Search:

SIYE Time:7:18 on 18th October 2017

Reviews For These Cuts I Have

Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.12.15 - 09:20PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Great couple of chapters. I really enjoy reading your story.
Hope something develops soon regarding the death eaters.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying it. It will be 31 chapters in all.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2015.12.15 - 01:13PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

Given the day she was having I think Ginny casting the Bat Boogie at someone was inevetable! Loved the scene with Harry and little Teddy. I always thought he would make a great Godfather.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think Harry and Teddy will connect in ways no one else is able to understand. It's good they have each other.



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2015.12.14 - 09:15AM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

I just wanted to say that I've been a fan of your work for some time. While waiting for your next update on this story I've been re-reading The Seventh Horcrux for the first time in a couple of years. I'd forgotten how much of the story of Deathly Hallows you accurately predicted. It was quite interesting comparing your predictions for book 7 with the reconstruction period story you are crafting now, just short of a decade later.

Anyway, I just wanted to say thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love to know my stories get re-read, lol. That is so cool!



Reviewer: gemz1313 Signed Date: 2015.12.10 - 06:53PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

Harry :'-(
He's got to get better but reading him deteriorating is heartbreaking

Author's Response: He is definitely getting weaker :(



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.12.10 - 11:59AM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

It seems that Ron is back in his normal, slightly immature state in this chapter, i.e. eating all the bacon at breakfast, teasing his sister about being two weeks from seventeen, disrupting her private moments with Harry, teasing Harry about his ability to speak Parseltongue at an inopportune time. He's also worrying about himself a bit more than necessary, wondering whether he'd ever be good enough or quick enough to actually save Harry from harm. Oh, one of these days, Ron's going to pop Cormac McLaggen in the nose and everyone in their class is going to cheer!

I love the name Harry chose for his owl. Nothing Quidditch- or history-related, just an all-around powerful Greek god's name. Hopefully, the two will have many more years than those Harry had with Hedwig, since the Owl Pages states that Snowy Owls can live as long as thirty-five years in captivity.

I can't decide whether you want Harry to be happy that he can no longer speak Parseltongue or sorry for its loss. If it were me, I think I'd be both. The reason for this attitude is that the loss means the Horcrux is well and truly gone, but it also means that something he was accustomed to and probably accepted as part of himself is now missing. The more I think about it, I think you want Harry to be rather blasé about it since Ginny seems pleased that instead of getting emotional or clamming up over the loss, his response to her question is non-committal and he seems to be adjusting well to the discovery.

Finally, I really liked the banter between Harry and his classmates. It shows that for the most part, they're becoming a cohesive group that will eventually be able to rely on each other when they do go out in the field. People like Cormac will still try to be better than or think they're better an the others, but for the most part, practicing something together and helping each other is a positive step towards working together. It's nice to see the changes in the group dynamics.

All in all, well done.

Author's Response: Well, Ron IS growing up, but it's not an absolute switch. I think there will always be sibling teasing. I know I have it right into adulthood. Two steps forward, one step back, lol. I did have fun with Ron in this chapter. I think you caught the feeling I was going for in Harry exactly! Neither happy or sad, more just needing time to process it. I don't think he'd miss it, since he didn't use it much, but it is a reminder that the Horcrux was there, and did have some control. Knowing Harry's character, I think he'd need to think about this for a bit, but his health is at the top most of his mind at the moment. Yay, you!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.12.10 - 09:52AM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Poor Harry - I hope they find an antidote soon. I'm glad he's still doing things - going to class, teaching, playing with Teddy. I love the scene with Harry and Teddy, he is so sweet. I can definitely feel for Ginny. It must be very frustrating for her, she can't help Harry, she's having all sorts of unsavory rumors written about her, and she can't do magic. Hopefully her birthday will improve things. Ron needs to watch out - an annoying older brother would be a perfect choice of first magic. Hermione was at her most annoying in this chapter. I understand she's an ace at research, but as much as she complains about Harry trying to do things himself, that is exactly what she always does. She needs to learn to work with other researchers. As a schoolgirl, she doesn't have a lot of experience with actual medical research (which is what this is) and would need to consult with other experts. She keeps hoping she'll find something no one else noticed - maybe it will work. I can't believe she's giving Harry a hard time about not sharing his past with her. In all of her research, she never came across abuse and how not to talk to victims?

Author's Response: Hermione definitely came across information on how to talk to abuse victims. She was the one who told the others not to blame him for not telling. As the story wore on, however, I couldn't shake the feeling that Hermione's character just wouldn't be able to keep silent forever. She didn't blurt it right out, so she is growing, but it just didn't sit right with me that she'd be able to have that self-restraint forever. This chapter was the result of that thought process. As for the antidote, she is working with both the Healers and an Unspeakable at the Ministry. Sorry if that wasn't clear.



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 09:54PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarhalf-star

"Ginevra and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day"...? :-) [Not that she would appreciate the use of her formal given name....] It is rather a pity, though, that she only got one, given that she was going to be paying the price anyway. :-}

Hermione seems ... .remarkably unsympathetic to her friends' perspectives.

I'm not quite sure how much longer Harry (himself -- vs. a stand-in (e.g., using Polyjuice) -- will be able to pull off the "I'm perfectly fine" act (for "public consumption"). Which reminds me: the thought that a (nominally) "benign" ingredient might have been added to tweak the effects seems like a pretty good lead to me.

Yeah, I suppose it would have been a bit out-of-character for Harry to lead in the impromptu Patronus-casting class with "OK; think of your first orgasm!" -- though that might have ... challenged ... Ms Benson to new heights. :-} That said, Harry did remarkably well, given how poorly he was feeling, the attempts at disruption, his lack of preparation, and the difficulty of the material.

No Parseltongue, eh? Well, if a piece of Tom was needed for it, the loss is definitely worth it.

Author's Response: Heh - I had a bad day of my own shortly before this was written, so hence the inspiration, lol. I just gave myself such a chuckle imagining that Patronus lesson and Violet winding Harry up. I like writing the two, because I think he'd be at such a loss how to handle her. The images in my head entertained me, so I hope they played well with all of you!



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 07:23PM Title: Toils and Tempers

great chapter. but the Dropsies

Author's Response: Thanks! Haven't you ever had those? The inspiration came from a day when I couldn't hold onto anything if my life depended on it, lol.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 04:36PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. I wish Harry would learn to say no occasionally. Casting a patronus had to be exhausting for him. Harry should probably not be left alone any longer, and especially not be left alone with Teddy to care for. Love that Ginny and Hermione both managed to lose their tempers in this chapter. Looking forward to reading your next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! Well, to be honest - no one is ever really alone at The Burrow, lol. I think it would be against Harry's nature to not help someone if he could, regardless if it's detrimental to himself. It's why we all love him so much.



Reviewer: hijadejewell Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 03:00PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 03:00PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting chapter! Hate to see Harry struggling so much! My only complaint about this chapter is I wish Ginny had hit McLaggen with the bat bogeys instead of that reporter! Keep the brilliance coming! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks! If Harry and Cormac are to continue interacting, I suppose a Bat Bogey will definitely be part of his eventual future. ;)



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 02:01PM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

I hope they find a cure before Harry's nearly dead. That'd be a little traumatic for everyone.

Author's Response: Well, if it makes you feel any better... you know he's still around n the epilogue!



Reviewer: kitana415 Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 10:50AM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

Maybe Ginny got in trouble, but I bet those reporters will think twice before getting in her face again. I like to think Molly grounded her because it's what she was supposed to do, but not because she thinks Ginny was wrong.

Of all the pity you sling in this story, I feel none for Teddy. He lost his parents, yes, but he will never suffer as Harry did.

Hermione's guilt is exacerbated by her intelligence, Ron's by his loyalty, and the other Weasley's by their familiar bonds. And all of them are wrong.

I enjoy the scenes at the Ministry and I'm looking forward to some illegal flying!

Author's Response: Do I sling pity? Hmm. Is that good or bad? No matter how justified Ginny was, she still isn't allowed to use magic, and Moly wouldn't be a good mum if she didn't call her on it, right? Unfortunately, I think the reporters are simply something she and Harry are going to have to learn to live with.



Reviewer: Dreaming Haven Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 09:56AM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry still struggling to make everyone think he's ok. I also feel bad for Ginny and her bad day, glad she hexed them though. Too bad she couldn't hex the death eater that did this to Harry.

Author's Response: Agreed! Ginny was definitely having a bad day!



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 09:44AM Title: Toils and Tempers

starstarstarstarhalf-star

sleep. excellent way to end an equally excellent chapter. love Ginny's temper. yay! love teddy's part and the bond developing beetween him and Harry.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm a big fan of Ginny's short fuse, as well.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear