Search:

SIYE Time:21:12 on 29th April 2017

Reviews For The Retelling

Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.01.09 - 07:38PM Title: Chapter 5

starstarstarstar

You surprised me. Was expecting to soon bail when I started the story...I'm still here and enjoying it.

Thanks...



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.12.22 - 07:56AM Title: Chapter 5

starstarstarstarhalf-star


That was an interesting chapter.
It is sad that you killed off Hermione, but you must have a reason for doing this. Can't wait to read about it in future chapters.
I like the strong friendship bond between Harry, Ginny and Luna.
Looking forward to reading the next chapter.



Reviewer: BobVosh Signed Date: 2015.12.22 - 04:20AM Title: Chapter 2

You should have had the goblins charge a fee to count the gold.

Author's Response: Nice Idea, shame it didn't cross my mind at the time. But you can say that they are charging the fees behind their backs.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.12.16 - 04:01PM Title: Chapter 5

I know that they didnt get a long but really you had to kill hermione and give then the new deal of death......glad they figure out charlie right away and luna is smart to use her head the way she does.....kutgw

Author's Response: Already answered about Hermione. And I would expect Ginny to be a bit sharp witted than Ron (even in canon.) And luna's well Luna. I am glad that you keep enjoying my work. Thank you.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2015.12.16 - 03:11PM Title: Chapter 5

starstarstarstar

Don't understand the reason to kill Hermione. Was it to remove the now useless character or you just don't like her? It's like oh well shes dead, QUIDDITCH!! It didn't seem to effect them or anyone else.

Author's Response: And that's what I was waiting for, someone to question why did I do that (Honestly I am expecting a lot of Whys? in this regard). Hermione's death will serve a purpose but not yet and the rest is spoiler. The question is would it affect everyone. An even bigger question, is that what I want to focus on? Showing people grieving about Hermione? No. That's not what I have planned for this story. This story has a different plot line and I believe I have given enough words and efforts to the death of a minor character in this story.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.11.15 - 08:51PM Title: Chapter 4

starstarstarstar


Interesting chapter.

Author's Response: Always strive to make it interesting, Thank you



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.11.06 - 11:47AM Title: Chapter 4

starstarstarstar

Nice chapter! I like how your resolved the Quidditch team. Hermione and Ron are rather unbearable - I can't blame Harry for avoiding them. My only real critique for this chapter is Harry, Ginny, and Luna all seem equally clever, equally gifted, and can all fly well. There should be some differences. That's why in the books, Harry, Ron, and Hermione worked so well - they each had different strengths. Luna has never struck me as someone who would fly well - that could have been something that Harry and Ginny could share. Luna and Harry have the loss of family in common. Let them have their own strengths and weaknesses, that strengths a friendship.

Author's Response: hm, they seem equally clever? in the sense that all of them excel at everything? that would make them OP don't you think and I certainly am not going in that direction. A story with OP characters is boring (not always). I am a bit out of sorts with the story but I think I have mentioned it already that they are all very much different, though if you couldn't pick on that then it looks like it needs a bit more emphasis. I'll be sure to make requisite changes in the following chapters.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.11.05 - 05:36PM Title: Chapter 4

well im glad to see that harry is being a good influence on both ginny and luna, and i see ron is not going to learn a thing this year....as for hermione i think you re being a little hard on the girl, but i also think she needs to talk differently to the trio.....i understand she wants to be inthe group but maybe ginny should aksi the question of why she is the way she is......kutgw

Author's Response: First of all thanks for the review. Ron would be Ron and as for Hermione well let's wait and see what happens, you that is (I already know what happens, hehehe)



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.11.04 - 04:40PM Title: Chapter 4

starstarstarhalf-star

Thanks for the story...

Author's Response: Well, you are really welcome.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.10.20 - 08:46AM Title: Chapter 3

starstarstarstar


I like this chapter.
Very interesting trip to Hogwarts. One highlight was Ron's attempt to stay in the carriage and force Ginny out.
Just wondering...did Ron end up in Gryffindor? If not, where?
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Well, thanks for the appreciation, really grateful for it. Well, yes he did end up in Gryffindor. He isn't a major character in this story as you would have already inferred so you can assume the canonical thing where I don't specifically mention it.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2015.10.13 - 08:48PM Title: Chapter 3

well i have to say that you have a very fun and different start and i like where your going with it...kutgw

Author's Response: I'll try my best to keep up the good work. Such reviews though really help



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2015.10.12 - 04:41PM Title: Chapter 3

Hermione has red hair in this story? Interesting twist.

Author's Response: No! No! She doesn't possess red hair. Oh God! a terrible mistake. I need to get rid of it as soon as I can. Too many people have read it already.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.10.11 - 03:43PM Title: Chapter 3

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.10.11 - 12:16AM Title: Chapter 3

starstarstarstar

Interesting beginning. I liked that Harry stayed at the Leaky Cauldron. It doesn't really seem in his character to get so many books - I mearn there are other ways of learning things other than books. Most people looking for training might consider looking into hiring someone to teach them. I don't know a lot of children who are so self confident that they would assume they can learn everything they need on their own by reading books. That seems like Hermione type thinking. I was really confused by Hermione's first appearance. You described her as a ginger with big teeth - at first I thought you were talking about Ginny because Hermione isn't a red head. Once Hermione started talking, I knew who she was. I feel badly for Ginny, what a horrible home life. Ron can be seen as a bully - look at the way he treated Hermione in first year. I have to admit, I put off starting this story because I'm not really a huge Luna fan and she seems to play a big role in this story. She started out as a good friend to Ginny, listening to her and sympathizing with her, but on the train it didn't seem very positive. Ginny's already warning Harry that Luna's a bit loony and Harry's ignoring what she's saying - not really the best basis of a friendship.

There are some errors, especially with punctuation. Some of the characterizations aren't very consistant. For example '“Want anything young ones?” a kind voice echoed from the door.' sounds very sweet, but it is followed up with "Alright kid, just make sure you don’t get cavities." Which seems a bit rude and doesn't make a lot of sense seeing as the wizarding world doesn't seem to have dentists. If you are having trouble with a beta, even having a friend read it over might help.

Author's Response: First of all, I would like to thank you for liking this story of mine. I truly appreciate it. It always help to boost my confidence, especially if it's from an author whose work I admire. Now, I would move towards your question, though some I can't answer like why Harry didn't hire a tutor? That would be giving away the plot a bit, though you don't have to wait for long. The next chapter would answer it for you, if not, then I would be more than happy to clarify it to you. And let's not talk about that red head mistake. God, it still is making me cringe. How did I ever do that. Coming to Luna. Well as it happens, I am a big of Luna and since this fic is written for all the selfish reason you could think of (I believe fanfiction is for letting the readers give the story a twist they would like, mould it into their own view.) You can expect to see a lot of her. As for calling her loony, I did mention that Ginny call her that in an affectionate way, and Harry ignoring Luna, that was more comical than anything, just to show the closeness they have achieved in a time so short. God knows, me and my friends ignore each other all the time. And yes, that cavity one. I know that Wizard just don't seem to "get cavities" and that line was supposed to poke fun at it, which I think now and I fail to deliver. That too quite spectacularly. Hopefully, you will continue to enjoy the story.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.08.31 - 08:40AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Interesting chapter.
It doesn't surprise me that Harry managed to outwit Hagrid. Hagrid has a good heart but he is easy to steer in a direction.
It, also, doesn't surprise me that the Dursleys didn't wonder about Harry when he didn't return. But, I wonder if Dumbledore will know that he didn't return to Privet Drive.
Did Hagrid tell Harry how to get on the train?
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Whoa! It's nice to have such perceptive readers, though I admit it takes the fun away that you have when explaining your story to someone else. I happen to enjoy it very much and adore those reviewers who ask questions. Ahem, ahem, need to get back on the track. Well Dumbledore. I think Dumbledore would just assume that Harry has returned to the Dursleys since he has no where else to go. I think setting guards on an eleven year old when danger isn't that high would be a bit stretched even for the wizened Dumbledore.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 06:08AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ah well, it is so easy to outwit Hagrid. I am puzzled that no one noticed that Harry didn't return to Surrey.
It's a good idea that Harry checks his Gringotts business more accurately. However, it doesn't suit him well to be so wasteful. I really hope that he stays grounded.
Will we learn a little more about the letters that Harry received at Gringotts?
It would be nice to know what had annoyed Harry so much.

Author's Response: Hagrid is the man we all love and it's because of his innocence. Even when just writing about outwitting him, I feel guilty at what I am doing to such a nice man. I don't think the Dursleys minded that much that Harry didn't return to Dursleys and Dumbledore would assume that since Harry has no where else to go, he would return to Dursley. Maybe you will learn, Maybe not. I am rewriting it for a reason. Maybe I will add some more details? who knows? Can't give too much away. Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: dronvire Signed Date: 2015.08.24 - 05:26PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarhalf-star

Some awkward phrasing mixed with a few spot on words. Not bad for someone not really comfortable with English.

Author's Response: Whoa! I don't know whether to take that as a compliment or otherwise.

Author's Response: Though it is true. English isn't my native language.



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 11:55PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.08.01 - 08:30AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar


Interesting start. Let's see where it goes.

Author's Response: Yes, let's see where it goes. Hopefully not in Recycle Bin.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.07.29 - 05:16PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

I will have to see where it goes, but I must admit I find this Molly Weasley quite upsetting. (I know it's not real.)

Author's Response: Let's just say, it was a story requirement. Hopefully you won't find it upsetting.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear