Search:

SIYE Time:6:59 on 30th May 2017

Reviews For Splinters

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.01.29 - 03:02PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

I am thoroughly enjoying this, though I find it necessary to study the material more than simply reading. I don't know who I missed your stories, having lurked here a long time before finally deciding to post one of my own stories. Anyway, I am the richer for it now! Thank you!

Author's Response:

Well, I'm definitely overjoyed to hear that you're enjoying the story!

I do have to admit, though, that if any of my stories might warrant pondering, this is likely it. When writing, I've always tried avoid springing some major plot twist on readers without at least some element of forboding. I've also striven to minimize the amount of throw-away information, and attempted as well as I could to ensure that details offered in any one chapter would ultimately prove relevant to future development.

Consequently, with a plot as complex as Splinters, there are scads of details dropping in every chapter that later bear upon subsequent scenes. As a result, the deliberate reader may well enjoy the story a fair bit more than the skimmer.

Hopefully that does prove true for you. In either case, thank you for another wonderful review!



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.06.24 - 09:24PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

Sorry but I don't understand this story

Author's Response:

Ah! Well, if you say "this story" in the singular, then you will indeed be baffled during the first few chapters. The way to read Splinters is to understand that there are multiple stories that very gradually converge to a common narrative. There is a single *present* time (summer 1995) which actually follows a very straightforward, linear plot-line with the exception that Harry and Ginny (and one other person, whom I'll leave as a surprise) are having strange, intense dreams. There is a *past* (mostly AD 61) that Harry and Ginny keep dreaming about; it is mostly a single, concerted narrative too, except that under some rare circumstances, Harry and Ginny find that they can not only dream the past, but perhaps actually change it. Then finally Harry and Ginny are also dreaming of a seemingly endless number of ephemeral futures (mostly in April/May, 1998), with the circumstances always shifting as a result of what Harry and Ginny accomplish in the past.

If this overlay of one present and two separate dream-worlds sounds complicated, I have to admit that it is. I deliberated long over whether to even go ahead with such an abstract Kafka-esque convolution, but ultimately decided to risk it... and the reader response was way beyond my own wildest 'dreams' ;)

Anyway, whether or not you'll try to go on, I don't know. I do know that a fair number of readers struggle gamely through the first several chapters then really hit stride. Some also, when things start to click around chapter 4 or 6 or something, go back and reread the start with their newfound insight. Anyway, I guess I'll be watching the comment space to see whether or not you chance another couple of chapters.

Thanks nayin1704!



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2016.05.23 - 05:38PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

Still as intriguing as ever!

Author's Response:

Strange that the site should have doubled your comment again. Coincidence I suppose, although to some writers, there *are no* coincidences ;)

In any case, as per your comment of 'intriguing', that is a good label for Splinters. The story is intended to challenge the readers, especially in terms of what is real, what is potentially real (given the right or wrong conditions) and what is ultimately illusion. There is, perhaps, a bit of a James Joyce mentality in there somewhere... but hopefully it's more readable than that.

Thank you for the review(s)!



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2016.05.21 - 10:06PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Still as intriguing as ever!

Author's Response:

Ah -- and now time for something completely different! :)

To be honest, a part of me initially set out to write Biscuits to be an 'un-Splinters'. This is to say, a straightforward, linear piece where only the 'Magic' is magic. In the end, Biscuits didn't quite turn out that way either, so if you liked one, hopefully you'll like the other.

Thank you very much for giving this one a look too!



Reviewer: Cole Signed Date: 2015.08.28 - 10:21PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter!

Author's Response:

Again, thank you very much for reading, and reviewing! I will leave my main response below your Chapter 4 review, but I do appreciate the fact that you've chosen to chime in on each chapter. From a writing perspective, I like to get incremental feedback, just in case there are mediocre chapters within a good story, or vice versa.



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 05:03PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

I... like this.

Yes, I will admit that I was a bit hesitant to read this. I used to be all about just canon. Meaning I used to only read stories that stuck as close to canon as possible. I guess the hundreds or rather endless fics I have come across (Malfoy/Harry slash... Harry/Hermione...Draco/Ginny) kind of turned me off from AU for a while. It is only until recently I started easing myself into the world of AU.

So, even then I was still not convinced about reading this story. Mainly because of the weird dreams they have. I like AU as much as the next person (well... now I do at least) but I prefer for authors to stick strictly to the rules of JK's universe. Some authors just do silly things like have Harry and friends learn Occlumency rather quickly even though it is very very difficult to master and very rare amongst wizard and witches.

So you can see that just based on your summary I was not sure about this story for awhile. I was bored earlier today and decided to give it a shot. I don't think I have ever been more glad to be bored. It gave me the opportunity to read this and while I am still a bit hesitant about the dreams they share, I think you do it in a more believable manner. I am very interested to see how things go from now on.

Your characterization is very spot on. Ron is as annoying as ever with his stupid temper and childish attitude. Hermione is actually...nice. What I mean by that is that she is not as annoying as some authors portray her. I know JK made her a bit of a social outcast with annoying tendency to follow law and order to the letter but I think some people go extreme in her characterization. I think you have her pegged perfectly.

I look forward to seeing more Harry and Ginny moments. You are giving us something JK Rowling failed to do. A proper build up to their relationship through friendship. I have always loved the Harry/Ginny pairing. Anyway... just wanted to let you know that you have a new reader now. Time for the next chapter. Good luck.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the detailed and thoughtful review, MisterBlack! In many cases I gradually get to know reviewers over time, but this particular treatise gives me (in one single installment) a very solid foundation for who you are and what interests you. Many authours really do care about that sort of understanding!

If I'm honest with myself (and with you) I can look through the various types of fan fiction constructs that you prefer not to read and admit that, across the various stories I've posted here, I'm at least somewhat guilty of every sin you list. So, I'm not about to start shamelessly promoting to you every story I've written. Luckily, I *can* state without hesitation that this particular story you've now chanced upon will not violate any of your principles, and will continue to move in the directions you've enjoyed. Harry and Ginny will continue to drift closer and closer together as they continue to work as in tandem; they will continue to banter and tease, and their meaningful moments will gradually become more and more meaningful. Hermione will continue to be the smart 'big sister' type to both; she will support and mentor, and while her advice will not always be bang on, it will always be well-intended. And Ron will continue to be frustrating and more hurtful than he realizes but, as JKR always granted him, he will end up with a chance to redeem himself.

Anyway, I greatly value your comments and hope to see more of them as you progress through the story. Welcome aboard!



Author's Response: I should clarify one thing as far as my above statement of caveat -- happily, none of my stories introduce any lurid, non-canonical relationships. In my AU's, all characters eventually end up with their intended... Especially H&G.



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2015.08.20 - 07:36AM Title: Perfectly Normal?

Gotta read this when i,m back from vacations. Mobile phone doesn,t really work in a forest :D. But! What about updating another story? ) you have time till september!

Author's Response:

Oh, so that's where you've been! Spending time in the woods sounds fun, even if it does reduce the story-reading opportunities. I am about to head into the woods as well, but it will entail a horde of ten year old boys... so I may not get much time to meditate upon plot-lines and character development...

Chapter 10 of Trix is entering the final editing stages -- I will post soon!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.15 - 08:58PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting chapter. Looking forward to the next chapter of the story. Harry and Ginny are developing appropriately and the other characters are remaining true to the originals.

Author's Response:

Great that you're enjoying it! Chapter 3 should be posted fairly soon -- I wrote it some time ago, but editing it has been a stimulating, fulfilling and lonnng process. Ah well...

Glad that you like the way H&G are turning out -- they will both continue to grow a bit through the story, but you shouldn't see anything too jarring. Since you're very attuned to the characters, let me tip my cards a little bit with respect to the next chapter. We will all accompany Ginny experiences a fairly long dream sequence in her alter ego, Lannosea, the Celtic princess; let me hint that although there are some similarities between Ginny and Lannosea, there are also some distinct differences too, and these differences will gradually become a key plot point in an unfolding character drama...

Anyway, very glad to have you along the for ride. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.08.13 - 07:02PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarhalf-star

...am 'seriusly' liking this!



Author's Response:

Molte bene! This chapter establishes a tone that I aspire to through much of the story. So, hopefully, if you like it thus far, you will like it anon.

Thanks again for opining, valiant son of Arathorn!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2015.08.10 - 01:30PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Nice experiment! Buto II like it Only because it was more of a stand alone before and Harry never went after to Hogwars under force story. 1st chapter ejected into a Weasley. Let's Just say that, personally, I think the detail paid to the horse-head knocker was the most surprising and powerfully colorful and fulfilling, that I am currently recalling. for your E view. I have to go now, my Dog seems to have laid Down Under my bed and got himseld itching with my wife's clothes. No worries, now my Dog' Odd'ball' is d0ne fussing and quite still. Very very still. Except for his disproportionate prosthetic tale wagging, is still quite moving me. I look backward to your next fractionating chapter! Luna, Jem's best frienD.

Author's Response:

I'm thoroughly flattered to have received a review nearly as eccentric as some of the masterpieces you've produced for Brennus!

I am, in equal parts deeply impressed (by the insight), concerned (for the state of your wife's clothing and Oddball's tail), amused (looking backward to the next chapter!) and confused (are you named Jem, and was this review left by your best friend Luna?)

Anyway, the key insight involves the question of whether or not Harry returns to Hogwarts (we shall have to wait and see about this), and the horse-head grip (as the story progresses, don't forget to pay attention to what that grip is attached to).

Sincerest thanks for the entertainment factor! I hope my next chapter can also inspire a review from you and/or Jem, or Luna, or somebody...



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.08.09 - 11:45PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

I am well and truly hooked on this story. They mystery of the shared dreams intrigues me and I find myself wanting more, more, more! However, the parts I like most were those involving modern Harry and Ginny, specifically Harry in a very good mood and serving a breakfast he voluntarily made himself as well as his interaction with Ginny in the library after his dream. I'm definitely looking forward to the next chapter. Well done.

Author's Response:

Merveilleux! I certainly could not have asked for a better review than that -- thank you!

I'm greatly heartened by the level of acceptance for a somewhat non-canonical versions of Harry and Ginny. I very much wish to keep them to both fully 'human' (as opposed to the idealized characters that can be easier to paint), but their human imperfections will differ from those that JKR decreed, with those differences being tied into plot circumstances.

Hrrmm -- hard for me to get too much more obscure than the above paragraph. Ah well, I'll just have to concentrate on making the story itself intelligible :)

Sincerely appreciate your thoughts!



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2015.08.09 - 12:20AM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thank you for reading, reviewing and rating, Adelinda!



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2015.08.09 - 12:20AM Title: Perfectly Normal?

I enjoyed that chapter. Very well written.


Author's Response:

Wonderful -- most gratified to hear that. Always happy to hear that editing pays off.



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 10:01PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

I'm really interested in the story of the Publican. Is it an alegory ? A memory of past lives? Who knows, but it is intriguing.
I love how Ginny immediately suspects something is off. Smart girl.

Author's Response:

The Publican and the Princess, collectively, form a truly integral part of the story -- a tale which is both allegorical and historical. You will get your first in-depth introduction to them in Chapter 3.

The key questions that I am going to leave dangling for quite a while is, "Why should the dreams of Harry and Ginny suddenly blend with the lives of the Publican and the Princess? What happened to produce this intersection?

Yes indeed, Ginny is sharp and perceptive... and both she and Harry will be getting more so as the story unfold, as understanding begins to catch up with instinct.



Reviewer: dannbard Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 06:16PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Nicely composed chapter -- I do like it! So, a lot of talk of wands and staves and such -- something important tied up in there, or are you a magic-geek?

By the way, I second the motion about flowery apron = very funny visual!

Author's Response:

While I may admit to a modicum of geekitude, it is also possible that wands and staves have some plot significance

Flowery aprons, however, may or may not be completely irrelevant to the unfolding of this alternate universe... but may still be useful literary devices

My gratitude, as always Dann, for steering the conversation in productive directions!



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 12:52PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, it's a Good Thing to take a break from "normal" -- folks should do it more often! :-) (And Ginny referring to Harry as a "bit of an odd duck" is almost as bad as the pot calling the kettle "black.")

Interesting bits of backstory for some of our known "supporting characters," as well.

In that kitchen scene, Harry did come across as ... well, remarkably mature for his age -- all the more so, given the rather restrictive environment in which his aunt and uncle raised him.

Author's Response:

Lots of wisdom packed into an 89 word review!

Yes indeed, this Ginny is by no means a porcelain doll, or an ephemeral goddess. Personally, I believe she is even more beautiful *off* the pedestal than on.

And, most importantly, "remarkably mature for his age"... as if this Harry was not quite what you'd expect from all those Dursley doldrums and harrowing Hogwarts hassles? Might you also suppose that Ginny's off-the-pedestal personality is a bit more than one might have expected from her sheltered only-girl / baby-of-the-family upbringing?

Do hold onto those thoughts as you progress through the story.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 12:42PM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

... and it remains mysterious. I hope that the two of them will soon work together to disclose the mysteries and the secret of the brooch in particular. I hope that there are a couple of books by Sigmund Freud about dream interpretation in the Black Library.
In addition, I have to thank you that you "forced" me to read chapter 4 of OotP again. It seems to me that Ginny has more text in this chapter, as in the entire DH.
Many thanks for the quick update service.

Author's Response:

OotP remains a favourite of mine, largely because of the way to gives fair (sometimes even inspired) treatment to Ginny, establishing her not just as a character, but as a 'personality'. And yes, DH was a bit of a travesty in comparison...

May not need Freud much longer! You *might* actually find in subsequent chapters that the dreams actually start seeming more sensible than their real life.

And you're welcome! There are a few more chapters lined up for merciless self-editing, and hopefully I'll be able to make some headway on subsequent sections in the meantime. Of course, there is also a chapter of Trix that is in the works.



Reviewer: gracepark Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 11:14AM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant how you shift in an out of the dreams! Ginny trying to awaken by the riverside is very cool, but Harry's sequence in the library is perfect! So, I wonder if we just got to see real-world Ginny saving Harry before dream-Ginny saves Dream-Harry? I guess we have to wait to find that out. Darn...



Author's Response:

Glad to say that you won't have to wait too terribly long for an answer to that question... but you won't get it quite yet.

Great that you enjoyed the library sequence. Have you ever drifted off while try to read? Happens to me a bit more often than I'd like. Can make for strange dreams!



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 10:30AM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstar

Only got to this story today and really enjoyed the 2 chapters you have wrote my guess is you are going with them being together in past life's and remembering them I will be interested to see where this goes as one of my fav stories deals with this issue with Harry/Daphne

Author's Response:

I had to do a little double-take -- you mean Harry/Ginny, right? Justifiable Freudian slip, given how many of my other stories Daffy pokes her nose into, but most (though not all) Slytherins will give this particular tale a miss.

Anyway, I'm flattered that you're aboard, reading and reviewing my latest experiment. Hope it continues to give you lots of enjoyment going forward!



Author's Response:

KateP shared with me a clarification that I'd like to pass along to anyone else who might be skimming through. Namely, the Harry/Daphne allusion was to a story on fanfic.net by General Kenobi SIYE, called "Myrddin Emrys Returns". I've started to look at it -- well written and worth a look (though staunch H&G fans might object). Anyway, thanks again Kate!



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2015.08.08 - 09:29AM Title: Perfectly Normal?

starstarstarstarstar

Harry in a flowery apron, oh what a funny image that is!
Brilliant chapter, looking forward to seeing just where things go :)

Author's Response:

Yes indeed -- what's breakfast without a philosophy-spouting, flowery-apron-wearing Harry?

I had a lot of fun both writing and editing this chapter, where the latter is when the quirkier touches often make their appearance. Very gratified to hear that you enjoyed it!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear