Search:

SIYE Time:22:09 on 22nd August 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2016.06.07 - 04:28AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

I like the talk that Ginny had with Luna, Luna seem to be acting normal for the most part

Author's Response: Did I mention Luna was naked throughout the conversation?



Reviewer: Thor-Ablestar Signed Date: 2016.06.02 - 12:24AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

A little bit of Harry Potter meets MacGyver, very nice. I like to see an independent, creative Harry. Can't wait to see what else they get up to (and see if they can pull off anything more awesome than getting a Loa in trouble with his wife).

Author's Response: I'm sure most of the male Loa are ALWAYS in trouble with their wives...



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.05.28 - 10:41AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Well, they got out of that bit of trouble by the skin of their teeth. Lucky, Harry is the 'Master of Death'. Suppose it has to come in handy sometime.
Egypt sounds interesting. Can't wait.

Author's Response: I'm reliably informed Harry obtained the title of 'Master of Death' via mail-order. Possibly.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.05.26 - 03:47PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent chapter! Samedi certainly was a piece of work, setting inferi on them after taking their wands. Good thing Harry thinks as quickly as he runs and that Ginny was able to keep up. I have no doubt that Brigitte will make Samedi's life difficult for a long time to come as punishment for his misbehavior. Enjoyed the last scene with Ginny and Luna. Looking forward to reading about Egypt!

Author's Response: Being demi-gods, I'm sure Brigitte's punishment will stretch out for a decade or so. I hope everyone enjoys the Egyptian chapters as I had a blast writing them. I've never been much into ancient Egypt, but I really started to become interested the more I read. We also get another familiar face popping up, too.



Reviewer: Padfoot5 Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 11:40PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 06:50PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

Really good stuff, as always!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 03:37PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

Oh ginny luna is right you do have the disease and Its spreading......kutgw...whne in doubt get the wife and teach her husband a thing or two

Author's Response: I was sad to leave Samedi and Brigitte after such a short amount of time. I'd done a lot of research and spent quite a bit of time discussing the two with (ex-) Mrs Brennus. They really are great characters to work with.



Reviewer: mjc Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 03:04PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

I guess that answers my one question...yep, Harry's got them.

I guess Samedi is going to find out how comfortable the couch is...

Author's Response: The couch? He'll be lucky...



Reviewer: Inquisitor Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 12:21PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

good chapter, although I'm wondering what punishment that Samedi is going to receive.



Author's Response: As with any punishment that a wife dishes out to a husband, it will be totally out of proportion to the crime.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 11:57AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A very exciting chapter this time, and I love the way you worked the "Master of Death" into the story. It sounds like Ginny is firmly committed to her professional relationship with Harry, now we just have to wait on development of the more personal relationship!

Author's Response: As another reviewer noted, I'm not rushing into a physical relationship between the two just yet as I'm having fun developing things between them. Harry has a lot he can teach Ginny and, I think, she has a few things she can teach him.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 11:45AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

First class adventure story. Did you read Kit Williams when you were a lad (younger)? I remember the search for a jewelled hare from my Sinclair Spectrum days. Slapped my own wrists for not reviewing more.

Author's Response: Ah, I wondered if anyone would pick up where the golden hare came from. I had my old, treasured copy of 'Masquerade' nearby when I started writing this. I also own copies of 'Untitled (the Bee Book)' and 'Out of One Eye', which is a book of all his art. The man is a genius and if I ever own the lottery I swear I will own a piece of his original work.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 06:36AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

It's a wonderful story and I'm already a wee bit sad that there are 3 chapters left only.
I hope that you're intending to follow the usual horror movie tradition and we'll have a Gothic 2, Gothic 3, .... ;-)
Great work! Many thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Working in the horror tradition, does that mean Gothic 2 and 3 each have to be progressively a little crappier?



Reviewer: dronvire Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 02:41AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Fun!

Author's Response: Glad you think so.



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2016.05.25 - 02:34AM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I knew being the Master of Death would come in handy.

Author's Response: Just as well Harry went to night school to earn the qualification.



Reviewer: Enchanted Signed Date: 2016.05.24 - 10:26PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Oh look at all the pretty stars... and they are so richly deserved to. Out of all the stories you've written thus far, this one has quickly become my favorite. This incarnation of Harry seems to me the most mysterious and fascinating of all your characterizations. Right out of the gate your prologue grab the reader and compelled them to follow you down this most intriguing little journey. Your Ginny is his perfect counter balance. Where he is cool she is fiery, where he is calm she is impatient and where he is calculating she is impetuous and as the story develops I think she will be his humanity.

This, I am sure, will be one of those stories I'll be sad to see the end of and will come back to again and again.

As always I eagerly await the next chapter.

Author's Response: This was actually a strange story for me to write as I actually took far longer in preparation and research reading than I did to write the thing. Admittedly, I got rather side-tracked reading all about the Loa and ancient Egypt (something that never previously interested me). Maybe that's rubbed off in my writing a bit, as I was a bit disappointed at the reaction my last story got in some quarters. Still, you can't please all the people all the time.



Reviewer: 1010case Signed Date: 2016.05.24 - 09:05PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

I am really enjoying this story. It's so original and I love this version of Harry. Looking forward to the next chapters.

Author's Response: He's a bit different in this. I like to think he's the same old Harry deep down, though.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.05.24 - 08:49PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Well I spy a Stairway to Heaven! The El Greco of exceedingly evolved and enthusiastically enduring elicitations has has returned with more literary exhultations! (Note 1: OK, I admit the hurricanes were a spur-of-the moment-splurge! But I would dine on Cajun food anytime -- love the stuff! I also make a mean batch of red beans and rice!) (Note 2: I would never question another man's rock credibility! As I told you in a previous review in a previous story, I still have the t-shirt I got at a 1977 Led Zeppelin concert I attended! I also have a 33 LP collection featuring albums of The Beatles, The Doors, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Grand Funk, 3 Dog Night, Steppenwolf, Deep Purple, The Stones, U2, Kiss, Chicago, The Eagles, Aerosmith, Black Sabbath, etc. etc. etc.-- All of which were acquired while I was growing up in those groups' heydays from my teens thru my 20s!) So, how come we didn't get to hear the one about the two veela and the lonely centaur? I have 2 shots of bourbon whiskey handy! I think your competition was a stroke of genius! Marie Laveau the voodoo queen, zombies and the master of death trumping the God of death -- just genius! And hell hath no fury like a maman scorned(of course he was really lucky Ginny didn't have her wand)! Nice to see a little different Luna, too! Bring on Egypt (hope they aren't flying)! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Don't worry, I wasn't accusing you of calling my rock credibility into question - I was doing that myself! I daren't count how many CD's I own. A couple of thousand, maybe? (ex-) Mrs Brennus took quite a few with her when we split, too. Add to that five guitars, two amps and a little used keyboard and I guess I am a music obsessive. BTW, you missed the vital 'and a third' after the 33 - at first I thought you meant you owned 33 albums in total! I'm sure all these young, down-loan only youngsters won't know what we're talking about, anyway. I was originally going to show the complete joke contest between Samedi and Harry, but it would probably have pushed the generally very forgiving archivists over the edge and got the chapter banned.



Reviewer: StarMonkey Signed Date: 2016.05.24 - 08:12PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Zombies, fires, running for their lives. YES! Thanks for the update. You said this was only going to be 8 chapters. Can I put a vote in for a sequel now? THIS Harry is fun! Dashing and daring, smart and sex is my catnip. Once again thank you for sharing!

Author's Response: Actually, it might stretch to 9 chapters as I keep adding bits. Interestingly, Your catnip would never have worked on our cat - he's a huge coward and he's had the snip. See, it would have just been wasted.



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2016.05.24 - 07:17PM Title: Chapter 5 - Death Shall Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

New Orleans is Sinking and the inferi can't swim. (Great song, great band, sadly about to end.)
Loved the zombie scene. A truly powerful wizard knows how to win without magic.

Really enjoying this story. The pacing is good. You are letting the story develop on its own and not rushing into anything (neither literally not figuratively) and I am liking the little compliments that Harry is throwing Ginny's way.

And, congratulations on what sounds like the healthiest ex relationship of all time.


Author's Response: Hmm, I'd never heard The Tragically Hip until I looked up your lyrics. They don't sound too bad, do they? If I wasn't so Babymetal fixated at the moment I might have delved into their back catalogue a bit more. Still, glad you're enjoying the story.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear