Search:

SIYE Time:14:23 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.05.30 - 04:20PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

Truly love this story!

Author's Response: Glad you're a fan of it. As I said in a previous review, I really must do more one shots.



Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2015.12.20 - 12:50AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

for a short story it was great lots of surprises and stuff well written

Author's Response: Bearing in mind I only wrote it because I got a bit stuck halfway through 'Abraxas' I'm actually quite pleased at how it turned out. I must do more one shots.



Reviewer: huggybear Signed Date: 2015.07.28 - 11:26AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

When I saw that you had written a new story, I squealed like a teenage girl. I absolutely love reading your stories and this was no exception! Very interesting take on the whole "arranged marriage" cliche (which i shamelessly love). I only wish it was longer! Ah, but I look forward to the Super! Harry story you're making so best of luck with that!

Author's Response: I haven't written many one-shots, and this was always meant to be in that category. Personally, I'm not sure it would have worked as well if it was longer, besides, there's that old show biz saying that you should always leave 'em wanting more. I'm about halfway through the Super! Harry story, but I hope to pick up my pace a bit from now on.



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2015.07.21 - 05:21PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I saw this title and immediately thought of an American police drama by the same name; alas this was not what I expected - it was better! I want more, and for the record, while I know it was mostly a drama, that first dinner scene was quite comedic. Not sure if that was your intent, but Arthur's bluster had me laughing out loud. I know you are busy working on your Powerful! Harry story, but more of this would be lovely! I know I am not the first to say. Good to see you back!

Author's Response: Arthur might be a mind-mannered bloke, but he's still a fiery red-head - a bit of bluster is to be expected. I Googled the TV series you mentioned, and can honestly say I've never heard of it before. IMDb says it reached the UK, but I never saw it!



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2015.07.15 - 01:38AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstar

I want more of this story!!!!

Author's Response: Ah, you see, if you'd give me one more star, I'd have written some more. But as it is...



Reviewer: I Love Ginerva Signed Date: 2015.07.14 - 05:31AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstar

I quite enjoyed this... But I also think you should have stretched it to about 4 or 5 chapters... So much you could have done with it.

ILG

Author's Response: Nah, the whole point of this for me was to take a break from the extremely long story I'm currently writing. Besides, I think it would have lost something if it was too dragged out.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.07.13 - 04:12PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

That was fun to read. The beginning reminded me a bit of a propaganda battle in which each side claimed the truth for themselves after the war. The following game of law was very Slytherin-like. Apparently Slytherin produces not only dark wizards but also lawyers and banksters, lol.
I hope that Ginny rejects the offer to play professional Quidditch just because of her new name. There are better career possibilities for her. I'm sure she will not disappoint me.
Mrs Bones seems to be a bit annoying. I hope that Harry is able to escape the close embracing of the Ministry. They will always try to control him.
With a brilliant Ginny in the lead role and a smart Mr. Potter in the first featured part the story presented my favourite line-up. Even the moral expectations are met, no sex before the wedding night. (Although the latter was not so important for me). I'm proud of you! Very well done! Thanks!
I was very pleased that everything happens for Ginny's point of view.
I already registered the story as one of my favourite stories. Just a minor complaint: Sadly the story was a bit too short. ;-)
Ten stars for whatever house you belong!


Author's Response: Ten points to Slytherin! The Quidditch offer wasn't just because of her name, as I said, any former captain of a Hogwarts team was virtually guaranteed a trial. It was more that they wouldn't give her a trial because she was a Weasley, such was their unpopularity. I do seem to be increasingly writing from Ginny's POV, although I have to say my next story will be almost entirely from Harry's.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2015.07.13 - 11:52AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

What a great " twist" to the marriage law! Some of the characters seemed OOC, but it fit well with the story. I wish this story was longer.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: The Weasleys were probably a bit OTT in their beliefs, but the story wouldn't have really worked if they weren't. Still, I've seen a lot more extreme versions of Molly and Arthur elsewhere, and idiotic devotion is always fun to read. Hey, for a one-shot a word count of 20k isn't bad, you have to admit. :-)



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.07.12 - 09:17PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstar

Really nice take on this plot line!

Now do you feel up to a non-corny soul-bond or travel-back-in-time story?




Author's Response: I think my 'Thorny Rose' series covers the soul bond thing. I did briefly consider doing a back in time yarn, but being a huge fan of Gene Wolfe and his wondrous 'Book of the New Sun' series, I'd probably end up making the plot far too complicated for anyone to enjoy, myself included.



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2015.07.12 - 03:56PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

Would love to see more. but it looks like this is a one off.

Author's Response: It is indeed. I just wanted a break from the long story I'm writing now. Still always leave the crowd wanting more, that's my motto.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2015.07.12 - 03:37PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

Note to self: always reread a good story before commenting.

I had to reread it in order to track down a couple of the little glitches I messaged you about, and found that I rather liked the 'sexual experiences' exchange on a second pass.

One final thought: I agree with your choice of making this a one-shot. It has a certain power as a stand-alone piece that might lose gravity in serial form.

Author's Response: Actually, your 'hastily ripped plaster' analogy was spot on. I figured that a pair of sexually inexperienced young people who had only met a few weeks before would continue to put off any discussions of that nature until the last moment. Thanks for the corrections, btw, as you clearly had to put some effort into sending them. A couple of the PMs were blank, though, was that meant to happen or have the site gremlins struck again?



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2015.07.12 - 11:48AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

Enjoyed this imaginative viewpoint on a world that could have been. It is all plausible enough, especially given the undercurrent of Weasley pride that JKR maintained. But of course plausibility matters little compared to good story telling.

Fully aware that the HTML parsers on this site have changed again, I have simply hit two hard returns, omitted any HTML tags, and thus hopefully have created a new paragraph without self-immolation. That was so much fun, I'll do it again.

Okay, my one issue with the mechanics of the story is that the question of establishing H&G's knowledge of each other's sexual history came across a bit haltingly, almost as if (sacrilege!) the authour felt awkward dealing with this touchy subject. As the text unfolded, it had less of the feel of two characters revealing themselves, and more the jolt of a hastily ripped plaster. Another 100-200 words and a master of bon-mots such as yourself could have nailed down a classic. In my questionably humble opinion that is.

Did you want typos to correct before the Trinket Gods render their almighty judgements? I'll try sending a PM with a few, although the SIYE message system is hexed and cursed.

Author's Response: See next review for comments!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.07.12 - 06:50AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar


What a brilliant one-shot.
Loved the Dumbledore bashing. I could never understand why he always insisted Harry live with his relatives, when he would have known he was being abused. His Hogwarts letter was addressed to 'The Cupboard under the Stairs'.

I can totally understand the way the Weasley's believed Dumbledore. There was a lot who did. I'm glad Ginny's eyes were opened and she can see him from Harry's point of view.

So glad to see this story and am awaiting the newest contribution from you. 😃👍

Author's Response: It might be a while before my next story is posted. It looks like it will be rather long and I keep getting distracted.



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2015.07.12 - 03:30AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarhalf-star

One-shots don't usually float my boat, but this one was actually quite good. I might not have read it if I hadn't noticed your name as the author. I'm glad I gave it a shot.

Author's Response: You'll notice that I don't often do one-shots as I'm not a huge fan, either. Still, you have to mix things up occasionally, don't you?



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2015.07.11 - 07:30PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

half-star

Very Insightful! It was a good thing I distracted you with my Strong One. High voltage, but low amperage.....it isn't like you are Ron....or Dumbledore or something.....

Listen ....at least it wasn't down to his arse in this story, or Grrr pony tale
Thanks for investment strategy, if there was legal tender involved I would be in Azkaban. It transformed my entire portfolio!

Yay I finally got that joke!

Best to Mrs Brennus from Your #3 fan.


Author's Response: Who are numbers 1 and 2 then?



Reviewer: LadyRuthless Signed Date: 2015.07.11 - 03:23PM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

Hermione? Remus/Tonks? Other than missing a few of my favorite characters, really really enjoyable.
:-) (And, thank you for the cleaner language. My HP loving kiddos could look over my shoulder on this one and it would be fine!)



Author's Response: Look at it this way, I'm sure your kids will learn plenty of bad language without my help. I'm probably helping with their sex education through my stories, too!



Reviewer: Tourniquet Signed Date: 2015.07.11 - 10:48AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Oh, go on. Just one, little review. Oh, you will now, won't you. Go on,



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.07.11 - 10:29AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good angle.

Author's Response: 45 degrees - now there's a good angle.



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2015.07.11 - 07:33AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

What a pleasant surprise to find a new story by you and what a great one I was sort of hoping the family might come around in the end but it did not really fit the story also you hinted Fred was fighting on Harry's side would have liked more on that like how come his twin was not with them also

But really great story I have never read a bad one from you and this one keeps up the same high quality

Author's Response: Don't worry - I'm sure I'll come up with some utter drivel some time soon. After all, I can't have many brain cells left by this point.



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2015.07.11 - 01:45AM Title: In the Heat of the Night

starstarstarstarstar

Well done! Loved it.

Author's Response: I loved that you loved it.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear