not as I don't see harry being fine at all. That quote from DH at the beginning leads me to believe things wil catch up to him eventually. I think a lot of characters will have various forms of PTSD. For Ron (and you know I love Ron) I think he matured a lot in that time he couldn't find them, then when he returned, Hermione was tortured and Harry was killed. He had no control and I think it will affect him. My take anyway. I hope you find parts to enjoy!



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2015.06.25 - 10:46PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstar

I love your tenderheartedness towards Harry.....Lord knows he needs it! Nice job of the reactions of the other Weasley characters....very canon-like.

Author's Response: Thanks again. My heart does have a soft spot for Harry, and I loved the quote about Ginny being his best source of comfort



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2015.06.25 - 02:58PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstar



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.06.25 - 01:43PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Oh no..... I have to wait for another week....... again! This moan is a complimet.. You see, you are such a good writer that I could not put down anything you writhe until I have read every single word. You sure know how to tell a tale.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm working on the next chapter now. I hope to have it posted by Tuesday.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.06.24 - 11:22PM Title: Echos

starstarstarstarstar

Just left a review on fanfic, but I did want to say I love this story! I really like the way the characters are acting. You write Ron very well - at times he annoys me, but you write him very well.

Author's Response: Thanks! I adore Ron, and I think he gets bashed in fanfic too much, so there will be no Ron-bashing - or any character bashing - here. There are some characters I don't care for, but I really make an effort to treat them how Harry feels, not how I feel.



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2015.06.24 - 09:43PM Title: Echos

So glad to see you back!! I have enjoyed all of your other stories, and this one is already looking great. Hoping you keep up with the regular updates (I tend to be impatient!) :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm hoping to post once a week.




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear