Search:

SIYE Time:12:29 on 19th November 2017

Reviews For The Road not Taken

Reviewer: BrianMcLyr Signed Date: 2016.12.17 - 12:10AM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Just reread the first review ;)

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.07.29 - 06:15PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

I am glad that Harry wants to be a friend for Ginny. I think it is a logical consequence of the events in the chamber. I liked the analogy that if the defeat of a Mountain Troll can cement a friendship then why saving someone from a Basilisk wouldn't do that as well. Sirius is doing quite well in handing out advices. Apparently he's already well accustomed to his godfather role.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think Sirius is taking his role more seriously and wants to do his best for Harry.



Reviewer: seekers_destiny Signed Date: 2016.07.29 - 05:43PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

I really like how you're writing Sirius. He's been accused of seeing his friend James in Harry instead of Harry but that's not how you see him (nor I). I also like how you have Harry getting past his discomfort around Ginny to reach out to her. Sirius talking to him about trying his best was icing on the cake. Although it was never articulated in the books (at least not that I can recall) I always felt he didn't try to hard for just the reasons you brought up. I really like the scenes you wrote of Harry and Sirius bonding. I can't wait for their surprise at how healthy and happy Harry will look when he comes for the train. That ought to make them rethink a few things.

As much as I dislike how Ron is acting, it is unfortunately fairly accurate to his portrayal in the books. I really don't like Dumbledore in this chapter. He's always borne some repsonsibility for Sirius' fate in my eyes.

The Weasleys seem to have come back early this time, is that just part of the AU of the story? I never thought about an animagus gaining some insight into the communication of the species he can become but it makes sense. It's amazing how well some dogs can read the intent of their masters.


Author's Response: I don't think Sirius was given the opportunity to act as a guardian to Harry so I'm giving him the chance. Ron has well documented issues with jealousy - this story will highlight them, but he will have an opportunity to redeem himself. I wanted to give Ginny the chance to receive her letter so they had to come back a little early.



Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2016.07.29 - 02:55PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

I can't wait for the next update. I love stories like this, where Harry becomes more independent of those who want to control every aspect of his life. It'll be interesting on the train to see how Ron actually reacts to hearing Harry say he wants Ginny around. That should be fun! From his reaction to the letter, I don't think Ron is going to like it very much.

Author's Response: Thanks! I like a proactive Harry. Ron won't have the most positive reaction.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.07.29 - 01:07PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

Ginny is easy to convence butt he rest never where...but then again they need a brain in order to figure out that somethings dont add up....kutgw

Author's Response: Ginny will always be on Harry's side :)



Reviewer: HPmum2014 Signed Date: 2016.07.29 - 07:09AM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarhalf-star

What a wonderful chapter, and just as we would expect if Sirius had raised Harry. Nice to see the easy trust Harry has, and Sirius not taking advantage of it, he is still just as wounded as Harry, so they are good for each other. Liked that Harry wrote to Ginny and worried about her. As always, looking forward to more xx

Author's Response: Thanks! You don't often see the effects of Sirius' time in Azkaban - I wanted to show a little of that.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.07.28 - 08:59PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

I am really liking this 3rd year for Harry! Chirp chirp! The Canary Islands place was a perfect spot for healing for both Harry and Sirius!
I always thought Dumbledore was negligent when it came to the Dursleys! Glad to see Ginny defending Harry and Siruis! She must have about had apoplexy when she saw who her letter was from! Keep those chapters coming! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought they needed a wonderful holiday!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.07.28 - 07:52PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

What an excellent chapter! I love the way that Harry is opening up to Sirius and how many different activities they are doing together. I am not surprised that Harry has been holding back academically, but hopefully he will really push himself to do well in the future. How wonderful for Ginny to get such a lovely gift from Harry. I suppose Ron has to be difficult for the moment, but I hope he self corrects somewhat as time goes by.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I thought it would take seeing how similar Sirius' upbringing to his to have Harry open up. Ron is being a teenage boy at the moment - he'll get over it.



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2016.07.28 - 07:17PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

I like that Harry wrote Ginny and try get to be a better friend to her

In my opinion I find it odd that Dumbledore was left in dark, who the Potters true secret keeper was.

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought it was odd that they didn't leave any documentation so if the worst happened someone would know the truth. Of course, they were only twenty-one when they made this decision.



Reviewer: starophie Signed Date: 2016.07.28 - 05:13PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

i love this story so much! normally sirius is portrayed either as a too-serious helicopter dad or an immature nutcase, and i think you've struck a really nice balance between the two (or, well, the nicer versions of the two). i can't wait to read more, and i hope dumbledore gets his beard caught in a dragon's mouth ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Those are two of my least favorite portrayals of Sirius - I hate the incredibly immature Sirius who needs Remus to help him. That just doesn't ring true to me.



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2016.07.28 - 04:23PM Title: Chapter 2 The Canary Islands

starstarstarstarstar

Nice. I'll be interested to see how Ron treats Harry when he sees him and what kind of role Dumbledore will have in this. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thanks! Ron will have a few bumps in the road. Dumbledore is not really featured in this story.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear