Search:

SIYE Time:2:24 on 16th December 2017

Reviews For Gothic

Reviewer: grey75 Signed Date: 2017.06.02 - 01:51AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

I signed up just to leave this review. This story was simply amazing. I honestly can't fault it and the ending was definitely something I didn't see coming at all. The humour, action, romance, well everything, was spot on. I also want to thank you from the bottom of my heart as I did not read one sentence of angst at all (I have kind of OD on that recently) :)

Author's Response: Firstly, I'm sorry for taking so long to reply. I'm way behind in responding to stuff and as I'm writing non-Harry Potter stories at the moment I'm not on SIYE as much as I used to be. I'm delighted that you liked the story so much, and humbled that you signed up to the site just to leave the reply. I suspect that I'll never top 'Gothic' as a story, although strangely it's not actually the favourite of my own stories ('The Thorny Rose' holds that distinction, closely followed by 'Hail Odysseus') but this one came at a time when I was really struggling to come up with a good plot and seriously thinking of packing in writing altogether. Then, out of nowhere, I was hit by the most basic of ideas, to incorporate Hammer Horror style monsters into a HP fic, and 'Gothic' just fell into place. Funny how these things happen, isn't it? Anyway, thanks for reading and leaving that wonderful review.



Reviewer: RRS777 Signed Date: 2016.08.21 - 09:45PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

I....I'm just done. Just completely done. My mind is blown.

I DID NOT see that coming, and it's and amazing ending to the story. Of course, the story itself also was absolutely fantastic.

Honestly, I've read every single one of your fics, and I love your writing, your style, your ideas... In short, you're one of my favorite authors. Now, I'm not turning into a fanboy, but I do recognize a great author when I see one.

I sincerely hope you continue regaling us with your stories, be it Gothic 2 or something else. I'm sure I'll love it.

Cheers,

rrs777

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. At the moment, it does look like my next story will be a follow up to this, provisionally titled 'Gothic 2: To the Devil His Due'. I'm only on chapter 2, I'm afraid, but I do have much of the plot worked out. I'm sure I'll pick up the pace once the autumn nights start closing in. Hey, only 123 days until Christmas!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.08.03 - 08:27PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

DAAAAAAMMMMNNN!!!

I did not expect that ending! That revelation! It was just so... SLYTHERIN! I heartily approve.

Damn... LOL...

Brennus! These adventures need to continue! No Pressure of course. It is totally up to you but it would be nice to see what other troubles they can find themselves in.

I only wish we would have seen Harry meet the family but it was a great story nonetheless! You are awesome, sir! Salute! :P

Author's Response: He, he - I thought more people would hate me because of the ending, but so far I think I've only had one complaint (on FF.net). I sometimes get a bit of grief for my endings, but I'm just not the sort of person who believes in 'Hollywood' endings. I once had someone write me a very long review explaining that a good story should always climax towards a spectacular ending, and how all lose threads should be tied up for a readers satisfaction. Frankly, that concept wanted to make me pull my hair out. What, all stories should end like that? Every one? No surprises, no bittersweet twists, no sense of mystery? No thank you. I like endings that are either realistic or have a bit of a twist in the tail. I still remember seeing 'The Wicker Man' for the first time (the original, not that Nicolas Cage abomination) and waiting for something to happen and Edward Woodward to be saved... and then the credits start rolling. F**k me! Still, he probably deserved it for not snagging Britt Ekland when he had the chance...



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.07.04 - 05:27AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you for this wonderful story.
There are so many things that I like about this story, the very unique plot, it is written from Ginny's point of view, the changes in Ginny's behaviour are described so well, it was fun to read how the real Ginny slowly takes shape.
And I'm really glad that you've avoided all the things I usually don't like in post-DH stories: Aurors, Quidditch and the gossip in the yellow press.

In the end I was amazed that obviously Harry has planned the whole treasure hunt.
I'm just not sure if Harry was aware of all the places where Winky has hidden the parts of the moon hare. In this case the whole ritual was a cheat to make Ginny randy, lol.

A sequel is definitely a good idea. I have every confidence that you still have a couple of exciting adventures for Ginny and Harry up your sleeve. And besides, I want to see how Molly, Hermione and Luna go weak at their knees when they meet Harry for the first time, lol.


Author's Response: As a male dangerous close to his fiftieth birthday, I feel strangely comfortable writing from Ginny's POV. I must be letting my inner teenage girl out. Or something. Molly, Hermione and Luna all bowled over by a dark'n'dangerous version of Harry? Hmm, I could see that happening...



Reviewer: Thor-Ablestar Signed Date: 2016.07.01 - 11:53PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful story. The ending made rereading the story a whole different experience. It would definitely be interesting to see Ginny's reaction when she finds out the whole adventure was just a game.

Author's Response: Ah, but who says she'll ever find out?



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.06.29 - 04:43AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar


Another brilliant effort on your part.
Draco got what he deserved. All rapists should get the same thing.
The fact that Harry set it all up, with Winky, to get Ginny, is just the more brilliant. As Winky said, he has been so lonely and Ginny can only improve that.
Looking forward to your next masterpiece. (If that is Gothic 2, so be it!)

Author's Response: I'm still not 100% committed to doing a 'Gothic 2', even if I do have a fairly solid plot idea. I might even go back and do a 'Homecoming 2' as I had some ideas for that, too. Or maybe a one shot. Or possibly a Twilight Fan Fic... nah, just kidding!



Reviewer: Prof McGonagall Signed Date: 2016.06.29 - 12:18AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Now THAT's a prank worthy of the Marauders! You have me laughing out loud! LOVED it!!!

Author's Response: Sneaky little swine, Harry, isn't he?



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2016.06.28 - 09:28PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well that was a bit of a lousy end for Malfoy. He should have received some public humiliation first ;-)

You did put an interesting twist on the end though. Harry is clearly a bit crazy but it was all a fun read.

Author's Response: As gratifying as it would have been to have Draco publicly humiliated and castigated, that wasn't 'this' Harry's way. He preferred to operate in the shadows, taking care of things his own way, and with as little involvement from the authorities as possible. No, Draco will fade from history now, slowly forgotten. As Scorpius had yet appear at this point, hopefully Astoria will remarry and the Malfoy name will die. I like to think that's a fitting end for someone who thought as much of himself as Draco.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2016.06.27 - 03:16PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Harry set the whole thing up!! BRILLIANT!!

Not sure this story needs a squeal, but I will read anything you write for this site.

Thanks again for sharing your work with us.

Author's Response: The first person who thinks it doesn't need a sequel! To be honest, that was my initial thought, but so many people asked for one that a plot has started to ferment in my brain. actually, I might do a one shot before I tackle any larger project. Or not. Honestly, I haven't a clue what I'll write next!



Reviewer: allabouthp Signed Date: 2016.06.27 - 01:48AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Was there something more going on with Winky other than her thinking about how Harry instructed her break up the Moon Hare and that she helped him carry out his plot? Just wondering because the author's note at the beginning. My mind immediately went to "Harry set it all up to get Ginny." But after reading the other comments I'm not so sure. If you do write a sequel can we PLEASE have a flashback of the first time Harry saw Ginny and what she did that intrigued him enough to set all this up-if that is the reason. I certainly hope you don't stop writing HP fanfic. We don't have enough stories that show what a badass Ginny really is.

Author's Response: If I do a sequel to this, don't be surprised if I leave a lot of questions unanswered. I very deliberately left the ending in such a way as it could be interpreted a number of ways. A lot of people thought the whole things was a plot snare Ginny, while others suggested she was just drawn into Harry's scheme to destroy Draco. Maybe it was all just something to entertain a bored Harry. Of course, it might have elements of all three. You realise you're not going to get a straight answer out of me, don't you?



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2016.06.26 - 02:31PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Glad to see Harry and Ginny together in the end. It really was quite an exciting and unique "courtship"! I was really surprised at your little twist at the end. I never suspected that Harry was so devious. In any case, I'll be looking forward to your next story with great anticipation!


Author's Response: Perhaps I should have called it 'Tales of the unexpected'. Damn, now I am showing my age!



Reviewer: HPmum2014 Signed Date: 2016.06.26 - 01:35AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

I'm blown away by your imagination, and I hate the thought that stories from you may dwindle in the future. Does your ex write? Great story, as we have come to expect from you, another one for my fave list xx

Author's Response: Laura has toyed with writing, but first and foremost is an artist. Currently she's really into photography, especially experimental stuff. I wish she wouldn't take photos of me, though, I'm really not that photogenic. Hopefully I'm not quite done yet, even if I seem to have less time to write at the moment. I guess it's all about time management. The fact that I can barely stand to watch the football at the moment helps, too!

Author's Response: Actually, I'll have to keep going. I've just noticed I'm second on the sites 'Top 25 Authors by word count'. I'll have to write another story just so I can overtake SSHENRY and become number 1!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 01:38PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very fun ride! Excellent story and a surprising twist at the end! I don't mean the proposal, though! The way you wrote Ginny's character, any red-blooded male would fall for her!'

Author's Response: I can't stand writers who make Ginny this mousey little thing! That girl's got fire in her veins and needs to be written as such!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 12:39PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

Well that last part was a surprise..i mean i knew winky had a wicked streek in her but to hide it on perpouse well now thats a fun game for sure...glad draco is gone as well...what a fun ride, but is it over yet?????will stay tuned, and bolt time same bolt channel.....kutgw

Author's Response: Winky has worked for both the Crouch and Black families in this, so that probably rubbed off on her, a bit. It's always the quiet ones you have to watch.



Reviewer: 1010case Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 09:44AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Love love love this story and ending. I'll definitely read the next thing you write whether it is Gothic 2 or something else. You have such original stories. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you. There really are so many rehashes of the same tired old ideas out there that I do always strive to try and bring something new to the table. What's the point otherwise?



Reviewer: Fuzzy Bear Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 05:09AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Draco got what he deserved. There is no place in this world for someone like him..

And thank you for your ending! T'was brilliant! Especially Winky's POV.

Please make a sequel! Or maybe an explanation of why Harry set this whole thing up. Is it because he's always liked Ginny? Or he just wants Draco to die? So many questions flying around in my head!


Author's Response: Which is exactly what I wanted! I deliberately didn't go into too much detail regarding what exactly was Harry's plan as I wanted my readers to come up with their own interpretations. There are a few ways this might have been set up and I love the ambiguity of it all. A sequel might provide all the answers... or it might raise more questions. Ain't I a stinker?



Reviewer: maisa potter Signed Date: 2016.06.25 - 02:43AM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Hope you write a sequel! I really liked it.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the story. Watch this space!



Reviewer: decdraft Signed Date: 2016.06.24 - 08:57PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Fun! Draco got what's coming, romantic ending for Harry and Ginny....so Harry set this whole thing up? And yes to Gothic II!

Author's Response: That's exactly the response I was looking for - 'What? Harry set the whole thing up?'. *evil snigger* I wasn't sorted into Slytherin on Pottermore for nothing, you know.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.06.24 - 08:32PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

Well let loose with a 'Silent Scream'! The Paul Gauguin of garrously garish and genteely goulish gravitas has granted us another gift of literary genius! Hate to see this one end! Draco sure got a 'Rude Awakening' from Harry and Ginny! Glad to see the scum get what he deserved. Well Harry certainly is a sneaky devil but not with a blue dress on! But Ginny ended up wearing the diamond ring! Set the whole adventure up and got the girl of his dreams too! I think a "Gothic 2" would be interesting and well recieved! If you feature Count Duckula in a sequel, you might as well throw in Danger Mouse! Congrats on another exceptional offering! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: I can't use Danger Mouse - he's a good guy! I'd have to use Baron Greenback (I wonder if he's related to Neville's toad?). Actually, I think if I do a sequel I'll have to take it in a slightly different direction. Another treasure hunt/monster of the week style effort would just be repetitive. I do have a plot idea in mind, but it will need a good deal of thought and research. I've already downloaded the cliff notes of a very famous book and am seeing if I can work a story around that. BTW, Harry would look FABULOUS in a blue dress, although it might clash with his eyes...



Reviewer: StarMonkey Signed Date: 2016.06.24 - 07:19PM Title: Chapter 9 - Dark Lady

starstarstarstarstar

I love reading your stories. The twist at the end was a wonderful surprise. LOVE how Harry really is devious. Shadows and mirrors directing Ginny one way; Harry circling to win, seduce, and claim his real prize. GInny. The sweet, almost sappy marriage proposal made me smile. YOUR talent is undisputed. I was sad to read your desire to write these stories is beginning to wain. I understand why. Know this, your talent and crafting of words is admired across the globe. If you come up with a new Gothic 2, I will be reading it. Or if you want to write something else I will read that too. Thank you.

Author's Response: My enthusiasm dipping was partly my own fault, as 'Abraxas' really did feel like a slog to write at times. Plus, a promotion at work last year has left me feeling a bit frazzled when I get home in the evening, and more likely to curl up on the sofa and watch anime (or animated porn as (ex)-Mrs Brennus calls my collection) than sit down and do more writing. I was lucky with 'Gothic' in that it required a lot of research that I really enjoyed (I knew very little about Voodoo, for instance) and my dear ex-wife's enthusiasm for the tale also helped. I believe everyone should have some form of creative release and it took a long time to find mine (never in a million years would I have believed it would have been writing!). Hopefully, I'll still be cranking out these perverted little tales when I'm retired.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear