Search:

SIYE Time:16:48 on 27th June 2017

Reviews For These Cuts I Have

Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2015.09.09 - 03:36PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

Ack, the feels!! The scene with the Grangers went better than I expected, but I like to think it couldn't have been worse. Hermione wouldn't fly off the handle and if she's anything like her parents then they won't either. I'm sure they'll be mad for what feels like forever. I'm not sure if they'll let Hermione use magic to help...

Is Harry getting a new house elf? What else did the Death Eaters leave behind? Will Ginny finally get through to Harry? Tune in next time...

Author's Response: No new house elf at the moment. He still has Kreacher, but he's helping with Teddy at the moment - and doing a fabulous job! You'll see him with Teddy in another chapter.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.29 - 08:10PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

Well written. I am glad that Hermione and her parents are reunited and that they are upset about their circumstances. It would be odd if they were not at least slightly upset about the past year.

Author's Response: I agree. I know JKR said she returned her parents with little fuss, but, I find that hard to believe. This part was written before she said it, so I kept it.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.08.27 - 03:40PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

This was another brilliant chapter, Mel! The realism you put into this story is much appreciated! The reunion between Hermoine and her parents was very intense and just what one would expect - good thing she had Ron's support! Harry seems to be making more progress on his recovery even tho his reasoning for moving to Grimmauld is alittle skewed! All he really needs is the continued love of a certain fiery redhead which I think he'll find is still his when he reveals the final horcrux to her! The one thing I was surprised at in this chapter is that you have apparently accepted the movie producers and Kloves (both of whom made a mess of the books) version that Lavender Brown died in the battle, despite the fact that the book says no such thing! The last mention of Lavender in the book after Hermoine and Professor Trelawney drove Greyback away from her was that she was "feebly stirring", not that she was dying! I realize the book left Lavender's fate open to the reader's discretion, but I am of the opinion tthat given the kind of writer JKR was with the books, she had a significant reason for Hermoine to be one of the ones to save her former rival! Therefore, it would make more sense for Lavender to survive than not! Can't wait for the next episode! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response: Ha! Nope, movies had nothing to do with it. Don't forget, I started this story shortly after the last book. Lavender was already dead for me when Kloves did it. In fact, I considered changing it! I thought the book left it open to interpretation, and feebly, to me, sounds bad. Fifty people died, and all the students were fighting alongside experienced students and Aurors. I just don't believe Colin was the only student, so my guess is that Lavender was one of the fifty.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.08.27 - 08:37AM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

Hermione's meeting with her parents went just about as well as I always thought it would. Yet, despite the anger, at least her mother understands why her daughter did what she did, especially after Ron's impassioned speech. In Hermione's dad, I could see what my own husband calls "the work person," that part of his personality that expects others to be accountable, responsible for their actions and follow the rules. The "work person" doesn't have room for out-of-this-world things like magic spells that can turn a person into someone completely different because magic defies the logic the "work person" relies on. Her mother, on the other hand, is probably going to forgive her daughter faster because she understands that sometimes it's necessary to accept things you don't understand. I'll hazard a guess the Mrs. Granger was the one who first accepted what the teacher from Hogwarts told their family when he/she brought Hermione's Letter. She, like every other mother, has to be a bit more creative in how she views the world because mothers are really the first teachers children encounter and they need to be creative to help children understand the consequences as well as the triumphs their actions bring about.

Harry... I'm happy for him because he learned to use Occlumency to his advantage, but I'm also sad that he thinks he'll be better off by himself. Ginny, it seems, again is a step ahead of him, in that she realizes that he hasn't told her everything and that while he feels welcome in her family's home, he's never had that sort of support and doesn't know what to do with it and tries to distance himself from it. As awful as it is, I'm rather glad the Death Eaters wreaked havoc on Grimmauld Place. It gives Harry a project to work on and use as a transition between being a welcome guest and an autonomous home owner. It's good that Ginny made Harry promise to ask Ron to move in with him. It'll probably be the thing that helps Mr. and Mrs. Weasley let go so the boys can have that much more wiggle room to grow up a bit more than they have already. Change is inevitable, but it doesn't have to be so complete that no one recognizes the person or situation that's changed. Sure, there will be tears, but I'd be more alarmed if Harry wanted to stay at The Burrow indefinitely with no sign of leaving.

All in all, this is a superb chapter. So many raw emotions and believable situations.

Author's Response: Two for the price of one! Thanks so very much, Arnel! You're the bomb. Still love the analogy of the "work person." As I said, I try very hard to get into the character's head in each situation I write and portray how I think they would feel. I'm thrilled its resonating.



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 11:24PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

One again an outstanding chapter, you deliver every time!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you're enjoying it!



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 10:23PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

It's kinda interesting how much like her mum Ginny is (in wanting everyone to be together at the Burrow). I suppose she (Ginny) might not care to have that pointed out -- at least, not for a few years yet. :-}

I detect hints that Harry may well at least try to "come clean" to Ginny ... soonish. However, that may well be one of those things that's more of a process than an event. And it's unclear at this point which of them is more likely to instigate it.

Bill is still cool. And Harry was being a bit on the stupid side for failing to take Bill's warning to "not touch anything" at face value. Granted, Harry doesn't quite have all his marbles back yet, but still...! :-}

As for the first scene -- I think Ron's evaluation was a fair bit more pessimistic than the facts in evidence warrant. (Yeah, he's stressed too; I get that. And he's not exactly the "go-to" guy for dispassionate logical analysis outside of chess. And he's a bit too personally involved to be anywhere near objective.) But things could have gone horribly worse -- e.g., leaving Hermione's parents in a permanent vegetative state. It was good to see him finally speak up for Hermione, though! I suspect that the news about Aunt Sara is likely to be ... well, unhappy, at best. But sometimes one needs a bit of distance (physical or chronological) to gain the necessary perspective to see the context for something well enough to appreciate the "something" in question.

Author's Response: Heh, Ginny definitely wouldn't want you to say that out loud - what teenager would though? I think Ginny felt very out of control during the war. She was stuck at Hogwarts under the Carrow rule while her entire family was targeted and fighting the war. I think part of Ginny's PTSD would be trying to get control of things. That's how I see it, anyway. Harry can be intentionally mulish at time, but in this one, I tried to imagine something so innate - like the grabbing the railing as he ran up the stairs - that it just happened. It was more an instinctual thing. More on Aunt Sara in the next chapter!



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 07:53PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Times like these when Harry does not know what to do with a family that hovers because they care, makes me want to shoot the Dursleys!

LOL You are really milking the emotional aftermath of the war.

Author's Response: Heh, I do love the emotional aftermath the most, and we didn't get much in canon, so I'm enjoying it. You're very right, I think the Dursleys did far more damage than Harry always shows outright. Don't worry, the Weasleys are on to it now.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 06:55PM Title: Tears and Fears

they are both suffering and both need help and time to heal....ginny should get her education yes but i dont think she should leave harry and to it right now....as for hermione and ron they are making progresss but i tihnk they are going to be there for a while to get hermione's parents back into the swing of things again...kutgw

Author's Response: Well, she won't be leaving until September, so there's time yet. Ginny has her own future to think of, as well. I don't think I'd ever let my teenage daughter put off schooling for a boy - regardless who the boy is ;) I hope you enjoy where the story is going.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 04:52PM Title: Tears and Fears

starstarstarstarstar

I feel for the poor Grangers. I don't blame them in the slightest for being upset with Hermione, I don't think Ron is doing her any favors. I realize he's crazy about Hermione, but he is part of a large family and he should understand they are upset. If her parents don't understand what's been happening that is only her fault. I really think people do Hermione a disservice by telling her how smart she is - she is a smart 18 year old, but she has limited life experience. She assumes she knows best and doesn't even try to ask for help.

Poor Harry. He really needs to sit down and talk to her, but I'm assuming it will be a while before he does. I'm glad Ginny is understanding, even if she isn't sure of what she's understanding. I can understand Harry's need to be on his own. The Weasleys love him, but they aren't his family. I can't blame him for wanting something of his own.

Author's Response: I think Ron can understand their upset more than Hermione can, but Ron is in protective overload regarding both Hermione and Harry. If he sees anyone hurting them, he's going to step in. It's how Ron is coping with his feelings of helplessness during the war. I think it's good for Harry to want to get his own space, but I disagree that the Weasleys aren't his family. I'm going to borrow a quote from Ron that comes up later in this story - Harry is a Weasley in all but name and hair. That's my take, anyway.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear