Search:

SIYE Time:10:30 on 28th May 2017

Reviews For These Cuts I Have

Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.11.30 - 05:30AM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

Merlin! Here we go again!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.11.20 - 06:38PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent chapter. What is wrong with Harry now? I am uncertain if he really has a bad cold or if he is suffering from the killing curse in some way. I really enjoyed seeing Dolores Umbridge get exactly what she deserved. Looking forward to reading your next chapter.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.11.19 - 04:45PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

I so like how your Ron is maturing in this fic. I love his pride in obtaining his own vault in which he will keep his own money. That's a really big deal for him and to top it off, I'm very glad he wasn't jealous of Harry's piles of gold. His realization that Harry was much poorer than he every was in some ways is a really big epiphany for him, too. Being wealthy in love, acceptance and friendship is really much more valuable than all the gold in the world and I'm thinking Ron has just realized how rich he himself has been all his life.

The other thing I really like about this more mature Ron is how he's really concerned for Harry. He sees how bereft he is in the scene in front of the Owl Emporium and comes up with the idea that he and Ginny can go in on an owl for Harry, rather than keeping the knowledge to himself. He also does his best to keep Harry's spirits up and I don't think he'd have done something like that a year ago.

It was so great to see Harry truly happy again. He needs the acceptance as "just another one of the guys" and finding that with the Aurors' Quidditch team is something he's wanted all his life. It proves that they like him for him and his abilities rather than something he doesn't really remember. Besides, the freedom he feels when up in the air is something he hasn't had in nearly a year and he needs the positive outlet that being up on a broom gives him. Besides, it's something I think he's missed almost as much as he misses Hedwig.

All in all, this chapter went straight to my fluffy spot in some places and made me concerned for Harry's well-being in others. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks Arnel. I think Ron gets the short stick so often in fanfic, I've been really pushing showing the maturity I saw in him by the end of DH. So many stories keep Ron in his 14-year old persona. I think Ron's soft spot has always come from his pets, so I thought that was an easy jump for him to make. I'm glad it connected with you.



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.11.19 - 12:00AM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

I think it's fair to characterize Harry's (attempted) refusal to acknowledge his symptoms as "feline." :-} (Cats will also try to pretend that nothing's wrong, which makes things a bit more challenging for the vet.) And smacking his head probably didn't do his body any good, either (though it might -- possibly -- have smacked a bit of sense into him).

So McClaggan isn't (currently, at least) involved in the Quidditch activities: something else for which Harry may be quite thankful. :-}

So... D. J. Umbridge's barrister is named "Audrey" -- interesting, that. She (and the Wizengamot) seemed to allow her client to run off at the mouth rather more than I would have expected. And trying the Nuremburg Defense? I'd have been quite surprised had she pulled that off.

Yeah, I can see Bill playing the "Big Brother" role quite a bit (probably because that's one with which I'm familiar).

At least Harry was able to get up on a broom for a bit this chapter. :-)

Author's Response: I kept McLaggan away from the Quidditch for now, but there is a plot in my head. I'm just not sure it'll make it in the timeline I have planned for this one. I'm glad you caught the barrister's name. We'll be hearing more from her ;) I tried to model this trial after the British court system, not the American one, with some added leniency for the wizarding world, so yes, Umbridge was allowed to speak much more than if it were an American court.



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 11:13PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

I think Umbridge got far less than she deserves

Author's Response: *shrugs* Sorry :(



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 08:43PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

This was certainly a busy chapter! The Gringotts part was a real gem -- where did you ever come up with Eargit (chuckle)?! :D It might be interesting to find out who would actually date McLaggen! The trial of Umbitch was a real joy - especially when she got her just
deserts! I knew Harry's illness was more than a "cold"! Can't wait for the next one! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: LOL - I found the name Eargit from the Lexicon under the history of Goblins, of course! :)



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 05:39PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

harry is in a deep state of crap and is in a major need of help that the moron should have know better.....well he will be out cold for a while and will be in his happy place of a medical wing for a long time now i tihhnk....kutgw

Author's Response: I think Harry has been raised to downplay his own ill health. I can't imagine Petunia ever made him feel like anything but an inconvenience. It was unimportant and irrelevant, and he had to take care of himself. That's a "cut" that's not going to just change overnight. :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 04:33PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Deep worry.

Author's Response: You'll get some answers next chapter if that helps!



Reviewer: jmcmutt Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 04:13PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

what a climax! Ron is definitely growing up and learning about what is really important. Umbridge does not learn or understand. I am enjoying your story very much.

Author's Response: Thanks! Huge Ron fan, and I never think he gets enough credit for how much he matured by the Battle.



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 02:49PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

Glad Umbridge has been convicted. Now we get to see how sick Harry really is.

Author's Response: I promise you'll get some answers in the next chapter.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 12:52PM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

Oh no! Poor Harry - I knew something was going on, but Harry has a flare for drama. Interesting to get a view of the trial - Hermione was a bit naive not to expect some of the questions she was asked. It is completely within character for Hermione to get flustered if she is not thoroughly prepared, but I really don't understand that way of thinking. Glad Umbridge got life - she certainly deserved it. Harry deserves to have some fun playing Quidditch. Hans Rickman? A tribute to Alan Rickman perhaps?

Author's Response: LOL! I'm so glad you pointed out the Hans Rickman. There was only one other reviewer who did so. Yes, definitely a tribute to Rickman in my other favorite role of his.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 10:50AM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry! It just never ends, does it? At least he got a new broom and played some quidditch this chapter. Glad to hear that Unbridge got her's, though. Like the previous poster said, we really seem to hate that woman more than most of the death eaters!

Author's Response: I agree, Umbridge was the worst! I still grit my teeth when I see that pink onscreen, and I have to put the book down if re-reading.



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2015.11.18 - 10:38AM Title: Trials and Tribulations

starstarstarstarstar

I think Harry's relationship with the goblins will always be strained. Ron only has an inkling as to how beloved Hedwig was. Any owl that belongs to Harry will have some big shoes- er, claws- to fill.

For a minute there I was worried you'd let Umbridge off! I read somewhere that our fandom hates her more than we hate Voldemort.

I called it! Harry always waits for things to become life-threatening before getting help! Silly boy.

More, please!

Author's Response: I agree, I think there will always be tension between Harry and the goblins, and he'll just have to learn to deal with that. He's done it before. :( I think we can thank Petunia for the Harry reason Harry waits and tries to fix things himself. She's conditioned him to believe he's an inconvenience, and his aches and pains are inconsequential.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear