Search:

SIYE Time:2:25 on 16th December 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: jeka1215 Signed Date: 2016.06.28 - 05:06PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

I have read every story you have written, though I haven't yet reviewed any of them. That's a good thing, though, because I don't usually leave a review unless I'm mortally offended or something. Don't worry. That is not the case, here. Just dropping a note to encourage you to keep it up. Your ideas are so original, and after reading literally thousands of stories, original is good. Also, as a language arts teacher and someone who studied literature in college, I appreciate your masterful manipulation of tropes and archetypes. I mean, the spelling and grammar isn't always perfect (whose is?), but the way you tell a story is just AMAZING. I can tell that you just have an instinct for these things, which many writers do not. Your twists are always surprising, and you can't imagine how wonderful it is for me not to be able to predict the ending ahead of time. You are a beacon of excellence in a sea of mediocrity. Keep them coming!

Author's Response: I confess I'm pretty bad at leaving reviews for writers I like - there never seem to be enough hours in the day, sometimes. That's one of the reasons I always appreciate people who do take the time and effort to provide support and encouragement. To receive it from someone who studied literature is even more gratifying. Thank you for your kind words and I promise I will keep going. Now, if I could just get round to starting the first chapter of something new...



Reviewer: Fuzzy Bear Signed Date: 2016.06.16 - 10:39PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 04:00AM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

That interesting that Harry offer Ginny a job, I be more interested to see what Ginny family. Think of it

Draco is a sick person that want to black mail Ginny to do his bidding, the part that make worse is that Draco is. Related to Ginny. There a black family tree and Weasleys and Draco is both on

Author's Response: To be fair, Draco and Ginny would be VERY distantly related, so much so that it would be meaningless. Besides, I get the impression that most of the pureblood families were pretty intermingled.



Reviewer: StarMonkey Signed Date: 2016.05.04 - 08:09PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Love when you post a new Harry AU. Have read all you have posted. Thrilled when I found your latest last night. Can I bribe you to send me the latest addition early? No? Well looking forward to what I can get as soon as I can get...... Thank you for sharing, your talent with the world. You are brilliant!

Author's Response: I've said it before, and I'll say it again - I'm always open to bribery! Cornish Orchard cider is my current tipple of choice, hint, hint...



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2016.05.03 - 05:24PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

I do not mean this to sound patronizing in any way, but to read your first two paragraphs, after having followed your stories from the beginning, the evolution of and improvement in your writing are simply amazing! Your ability to set the scene has become excellent.

Gothic? As in the Goths that trashed Rome? Or the annoying, oh-so-self-important-and "deep" teenagers, who really just don't get it? Or the catch-all term for things Medieval (that started as a dis)? I do so love all things Medieval (History teacher).

Love your subtle mocking of Twicrap in one of your responses. There is writing on this site that is better than that drivel written for eighth grade girls and stay-at-home, bored soccer moms.

I like firey Ginny. That is what she is in the books (well, after the second). She is the strong woman who can take care of herself that Harry needs.

Bellatrix deserved it. Malfoy deserves more. I hope that was the real mortgage and the Weasley's debt is gone.

Nice start - how about another chapter?

Author's Response: I hope I have improved over time. When I first published 'The List', I hadn't done any creative writing since leaving school, which is probably why (ex-)Mrs Brennus always said that my first drafts sounded just like a bank letter. I've also been very lucky to have people who have helped me improve - first Ministry Malcontent and then Arnel. Where my basic grasp of writing failed me, they have nurtured me, particularly Arnel. I'm amazingly lucky to have her as a beta reader. Oh, there will be a bit more Twilight mocking in later chapters. As Potter fans, we're contractually obliged to take the piss out of it, aren't we?



Reviewer: Padfoot5 Signed Date: 2016.05.03 - 01:30AM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Simply amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2016.05.02 - 12:48PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Another interesting start to another unique story.

Thanks for sharing.

P.S. As far as your last story, I may not have liked the end story matter, but the writing was top-notch. No one should ever fault a writer for writing what they want. Especially, when you do this for us for free.

Author's Response: Abraxas was my attempt at producing something radically different from what is normally produced in fan fiction. I knew full well it wasn't going to be to everyone's taste when I wrote (much the same way I knew some people wouldn't like the end of 'Hail Odysseus') but sometimes you just have to push the envelope. Thank you for appreciating what I was trying to do, even if it wasn't your cup of tea. Fortunately, I don't think this story will divide opinion quite so much. Well, hopefully not, anyway.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.05.02 - 09:04AM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

A post-Hogwarts story without professional Quidditch and Auror stuff? I never thought that I'd live long enough to see something like this. And in the company of Ginny and Harry I'm not afraid of a wee bit horror.
Ginny...I liked her on first sight.
And Harry ...I dunno...I am not so in men.

Author's Response: From this point onwards the story is all from Ginny's POV so we'll get to see her reactions to being thrown into this strange and at times terrifying world that Harry lives in. And. no, there will be no Quidditch in the whole story. In fact, I can't remember any brooms being featured, either, although we do get a flying carpet at one point.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.05.01 - 02:41PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, I am loving everything about this new story! The scene at the beginning when Harry tracked down Bellatrix in a hovel in the woods was wonderfully creepy and the descriptions were excellent. If anyone ever deserved a horrible end, it was definitely Bellatrix. Then, Draco being smarmy and cruel trying to trap Ginny by threatening her parent's home and even threatening possible imprisonment. I enjoyed the fact that you made Ginny tough, instead of the damsel in distress. While Harry stepped in at the perfect moment, causing Draco to back down like the coward that he is, you wrote Ginny so that we the readers knew she was not going to be an easy victim. The dinner at Grimmauld place was intriguing and I am eager to read more about how Winky came into service for Harry. Looking forward to reading the next chapter and seeing how Ginny likes her new job as Harry's assistant.

Author's Response: It does seem exactly the sort of thing Draco would do though, doesn't it? He's too much of a coward for direct confrontation, so blackmail and bribery seems more his way. I hate to see Ginny written as a weak person, as she clearly isn't in the books. In fact, we get to see more of her toughness and resilience in the very next chapter. I hope you'll enjoy it.



Reviewer: luvbug Signed Date: 2016.05.01 - 01:33PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

My first reaction was to count the paragraphs to figre out if it was a record that a dead body showed in paragraph 4.

This story and your writing is what I needed after weeks of trash on different sites. Looking forward to this story.

Author's Response: Yes, I'm getting off to an early start on this one, aren't I? More slaughter to follow in the next chapter!! *evil cackle*



Reviewer: cateyes033 Signed Date: 2016.05.01 - 11:02AM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Great so far, keep them comming

Author's Response: I should be posting on a weekly basis, so no worries on that count.



Reviewer: I Love Ginerva Signed Date: 2016.05.01 - 02:18AM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstar

An intriguing beginning

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy the rest of it.



Reviewer: Thor-Ablestar Signed Date: 2016.05.01 - 12:10AM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent start to what promises to be a very interesting story. I really enjoyed the way that you wrote the scene with Bellatrix. You did an excellent job of capturing not just character personalities but the mood of the whole scene. Very intense and very exciting.

Of course, the whole scene with Draco just put a smile on my face. Any time I see Draco get put in his place it puts a smile on my face. Hopefully Harry and Ginny aren't done giving him bad days yet.

Author's Response: With the Hammer Horror influence, I tried to imagine the opening scene as one of their late 60's/early 70's films. Of course, special effects were pretty rubbish in those days so none of the corpses would have looked very realistic, but never mind. Lots of dark forests, musty tombs and mysterious castles to follow.



Reviewer: decdraft Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 10:03PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Nice start! I like a suave and debonair Harry. Can't wait to see the adventures they get into. Love your stories

Author's Response: Thank you. This version of Harry was great fun to write, and I loosely based him on Lord Byron. I spared you from him writing poetry, however.



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 08:09PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Like this posh upper class Harry. A bit gruesome in the beginning Mr Brennus but I can handle it! Looking forward to "shop girl" Ginny joining Harry in his adventures.

Author's Response: Well, this is really a horror story, so I have to have a bit of gore to start things off. Shop girl Ginny is going to find things hard going initially, but she's a tough cookie. I'm sure it will all work out.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 06:53PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Heeee's Baaaack! The Andy Warhol of wildly wicked and wonderfully whaco writings has returned with another round of literary brilliance! Interesting the name Gothic usually makes one think of the color "Black"! Nothing like getting your usual body count started early on! This Harry seems to be a no nonsense dude, much to Looney Tunes Bella's misfortune! Good Ole Draco -- once a creep always a creep! I really like the premise on this one, mate! Can't wait to see how the relationship between Harry and his "assistant"
develops! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: I wasn't away too long this time, was I? 'Gothic' seemed to sum this one up, what with the Black family connection, the Hammer Horror monsters, and the sense of darkness that I try and instil throughout, even if we will end up in a couple of very sunny locations. We'll see Draco again later in the story where he'll continue to be a creep. The body count is going to be difficult to measure in this one - does killing a zombie or a werewolf count?



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 05:49PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Burning Bella at the stake and forcing Draco to burn a title deed, great start!

Author's Response: Harry's agenda will be revealed in the next chapter, and Ginny will get to take her first overseas trip with him. it might not be what she was expecting, however!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 05:41PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

First I wanted to say," WELCOME BACK!" I have yet to finish reading Abraxas and I will I promise. I believe I left off on chapter 20. I am curious about what happens because of the reaction you got from some readers. I was almost spoiled a bit reading some reviews but overall I still have no clue as to what actually happens. I have an idea but we will see. I will be continuing that and reviewing shortly.

Excellent first chapter. I was immediately drawn to this story for one simple reason: Harry.

You have essentially written my favorite type of Harry. I always liked Harry as he tended to be smart and calm for the most part with the exception of the times he lost his temper. He was a bit too clueless at times when it came to the opposite sex but that probably had a lot to do with his upbringing or lack of it.

I cannot give an honest assessment on Ginny yet. I really do not know what to think of her yet. I will wait until I read about her more.

This starts out pretty dark but very interesting but what I love the most is the "mythical monsters" part. YES x100! I always wished JK would have gone deeper into the world of HP monsters. Giants and dementors are only the starting point. I bet we have loads more creepy creatures!

Harry reminds me a little bit (just a bit) of Geralt from The Witcher. The Witcher is a set of novels set in a fiction world where monsters and creatures of all sorts exist and plague humankind. Geralt is a witcher and he is trained to take on these dark creatures and gets paid for it.

It was made into a videogame RPG but that is beside the point. If you have a chance, go to youtube, and type in, "The Witcher 3: A Night to remember." It is an amazing video about 4 minutes long and we see Geralt as he hunts down a Bruxa (a high level vampire) and almost gets killed in the process. The little song that she is singing at the beginning is good but creepy.

It is creepy and hauntingly good. Anyway... yeah... this sounds like it will be a fun story. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Actually, one of the reasons I love writing AU 'Harry never went to Hogwarts' tales is because I can show him as a more intelligent, clued-up person than the occasionally naïve character we see in the books. I always try and retain certain traits from him, however, no matter what version of Harry I write. I always like that he has quit a sarcastic sense of humour and, yes, he does have a bit of a temper. I bet he and Ginny have some spectacular fights, but then again I imagine making up for them would be equally spectacular. Good luck with the ending of Abraxas - that one really split opinion, which was pretty much exactly what I expected. Sometimes you've just got to shake things up a bit, don't you?



Reviewer: Lokken Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 04:16PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Well, this looks really interesting, plus you already put Draco in his place, so I am hooked. Lets see what will Weasley family think about Ginny´s new job!

Author's Response: Ah, Molly Weasley will be sharing her thoughts at the start of the very next chapter. I'm sure she'll take the news in a calm and reasonable manner. Possibly.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.04.30 - 04:09PM Title: Chapter 1 - Lord of Wrath

starstarstarstarstar

Gothic....some seem to think so, and incessantly go on about it. It is known. Interesting name choice, none the less, Marc...

You brought back a long haired Harty. This is completely acceptable. I suppose it was that goddamn ponytail that messed with me 1,000,000++ words ago. But no beart? It is quite civil of you not to remind those who suffer from Bishop Bait face. Forever yung the fetal floppers remain.

Once again I am reminded why I came out of the lurking shadows to review your writing. I imagine I was the first individual on SIYE to read your first magically laced narrative, however long ago it was. Somehow Merlinz Ballz got cut off and lately all your stories involve some damage to male genitalia. Coincidence? Probably not, but hell, what difference does it make? Can't be any worse than G's sharp pointy batbs.

Say hello to the Original Mrs Brennus for me, or I just might. I just might anyway. Still your #3 fan. Seeing a new story from you today put a big smile on my hairy, but still VEry handsome, face. Craziness....lalalalala..aaaahhhhh :)




Author's Response: I was going to give Harry a ponytail, just to please you, but shoulder length hair seems right for a mysterious, Byron-ish, romantic hero, don't you think? I passed on your regards to (ex-)Mrs Brennus yesterday when I graciously allowed her to buy me lunch. She actually will get a credit on a couple of chapters for her knowledge of voodoo and Egyptian gods. Still, everyone needs a hobby.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear