Search:

SIYE Time:4:20 on 23rd November 2017


Reviewer: StarFeather Signed Date: 2017.03.28 - 11:53AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

I enjoyed Snape's and Harry's duelling with Crouch. So many action scenes. I love it. Nice descriptions of the golden egg and the Invisibility Claok.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'd love to hear from you for the remaining chapters :)



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.02.04 - 09:58AM Title: A Midnight Duel

Dum dum dum. Dum dum dum dummmmmmmm.....kutgw



Reviewer: BrianMcLyr Signed Date: 2016.12.18 - 12:31AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A nice simple single divergence with potentially major consequences: I like it

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2016.11.17 - 09:49AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I can see a lot of potential in this story. Little change, but possibly a "large" outcome. I don't usually read "what if" stories where author change a lot of things concerning Harry, but repeats the same events - makes no sense. We shall see whar becomes of this story, so I'll save my opinion for later. So far I like the start.

I do have a question though: Dumbledor tells Harry that Crouch impersonated Moody and responsible for Harry been in tournament. Isn't it a bit too fast conclusion on his part? We know that he's right, but shouldn't the first checked that Moody is indeed not in his quarters? For all they know Moody is in Hogwarts and Crouch somehow managed to infiltrate Hogwarts, maybd just recently. They could guess about Polyjuce, but without checking they couldn't tell, maybe it was sone student that Crouch used.

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad I managed to catch your attention. Hopefully I can keep it till the end of this :) I like to think that Dumbledore had his suspicions, but he couldn't go and accuse the fake Moody without evidence - solid infallible evidence. One would argue that he had nothing to lose - Alastor Moody was too good a friend to take anything like that as offence, but Dumbledore's nature of believing the best of people might not have helped in canon. Here, he instantly connects the dots. Bear in mind, he was aware of Frank's death, and realized the significance of Bertha's death - the timing and place of her disappearance would have been a bit too close for comfort.



Reviewer: dronvire Signed Date: 2016.11.09 - 04:53AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstar

Well written. (But why right-hand elbow instead of just right elbow?)

Author's Response: Thank you! Ah well, a quirk of mine - I tend to get too detailed at some points :P In my defence, it isn't wrong, not technically anyway (I hope) :P



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.11.08 - 10:21AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

This...THIS!!!!!

Wow!

I have not been as excited for a story in such a long time. This was just brilliant. In the past I have read many stories that change certain events and go on to be AU but for the most part they usually begin after CoS or just after OotP. This is the first time I have read a story where it picks up straight from the books and just the smallest change leads the story to a whole chain of events that will undoubtedly move away from the canon events we know and love.

I am very impressed here. I do not say this a lot but your style reminds me so much of JK Rowling. You could be her for all I know.

What I love most is how you kept everyone pretty much in character. I just love that so much. As much as I love the many fics out there after some time the character bashing just gets tiring.

I cant wait to see what happens next. Please keep on. This is just... BRILLIANT!

Author's Response: Wow, goodness. I am but a novice in this trade that is termed as writing, so to get such reviews is an uplifting, and yet a humbling experience. Thank you! Thank you so much, for your kind, wonderful words :) Does it now? Mind you, I've had two different people say the same thing - that my style is like that of JKR - and one of those comparisons was not a compliment :P Me thinks your review is a compliment - and a big one at that - so I shall thank you once again for it :D I assure you, though: I am not her. Your wish might come true sooner than you think. Chapter 2 will be up in half an hour :)



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2016.11.08 - 10:20AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

Oh what a fabulous start to the story this is! I don't think this scenario is something I've ever read before - and I've read a LOT of stories - so I'm already looking forward to reading more.

I actually feel as though this is quite an important part where, for all his hatred of Harry, Snape had to put his trust in him to do what he asked and get it rights, so it'll be interesting to see how things develop on from that too. :)

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much! :) I'm sure there might be one or two stories which have explored a similar plot line, but thanks a lot for those kind words :D You've hit the nail right on the head - this moment is definitely crucial. Snape finally realizes that Harry isn't the person he makes him out to be, but is something different. How different...well, let's see.



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2016.11.08 - 10:13AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

Love these 'what if...' stories. Can't wait for more.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Hi there! :) Thank you so much! :) I look forward to your reviews for future chapters! Cheers!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2016.11.08 - 03:36AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

Nice start, I enjoyed your narrative.

Author's Response: Thank you :) Hope to see your reviews for future chapters as well.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.11.08 - 02:54AM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, action packed beginning to this story! I'm very eager to read what will happen next. Severus and Harry working together to subdue young Barty Crouch was amazing. Now that Albus has worked out the basics in his mind, it will be interesting to see how he responds. The map is certainly no longer a secret, and the second task of the tournament is rapidly approaching. Looking forward to your next chapter!

Author's Response: The Map not being a secret - well, yes, Dumbledore does find out about the Map at the end of GoF in canon - I've just advanced it to the start of the second term :) I'm glad you liked it so far - thank you for your review :) Please do read chapter 2, which will be up soon.



Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2016.11.08 - 12:05AM Title: A Midnight Duel

Lovely start, so far. It's exciting, a fun twist on an old tale! Wonderfully written so far.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review - I'm glad you liked it :) Make sure you look out for the second chapter - likely to be up tonight (GMT + 8 that is) :)



Reviewer: MrsAlphardBlack Signed Date: 2016.11.07 - 09:43PM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

This is amazing! I haven't been this excited about a new story since Brennus made an appearance.
I love the way you are playing with imagery and character interactions. I look forward to the subsequent chapters.

Author's Response: MrsAlphardBlack - You have no idea how much it means to me - a novice writer - to be put in the same bracket as Brennus (assuming that that was the intention of your statement :P). I have not had the chance to fully read his stories, but his writing and creativity is unbelievable. And for that, I thank you, wholeheartedly :) I was a bit apprehensive about the interactions here - they don't really talk much, but more of gestures and body language. I'm glad you liked this - makes me feel that the next chapters might just be well received :) Thanks once again for your review! Cheers :)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.11.07 - 03:40PM Title: A Midnight Duel

starstarstarstarstar

This is a really brilliant idea which opens a lot of possibilities to change a lot of things in the future, not just the further course of the TWT, but even Harry's relationship with Snape. I loved it!

And by the way, I'm glad you managed to post this on Siye.

Author's Response: Hey there :) Thank you so much for your review. You seem to have an uncanny knack of convincing people (hint: new Dark Lord in the making :P) but I'm glad I listened to you this time. I agree - one of the reasons I chose this plot twist was the scope it offered, and all with a single miss of a trick step :P You don't get that opportunity in any other part of the books. Things may be different in Year 4, or not, but they will surely change in Year 5. Thanks once again for your kind words. Look forward to seeing your comments on future chapters :)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear