Search:

SIYE Time:20:42 on 24th July 2017

Reviews For Unity in Diversity

Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.05.17 - 02:57AM Title: Making New Choices

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Good chapter.
Love to see the interaction between Chris and Hermione.
Looking forward to seeing who the letter is from, and the story behind it.
Next one, please.

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad you're still enjoying the story. Hoping the next chapter doesn't take as long.



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2017.05.14 - 03:45PM Title: Making New Choices

starstarstarstarstar

Well, those last three chapters were quite the emotional rollercoaster. I loved what you did with the first task; especially, when the snake slithered into the clearing on Harry's third trial.

The clue to the second task sounds similar to canon, though that could easily be misinterpretation on my part.

What I'm a little unsure about, is what you intend to do with your original characters once the next year starts, considering you hinted at that then being back at Hogwarts again; it seems a waste to simply drop them like JKR did with many of her characters.

As always your loyal reader,
Ranma-sensei

Author's Response: Glad that first task has been met with such a warm reception. I had been a bit worried about that. There will be some similarities between canon's second task and mine. The original characters I've created will make an appearance (at least once) next year. Thanks for leaving me your thoughts!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.05.08 - 05:42PM Title: Making New Choices

nice to see chris and hermione able to spend time together and also see that everyone is taking the news well....execpt for ron of coruse.....harry still needs time to figure out ginny but then again ginny needs to allow harry to explore himself.....kutgw

Author's Response: Ron is working on it. He's already better than he was. Harry and Ginny just need time, period. They'll get there.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.05.08 - 05:26PM Title: Making New Choices

starstarstarstarstar

Yeah!!! Very pleased to see that Hermione and Chris are together. They have just enough in common to make the relationship work (hopefully). The twister game was great. I've had some interesting experiences playing it myself, though none as painful as what Harry experienced! I'm glad they're suspicious of that letter. The timing seems rather too convenient. Looking forward to reading the next update!

Author's Response: I've had a lot of people rooting for Hermione and Chris. Glad that relationship has been so well received. Yeah, Twister can be, well, interesting. Yeah, the timing is suspect, but sometimes a cigar is just a cigar (so to speak)



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.03.30 - 08:53PM Title: Hear me holler, See me cry

starstarstarstarhalf-star


I loved the first task. It showed Harry's knowledge of different creatures and how to deal with them.
I enjoyed reading about the after effects of the antidote.
The Chinese school seems so peaceful compared to Hogwarts. Maybe that is because of the threat of Voldemort not being as large in China.
Charlie's apology was nice. He is really starting to understand Harry and Ginny's relationship.
Looking forward to the next update.

Author's Response: So glad of the positive reception of the first task. Those things are hard to come up with. The Chinese school could be peaceful due to the problem with Voldy not being as big, as you say, but I imagine it has more to do with the Chinese culture in general, not to mention the location of the school. Charlie's eyes were opened, that's for sure. Having your sister's boyfriend willingly enter a dangerous tournament to guarantee your release, as well as that of your other brother and mother, can change a person's attitude. That and a bit of observation.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.03.14 - 10:13PM Title: Hear me holler, See me cry

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent chapter! I loved reading about their time in China and about the first task. It was certainly much longer and more complicated than the original version. I was so relieved when the snake appeared hoping that Harry might get some help. The scenes between Harry and Ginny and Charlie were wonderful to read. I'm so glad that Charlie understands and accepts their relationship. Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad the first task lived up to canon in interest. I had a hard time coming up with something that was different and incorporated the landscape of the location and still be worthy of the Tournament.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.03.13 - 10:34PM Title: Hear me holler, See me cry

Ah they are all growing up so fast...sorry molly and bill are still captured...oh well at lease one is away....as for harry...he is lucky to be a live and well enought to get what he got after they spilt from chris and hermione....kutgw

Author's Response: yes, Harry got very lucky, didn't he? LOL. In more ways than one.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2017.03.13 - 03:57PM Title: Hear me holler, See me cry

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great to see a new update today! An interesting new task for the Harry to deal with. In some ways less deadly than the book version but in other ways more of a challenge to him! His side effects from the potion were funny, if embarrassing to him! I'll be looking forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Yeah, I know the task wasn't as deadly. I wanted something different to the first task. As you pointed out, it still presented a challenge to him. It's so difficult for me to come up with something that isn't a direct take from the book. I had hoped readers would enjoy those side effects. I had fun writing that bit. Harry was definitely feeling good and it was fun to see him so loose.



Reviewer: Dreaming Haven Signed Date: 2017.02.09 - 06:04PM Title: Freshen the Mind

starstarstarstarstar

Good update. I look forward to the next.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.02.06 - 05:21PM Title: Freshen the Mind

starstarstarstarstar

Loved the girl time! I have no doubt Ginny needed it. I'm enjoying reading about the little events that make up life at their new school. It is all so very different from Hogwarts. Curious to see how the task will go and what their experiences will be in China. The fear and uncertainty the Weasley family is experiencing must be extraordinary. Hoping for good news for the family soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, Ginny definitely needed the girl time. Glad you are liking life at the new school. I wanted it to be vastly different from Hogwarts, more modern than Hogwarts seems to be. The first task will be the next chapter. Hope you aren't disappointed in it. There will also be good news for the Weasleys.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.02.06 - 06:42AM Title: Freshen the Mind

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Very interesting chapter.
Poor Molly. Having to read that article would have really made her feel sad. Rita really has a nasty streak.
Loved the information on Harry's ancestry. It is giving him something he hasn't had up until now...a history.
Looking forward to the first task. Should be interesting to see what the 'pleasant surprise' will be.

Author's Response: Thank you. I have a hard time writing Rita's nastiness so I'm glad you thought it worthy of her. Once JKR released that information on the Potters, I knew I had to include it in some way. Yes, now Harry feels a familial connection to those who came before him. Hope to have the next chapter up soon but no guarantees. I also hope you like the first task.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.02.03 - 06:05PM Title: Freshen the Mind

Well harry has made some improvements for himself but ginny is still going to put her foot down about some things....glad to see harry is thinking about ginny shortly before they left.....kutgw

Author's Response: Yes, she definitely will. She's been a real saint. Thanks for reviewing!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.02.03 - 10:18AM Title: Freshen the Mind

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Interesting things in this chapter, but I am looking forward to the first task.

Author's Response: Thanks. It's coming soon.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2017.02.03 - 08:14AM Title: Freshen the Mind

starstarstarstarstar

I've been waiting for this chapter to come out here since I received the notice for it on another website. No matter who pens the Rita Skeeter articles, fan fic writers or our favorite author, their half-truths, lies, speculation and downright nastiness make my skin crawl! Your article certainly affected poor Molly as did the man who took such pleasure in torturing her with it. Her courage and determination to drown Harry in treacle tarts made me smile, though.

I'm glad you brought in the new information from Pottermore about Harry's family. I love the conversation between Harry and Chris as well as the discovery of the Deathly Hallows symbol. While Harry doesn't know what it is or what his dream encounter with the spirit truly means, you're giving him nearly three years' head start on gathering information he will need in order to defeat Voldemort. Well done.

By the way, I'm glad Ginny is enjoying her "girl time" with her roommates. That's something she didn't have a t Hogwarts and I think it's doing her a lot of good self-image-wise.

Now on to the first task! Well done.

Author's Response: Yeah, I got busy and forgot to update here as well. Believe it or not, I have a hard time coming up with stuff for Rita's articles, stuff that would be worthy of her nastiness, at any rate. I think Molly will be spoiling Harry for quite some time once she's released. The background on the Potter family was great info so I just had to use it. As for the DH symbol, if Harry had just had some information, he could have acted so much sooner in the books, but then, we wouldn't have had 7 books, either. So, Harry's getting that information early in my story. Ginny definitely deserves some "girl time". I know she tends to spend a lot of her time with Harry, but I wanted her to have her own friends too, an identity away from Harry. Thanks for leaving me more thoughts on the chapter!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.01.04 - 07:22PM Title: Not the Same

starstarstarstarstar


Thoroughly enjoyable chapter.
Harry is showing signs of his maturity in this chapter, yet still being able to have some fun.
Loved the scene at the cemetery. His realisation that his parents and Remus are always with him, was lovely.
Chris is a great friend to Harry. In a lot of ways, better and differently to Ron. Love the idea of him going to the Yule ball with Hermione.
Love the idea of having the tasks at the different schools. Should be interesting.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think the cemetery scene was one of my favorites to write. I really like Chris too. He's definitely developed into a bit more than what I had first planned, but it's a pleasant surprise. So is the thought of he and Hermione getting along so well. I'm not a big fan of Ron. Maybe that's why Chris has developed the way he has. I wanted Harry to have a male friend who had his back completely. I've not read a story in which the Tasks take place at the different schools so I thought it would be a nice twist.



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2016.12.15 - 08:11AM Title: Not the Same

starstarstarstarstar

Woo, what a chapter!

I find myself curious what could have happened in that conversation to devolve it into a shouting match, but I guess that is for us readers to find out.

As alsways, keep narrating,
Ranma-sensei

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad to hear you enjoyed the chapter. I imagine Dumbledore was being Dumbledore and still trying to run Harry's life. Will he ever truly learn?



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2016.12.13 - 01:59PM Title: Not the Same

starstarstarstarstar

I've always liked the by-play between Hermione and Chris in this chapter. While I love Rowling's canon pairing of her and Ron together, getting to see her interact and be respected by another boy is quite refreshing, mostly because she blossoms so when allowed to be freely intellectual. I think that's probably why Hermione said yes to Krum's invitation to the Yule Ball in GoF, too. Ron's immaturity and insecurities at that point in time didn't allow him to fully appreciate her the way Chris and Krum do.

The other thing that stands out in the chapter is Harry's new maturity/confidence. It's noticeable in two places, first in the graveyard and then in the room after the Champion selection takes place. While Ginny was correct in telling Harry that he'd never be without his parents as long as he remembered them, Harry had to be willing to accept that idea. I was glad to read that he no longer feels the compulsion to visit their grave and spend long periods of time talking to them every year. As for how he conducted himself in Dumbledore's presence, Harry's attitude in how he wants to be treated by certain adults was plain in his respectful refusal to rise to Dumbledore's bating. He certainly gave the old codger a lot to think about.

All in all, well done. I look forward to receiving your next chapter and hope that your case of writer's block has cleared up enough for you to send it to me soon. Be well!

Author's Response: It's time someone gave Dumbledore something to think about. Should have happened in canon. Anyway, I'm having fun writing Chris and Hermione. I originally hadn't planned for it to go that way, but Hermione was ready for a change. LOL. I hope to have the next chapter to you soon. It's about half done now. I've written more today than I have in the last two weeks!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.12.13 - 01:12PM Title: Not the Same

Well think the blow up in the world of albus was needed and albus needed to be put in his place... as for harry and ginny allowed to rome as they did as well as chris to explore other avenues was fun little by play...kutgw

Author's Response: Yes, I've always felt that somone needed to put Albus in his place, to remind him that he wasn't lord of everything and everyone, so that's what I did. LOL. They all needed that little bit of time to just relax and forget about things for a bit. Glad you enjoyed the chapter.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.12.12 - 08:42PM Title: Not the Same

starstarstarstarstar

Lovely chapter! Enjoyed the moment with Harry at the cemetery when he realized his parents are always with him. I also greatly enjoyed the stress and intrigue at the end. I can well imagine the angry conversation between Dumbledore, Sirius and Miss Lena. Harry's concern about Ginny was very sweet. I was glad to see that he wondered if he had gone too far. In regard to my previous review which was perhaps not entirely clear, at their age, I truly believe what they did was intense. Having said that, when I give a five star review, it is because I genuinely like the story!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the chapter. Lots happened in this one. It was such fun writing it. Thanks for clearing up your previous review. I can agree that what transpired between them was more intense than most people would like. Glad you're still enjoying the story!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2016.12.12 - 04:09PM Title: Not the Same

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So, relations with Dumbledore seem to be continuing to deteriorate. With the changes in the tournament so far, I'm looking forward to seeing how the tasks themselves differ from the books.

Author's Response: Seems that way, doesn't it? Will it improve? Maybe. I mean, Harry and Ginny have to go back to England at some point, don't they? You'll just have to wait to see what happens. As for the tasks themselves, I hope you won't be disappointed. It's difficult to come up with something different yet familiar and still make it dangerous enough to be part of the Tournament.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear