Search:

SIYE Time:19:56 on 19th October 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 04:20AM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

Ginny had a good talk with hermione

Author's Response: ...and I didn't once mention Hermione's skin colour!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.06.03 - 06:11AM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

Polish sausages? That would perhaps give insight into the Mrs(-ex) issues f0r you. Why would the gift be a slab of pale meat? I usually prefer a nice extra crispy meatloaf if I am dining on dead animals. Never doubt the Ron PoPeel sheep's wool roaster. Set it and forget it. I don't know what the gift is, just that it is refused. Don't go turning red. Still waiting on you to show up with that black wig with a ponytail. Don't worry, I am sure you will be still mostly intact after you attempt delivery. If you fail and I make you wear it though, you will need a patch for the rear of your pants and a good therapist. :D :D :D :D :D

A Caribbean voodoo god that drinks like a fish..... Does SIYE forbid sinsemilla usage? The goddess chooses to be an attorney arguing over laws created by white men....I blame your "Britishness" for those projected characteristics....I guess. At least you got a free lunch from Dat consultation, white Boi. O shit, waddup.

Now then, I got that flurry out if my system. The chapter was not bad, although the characterizations of the Nawlin's citizens seemed like they were written by a white dude who listens to a lot of medal.

A wacky Brennus chapter is still accept able for this reviewer, regardless.

Author's Response: I'm sure you're right about how I wrote the New Orleans residents (I probably should have dropped a few French phrases in, if nothing else). But, yes, I am a white British man who was relying on one holiday in the Caribbean and a lot of doggy cultural references. I hold my hands up and hope I haven't offended anyone. BTW, my mother (who did live in America for many years) used to make a great meatloaf, but when I asked her how she made it shortly before she died, she claimed she couldn't remember. A good recipe would be very gratefully received!



Reviewer: hills Signed Date: 2016.06.02 - 02:24PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

I've loved every single one, yes even abraxas, of your fics but this one is on a whole nother level. Love Harry's mysterious coolness (a true black!) and Ginny's down to earth tenacity.

Author's Response: I'm really pleased how well this one has been received, actually. I haven't had a single bad review, not even on FF.Net where all the deranged Harry/Hermione shippers lurk. I'm sure I'll get a doggy review now I've said that.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 05:39PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

I love this so far! Great stuff! A couple of nits for your consideration: As a former resident of New Orleans I can tell you that, while it is possible to find Canun food in NOLA, any great restaurant in Uptown or the Garden District would almost certainly be serving Creole-based recipes. Also, the Omni Hotel in the Quarter is the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. Again, this is truly enjoyable!!!

Author's Response: I took the menu from the website of an actual restaurant situated in the Garden District, so blame them!



Reviewer: Thor-Ablestar Signed Date: 2016.05.24 - 12:31AM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

Exciting chapter. I enjoy mythology and have studied the mythology of many cultures but have never delved into a study of voodoo. Your story piqued my interest and led me on an interesting (and sometimes creepy) study of the mythology behind voodoo. I can't wait to see what other cultures we get to visit in your story.

Author's Response: For some reason, I'm immensely pleased that one of my stories has caused someone to start reading about voodoo. I wonder if I have Harry start talking about knitting in the next chapter if it will have the same effect?



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.05.20 - 03:51AM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarhalf-star


This competition has my interest piqued. Love the flirting.
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: In voodoo mythology, Samedi is apparently very competitive and loves playing games. He's actually a fascinating character and I really enjoyed reading about him and the other Loa. In fact, I can honestly say I learnt a lot researching this story. Fan fiction - both fun and educational!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.05.18 - 09:37PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

"Jambalaya and a crawfish pie and file' gumbo, 'Cause tonight Im gonna see my ma cher amio, Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gay-o,
Son of a gun, well have big fun on the bayou"! (Yes, that's Hank Williams song). The Edgar Degas of devilishly daring and drastically dramatic dissertations has delivered more literary brilliance! I met an actual voodoo priest in New Orleans once - interesting fellow! The Big Easy can be spooky at times, especially the cemetaries! The French Quarter is somewhat magical itself - especially at Mardi Gras time! This Harry is quite different from what we are used to and much more intriguing! Samedi and Brigitte are each a real piece of work! Can't wait to see what the competition is! Blow guns at twenty paces? BTW, prior to writing this, and in your honor, Mrs A and I each had a bowl of Zatarains Sausage Jambalaya with cornbread and toasted this chapter with a Pat O'Brien's Hurricane! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
":

Author's Response: Hmm, I'm wondering if you need an excuse to eat Jambalaya and drink Hurricanes. I certainly don't think anyone needs an excuse to do that! BTW, I wouldn't want you to think that I'm a Hank Williams fan - I just have that track on a 'Roots of Led Zeppelin' compilation CD that I own. My rock credibility nearly took a major hit there!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2016.05.18 - 05:01PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

New Orleans? Great choice - lots of spooky atmosphere. I love her sarcasm and the banter between the two is great. Hermione must be very frustrated not being able to have all of her questions answered! Loving the story!!

Author's Response: I imagine Hermione spends a great deal of her life frustrated. It's her own fault for marrying Ron...



Reviewer: BigFatMaybe Signed Date: 2016.05.18 - 01:25PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A good chapter, and the character development (especially Harry's) is really good here. I'm not sure if I liked Ginny and Hermione's conversation. It's good at showing that Ginny also has a life outside of her job and Harry, but maybe it showed Ginny's feelings towards Harry a bit too... blatantly? They've known each other for a couple of weeks, and already Ginny has accepted her (lustful) feelings for Harry? And she's ready to admit it?
We all love it when Harry and Ginny get together quickly, but after reading this chapter, I feel like it's going a bit too fast.

On a much more positive note, I'm really intrigued by this Harry. Especially after Ginny and Brigitte's conversation. There's indeed something dark about him.

Excited for the next chapter! Keep it up!

Author's Response: The Ginny/Hermione conversation was mainly to show that Ginny acknowledges her feelings for Harry, but knows what baggage would come with any relationship with him. Mainly, it was to show she still has a good head on her shoulders and a large dollop of common sense. As for getting them together too quickly, there's only eight chapters to the whole story so I can't hang about too long!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.05.18 - 06:29AM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

Yes ginny listen to the gods and follow their advice.....but did she NO......as for harry no one can drink like they can in the south....thats a whole different breed down there....kutgw

Author's Response: I'm from the south of England - does that count? No one can put cider away like us west country lads!



Reviewer: StarMonkey Signed Date: 2016.05.17 - 08:45PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

Is this where we meet the vampires? Ginny having a bad feeling makes me think this couple are not all they seem. As you are fully aware lawyers are from the fifth circle of hell; I am expecting snakes, dead bodies and a lot of mayhem. You know typical lawyer behavior. Once again thank you! You made my evening.

Author's Response: Ah, no. I'm saving the vampires for later. You have to think along more voodoo lines for this one. Actually, I know a few solicitors and they are only moderately evil. Then again, I work for a bank so you have to take that in context.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.05.17 - 07:48PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarstar

Greatly enjoyed reading this chapter!!! It was wonderful to hear Hermione and Ginny's conversation about Harry and to learn a bit about what Ginny is thinking in regards to her new job with Harry Potter. New Orleans is a magical city, and I loved the way that you described the people and the food, as well as of course the propensity to drink at all times and in great quantities. Ginny is getting an honest look at a man who is willing to use "Unforgivable" curses to get the information he wants. The meeting between Harry and Ginny and the Baron and his wife was intense, but amusing. Poor Harry! He met his match with drinking rum. I am very eager to read your next chapter and to see when all of their flirting becomes something more.

Author's Response: Irrelevant fact - the worst hangover I ever had in my life was a result of drinking dark rum. I obviously would never have cut it as a pirate.



Reviewer: Lokken Signed Date: 2016.05.17 - 06:41PM Title: Chapter 4 - Bringer of Death

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Already did short review on FF.net, but would-be-drunk demigod compels me to do so here as well. Also, great take on Ginny and her developing personality!

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure most Gods are permanently drunk. Monty Python should have done a song about it.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear