Search:

SIYE Time:2:24 on 16th December 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 07:12PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Fucking. Awesome. Story.

Haha. Forgive me for the curse word. It is not something I usually use in a review but this is by far your best story to date. I do not say that lightly, Brennus. I do hold your work in high regard.

With that said... I hope you are able to do something similar in the future. It is a fresh take on HP and one that does not involve the same storylines over and over again.

It is simply wonderful to see the change in their relationship but most important it is fun to see the change in Ginny. It is obvious that she is used to her job by now and she thrives as his assistant.

I don't know how this story will end but I imagine they will officially be together by the end. I hope that does not mean the end of their adventures. It is totally up to you but I would not mind reading more about their adventures. I have always felt like there was more to the HP world than what JK Rowling showed us.

This is by far my most favorite Ginny and Harry. They remind me of Bonnie and Clyde. Partners in crime. That is about the only similarities though. Hehehe.

Author's Response: Something definitely clicked with this story and quite a few people have said it's my best. After the lukewarm (and occasionally downright hostile) reaction I got to 'Abraxas' that was very pleasing. While I made Harry cultured, aristocratic and a bit cocksure, I also tried to keep some of his basic personality intact - elements like his quick temper and rather sarcastic sense of humour. Similar to Bonnie and Clyde they maybe, but I promise they won't end up dying in a hail of bullets.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.06.18 - 04:27AM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar


Great chapter.
Glad bill came around, both with Harry and Ginny working together, and about Fleur.
This next adventure sounds abit spooky. But, I do love a good vampire story.
I wonder if the next adventure involves a beach and bikinis? I can just see Harry googling Ginny in a bikini whilst trying to concentrate on his mission!
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Beach and bikinis? Hmm, I suppose I could have had a 'Jaws' inspired chapter. The trouble is, without the music it loses a lot of its effect. Der Dum! Der Dum! Dum Dum, Dum Dum, etc.



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2016.06.14 - 10:11PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

I love your creepy village :) The whole story has been loads of fun so far, although I felt that Bill was brought around a little easily. Shame that Ginny stopped using that towel too :p

Author's Response: Ah, that Bill: he's just a pushover, really. I'm sure Ginny will be doing far more creative things with her hands shortly than using a towel (although, as Douglas Adams says, you should always know where your towel is).



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2016.06.14 - 02:38AM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

You always have the knack of touching nerves I did not know we're inflamed, yet you do every time! I also love the fact that you can take such divergent paths in telling your tales, yet they all share the constant level of excellence we have come to expect -- and appreciate -- from you. This is wonderfully exciting, and the action is only exceeded only by your superb character development! Excellent work! Thanks so much for sharing!

Author's Response: You have inflamed nerves? I th9ink you can get a cream for that ;-) Seriously, thank you for that great review. I'm not sure what it is about this story that has attracted such wonderful feedback, but I'm very grateful for it!



Reviewer: Thor-Ablestar Signed Date: 2016.06.10 - 12:52PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

I must say I was a little worried about the mummy coming back to life since Teta was know to be able to restore to life those who had been decapitated. Maybe the future Gringotts employees exploring the tomb will be in for a nasty suprise.

Now a trip to the Carpathian Mountains, you certainly are taking them to some exciting places. Classic storytelling is always a pleasure to read and you have done an excellent job of stylizing the classics creating a story that is a pleasure to read. I hope we get to see more of Bill in the future.



Author's Response: I hope that the Gringotts gang know what they are doing. I have to say, this story was a pleasure to write, too. I really got into the idea of incorporating 'classic' movie monsters and researching the various locations was fun, as well. The hard part will be deciding what to write after this.



Reviewer: StarMonkey Signed Date: 2016.06.09 - 08:23PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Thanks for posting! Loved everything. Read your post about the Cursed Child opening and read some spoilers. UGH. I didnt think anything would stop reading the play... Toyed with buying the published works in July. Now will not be even be reading it. The spoilers made me ill.

Author's Response: Actually, I was surprised when I entered 'Cursed Child spoilers' into Google, how much stuff I got back that was messages saying that there were no spoilers in the particular articles, or imploring people not to post spoilers. Still, Draco becoming a dental floss salesman - mad, eh?



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2016.06.09 - 11:56AM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Well, nice to see Ginny really have a chance to shine this chapter! It was fun to see Bill, too. This coming confrontation with the Vampires sounds great, I can' wait to read the next update.

Author's Response: It took a bit of adjustment, but Ginny's now into the groove with her new job. Hey, it took me ages to learn how to use our accounting package when I joined my current employers, so I can relate...



Reviewer: Starry Amethyst Signed Date: 2016.06.09 - 11:00AM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

As always.. another Amazingg chapter!!
ThNx alot 4 the fast update.... finallyy we have reached the vampires..! I cant wait to read the next chapter...
Also i guess harry n ginny will get together in the next installment... and my guesses r almost always right, mind you.. ;)
As i said before, this story is simply amazing... at one time i want to read it all and finish it... but at the same time i dont want to finish it at all... what will i do without itt
//Eagerly awaiting next update....:)

Author's Response: No hints what happens next, I'm afraid! I do have another part that I want to add to the story (that's what held me up with the previous chapter) but hopefully I can knock that out during the weekend. Assuming I don't get distracted by the football, of course. Fortunately, England vs Russia is not on until Sunday evening, giving me time to write.



Reviewer: allabouthp Signed Date: 2016.06.09 - 01:14AM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

When I saw you had started another story I stayed away as long as I could. Because I prefer to binge read instead of waiting on new chapters. Alas, I didn't make it long enough. This is my favorite incarnation of Harry you've done yet. I'm Madly jealous of Ginny getting to globe trot with a magical Indiana Jones. *dreamy sigh*. Now on to the waiting game. This story has been really fun by the way. A joy to read.

Author's Response: For some reason, this version of Harry seems to have hit the spot with a lot of people. Perhaps this is how we'd really like to see him? I'm glad everyone is enjoying the story, though, as this as been a blast to write. 'Abraxas' was a bit of a grind to write, and wasn't nearly as well received as this one has been. There's obviously a lesson in there somewhere for me... now, if I could only figure out what it is!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2016.06.08 - 11:20PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Love having Ginny saving the day! She is certainly proving she is the right person for the job. Bill is leaving his desert? Hope it works out like he hopes. I liked his observations on Harry and Ginny's relationship, I was a bit surprised it didn't cause more of a conversation. The whole Romanian village sounds extremely creepy. It certainly seemed like a set up. Its hard to believe people would put up with that kind of set up, but I guess desperate people will do anything. Very Draculaesque. I wonder if the vampires are controlling some of the villagers some how. It was interesting how Mircea knew Harry's name and knew they were wizards. I thought he was a Muggle. With the element of surprise gone, I hope they have some amazing spells to use against vampires. Do they have one that shoots out holy water? Or a holy water/garlic combo? What do you have against sparkly things?

Author's Response: As we'll find out later, the elder vampires can be very controlling. Plus, as the landlord noted, where could you run to hind from something with that level of power? I imagined generations of villagers growing up in that situation, too, so they would never have known anything different. Harry and Ginny do have a couple of useful spells to use against our Twilight rejects, and as surprise is out of the question, it will be a full-on assault on vampire central. Thanks for reviewing here and on FF.Net, Sharon. It certainly helps keep my review numbers up!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.06.08 - 10:00PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Well bless Cecil B. Demille's asp! The Johannes Vermeer of vastly valiant and vividly vogue volumes has returned with more literary brilliance! ) Did you by any chance get this chapter title from the 1960 movie of the same name? I about half expected Boris Karloff to show up as The Mummy in the tomb scene and danged if there wasn't a mummy! That wasn't him under those bandages was it? That village in the Carpathian mountains sounds like it's straight out of a Dracula movie. Cue Bela Lugosi and organ music! Quite a twist there with the vampire servants! Since they are apparently on the local menu, I don't believe you mentioned whether Ginny is a virgin or not! Perhaps this is a good time for Harry to find out (wink wink)! Maybe they should borrow one of Charlie's dragons! Waiting with baited breath and a sharp wooden stake for the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response: hey, I did say this fic was inspired by my Hammer Horror collection. Naturally that would mean Christopher Lee would be the vampire lurking in wait, with Peter Cushing playing the enslaved hotel owner. As for music, perhaps Bauhaus with 'Bela Lugosi's Dead' would be appropriate.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.06.08 - 09:22PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

Well im glad that harry and bill worked everything out...as for bil he needeed to get his head back in the game with fluer....as for ginny and haarry learning and dealing witht the baddies is going to be an epic battle...kutgw

Author's Response: Bill is a bloke, so therefore is as capable of doing dumb things as the rest of us. As for the next chapter - blood will flow!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.08 - 08:41PM Title: Chapter 7 - Village of the Damned

starstarstarstarstar

Love this chapter! I have always been fascinated by Ancient Egypt (tombs, mummies, treasures), so I really enjoyed reading about the discovery of the tomb with Bill. How wonderful that Ginny saved them all with a powerful swing of a sharp blade! Now, at least Bill respects that Harry and Ginny have a solid working relationship, and judging from his comments, he is aware that they may be more than strictly business associates. Then, on to the village near the vampires. Creepy does not begin to cover that situation! Looking forward to reading how Harry and Ginny will handle this new challenge and hopefully save the next girl before she can be sacrificed.

Author's Response: I've been trying to show Ginny gradually growing into her new job/life style and here is where she really comes into her own. Never underestimate a red-haired witch with a pointy thing!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear