Search:

SIYE Time:1:10 on 27th April 2017

Reviews For Animal Quackers

Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.12.30 - 10:23PM Title: Duck Lord Rising

A duck???? Hahahahahahahahahaha

Author's Response:

Yes indeed -- a fowl most foul! In the final story in this not-a-trilogy, Riddle's time spent as a quacker will pose some complications to his self image.

Thank you most kindly for dropping a note, nayin1704!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2016.12.03 - 08:46AM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

Totally Brilliant."

Author's Response:

Well, I'm totally chuffed to hear that -- thank you Silvia!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.12.01 - 07:57PM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent end to this story! I desperately needed a laugh and this delivered perfectly. Wonderful to see Kingsley and hear him piecing together the truth about Peter and subtly conveying it to Remus. I felt so sorry for Remus being stuck in the clutches of Trelawney, but the thought of her spouting off to some poor muggle farmer is even worse!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the review, Kimberly! On one hand, I'm concerned for the fact that you needed cheering up, but on the other I'm immensely gladdened to have provided. That's what this particular series aims to do!

Great that you enjoyed the Lupin / Shacklebolt dynamic. Kingsley is generally an easy character to write, as he drifts between affable and competent, but Remus is a bit more of a challenge as I see him as an immensely intelligent, sensitive soul whose years of loneliness tend to make close contact awkward. Anyway, I think the two of them are natural foils, and are good choices for the first 'adults' to bring into the tangible roles in the series. They are capable of being good complements without taking anything away from the two protagonists.

Lupin and Trelawney? Yes, even I the authour, felt guilty about that. But I needed some impetus to get Lupin away from supper and back to Foggy Bottom, and her obsessiveness seemed the perfect vehicle. As far as Trelawney and the farmer, though, the only thing that I can say to comfort readers is (as I alluded to Martin yesterday) it simply can't last. The universe would probably implode...

Anyway, sorry that you're feeling down. Maybe I can break away from things later and go sing your praises in Darkness Within...



Reviewer: gracepark Signed Date: 2016.12.01 - 02:01PM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

I can't get over how many details you juggle in these stories, and how they all get wrapped up so well.

Except for the details that most obviously do not get wrapped up. For those you need that final sequel, right?

Well, I hope you write it anyway! Sorry I'm not getting around to reviewing until now, but I hope you know we really appreciate these stories!

Author's Response:

I appreciate that, thank you! Yes, my stories do tend to be detail oriented, and I actually take pride in dropping as few balls as possible. This, of course, means that I don't toss up many details gratuitously -- I like to think they all have their own reasons. Quite often, actually, an odd detail today will end up driving an unforeseen plot twist later.

And so another request for the final sequel. However little I like to admit it, actual requests do tend to factor in to prioritisation, so thanks for the sentiment, Grace!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.12.01 - 11:04AM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarhalf-star

"dark-complected " - Usage Discussion of complected

Not an error, nor a dialectal term, nor nonstandard—all of which it has been labeled—complected still manages to raise hackles. It is an Americanism, apparently nonexistent in British English.

I shall never believe a word you write again.

Author's Response:

That actually never occurred to me as an Americanism, or even fringe word. Truth be told, though, it's increasingly difficult for me to sustain a pure dialect, year in year out. In any given week, I'll quite likely end up with manuscripts on my desk from ~3 continents -- all nominally written in English, but many difficult to recognise as such. God only knows what zany vocabulary is starting to leach osmotically into my head.

Oh, and as far as not believing another word I write -- good thinking! I frequently tend to make things up... and even make words up :)

Thank you for the review, Dad. And for taking me to task on a semantic issue that would make William Saffire smile.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.12.01 - 07:14AM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

I liked the Pettigrew-Missing Finger-Polyjuice theory, but I was a wee bit miffed that we missed the prank in the Great Hall, lol.

It was quite an action packed interlude before you, at least I hope so, set everything up for the sequel. Annoyingly, the two of them have been interrupted, again, even twice. I'm hoping that you'll be able to provide us with the full scene, without interruptions, sometimes between your big life projects. That’s life, you’re planning big new projects whereas I’m slowly starting to plan my retirement. Well, I suppose that it is a big new life project, too, lol.

And yes, Trelawney. Recently, I’d the suspicion that she's working for the German Railways. The apologies for their delays always sound damn Trelawney-ish. However, knowing that she fall in love with a farmer in Yorkshire, I was obviously wrong. Maybe they simply found her crystal ball and use it to predict the delays.

As for trix, I admit that the prospect that the two of them will eventually sell their lives and souls to the professional Quidditch business always damps my mood a bit. However, I really want to know what's going on with Teri, and how and when Bella is caught.

Many thanks for another brilliant story which ended much to soon.


Author's Response:

I can't believe I got five stars from you, Martin! Not only did I stop Harry and Ginny short yet again (again again...), but I held back on the prank narrative, despite having heard your suggestion for challenge topic. The only way I can explain your generosity is that perhaps you've liked my hiking and/or beverage recommendations.

Either that, or it's a manner of subtly petitioning for that last story. Well, as long as the readership doesn't completely dry up, then yes -- the story is too well formed in my mind to not be written. I'll be honest, though, that it will be an absolute bear to write. Drama and romance are so much easier to write in serial than comedy -- I never sweated quite as hard, word per minute, as I did on this story. Having an unfolding drama underlying a comedy is a tall order, and you probably wouldn't believe how unfunny my early drafts were, but fortunately, humour starts to come together sometime between the third and eighth edits. As conceived, however, the final story has some gripping tension, which will be tough to turn into a whimsical walk in the park. I think I will need months (and perhaps some lively wintery schnappes) to work up the courage.

Oh, well I'm sure you know that a lively young belle like Trelawney would never stick with a stodgy old agrarian for 24 years, right? Plenty of time for her to have dumped her side-burnt beau and taken up consulting for Deutsche Bahn! I'm not certain which aspects of her service to your rail you feel dissatisfied with, but I will let you know that things could have been worse. She attempted to remodel the entire route map and schedule after the Hogwarts Express, whereby there would only be one line, only two stations, and only two round trips per year. Thus, if you think to how little wizard Eoin from Orkney must find some way to get to Kings Cross on Sept. 1 in order to catch the train to Hogsmeade, you can imagine the predicament potentially posed to your friendly ICE executives. Nobody was quite certain whether that would be practical in Germany.

And Trix! Yes, it will once again be proceeding, with a few surprises in store. If you're interested, you can click over to my main page to see a bit of Trix-related artwork.

Anyway, I do love the story (and especially the characters). Unfortunately, it will never be one of my most popular offerings, but it always draws me back. And yes, you've probably read Seeker Daughter, and thus probably know that I've irrevocably penned myself into a Ginny/Quidditch trajectory. Once they survive Trix, though, it will not be the bitter pill that it has been in some other authours' universes.

Oh, and I can solemnly promise you that Bella will be caught!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.11.30 - 05:12PM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

This conclusion was a cacophony of catastrophic calamity! Count 'em up!

Yeah!

"Led by the dazed looking head of a monstrously huge ewe..." If you smiled at your own writing half as much as I smiled at my own reading of this, then I think I can see where you were going with that. Took awhile but I guess you finally got something there! I thought the shifty comment a little further at first was referring to tHis ewe too, but no it was not a ewe. I hope Shaun reserves some fresh grass for Ram Ewe's contributions. Baaaah!

The coke bottle wearing Trelawney finding love with the farmer of fertile soil, that was an unexpected twist. He better stock up now on the cooking sherry, or else she is gonna start seeing the grim during Tea time :)

Rosier backed up his talk on esoteric magic usage pretty well I thought. Lucius deserves no love there. What luck that a Dark Lord duck saved the day for that old wizard cUrmudgeon.

The Obeahman awaits, the wizarding airwaves are about to broadcast some weird radio, and I don't mean sisters.

Author's Response:

Art of alliteration! Cascade of consonance! Gearing up for your own compositions, eh?

A lot to chew on with respect to sheepnanigans. I neither confirm nor deny any innuendos.

Yes indeed -- the farmer's life may well get a bit spicier than he reckoned upon. One can only wonder how the other denizens of Mossy Bottom might cope with regular intrusion by a dizzy diviner...

So obviously it's clear that Malfoy doesn't inspire sympathy, but it's interesting that you too seem to have been swept along with an ambiguous affinity / disaffinity to Rosier. The worst type of villain is one whom it's difficult to hate.

Looking forward to the wacky airwaves!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.11.29 - 06:38PM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

Shaun is certainly heroic and Malfoy is a twit! Great action in the one - especially Shaun, Harry and Ginny taking out 3 dorkeaters! A pizza? What kind? I prefer pepperoni, italian sausage, spinach, black olive and mushrooms! Like that Kingsley got in on the action. Too bad that rat Pettigrew got lucky again! What do marigold muffins tast like and what kind of jam goes with them? I'm sorry I missed that dinner and Ginny's revenge -- Hee Hee! Thanks for the fantastic story! BTW, what kind of tea goes best with those muffins? :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

Yes, good old Lucy! Twit, odious, or just plain irritating, he's never been one to earn the sympathy of my pen...

Action indeed -- I think it came off fairly well after a few edits. Glad you enjoyed it! Just occurred to me that in each of the three stories thus far, Harry and Ginny have had a single (different) sidekick -- Dobby in Fuddle Fog, Cedric in Secrest, and this time Shaun. I wonder whom I would choose for the 4th and final story? Luna perhaps?

Well, if it was truly a pizza being delivered by a werewolf, I expect that it would be all meat; hold the cheese, tomato and crust...

Excellent questions regarding the Marigold muffins! I assume, since Marigold is a savoury seasoning, that you might want to have a spicy chutney with the muffins, and serve with Russian Caravan. Maybe a strong Martini to chase it all down... Or maybe I'll just skip to the Martini...

Thank you so very much for challenging my intellect, Cosmo!



Reviewer: Charly42 Signed Date: 2016.11.29 - 04:58PM Title: Barn Brawl

starstarstarstarstar

Great story
very well done I enjoyed it very much


Author's Response:

Hey Kor -- wonderful to hear from you again!

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed the story!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2016.11.25 - 08:30AM Title: The Sheep and Teddy Bear Affair

starstarstarstarstar

I love this story. It is so funny! And it has an excellent pace.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for saying that about the pacing!

This third chapter contains what, to my own very fallible memory, seems to be the only real chase scene that I recall either in HP canon or HP fanfic (although Fantastic Beasts seems to have at least one; surely Brennus had a chase or two in there somewhere too). Anyway, they're a bit tricky to write -- how to make them 'seem' bewildering, without actually bewildering the readers...

Anyway, I'm immensely gratified that you've been enjoying the little tale!



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2016.11.21 - 10:21AM Title: The Sheep and Teddy Bear Affair

starstarstarstarstar

As always, nicely done!

Just a side note: I certainly agree with tasteless clover, good point here.

Author's Response:

Hey, it's great to hear from you Aimless! Hope life has been treating you well!

Thank you very much for the kind words. Now I just need to buckled down and complete the final chapter!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.11.20 - 07:08AM Title: The Sheep and Teddy Bear Affair

starstarstarstarstar

Many thanks for another brilliant instalment that was rather instructive, too.

I hadn't expected that the Room of Requirement even meets the wishes of an animal. However, it is rather rude of the RoR to produce tasteless clover for the poor doggie, when it even provides a candlelight dinner for humans, or better wizards and witches, if they wish.

It’s been a great idea to link this story to the Chamber of Secrɘst. I'd to go back to check on the diary thief because I'd completely forgotten about him.

Dammed Pettigrew, it wouldn't have hurt if he'd popped up with his teddy bear a few minutes later, wouldn't it? It's just another reason why I will never like him.

The Hermione in me says that the story isn't over yet, and that some rules will still be broken before everything is told.


Author's Response:

You are most welcome; always wonderful to have your feedback!

So, those are good points/questions about the Room of Requirement. I'm assuming that if the room works equally well for humans and house elves, it must be keyed to sentience. I think it may have been a stretch for the room to turn from night today like that, however one thing I couldn't get away with canonically was providing 'real' food, due to Gamp's Law of Elemental Transfiguration. A lot of fanfics have turned the room into a romantic get-away, but I take my cue from DH, where Dumbledore's Army was forced to rely on a tunnel to the Hogshead for food. So, a great resource, but one with a few limitations.

And yes, this story is intimately tied to Secrest and Fuddle Fog -- they contain a lot of the back story and character development this story relies on. Been a while since I wrote Secrest, though; hope you don't re-reading :)

Yes, damned Pettigrew. Rowling may have given him some mitigating qualities, but I don't think you'll see much charity from me. This story already has enough ambiguity, and I'm afraid I have never much liked rats.

Well, I can certainly applaud the Hermione in you for acuity. Neither the proverbial 'fat lady' nor the portrait version have yet sung, and when either of them do so, I think some eyebrows may be ever-so-slightly raised at the antics yet to come ;)

Thank you for another fine review!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.11.18 - 06:41AM Title: The Sheep and Teddy Bear Affair

starstarstarstarstar

Love the way Professor Lupin has been brought into this story! He has always been one of my favorite Hogwarts teachers. Harry, Ginny, and Luna have pieced so much of the problem together, and of course with Lupin's help, have sent the sheep home. I'm thinking about Luna's dream and wondering what state of existence Voldemort currently enjoys and what Peter will do next. It's a shame Lupin didn't recognize him, though given the circumstances, he can hardly be faulted for that. Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Lots of good points in a fine, cracking review!

For those of you keeping score, Lupin is actually the first non-villainous adult to have a non-sneezing role in this AU. He will be joined in the next chapter, though, by the hitherto unidentified figure alluded to several times in this series only as an Auror.

More light will indeed be shed upon both V-mort and on Pettigrew' machination.

And, with that, back to editing. Thank you very much for the illuminating thoughts, Kimberly!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.11.17 - 08:00PM Title: The Sheep and Teddy Bear Affair

starstarstarstarhalf-star

If Shaun was sheared and the wool was made into a cardigan for Lupin, would he be a werewolf in sheep's clothing? Actually, I thought Lupin was being a bit obtuse in this chapter. It all makes me smile anyway.

Author's Response:

Indeed, Shaun need not be shorn for Lupin to be a werewolf in sheep's clothing! All that faded tweed, after all, is hardly brushed from hippogriffs.

Yes, I have to admit that the new DADA professor is not quite at his best in this chapter. In part I think this is all a very sudden transition for the old fellow, and perhaps too soon after a full moon, but also I believe that the capers that H&G find themselves in likely seem a bit baffling to most adults.

Either way, thank you very much for the witty review!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2016.11.17 - 07:29PM Title: The Sheep and Teddy Bear Affair

starstarstarstarstar

Another humdinger of a chapter! Glad to know I can converse with Luna in Sheepish! Great to see Remus show up in this saga and save the port bear! I was hoping he'd catch Pettigrew tho! Oh cripes -- I about fell out of my chair laughing reading that bit about Lavender's gastric distress and belch paste! (BTW, do you know if WWW still has belch paste in stock? Sounds like a lot of fun!) For some reason this chapter made me miss my own teddy bear Yogi who I had from age 5 to 11 when I passed him along to my little brother who was 3 at the time! Glad Shawn apparentlly made it back to wherever he went! Can't wait for the finale! BTW, do ducks speak duckish or quackish? :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response:

Last things first, ducks and geese both speak variants of the ancient tongue known as Fowlish. The duck dialect, Qvackese, is almost unintelligible to geese and swans, however. AFAIK the only non-ducks who understand the obscure Qvackese phrases R texters.

Pettigrew got away! Yes, in this AU there seem to be only two types of vilians -- those who always get caught, and those who always get away. The rat may prove to be a slippery one.

Regarding the Belch Paste -- yes and no. The paste is a hyperconcentrated form of belch powder, which is definitely still available over the counter. Unfortunately, the paste has a nasty habit of blowing up -- the purification process is risky, but it's also been known to go off on the shelf (scares the Pygmy Puffs, to say the least) and has potentially deadly effects when mixed with citrus. So beware!

Oi! Now I'm missing your dear little Yogi too. I must be touched in the head.



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2016.11.16 - 04:20PM Title: Liars, Losers, Ferret, Rat

starstarstarstarstar

That's brilliant. Sibila, Luna, and Ginny are deliciously funy. Eager to see where this goes.

Author's Response:

Oh good -- I'm glad to hear you enjoy it, Silvia!

It's been fun to write, even if I've spent forever editing it. Silly perfectionism perhaps, but each story I've written here, I've tried to improve over previous ones. This may be my last new one, so I'm hoping to go out on the right note.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.11.14 - 12:06PM Title: Liars, Losers, Ferret, Rat

starstarstarstarstar

You didn't think I was going to not respond with a review did you? (That reminds me I need to go visit my good friend Brennus's last story...sorry Mark)

OK, so I was reflecting yesterday as I was doing a menial task, and it occurred to me that you have taken a small joke and grown it into a tree. You tilled the soil, and watered it diligently. The tree has now been chopped up, made into burning woood and set ablaze. Good times.

If I may comment upon the italicized subject matter in all of your writing:

Thanks for considering my comment.

So the duck Lord is still at large somewhere and the sheep has/have(heh) found a safe space.

Who stole Trelawney's 'cooking' sherry anyway?



Author's Response:

Ha -- beautiful analogy! Yes, you're right that this grew out of some silly banter in the review space of one of my other stories. One never knows where such things will come from!

Yes, the duck is still at large and will continue to lurk ominously in the background for some time... I hope that builds suspense in the way that only a sinister duck can!

Much of that bottle of sherry, most dreadfully, ended up in Harry's, Ginny's and Hermione's tea in place of, well, tea. It does not mix well -- a fact I know from unpleasant experience.

Thank you most kindly for the review!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.11.13 - 04:18AM Title: Liars, Losers, Ferret, Rat

I figured that a pitcher of eggnog would be too much, and Pimms would be just right when they sit next to a cosy, warm fire. Oh, and I'd thought you were ordering the pitcher when you meet the girls to talk about their roles in chapter three, and just send me the bill. ;-)
I could imagine that Hermione's company could be very amusing when she's a wee bit relaxed after having a pitcher, or two, don’t you think? I guess you would get to know her from a very different angle, lol.

Take care,
Martin

Author's Response:

No no no -- I haven't the fortitude to face them three on one. I shall require your presence at the very least :)

I wonder if anyone on fanfic has ever gotten Hermione to *relax* with a pitcher? I'm not aware of it, but I'd bet that the result might truly be enlightening!

Hmmm....



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.11.12 - 03:34PM Title: Liars, Losers, Ferret, Rat

starstarstarstarstar

Apparently, I was back on the wrong track. My suspicion was that Malfoy is an Animagus, a sheep, just like the famous wolf in sheep's clothing. It seemed like a good guess because he's blonde, too. And I thought who knows if Trelawney can distinguish a wolf from a doggie. And when Lucius came up the stairs it turned out to be a red herring. I guess I've wronged Shaun, probably just because I don't know him. I'm deeply sorry for that.

The girls were simply brilliant, all of them. Please let them have a pitcher of Pimms on me.

Many thanks for another brilliant piece of fun. I can hardly wait for the next one.

Author's Response:

Ah, no need to apologise to Shaun, as I'm sure he would have found your theory interesting (if a bit amusing). Indeed, some of your intimations flatter me as they suggest an authour devious than I can truly claim. If you're capable of such plot twists yourself, you ought to honour us with a story!

I'm so very heartened that you cite all of the girls! Luna has been ascendant, and Ginny had her first big moment in a while, but I'm very fond of Hermione in this story too. No, I would not want to share a long train ride with her, but she has been integral to the humour, and that can be a very thankless role. Until you came along, that is!

A bit chilly for Pimms these days, but it keeps well, and I'm sure they'll enjoy it come April. Are you sure, Martin, that you can handle being at the same table as those three girls and a pitcher of Pimms? Rather adventuresome, eh?

Thank you for a scintillating review!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.11.11 - 06:27AM Title: Liars, Losers, Ferret, Rat

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, my goodness! Your Ginny is frighteningly brilliant in this chapter. The way she set up Dean was impressive, but rather horrible of her. I can well imagine Neville trying to keep the peace in the boys' dormitory as Seamus and Dean square off against each other, as well as his relief when Harry and Ron show up! Luna has some great lines here. The way her mind works and the quickness of her thinking to get rid of Lucius was excellent. So, the sheep's toy is a Portkey, hmmm... I'm very curious to read the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Ah yes, it's quite true that our little redhead is no saint in this story. Fuddle Fog was a highly prankish story, and I think she took some delight in baiting Tommy in Chamber of Secrest. It is also true that Harry is sometimes left to clean up after some of her prize indiscretions... but no matter there -- he's obviously mad about her. Mad, in a Noel Coward sense.

Yes, Luna did rather rise up to take ownership of this chapter, didn't she? As I mentioned earlier, she kind of fades from the scene mid-way through chapter 3, but I promise to bring her back for the final story!

Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review, M&A!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear