Search:

SIYE Time:20:58 on 24th November 2017


Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2017.10.31 - 06:12PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: blstedman Signed Date: 2017.07.05 - 12:44PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2016.10.12 - 05:43AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.06.12 - 09:11AM Title: Chapter 1

Good one and they went to the Yule Ball together....perfect

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2016.05.30 - 07:44PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

Nice story. It was a bit of a huge jump from second year to fourth, but very nice use of the trunk.

Author's Response: Yeah, it is a big jump. But, seeing as it is a short, fast-paced story, I didn't want to add more scenes just for the sake of avoiding those gaps. It would only slow the story down. Anyway, thank you very much for the review!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2016.05.30 - 09:58AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is a nice story. I loved the way you developed the trunk into a personal sanctuary for Harry as you did. Especially good was how you did the tie-ins to the other chapters--the diary and the ball. I really enjoyed this. Great job--Eric B.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns79 Signed Date: 2016.05.19 - 10:16PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

An excellent first challenge entry! If only you weren't going up against the great GHL...

I especially loved how Harry's nightmare morphed into the distraught Ginny trying to take back the diary. Followed as it is by Ginny's heartbreaking "Help me," that scene was emotionally devastating!

The only thing I have to complain about is that you didn't cover more ground...how the trunk and H/G's relationship effected the end game with Voldemort, but there are absolutely no flaws in this story as it is.

This has me very excited for the posting of your magnum opus!

Author's Response: My magnum opus? Who knows, hehehe. Thank you for the review, and indeed: if only I was the only one participating in this challenge! I'd win it all! I'm very proud of that nightmare scene, so I'm glad you noticed it! I could have covered more ground, and have the story continue, but as I said in reply to Arnel's review: I'm a bit stuck as for how to continue the story without making it boring and repetitive, sadly. Again, many thanks for your review!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2016.05.19 - 09:17PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

You've done a very nice job with this Challenge Story. I think my favorite line of all was Dumbledore's when he recalled that James and his friends spent as much time in the trunk as they did in lessons.

While I like where you ended the story, I still have to wonder what impact the trunk had on events later in Harry's life and how they affected how he fulfilled his destiny. Certainly the burgeoning romantic relationship between Harry and Ginny is a nice place to stop, but there is so much more to Harry's story than just the romance. I'm wondering if you'd kept writing past the last day of April whether the solution to the Voldemort problem would have manifested itself in the trunk's library. Once Harry started searching for the Horcruxes, would James and Lily have been able to help Harry and Ginny through their collected works? I hope you write a sequel to bring more closure to your story trunk-wise.

All in all, I enjoyed your story immensely and thank you for sharing your talent for storytelling with us. Well done and good luck with the Challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the thorough review! I really appreciate it. My original plan was to make the Trunk the center of the story-universe. And that's where the problems start. Thing is: I look at the end of the story, and I'm just a bit stumped. How can I continue it without making it too repetitive? There's only so many things you can do with a three-room trunk without abandoning the original intent of the story. Combine that with another very, very long story of mine that's on the way, and IRL stuff, and a follow up to this story looks a bit unlikely in the coming time :( But who knows, nothing's set in stone here. You never know! Again, thank you for the review and the kind words!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.05.07 - 01:02AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar


Nicely done.
Good luck for the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.05.03 - 09:13AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is a very intriguing version of the end of the diary. I really liked it.
And when I thought that you could've included a bit more of Ginny, you came up with the Yule Ball. I really liked that, too. Even your short version, because everything important about the Yule Ball was said, Ginny and Harry have been together at the Ball and it was a nice evening. Well done!

I've a minor complaint only. Maybe you could change Mrs. Norks to Mrs. Norris, and miss Weasley to Miss Weasley. It's a bit confusing because it happens multiple times.

Oh, before I forget. The project you mention in your profile sounds very promising. Are there any publication plans already? And no, I won't make any pressure, I'm just curious because I've just read it.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! About your complaint: oops. My excuse is that I'm Dutch, and therefore prone to make mistakes. But still, the finished story here should be as flawless as possible. Thank you for pointing them out, I'll improve them as soon as I find the time! The project of mine: I posted the first chapter on fanfiction.net and reddit.com a while back, and the overwhelming response was: "good, but it has its mistakes." So I took it down, found myself another beta and I've been tinkering with the story ever since. I hope to be able to start posting it in 2 weeks time. There's 62.000 words itching to be published at the moment. And don't worry about the pressure. I'm very, very eager to start posting! Again, thank you for your review, and I hope to see you around!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.05.02 - 05:29PM Title: Chapter 1

Well in doubt go for everything with gusto....kutgw

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2016.05.01 - 09:43AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

A fine story -- I got a kick out of the natural character exchanges and the well chosen scene encapsulations. It may be an interesting experience for the judges to see how different stories take a natural canon trajectory and use the trunk to run it in different directions. You and I seem to have honed in on a fair number of the key canon twists to rewrite, but handled them really quite differently. Fun!

Author's Response: Ohh, my rival! ;) Thank you for the review! Our stories are indeed very, very different from each other, but that's the fun thing about these challenges, isn't it?



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 09:44PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoyed this. 😄

Author's Response: And that makes me very happy! Thank you for the review!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.04.29 - 08:36PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Well done

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.04.29 - 03:23PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice story! Well done! Always like a new angle and working in the diary horcrux was a brilliant move! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Wow that's a lot of smileys haha! Thank you for reading it, and thank you for reviewing! I really like the dynamic between Harry and Ginny if you involve the diary. They share a connection through Voldemort and I intend to use that as much as I can in my Harry/Ginny fics!



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2016.04.29 - 07:47AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Very nicely done :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading it!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear