Search:

SIYE Time:4:19 on 23rd November 2017


Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2017.03.06 - 11:58AM Title: The Second Task

starstarstarstarstar

Intriguing take of the second task.
I believe that Ginny was the right choice as bait, even though Harry probably isn't yet aware of it. But he's very close.
I'm looking forward to reading the next instalment.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm assuming you've already the next chapter - if not, please do read Chapter 8.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.03.05 - 05:49PM Title: The Second Task

starstarstarstarstar

The description of the weather in Scotland was spot-on this time!

Brilliant description of the underwater world in the Black lake. I was quite impressed. I wonder if you're a diver.

Oh-wow, you did it. I really didn't expect it. I loved it.
I was always wondering who is selecting the baits for the champions. It's certainly neither the champions themselves nor is it Dumbledore. Probably a mysterious magical artefact that knows things about Harry he himself hasn't recognized yet.

I'm looking forward to Ginny's probing question of why she was what Harry sorely missed. Well, and Ron's question how it came that Harry would miss Ginny more than him. In case Ron will ever realize it, lol.

Have I ever said that I like your Neville? Even if I always forget it, I like him.

Great chapter! I loved it!

P.S. Of course, I do know that the before mentioned magical artefact is the author, lol

Author's Response: I'm no diver - I just saw a few pictures of underwater places, along with my memories to underwater aquariums when I was a kid. Of course, JKR's description of the lake was helpful too! :) The selection of the hostages is actually done by the Heads of the three schools for their students - so it is Dumbledore.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.03.04 - 02:16PM Title: The Second Task

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A load of action chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.03.03 - 05:00PM Title: The Second Task

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, Harry! His "saving people" thing is ever present. Hopefully, he will get first place since his hostage was clearly the first to be rescued. I'm curious to see how the Weasley family reacts to Ginny being what Harry would miss the most.

Author's Response: The Weasley family - good point :P I haven't factored in their reactions at all - of those in the school, Ron's reaction will be known. Fred and George - well, they're not too bothered :D Should they be?



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.03.02 - 09:44PM Title: The Second Task

Oh harry at lease you didnt waste time finding your way to the village....now fluer and gabriale will be in your dubt.....kutgw



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2017.03.02 - 08:55PM Title: The Second Task

starstarstarstarstar

"
Bugger, he thought as he stared at the rock. He had been relying on this spell to work, so much so that he had not thought to trace his underwater route from his starting point. How was he to come back to the same spot now? He had no idea how he had reached here in the first place. And with another unpleasant jolt, he realized that even if he did track back and map out his course to the rock, there was no guarantee that the second task would start in the same place as where he had begun earlier that morning;"

Haha... that was literally what I was thinking as I was reading this part.

I am curious though... why did you decide on having Ginny be the one thing he missed the most? For the most part even though he has been interacting with her more than in canon he is still not quite there yet. Or at least THEY are not quite there yet. I don't think it is bad that you chose Ginny but it just has me curious. Hermione at this point in the story would have more of a reason to be down there (for Harry not Krum) than Ginny.

It doesn't take away from the overall story but its just something that came to mind.

I was afraid that Harry would still take the task too seriously. It seems that despite the extra time he had to prepare he still fell into the same trap as in the books. The boy has a Hero complex. That is one thing I always did dislike about Harry. He tends to react more to his feelings than to step back and think first.

Either way... I am curious to see what happens next. I have no doubt he will come in first place.

Author's Response: I put Ginny there because I could :P Okay no, she's not just a convenient plot device. I've left out two weeks of interaction between Harry and Ginny before the second task - they've grown a lot closer. It was evident how they cared for each other - maybe Dumbledore just wanted to give them a nudge in the right direction :P Yes he does have a hero complex, but this time it was quite justified, as you might have noticed from Chapter 8.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2017.03.02 - 06:50PM Title: The Second Task

starstarstarstarstar

Despite his preparations this time, in the end this task was actually a bit more dramatic than the books. Hopefully Harry will be back on his feet soon!

Author's Response: I think he already is :)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear