Search:

SIYE Time:8:09 on 16th December 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: grey75 Signed Date: 2017.06.02 - 01:51AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

I signed up just to leave this review. This story was simply amazing. I honestly can't fault it and the ending was definitely something I didn't see coming at all. The humour, action, romance, well everything, was spot on. I also want to thank you from the bottom of my heart as I did not read one sentence of angst at all (I have kind of OD on that recently) :)

Author's Response: Firstly, I'm sorry for taking so long to reply. I'm way behind in responding to stuff and as I'm writing non-Harry Potter stories at the moment I'm not on SIYE as much as I used to be. I'm delighted that you liked the story so much, and humbled that you signed up to the site just to leave the reply. I suspect that I'll never top 'Gothic' as a story, although strangely it's not actually the favourite of my own stories ('The Thorny Rose' holds that distinction, closely followed by 'Hail Odysseus') but this one came at a time when I was really struggling to come up with a good plot and seriously thinking of packing in writing altogether. Then, out of nowhere, I was hit by the most basic of ideas, to incorporate Hammer Horror style monsters into a HP fic, and 'Gothic' just fell into place. Funny how these things happen, isn't it? Anyway, thanks for reading and leaving that wonderful review.



Reviewer: RRS777 Signed Date: 2016.08.21 - 09:45PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

I....I'm just done. Just completely done. My mind is blown.

I DID NOT see that coming, and it's and amazing ending to the story. Of course, the story itself also was absolutely fantastic.

Honestly, I've read every single one of your fics, and I love your writing, your style, your ideas... In short, you're one of my favorite authors. Now, I'm not turning into a fanboy, but I do recognize a great author when I see one.

I sincerely hope you continue regaling us with your stories, be it Gothic 2 or something else. I'm sure I'll love it.

Cheers,

rrs777

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. At the moment, it does look like my next story will be a follow up to this, provisionally titled 'Gothic 2: To the Devil His Due'. I'm only on chapter 2, I'm afraid, but I do have much of the plot worked out. I'm sure I'll pick up the pace once the autumn nights start closing in. Hey, only 123 days until Christmas!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 08:27PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

DAAAAAAMMMMNNN!!!

I did not expect that ending! That revelation! It was just so... SLYTHERIN! I heartily approve.

Damn... LOL...

Brennus! These adventures need to continue! No Pressure of course. It is totally up to you but it would be nice to see what other troubles they can find themselves in.

I only wish we would have seen Harry meet the family but it was a great story nonetheless! You are awesome, sir! Salute! :P

Author's Response: He, he - I thought more people would hate me because of the ending, but so far I think I've only had one complaint (on FF.net). I sometimes get a bit of grief for my endings, but I'm just not the sort of person who believes in 'Hollywood' endings. I once had someone write me a very long review explaining that a good story should always climax towards a spectacular ending, and how all lose threads should be tied up for a readers satisfaction. Frankly, that concept wanted to make me pull my hair out. What, all stories should end like that? Every one? No surprises, no bittersweet twists, no sense of mystery? No thank you. I like endings that are either realistic or have a bit of a twist in the tail. I still remember seeing 'The Wicker Man' for the first time (the original, not that Nicolas Cage abomination) and waiting for something to happen and Edward Woodward to be saved... and then the credits start rolling. F**k me! Still, he probably deserved it for not snagging Britt Ekland when he had the chance...



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 08:06PM Title: Chapter 8 - House of Horrors

starstarstarstarstar

Classic. It is not a Brennus story unless you have wild, passionate sex in a Vampire castle while Vampires are out on the hunt. Normally I would say that the sex scene was uncalled for but not in this case. I think in those situations involving life and death it is possible to feel aroused. It is something I have heard happens but I could be wrong.

LOL


Either way, I loved it. These are what real vampires are like unlike some I could think of.

Oh, look... Molly is being negative and judgemental... how surprising. Your Molly is really irritating. Honestly it does not take much for me to dislike her.

Hey, Brennus, out of curiosity have you seen the Cursed Child play yet? If so, what did you think of it?

I hope the play and the Fantastic Beasts films will bring more people back into HP fanfiction.

Author's Response: *SPOILERS* I haven't seen the play but I've read the script and I was a little... disappointed. Apparently the special effects of the play are brilliant and the actors wonderful (finally, a Hermione that actually looks a bit like I imagined her), but without those elements 'Cursed Child' just comes over as a rather clichéd time travel story to me. Oh, Albus goes back in time and everything changes! That's never been done before, has it? Honestly, I've seen more interesting time travel stories told in 'Star Trek: NG' (and, yes, for me that is a bit of an insult). I also really don't by the 'Voldemort had a daughter' bit. We already know Voldemort is incapable of love, and I can just about buy into the concept that he had 'needs' he had to satisfy, but a child? He wouldn't want an heir - he's immortal so he wouldn't need one. Frankly, I think he would see a son or daughter more as a threat to his power than anything else. The timeframe's a bit tight for Bella to have a kid too, isn't it, between her appearances in the books? As much as I love the extra HP info (afraid of pigeons - snigger) I can't help but feel JKR dropped the ball by accepting someone else's storyline, as I'm sure she could have done a much better job by herself.



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 07:12PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Fucking. Awesome. Story.

Haha. Forgive me for the curse word. It is not something I usually use in a review but this is by far your best story to date. I do not say that lightly, Brennus. I do hold your work in high regard.

With that said... I hope you are able to do something similar in the future. It is a fresh take on HP and one that does not involve the same storylines over and over again.

It is simply wonderful to see the change in their relationship but most important it is fun to see the change in Ginny. It is obvious that she is used to her job by now and she thrives as his assistant.

I don't know how this story will end but I imagine they will officially be together by the end. I hope that does not mean the end of their adventures. It is totally up to you but I would not mind reading more about their adventures. I have always felt like there was more to the HP world than what JK Rowling showed us.

This is by far my most favorite Ginny and Harry. They remind me of Bonnie and Clyde. Partners in crime. That is about the only similarities though. Hehehe.

Author's Response: Something definitely clicked with this story and quite a few people have said it's my best. After the lukewarm (and occasionally downright hostile) reaction I got to 'Abraxas' that was very pleasing. While I made Harry cultured, aristocratic and a bit cocksure, I also tried to keep some of his basic personality intact - elements like his quick temper and rather sarcastic sense of humour. Similar to Bonnie and Clyde they maybe, but I promise they won't end up dying in a hail of bullets.



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 07:04AM Title: Chapter 3 - A Step into the Abyss

starstarstarstarstar

As sexy as Harry Potter may be I think her arousal was just amplified by the magic.

LOL

That was very interesting though. I wondered what you meant by that arousal alert. I thought for sure they were going to have some wild sex in some forest somewhere.

With that said.... so it seems New Orleans is the next place. Good. It would be interesting to see their take on voodoo magic. I find it surprising you mentioned demons in this chapter. I was always under the impression wizards and witches in HP world did not believe in those things. After all they are able to see ghosts with no problems I imagined it would be the same for demons.

This is an awesome story, Brennus. I am really digging this Harry. I always felt the boy could use more confidence. I am glad I waited until you finished this story to keep reading it. I wont have to wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Wild sex in the forest? When have I ever done that? Err, apart from 'Hail Odysseus' of course. Oh, and there was that scene in 'Abraxas' Too, wasn't there? Okay, so maybe most of my stories feature Harry and Ginny having sex in a forest, but not this time. Why would witches and wizards not believe in demons? As you say, they probably could see them, and if ghost exist, why not such other 'supernatural' creatures? Just because they weren't mention in the books doesn't mean they don't exist in JKR's world. I expect they're just not very common. Actually, if I do a follow up to 'Gothic' I might be heading heavily down that direction, but I'll say no more on that front. Spoilers!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 06:25AM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Well... this is certainly a different story altogether. It is pretty real and gritty and fucked up! I mean that in a good way of course.

I have to say I literally laughed out loud in the beginning because this is classic Brennus. You must really dislike Molly Weasley. LOL

You portray her as some really old fashioned and strict witch that just wants to control Ginny even after she is an adult.

It was a rough start to their adventure but I am glad to see Ginny is attempting to get better and not quit. It really isnt her fault though. She obviously led a different life so this must be quite a shock to her.

Perhaps Harry needs to learn to reign in his temper a bit and perhaps show some understanding. I dont blame him for getting mad. It is their lives on the line but still I never imagined he would call her a stupid girl.

I cant imagine her taking that lying down either even if she was in the wrong. I hope we get to see more of her fiery personality though. I am sure with time when she gets used to the job we will see more of her true nature.

Author's Response: I know I've been a bit rough on Molly in my recent stories, but not all of them are like that. 'The List' and 'Thorny Rose' series show a very different Mrs Weasley. In fact, she's about the one character I never portray consistently and, no, I have no idea why I do that. I guess I just use her as the story requires. The story is definitely a journey for Ginny and she'll develop throughout. After all, when do I have show a weak or timid Ginny Weasley? Ain't going to happen!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.07.04 - 05:27AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you for this wonderful story.
There are so many things that I like about this story, the very unique plot, it is written from Ginny's point of view, the changes in Ginny's behaviour are described so well, it was fun to read how the real Ginny slowly takes shape.
And I'm really glad that you've avoided all the things I usually don't like in post-DH stories: Aurors, Quidditch and the gossip in the yellow press.

In the end I was amazed that obviously Harry has planned the whole treasure hunt.
I'm just not sure if Harry was aware of all the places where Winky has hidden the parts of the moon hare. In this case the whole ritual was a cheat to make Ginny randy, lol.

A sequel is definitely a good idea. I have every confidence that you still have a couple of exciting adventures for Ginny and Harry up your sleeve. And besides, I want to see how Molly, Hermione and Luna go weak at their knees when they meet Harry for the first time, lol.


Author's Response: As a male dangerous close to his fiftieth birthday, I feel strangely comfortable writing from Ginny's POV. I must be letting my inner teenage girl out. Or something. Molly, Hermione and Luna all bowled over by a dark'n'dangerous version of Harry? Hmm, I could see that happening...



Reviewer: Thor-Ablestar Signed Date: 2016.07.01 - 11:53PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful story. The ending made rereading the story a whole different experience. It would definitely be interesting to see Ginny's reaction when she finds out the whole adventure was just a game.

Author's Response: Ah, but who says she'll ever find out?



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.06.29 - 04:43AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar


Another brilliant effort on your part.
Draco got what he deserved. All rapists should get the same thing.
The fact that Harry set it all up, with Winky, to get Ginny, is just the more brilliant. As Winky said, he has been so lonely and Ginny can only improve that.
Looking forward to your next masterpiece. (If that is Gothic 2, so be it!)

Author's Response: I'm still not 100% committed to doing a 'Gothic 2', even if I do have a fairly solid plot idea. I might even go back and do a 'Homecoming 2' as I had some ideas for that, too. Or maybe a one shot. Or possibly a Twilight Fan Fic... nah, just kidding!



Reviewer: Prof McGonagall Signed Date: 2016.06.29 - 12:18AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Now THAT's a prank worthy of the Marauders! You have me laughing out loud! LOVED it!!!

Author's Response: Sneaky little swine, Harry, isn't he?



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2016.06.28 - 09:28PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well that was a bit of a lousy end for Malfoy. He should have received some public humiliation first ;-)

You did put an interesting twist on the end though. Harry is clearly a bit crazy but it was all a fun read.

Author's Response: As gratifying as it would have been to have Draco publicly humiliated and castigated, that wasn't 'this' Harry's way. He preferred to operate in the shadows, taking care of things his own way, and with as little involvement from the authorities as possible. No, Draco will fade from history now, slowly forgotten. As Scorpius had yet appear at this point, hopefully Astoria will remarry and the Malfoy name will die. I like to think that's a fitting end for someone who thought as much of himself as Draco.



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2016.06.28 - 09:19PM Title: Chapter 8 - House of Horrors

starstarstarstarstar

What a great way to bring Harry and Ginny together :) You have surpassed yourself.

Author's Response: I like to think it was quite different. It's amazing what my demented imagination can come up with, sometimes. Or perhaps that should be perverted imagination.



Reviewer: jeka1215 Signed Date: 2016.06.28 - 05:06PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

I have read every story you have written, though I haven't yet reviewed any of them. That's a good thing, though, because I don't usually leave a review unless I'm mortally offended or something. Don't worry. That is not the case, here. Just dropping a note to encourage you to keep it up. Your ideas are so original, and after reading literally thousands of stories, original is good. Also, as a language arts teacher and someone who studied literature in college, I appreciate your masterful manipulation of tropes and archetypes. I mean, the spelling and grammar isn't always perfect (whose is?), but the way you tell a story is just AMAZING. I can tell that you just have an instinct for these things, which many writers do not. Your twists are always surprising, and you can't imagine how wonderful it is for me not to be able to predict the ending ahead of time. You are a beacon of excellence in a sea of mediocrity. Keep them coming!

Author's Response: I confess I'm pretty bad at leaving reviews for writers I like - there never seem to be enough hours in the day, sometimes. That's one of the reasons I always appreciate people who do take the time and effort to provide support and encouragement. To receive it from someone who studied literature is even more gratifying. Thank you for your kind words and I promise I will keep going. Now, if I could just get round to starting the first chapter of something new...



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2016.06.27 - 03:16PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Harry set the whole thing up!! BRILLIANT!!

Not sure this story needs a squeal, but I will read anything you write for this site.

Thanks again for sharing your work with us.

Author's Response: The first person who thinks it doesn't need a sequel! To be honest, that was my initial thought, but so many people asked for one that a plot has started to ferment in my brain. actually, I might do a one shot before I tackle any larger project. Or not. Honestly, I haven't a clue what I'll write next!



Reviewer: allabouthp Signed Date: 2016.06.27 - 01:48AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Was there something more going on with Winky other than her thinking about how Harry instructed her break up the Moon Hare and that she helped him carry out his plot? Just wondering because the author's note at the beginning. My mind immediately went to "Harry set it all up to get Ginny." But after reading the other comments I'm not so sure. If you do write a sequel can we PLEASE have a flashback of the first time Harry saw Ginny and what she did that intrigued him enough to set all this up-if that is the reason. I certainly hope you don't stop writing HP fanfic. We don't have enough stories that show what a badass Ginny really is.

Author's Response: If I do a sequel to this, don't be surprised if I leave a lot of questions unanswered. I very deliberately left the ending in such a way as it could be interpreted a number of ways. A lot of people thought the whole things was a plot snare Ginny, while others suggested she was just drawn into Harry's scheme to destroy Draco. Maybe it was all just something to entertain a bored Harry. Of course, it might have elements of all three. You realise you're not going to get a straight answer out of me, don't you?



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2016.06.26 - 02:31PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Glad to see Harry and Ginny together in the end. It really was quite an exciting and unique "courtship"! I was really surprised at your little twist at the end. I never suspected that Harry was so devious. In any case, I'll be looking forward to your next story with great anticipation!


Author's Response: Perhaps I should have called it 'Tales of the unexpected'. Damn, now I am showing my age!



Reviewer: HPmum2014 Signed Date: 2016.06.26 - 01:35AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

I'm blown away by your imagination, and I hate the thought that stories from you may dwindle in the future. Does your ex write? Great story, as we have come to expect from you, another one for my fave list xx

Author's Response: Laura has toyed with writing, but first and foremost is an artist. Currently she's really into photography, especially experimental stuff. I wish she wouldn't take photos of me, though, I'm really not that photogenic. Hopefully I'm not quite done yet, even if I seem to have less time to write at the moment. I guess it's all about time management. The fact that I can barely stand to watch the football at the moment helps, too!

Author's Response: Actually, I'll have to keep going. I've just noticed I'm second on the sites 'Top 25 Authors by word count'. I'll have to write another story just so I can overtake SSHENRY and become number 1!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 01:38PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very fun ride! Excellent story and a surprising twist at the end! I don't mean the proposal, though! The way you wrote Ginny's character, any red-blooded male would fall for her!'

Author's Response: I can't stand writers who make Ginny this mousey little thing! That girl's got fire in her veins and needs to be written as such!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 12:39PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

Well that last part was a surprise..i mean i knew winky had a wicked streek in her but to hide it on perpouse well now thats a fun game for sure...glad draco is gone as well...what a fun ride, but is it over yet?????will stay tuned, and bolt time same bolt channel.....kutgw

Author's Response: Winky has worked for both the Crouch and Black families in this, so that probably rubbed off on her, a bit. It's always the quiet ones you have to watch.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear