Search:

SIYE Time:19:56 on 19th October 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 06:25AM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Well... this is certainly a different story altogether. It is pretty real and gritty and fucked up! I mean that in a good way of course.

I have to say I literally laughed out loud in the beginning because this is classic Brennus. You must really dislike Molly Weasley. LOL

You portray her as some really old fashioned and strict witch that just wants to control Ginny even after she is an adult.

It was a rough start to their adventure but I am glad to see Ginny is attempting to get better and not quit. It really isnt her fault though. She obviously led a different life so this must be quite a shock to her.

Perhaps Harry needs to learn to reign in his temper a bit and perhaps show some understanding. I dont blame him for getting mad. It is their lives on the line but still I never imagined he would call her a stupid girl.

I cant imagine her taking that lying down either even if she was in the wrong. I hope we get to see more of her fiery personality though. I am sure with time when she gets used to the job we will see more of her true nature.

Author's Response: I know I've been a bit rough on Molly in my recent stories, but not all of them are like that. 'The List' and 'Thorny Rose' series show a very different Mrs Weasley. In fact, she's about the one character I never portray consistently and, no, I have no idea why I do that. I guess I just use her as the story requires. The story is definitely a journey for Ginny and she'll develop throughout. After all, when do I have show a weak or timid Ginny Weasley? Ain't going to happen!



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 04:09AM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

I was waiting for Molly to blow a gasket

Author's Response: I'm being quite kind to Molly in this story and showing her as quite level headed. To compensate, Professor McGonagall will be shown as a sex-crazed axe murderess. Possibly.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2016.05.18 - 04:50PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Very annoying Molly as usual - she really needs to broaden her horizons a bit. I like the dichotomy you are setting up between Harry and Ginny's backgrounds. Ginny is learning some hard lessons, but it seems she was very sheltered.

Author's Response: I actually think Molly has a little justification in this instance. As you know, I tend to write Molly in a number of greatly differing ways, according to mood. Sometimes she's bossy and overbearing, sometimes kind and understanding. Odd really, as I really don't do this with any other characters.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.05.10 - 12:39PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

It makes fun to see how Ginny step by step leaves her shop-girl-self behind. OK, OK, it is still a long way to go, but the first step has been made.

However, missions like fighting against a pack of werewolves should either end their cooperation or weld the two of them together. Fortunately, it seems that the latter will happen. But I suppose before they can form a proper team a wee bit of trust build up is necessary. I guess, a deep look into each others eyes could be helpful. And I'll bet, as soon as Ginny is more confident she'll teach Harry to share his findings when they are on a mission instead of muttering incoherently to himself ;-)

It's been a great chapter! Can't wait to read their look-into-each-others-eye moment.

Author's Response: Ginny will have a definite progression in this story and she'll come more and more into her own as time goes by. That choice she had to make will have great significance in the end of the story, too. For some reason, this story seems to have gone down really well with my reviewers on both sites I post to. Normally I get at least one person slagging me off (normally several on FF.Net) but I haven't had a bad review yet. I'm kind of wanting it to happen now, just to get it out of the way!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.05.10 - 10:09AM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Gothic....that's using your head there.

"....They effectively lobotomise their members and shut down certain higher brain functions." Taken out of context they should have less bestial, or more docile I suppose. Doesn't a lobotomy create drooling messes out of the individual? At first I thought you lobotomized their members making a Eunuch out if them. Can't imagine what the hell set that lovely mind set.

Argentum Hasta I looked up and it brought me to strange definition: A Polish gift offering consistently declined by Mexican carpenters. Strange, that one. I kept looking and found Ag spear, that makes a lot more sense, but it's not even half as funny as the first. I enjoyed the video of the one that got set ablaze, couldn't that spell have set them all on fire? H/G could have had a moment after the battle warming themselves over some Korean BBQ. A moment missed perhaps. Keep the body count going.

Voodoo and Egyptian gods from Mrs(-ex) Brennus? Don't get burned by the fire (which happens when one fails to use enough quartz, mind you). I was probably referring to a different one, but here on SIYE interchangeable characters seem to be the rule, not the exception.




Author's Response: Was the gift Polish sausage? I love Polish sausage. Those Mexican wood-handlers don't know what they're missing. Yes, (ex-)Mrs Brennus's first contributions to the story pop up in the next chapter. I try not to incur the wrath of a woman who knows so much about voodoo.



Reviewer: StarMonkey Signed Date: 2016.05.08 - 05:57PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Galloping gargoyles batman what was that? Call me twisted but I love the tougher Harry. I even enjoyed your Abruxas story. The nukes bummed me out but the best sexy times I have ever read were written by you. I don't get a lot of attraction between Harry and Ginny in this story, but honestly the action is fantastic. I am guessing the body count is heading skywards. But please make Harry a little naughty. You do it so well.

Author's Response: Ah, just wait until the next chapter and all your wishes will come true!



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2016.05.07 - 06:31PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

Awaiting more.

Author's Response: More coming.



Reviewer: WestexWanderer Signed Date: 2016.05.07 - 05:13PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.05.07 - 08:13AM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Extraordinary story. You selected the perfect title. Harry is powerful, intense, and obviously dangerous, without being too dark. He clearly does not have the best social skills when dealing with Ginny yet, but given his upbringing and his lack of friends or even same age acquaintances, that is understandable. Ginny is handling the situation rather well considering how horrifying it is. I am greatly looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I have to say, I really enjoyed writing this version of Harry. I think there are little signs of book Harry in there, but this is what his upbringing and circumstances have done to him. Compare him to Draco, for instance, who would have had a similar upbringing in this universe.



Reviewer: mjc Signed Date: 2016.05.06 - 11:12PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

Interesting start...

Author's Response: Hope you enjoy the rest.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.05.06 - 09:22PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Gadzooks! What a nice Friday-start of the weekend surprise! The Norman Rockwell of rascally riveting and resoundingly ribald recitations has returned with more literary brilliance! Nice bit with the Weasley inquisition! You certainly weren't kidding about dark and twisted! Quite an adventure that ended in some well deserved additions to your body count! Good sign that Harry opened up to Ginny about his family! I think they are beginning to understand each other! Do I smell romance in the air? Can't wait for the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response: Now, I did have to look up Norman Rockwell. I was disappointed, I was hoping he had something to do with Rockwell International, the aircraft manufacturer. I love the B-1 bomber - what a beautiful plane! I'm not sure if it's romance you can smell, it might be those pickled onions I had for lunch. They are very similar scents, I believe.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.05.06 - 08:34PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

Yes Ginny had a wake up call but so did harry...they are growing on each other but its still going to take time...kutgw

Author's Response: It will be a gradual process, but maybe something will happen to speed it along a bit.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2016.05.06 - 03:56PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarhalf-star

And the body count begins to climb! An exciting fight but a rather shocking wake-up call for poor Ginny. Still, she seems to be accepting the necessity of it in the end. I look forward to seeing what the two of them have to face next.

Author's Response: It's probably a bit of a shock to the system for Ginny - one moment she's a bored shop girl, the next she's up to her armpits in ravenous werewolves. Mind you, I've had days like that.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2016.05.06 - 02:42PM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

From Harry's back story to the werewolf fight this was a great chapter.


Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: The next chapter will feature Ginny's thoughts on the battle, and she'll have to make a difficult choice...



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2016.05.06 - 09:18AM Title: Chapter 2 - Through Forests of Despair

starstarstarstarstar

Holy crap, what a chapter! But in a good way :)
This is certainly an interesting and different story

Author's Response: *Snigger* I love to get a reaction like that! I guess I get bored reading stories that are basically the same old ideas time and time again. I get that some people want to stay 'true' to the story and characters, but if its all been done a hundred times before, what's the point? Besides, I'm too weird not to write something a bit different...




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear