Search:

SIYE Time:7:17 on 18th October 2017

Reviews For These Cuts I Have

Reviewer: honeylake Signed Date: 2015.10.08 - 12:18AM Title: Time Stands Still

I just started this story the other day and I am loving it! The original plan was to wait until the end to give a review, but I had to interject here and applaud you for your brilliance in the way Ginny refers to Voldemort as "Tom." I think people often forget about Ginny's trials in face of more major characters (or because they don't like a certain ship) and that's not doing justice to JKR or the amazing character she wrote. I think it was absolutely amazing that you showed Ginny's connection to Tom Riddle - before he was Voldemort - in such a subtle way. And it also shows the differences between who Ginny fought and who Harry fought. Wonderfully done!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really enjoy hearing the comments as people go through, so I do appreciate you taking the time to review. I think Ginny has come the closest to being touched by Voldemort in the way Harry has, so she can understand and empathize with how he's feeling. I think JKR showed us a bit of that in OotP. That was the book where I was sure Ginny would end up with Harry.



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2015.09.09 - 02:10PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, Harry... Masterfully done, of course. Even when you don't make the ending a cliffy, it still manages to feel like one. I wonder why that is...

Author's Response: Ha! A cliffy without a cliffy, huh? Cool!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.08.20 - 04:25PM Title: Time Stands Still

Ah Harry is starting to heal but it's going to be a long road to recovery....and Ginny is the right thing for Harry......kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I agree, Ginny is just what he needs.



Reviewer: demonesprit Signed Date: 2015.08.20 - 09:29AM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: DragonHeartstring Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 10:13PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Hi! I tend to get lazy and not review, but I decided at this chapter that I have to get my act together and say something. I am loving this story very much, especially how you are portraying Harry's PTSD. (Spell shock had me grinning because most people don't even know that it used to be called shell shock, so bonus points to you!) Too many stories have everyone returning to "normal" right away instead of showing the effects of the trauma, which is why I think it is great how you are showing that Ginny and George both have some of the symptoms as well.

I also loved how you got in that comment about respecting what Snape did without liking him as a person. Too many people defend him just on the basis of "always" and that he was in love, and that does not make him a good person by any stretch of the imagination.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Well, thank you so much for taking the time to review! I sometimes skim to when I'm involved in reading, but it really is motivational to know what people are thinking. Spell shock is definitely a play on "shell shock," lol, and you're the first person to mention it! I am older than a lot of fanfic writers, I think. Ginny's thoughts on Snape do reflect my own. I always thought he as a "good" guy, but never a "nice" guy, and there's a difference.



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 10:06PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Re: your son: Parent 1; kid 0: After all, it's a parent's duty to embarrass their kids. :-}

I reckon Mediwidtches pick up on how to deal with less-than-cooperative patients; that's well-portrayed -- as is her patient's lack of cooperation (which I recognize).

Andi's "sister's husband" is a slightly ambiguous reference, though I suspect that in context, the other one might have warranted a more direct reference (having been more socially prominent and all). :-) And the subsequent comment removes all doubt.

Ginny seems to do pretty well at "tough love" (re: George). And in any case, she seems to have been effective: bully for her!

Well, Harry did manage to tell Ginny a lot... but it's interesting that he withheld what he did (especially after his reflections (in the first scene) about the possible healing properties of "tell[ing] Ginny everything"). I suppose it's a bit premature (and foolish) to expect clarity and logical thought from many of the survivors at this point, especialy those most traumatized.

It's good that Ginny was able to make it (quite) clear to Harry ... at least for now ... that she's not about to be secreted away from potential danger again. Not sure how long that lesson will stick, but it's a start.

Sometimes a person won't attempt a "course correction" until there's no other choice; that's not always an optimal popint for such maneuvers. Let's hope our protagonists manage it before then.

Author's Response: Thanks! If it's my duty, I do it well! ; I think Harry's been conditioned for the better part of his life to keep things close to the vest. Even with the insight that it might help, changing those habits won't happen over night. It one of the may "cuts" Harry needs to heal, and needs help healing. He's got all the Weasleys in his corner, though. He'll get there. :)



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 06:40PM Title: Time Stands Still

Another great chapter. I hope that Harry explains the true situation soon.

Author's Response: Thanks. He's getting there, but he's been through a lot and conditioned to remain silent. It'll take some time.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 06:40PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter. I hope that Harry explains the true situation soon.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 04:48PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarhalf-star

oh dear..... what can I say? after reading this update, I am drained myself.

the ugly thing at King's Cross being that bit that latched onto Harry is a stroke of genius on your part. i wonder what jkr's official version of that thing is.

i do now know if the wizarding world has the equivalent of a psychiatrist or psychologist After reading the 7 books, I will not be surprised if the characters will not need some kind of mental health assistance like in the Muggle world.

I can hardly wait for the next update. What intrigue.

Author's Response: From what all my Brit Pickers have told me, getting psychiatric help is far more an American thing than British. They're far more likely to tell you to have a lie down or go for a walk in the woods. It's simply not common, at all, and I suspect the Wizarding world would follow suit. So, no mind Healers in this story, and I'm sticking to it until JKR tells me otherwise ;)



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 03:31PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Thanks for another splendid ride on the broomstick of brilliance, Mel! Great chapter! Nice to see Harry getting alot more off his chest to Ginny! He just needs to get over that hurdle about what happened in the forest! Good that Ginny helped George, too! I appreciate your addressing the relationship between Harry and Ginny and the "power he knew not", their love, in this story! That idiot Kloves made a mess of DH2 just like HBP! Can't wait for the next installment!
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D (BTW, good show not taking any snot from your son! My daughter and sons are 32, 30 & 25 in that order and they all think I'm an HP geek too! Fortunately, my 3 granddaughters, who are greatly responsible for my
being an HP geek, all think that Gpa is still pretty cool and that's all that matters to me!)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much. I'm a HP Geek and proud of it, so he'll just have to deal, lol.



Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 12:03PM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Lovely moment between Ginny and Goerge. Poor George, losing Gred.... Fred,f practically losing a part of himself and his personal - to a certain degree - just too much feels! OOh, what a heart wrenching moment to see through Harry's perspective there at the end. Harry's deep belief (thanks Dursleys) that he is unlovable and doesn't deserve love or to be loved is rearing its ugly head again. Oh man, when he finally gets the scar Horcrux out into the open - to Ginny at the very least - it will be a climatic moment. Plus going through the process of truly overcoming his upbringing will be heavily emotional turmoil, really, what are doing to us and Harry! Gah, so much, poor Harry! Even though he's going to have a tough go of things I know it's be beautiful, well written and heartbreakingly real. I can't wait!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm pleased you enjoyed the Ginny and George interaction. I was really pleased with how that came out. Harry does have a lot of issues that need healing, but he'll get there.



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 10:34AM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Very good chapter!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 10:08AM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Wow..an interesting and strong chapter.

Harry really needs to tell Ginny the whole story of what happened. From watching the memories in the pensieve to the end. He just has to be strong with himself and stop trying to predict what Ginny's reaction will be. I think she will surprise him.

I'm glad George is starting to get himself together. His family and friends will always be ther to help him on the tough days...as well as all the other times, as well.

Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Harry isn't purposefully being difficult, it's part of who he is. Opening up is easier for some people than it is for others, and that's okay. Ginny has been handling things well, but remember, she's had a bad time of it herself. Ginny's time is coming ;)



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 01:43AM Title: Time Stands Still

Wow that was great

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed.



Reviewer: forgivenlu Signed Date: 2015.08.19 - 12:28AM Title: Time Stands Still

starstarstarstarstar

Tuesdays are my favorite day of the week, just because I know I get to see just a little bit more of this story! The only downside is that they're never long enough! Just when I think everything is going to be realized and understood, BOOM! End of chapter.

I'm glad you have George picking up the pieces better than most stories I've read. I'm sure he'll have terrible relapses, but I don't think his family would leave him to wallow as much as other versions show.

Harry NEEDS TO TELL SOMEONE! Gosh, I just want to shake him! I also really wish he would have told her about the resurrection stone. When/if you have him tell Ginny, I'm sure it will be a beautiful moment. I like that all this trauma has a physical representation in that bruise. It's an interesting take on the after effects of the Horocrux.

I can't wait for Ron to flip out over his best mate's condition. Hermione is going to be so very frustrated as well.

Author's Response: I haven't meant to stick so rigidly with Tuesdays, it's just worked out that way! You're right, Harry needs to tell, but that's easier said than done. It's just not who he is, it's one of his "cuts," but he's working on it. I think it's chapter 12 where Ron returns, so you'll have to wait a bit. There's still more in Australia to cover.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear