Search:

SIYE Time:20:48 on 24th November 2017

Reviews For Splinters

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.01.30 - 12:25PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent, compelling story! Or should I say, "stories?" This is obviously going to be a slow, but rewarding, read! Are you a scholar of Roman times in Britain, or just that gifted that you can paint such a vivid set of images. Regardless of the answer, THANK YOU!

Author's Response:

"Stories" indeed! In truth, during the latter third of the piece, there are three concurrent stories (past, present, and a virtual future) taking place, each with its own dramatically different trajectory and rather distinct characters. If someone was to have proposed a plot premise like that to me, I'm certain I would have rolled my eyes and said, "Bad idea, mate." But having done so, I'm really quite pleased with the result.

As to whether I'm a scholar of Roman Britain, the truth is that I knew remarkably little before beginning; learned a fair bit on my own; was helpfully corrected on a few key points by attentive readers (thank you Wolf Scream and Shalli, in particular) and came out somewhat more learned in the end. But a lot of what you'll read (especially the long trek by the Publican and Princess to the reach the Iceni's final battle) is an odd blend of reading Tacitus and daydreaming in front of Google Earth... Both fun ways to while away a lot of time :)

Anyway, reliving this is as fun as the original writing was. And so, let me be an echo in saying, "Regardless of the question, thank you!"



Reviewer: Cole Signed Date: 2015.08.28 - 10:22PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoyed this chapter as well!

Author's Response:

In the same tone as before, thank you most kindly for rendering your most valued opinion!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2015.08.26 - 10:13PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

I have to admit I don't know which 'story' I want to read more about. I absolutely love Roman history from its rise to its fall. So... the fact that in your own way you are combining the two worlds (Harry Potter and muggle Roman) and adding your own twists simply has me...giddy. Believe me its not easy to get me there. I am male and considered to usually be 'silent' and 'contemplative.'

I want to read more about Harry and Ginny in their modern world but at the same time I am curious about the Publican and the Princess (I forget her name already... I do apologize). Is the Publican somehow related to Harry? I noticed that the brooch had 'P. PEVERELLIUS' inscribed. This has to be related to the Peverell brothers, right? We know Harry is a descendant.

God, I love this. Honestly... this is great. So much to think about. If she got the brooch from the Publican then maybe he is in fact an ancestor of Harry.

*Sigh*

You see what I mean? Both worlds are fascinating to me. Does Harry know that Ginny is able to 'know' how he is feeling through the brooch? They know they are sharing dreams so what else do they know? I can't wait for the next chapter. I know you have it posted already but apparently it had to be validated? Ahh well... good luck. :)

Author's Response:

Well, it took a while, but the cat's nose and whiskers are out of the bag! Lanossea will eventually wheedle from the Publican his full name, but there's no harm in dropping the following little glimmer of insight -- in classical Latin, his name is Paternus Peuerellius. In descending dialects, the first 'u' is hardened, to give Peverellius, and from that you may indeed infer... things... If you dig around in the text, you may already be able to guess a bit more of the connections, although the final illumination will only come at the very end.

Small goof on my part: the inscription (courtesy of Roman engraving practices) should technically have read 'P. PEVERELLIVS'. That has been corrected... if for no other reason than to distract later readers ;)

In any case, as you've guessed, the story does blend a quirky take on JKR background canon with muggle Roman history. And of course we shall see two interwoven love stories unfold in the midst of all of that.

Anyway, it's wonderful to have you as a reader! If you catch any historical inconsistencies, please don't hesitate to let me know.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.25 - 12:04PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoying this story. I feel the need to brush up on some of the history. I am glad that Harry is handling everything so well and that he has Ginny in every time period. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Excellent! Always nice to have happy readers!

As in any literary romance, however, there are the inevitable bumps in the road which, in this story will emerge in the form of extenuating circumstances that come between our two protagonists. However, let me assure you in advance that neither Harry nor Ginny (nor the Publican or Lanossea) will ever lose faith in each other... and that what a relation must be overcome, can truly make it stronger!

Most of the way through edits on chapter 4. If life doesn't get in the way, I hope to post it soon.

Thank you for offering your wit and wisdom, MollyandArthur!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.08.24 - 07:19AM Title: Never Let Fall

You asked how I perceived the two main ancient protagonists.
Lanossea I have also seen in her middle or late teens, as old as an unmarried ancient princess could be.
The greying publican I imagined of about 40 years old, maybe about the same age as Bodica. With an average remaining life expectancy of little more than 10 years (according to the statistics from this period). The age difference is the reason why the connection between the Publican and Lanossea was not so obvious to me even if obviously there is a link.
I hope that my perception corresponds to your expectations ... ;-)

Author's Response:

Ah yes -- the age difference! I did expect that this might defy a few expectations, and in that context I do see how it takes a bit more of a conceptual leap for you to correlate the Publican character with Harry.

Having blathered on about age, I am going to change tenor and posit that although age is a useful contextual benchmark, it's not quite so critical to the story as is the question of what the preceding years have done to craft the characters. You will soon see that the Publican's longer history has allowed him to experience a tragedy, different in many ways but of magnitude comparable to what our canonical Harry Potter has suffered. In both cases, it is that hardship comes to define the protagonist with whom the reader is presented.

One side note to mention based on your allusion to Lanossea's unmarried status: many Celtic tribes adhered to matrilineal ascendancy. Although counter-intuitive to us, this system avoided the hassles heir legitimacy (back in those days before DNA testing) that constantly plagued partrilineal inheritance. Under the Iceni's model of succession, kingship would not pass to a blood heir of the last king, but rather to the dominant husband of one of the queen's daughters. Barring any suitable husband, the Queen would retain power until a suitable husband came along. The implications of such a policy, needless to say, can produce lots of interesting possible story lines :)



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2015.08.24 - 12:42AM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

GHL, you are riding the cool wave. There is only 'One' Brennus that is the coolest...I think.
The Publican...hehe. 35 yrs old you say. Such a painting you are sketching here for my eyes to behold.
If the horse head grip from Ch.2 finds its way into the hands of the Publican it will have come full circle for this fan. Carry on good Sir. On an somewhat unrelated note I admire your ability to spot my insights.

Author's Response:

Standing upon the dark precipice of literary crisis, this authour has raised his staff unto the raging winds of plot...

"One wish!" His bellow echoes across the surrounding hillsides.

A flash pierces the night. A resounding CRAAACKK!!! The scent of sulphur fills the air... then whisks away in the breeze...

"Wish fulfilled," proclaims the lone voice, before it fades into the night..."



Reviewer: gracepark Signed Date: 2015.08.23 - 11:09AM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

I think it's fascinating how you're pulling together three stories in one. I have no clue how everything will tie together (or when, or why) but each story is great, and the adventure and developing romance are really well written!



Author's Response:

Ah! Wonderful to hear that you apparently like the fact that I'm confusing you, and tolerating/enjoying all the ambiguity I'm throwing at you. At some point I may even clarify things.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Grace!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2015.08.22 - 04:42PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

It's interesting that we get quite involved in the story of Lanossea and the Publicam, even if it is either something that ocurred in another life or is just a a double hallucination (I don't know what it is), but it certainly isn't happening to H&G. But of vcourse they can learn a lot about themselves experiencing this dream.

Author's Response:

This is a very thought provoking review -- thank you Silvia

One statement that you make is definitely bang on. While experiencing the dreams, Harry and Ginny are definitely learning much about who they themselves are. Beyond that, you muse your way through a number of possible scenarios; each of which is a bit off the mark. Considering how astute you always are as a reader, I take this as a good sign, because I did intend to leave my dear readers swinging in the breeze for quite a while regarding the precise reason that H&G are experiencing these dreams of ancient Britannia. There is, after all, a reason, which contains what I think is a quirky take on actual JKR canon.

As always, I find myself greatly valuing your thoughts!



Reviewer: nesciamema Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 10:17PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstar

The skips early on from the ancient times to the last battle were a bit muddled in the transition as I expected the jump to be to Grimmauld Place.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Nesciamema! I especially appreciate the feedback!

The transition from the Publican's leap to the final battle was actually intended to be disorienting, which is why I commented that Ginny had no idea where, or when, he would land. The disorientation is commented on briefly again in chapter 4, and has some plot significance.

I find myself doing a bit of a balancing act, because to some extent the narrative that jerks readers' chains a bit is a literary device, but on the other hand I don't want to actively discourage readers. So probably I will let that juncture stew in my subconscious for a while and go back to see if there are any tweaks that might smoothen the transition while not completely grinding the edge off an edgy passage.

Thanks again -- always appreciate it when someone makes me think!



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 08:55PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You seem to be doing an excellent job of keeping our protagonists off-balance. :-}

Meanwhile, you're also letter your readers get a (slightly, at least) better look at their "alter egos," which I appreciate (as well).

Author's Response:

There are few literary devices I love more than a good pun -- thank you!

You have now gotten Lanossea's backstory in near completeness, but you will certainly get more elaboration of how her current character evolves in a dramatic adventurous plot. Chapter 4 is written mostly in 1995, but the several chapters following that will give you a lot more of the Publican's personal history... which is more complex than the story to date may have hinted.

Thank you very much for reading, reviewing, and especially the fact checking PM that you sent. Exceptionally valuable thoughts!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 06:15PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Definitely all your own work. Excellent.

Author's Response:

Thank you -- that's a most heartening compliment!

I'm scrabbling around in the back of my mind trying to understand what my inspiration for the story might have been. On a conscious level, the ideas started coalescing in my head about a year ago as I was finishing TPC, and it seemed like a novel plot idea. But on the other hand, nothing is ever perfectly original, so I wonder what echoes were sounding in my subconscious.

Anyway, great to have you reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 04:05PM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

A very cool and adventurous chapter. Loved the tandem dreams and how you give the reader both sides of the same story. I'm glad Harry's come to the conclusion he has because indeed, Ginny won't let him fall. Well done. I'm looking forward to more of the story.

Author's Response:

I'm supremely flattered by your choice of the word 'cool', thank you! When I think of the standards for 'cool' current HP fanfic writing, I tend to think of Brennus... but have never given up my own aspirations.

It gratifying also that you would choose Harry's conclusion as a point to raise. There is obviously the romantic connotation, which emphasizes that there is nobody Harry can rely upon as he does Ginny, but there is convergence with a second plot theme, which is to begin to glimpse the modes through which Harry is beginning to acquire wisdom well beyond that of a thick-headed fifteen year old boy.

Thank you again for tuning in and funneling back your insight!



Reviewer: LysCsuri Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 10:33AM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

Ahhhh! I'm all tingly! I'm not sure if I've ever read a romance that drifts from fun/flirtatious to heady, mystical depth like this. Like two kids who want to have a normal teen experience, but realize that everything they do could affect the whole world, maybe?

I love your characterizations. They're funny, and caring, and dedicated. Sometimes they're really smart, and then sometimes they just have that perfect little touch of human cluelessness. Ahhhh!

Author's Response:

Well, a sincere thank you for the enthusiasm! It's great to know that you're enjoying the characters -- they are, after all, a crucial part of this little flight of fancy.

Very appreciative of your faithful reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.08.21 - 06:22AM Title: Never Let Fall

starstarstarstarstar

This is a truly amazing story.
Usually I try to write down my thoughts while reading in the reviews. In this story, it seems to me as if the thoughts come to no end. There is so much food for thoughts, but surely that was your plan...
I see a very, very Ginny-like Lanossea. The link between Harry and the Publican is there but not yet so obvious for me (except perhaps that he again was ready for a stay in the hospital wing ;-) ). I'm curious, how and when the connection between the Publican and the Elder Wand becomes somewhat clearer... and of course what the real Ginny and Harry will do concerning their dreams.
Apparently, you've ever done a great job so far.


Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the kind review, Martin!

I'm glad that you don't find the Lanossea / Ginny interposition to be too jarring. It is very important to me that these two female protagonists inspire similar levels of admiration, even as some tension builds within the interposition (some hints have already been dropped; Chapter 5 will reveal more).

I tend to view the Publican as a possible model for an 'older' Harry -- don't hesitate to let me know how you feel about that as the story progresses. For reference, I estimate that's the Publican is at least 35, as opposed to Lanossea who's probably in her late teens).

The Publican and the Elder Wand? You're definitely on top of your game, aren't you! Clues will drop here and there, but a full understanding will take quite a while. Note that the Legate has already dropped a couple glimmers of insight -- see Chapter 2.

Quick note to others who may be motivated to leave reviews: please do, and please pardon any delay in response that you may encounter. This story took far longer than expected to get through the validation queue, and is only appearing a little while before I have to go completely offline for a couple days.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear