Search:

SIYE Time:8:08 on 16th July 2018

Reviews For A Proper Epilogue

Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.06.13 - 03:34PM Title: Chapter 22 - Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

Leave it to Ginny to end with a bang! Nicely done! It took me a while to get back, but it was so worth the wait! You've left plenty of trails to continue in any direction you wish - so very nicely done. You're done a nice job with Pansy - whom I still can't warm up to, but I thought you wrote her very convincingly. Love the thought of Ron still jumping in front of Harry. I, too, believe that protective streak is strong in him, and extends easily to both Harry and Hermione after all they went through.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! You know, I never intended for this story to include Pansy’s redemption. She did it all on her own ... starting with the Slytherin streak for self-preservation, but then she began to develop a conscience! LOL ! I believe this came about because I was so determined NOT to redeem Draco. I am so sick of reading stories that involve his redemption, including, but not limited to, pairings with either Ginny or Hermione! At best, Draco is a self-absorbed coward. At worst, he tried to destroy the salvation of the wizard in world! All because he is so revoltingly smug and completely lacking a moral compass! Anyway, thank you for your thorough reviews,



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.03.30 - 10:05PM Title: Chapter 20 - Restoring Order Out of Chaos

Well, after too long, I finally managed to sneak in another chapter! It hasn't been lack of trying - I have 3 weeks left in my busy season and it's been insane, but this one is at the top of my reading list. This was an action packed chapter! Leave it to Dawlish to muck it up. I couldn't shake the nagging feeling that Malfoy was back at the Burrow. It really disturbed me! I like that Harry and Ginny have decided to live somewhere other than Godric's Hollow. Even if Harry doesn't remember it, I think it would be hard to live where someone was murdered so violently, never mind his own parents. I think this is a much better option. Diana Parkinson escaped though, so that means there is more danger to come. I loved Ron in his chapter and how he knew exactly what Harry was thinking. Well done!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.03.17 - 01:37PM Title: Chapter 22 - Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, and finally I wrap it up! I love the poignant twist; I kind of saw it coming, but that didn't diminish for the the power of the message. A 'proper' epilogue it was indeed! Well done!

Author's Response: Yes, the conclusion was telegraphed a bit. I was trying so hard to stick with the canon, but Jo kept throwing things out for our edification and consternation! Anyway, I had fun making people think it was AU when it was, at the time at least, canon compliant! Thank you for all the time, effort, and reviews. It means a lot when someone as gifted as you will take the time to give feedback!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.02.15 - 12:02PM Title: Chapter 19 - Puzzle Pieces (or Deus ex Machina?)

Ooh, I love the intrigue! Love the idea of the Death Eater wives seizing control and attempting to run things. I find them far more imposing than their husbands! Cissy can hold her own with Kingsley, but I'd really love to see Draco survive a night in Ministry lock up. Now that would be an amusing read!

Author's Response: Maybe I am missing something in real life, but the males of our species who turn to bullying and intimidation by force are rarely very complex or sophisticated, relying instead on brute force. But the women are another matter, entirely! I’m so glad this struck a chord. I hope my next story can further investigate this idea! After all, power in the Wizarding World does not reside in testosterone or in the Y chromosome! I find that possibility fascinating!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.02.14 - 11:43AM Title: Chapter 15 - St. Mungo's

Oh, such a sad, sad chapter. Even though I was less than thrilled with them having a baby, this isn't something I'd wish on my worst enemy. So sad. What I adored about it, however, is that you had Ron and Hermione there to share Harry's grief. They are such a hugely important part of his life, and so many of us H/G fans tend to forget that. They are his family, and it seemed so right he'd turn to them. In the same vein, I love that it was Molly who is there for Ginny. Molly will always be her mum, and I really, really appreciate the acknowledgement of these others in our young couples lives. Harry's life is still in danger. There's no doubt others who think as Lucius, and hopefully Harry will realize he can do more good hunting them down than returning to school.

Author's Response: I am so glad you were pleased with my choices for primary support groups in this chapter. Ginny will forever be Harry’s greatest source of comfort, just as she will forever be the only person to have shared the darkness of Tom’s intimate presence, but I felt each needed an opportunity to ground their emotions before they could help one another. For Harry, the obvious choice was to turn back inside the trio. For Ginny, the last Weasley to leave Home and only female child, only Molly would do. Thank you for your lovely, insightful reviews and for sharing your stories with us!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.02.14 - 09:49AM Title: Chapter 13 - The Wedding

That was an action packed chapter! I'm really intrigued by how you have so many stories going simultaneously, and yet they all fit together. How do you keep track of all the details? Do you keep a notes page? I see this story with two main arcs - the love story and the action story. On the action side, I love the arrogance you portray from the Malfoys. Lucius is so unaware, it's painful, yet fun to read. I can't believe you had me cheer for Pansy Parkinson, who I really don't like. You give her more compassion, and I love how the Slytherin side of self preservation still shines through. In my mind, the wedding is happening a year later simply because of my own hang-ups with married students, but it works for me. My most favorite part of this whole chapter? The scene of the developing friendship between George and Dudley. I think it's really well done. I haven't seen it before, and that in itself is a feat in fanfiction!

Author's Response: So sorry I didn't respond to this in real time! Thank you so much! Yes, I keep a notes tag so I know where each thread is at all times, but often I have to re-read the details to keep from mucking things up too bad!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.02.13 - 07:32PM Title: Chapter 11 - Exploration and Discovery

I can't help but feel bad for Molly in this one. Only one daughter to spend a lifetime dreaming about her wedding to be foiled at every turn. I know it's Ginny's wedding, but my heart aches for Molly :(



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.02.10 - 03:34PM Title: Chapter 9 - Divergent Reunions

Ah - thanks for the break! Its my busy season in real life, so I can only get in scattered moments to read, and this was pleasant. I love Ron on a plane. I think the only thing I'd like to see more is Arthur on a plane, lol. Hermione's house elf tirades still bug me - they did in canon, too. I don't think she ever bothered to see things from their POV rather than her own. I tend to think Kreacher shouldn't be freed because it would kill him. He needs dignity and respect, but his pride come in working.

I liked them asking Dudley to the wedding - I hope he goes. I wonder what Petunia would've done if there were really letters like that? Sadly, I think she would've binned them, but it's nice to have Harry get a piece of his mother to hold.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.02.03 - 10:22AM Title: Chapter 21 - And Two Shall Become One

starstarstarstarstar

Ah yes -- after the action, stress and tumult, a long-deserved respite! Nicely written!

Author's Response: Thank you for all your insightful reviews! I am anxious to get back to your new story, but real life keeps interfering.



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.01.26 - 08:59PM Title: Chapter 6 - Unwelcome Arrivals

Okay, besides the obvious joy I took in seeing Ginny hex Malfoy - I have to give you props on how well you incorporate the Slytherins into the story. I always struggle wihen writing them in making them sound right, and you seem to do it effortlessly. I firmly believe Lucius should have to go back to Azkaban, if not for his DE status, than at least for the punishment he was serving before he excepted.. Well done, and I'm eager to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I had so much fun writing Lucius and, to a lesser extent, Draco! Maybe it came easily to me because there is a stubborn streak of Slytherins hiding inside!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.01.26 - 12:47PM Title: Chapter 5 - With All That I Am and All that I Have

I love, love, love, love your Molly and Arthur. They're the parents Harry needs, and I find myself wanting to reach into the story and hug them. Your description of George breaks my heart. Of all the characters, he's the one I worry most about post-canon. I have to admit - I'm one of those who believes Harry did do the right thing in leaving Ginny' behind, so I balk a bit at the suggestion he needs to apologize for it. Ginny was underage. The Trace would've had them caught before they'd even begun because I don't believe she'd be able to not act when one of them was in danger. Who could? I think the results would've been a disaster. While I think she's his greatest comfort, he didn't need comfort - he needed to do his job. I also don't think Hogwarts was easy, but again, not his fault she was there. There was no place easy until Voldemort was destroyed. That's my .02 on it, anyway.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! I confess to the guilty pleasure of reading about Molly flying off the rails in protest of Ginny's love for Harry, but in all honesty, I could never see JKR's Molly Weasley behaving that way. I have always tried to tell my girls (no boys) that there is NOTHING they can do that would EVER cause me not to love them. Thanks for your understanding and support. As for Harry leaving Ginny behind, I agree. Me had no alternative, although he could have done a better job of explaining things! I don't think Harry needed to apologize, but I think Harry would think he did! Does that make sense?



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.01.25 - 12:54PM Title: Chapter 3 - Embracing Memories

Really neat idea for Harry to explain through Pensieve memories. I'm so happy with this story that Ginny accepted the enormity of the situation for what it was. I find stories where she holds what he had to do against him as so petty. Ginny doesn't seem like the kind of girl who'd waste a second chance. I was waiting for the memory of Harry himself being possessed at the Ministry. Any insight for me on why you decided not to share that one - purely for my own curiosity?

My favorite part of this chapter was Ginny's understanding that despite everything he's done, Harry still needs reassurance about her. I love how well she knows him. Well done!

Author's Response: It was extremely hard to decide which memories yo review and which ones to skip. My thoughts were driven by things that (a) Harry would think underspend able to her knowledge, and, (b) items that would seem most favorable to gaining her understanding and forgiveness of his decision to go off without her. He is so shaken and, quite frankly, desperate to KNOW he is in her good graces. The joint experience of possession was, I thought, adequately covered by the Horcrux revelation. You may well disagree! LOL!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.01.24 - 08:20PM Title: Chapter 2 - All Manner of Surprises

Okay, I'm having an adult breverage while I sit on my couch with your story, and when I reached the part where Molly promises never to yell at her kids again and then finds Ron and Hermione and promptly yells, I spit on my Ipod, lol. It was perfect and delightful and so very much both in character and a good mom reaction Well done!

I'm really intrigued by your inclusion of the Malfoys. Lucius seems very much like the Lucius of previous books, and his words are chilling. I wonder if Draco and Narcissa will go along with his plans this time.

Okay, canon question answered as Harry has decided to stay at Hogwarts, as well. I'm wondering how you'll handle a teacher not much older than his students. Looking forward to finding out.

Author's Response: You've made my day! Thank you! I just couldn't resist taking Molly on that ride which most of us who are parents have experienced all too often. The best of intentions can rarely endure all the challenges we end up facing!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.01.24 - 07:27PM Title: Chapter 1 - Unforseen Options

Okay - I noticed in your review that you were writing a post Battle story, and I hadn't seen this one. I try not to read while writing, but since mine is done... here we go! I'm guessing this one won't follow canon exactly (judging by Ron going back to school), but it mostly seems there. I appreciate all the details you put in, and your writing is clear and easy to follow, which I always appreciate.

Poor Harry. He has to be so exhausted at this point, and the bang on the head concerns me. It was mentioned twice - and that has me on alert that there might be more to it. I know it's the mom in me, but I cringe at the teenage engagement. I love these two together... I just wish they'd have the opportunity to be young and carefree first. I'm eager to see what you have planned for us!

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to look at this, and for leaving your thoughts! I share at least two of your concerns ... As a father of five, I absolutely hate head injuries and confess, as you will soon see, this was never meant to develop into a significant plot point. I just can't go there! Teenage engagements ... Yes, that's difficult for me, but after what Harry and Ginny endured, I just didn't see a long, drawn out relationship of separation punctuated by chaste kisses. My biggest concern is Harry's complete lack of experience with the opposite sex! Whatever he had with Cho was a big nothing burger! As for canon compliance, there are some missteps here and there, but my goal is to, more or less, get back into Jo's world.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2017.12.03 - 07:44AM Title: Chapter 20 - Restoring Order Out of Chaos

starstarstarstarstar

To say this chapter is 'wild' is almost a bit of an understatement. I had been shaking my head through the first half over some jarring shifts in pace, but that set things well for the disorienting buzz of the operation clattering into a half-failed, barely averted full disaster. When the dust settled, it was definitely worth 'five-stars' for effect. My one constructive criticism here is that Harry's Dawlish reticence would have had greater impact if you had introduced the controversy/anxiety earlier -- perhaps back a chapter or more. A plot set-up works best when the set-up has had time to 'set'.

Anyway, good action writing is very difficult, but you turned a few fine tricks here!



Author's Response: Your observation about Dawlish is an excellent suggestion. It may be the result of projection on my part, but I always felt JKR wrote Dawlish as a deeply morally ambiguous person. Nevertheless, it would have been an improvement to acknowledge that within the story, itself, rather than assuming everyone else would have the same reaction. Sirius was correct; the world is more complex than pure goodness versus pure evil.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2017.11.21 - 10:56AM Title: Chapter 19 - Puzzle Pieces (or Deus ex Machina?)

starstarstarstarstar

First of all, I hope you're not offended I'm taking forever to make my way through the story! It's a fascinating tale; just that my free time often now gets taken up with site issues and whatnot.

Anyway, the 'story after the story' construct in your Epilogue seems more intriguingly tangled than the first part -- lots of cloak and dagger! Pansy herself, however, is so very not-cloak-and-dagger. An interesting tragic heroine.

Anyway hope all's well. With luck, I should be popping back into your review space again soon!



Author's Response: Greetings! I am in no way offended. To the contrary, I am pleased and honored that you are spending this much time on my story. Thank you. Now, I think I need to review this chapter in order to understand your comments!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2017.09.24 - 07:14AM Title: Chapter 18 - Embracing Realities

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting back story to Florian Fortescue! I did a bit of scouting to see what canonical explanation for the oddly detailed yet negligent way he was handled in the books and discovered that he was indeed being groomed for a key role in DH, but the plot wandered elsewhere. Your rehabilitation of his story is more satisfying.

I very much enjoyed key aspects of the Harry/Ginny 'equilibration' in this chapter. It is in segments like these that you are delivering on your 'proper epilogue' mandate. Good job!

I have a few nits and a couple of pickies that I will share in a PM. If they don't appear shortly, then blame the messenger :)



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2017.08.27 - 12:34PM Title: Chapter 17 - Moving Forward, Changing Plans

starstarstarstarstar

As I re-read this chapter, the phrase 'quiet desperation' echoed in my head -- the melancholy of Thoreau... and Pink Floyd of course.

There is a fair bit of quiet desperation in this story as the tragedies mount, but it is not of the 'hanging on' variety (a la Roger Waters) but rather a precursor to the "There, there. Now back on your feet." attitude that, since the Battle of Britain, has been the true 'English Way'.

I like the direct yet sensitive approach your grounded protagonists take in addressing grief and angst. It does differ from Rowling's, whose grief-therapy often involves the verbal equivalent of a swift boot (perhaps the stereotypical 'Scottish Way'? Best not to perpetuate stereotypes, though. My own relatives up yonder are very dear to me.). But no matter; many many fanfic stories take a softer line than JKR.

Hmmm... This may well take the prize for least coherent review, but ah well. Good writing. Carry on!



Author's Response: I really appreciate your reviews! Thank you! M. My family is primarily English on one side and Scotch-Irish on the other, though like most Americans, there is a dribble of this and that. After nearly three centuries here, probably the only thing we truly are is American. But I digress. I've spent my entire life living with a mixture of "There,there. Now back on your fee." And the swift kick in the ass! As a priest, I saw a lot of people who wallowed in tragedy. All things considered, I like a tender approach to the English way! I guess my writing shows that, and I hope I am not using too much projection of my own preferences onto characters who live in a culture that is different than my own! What is the old expression? Two cultures divided by a common language? Throw in Australia, and make it three. New Zealand, and call it four? Regardless, I see Harry and Ginny as both possessing the capacity to absorb tragedies and move forward, yet not without tremendous compassion between them, as a couple, as well as with their friend who have fought with them through a slice of Hell. Now, I am taking the prize for least coherent reply! Thank you, again!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2017.08.09 - 08:39AM Title: Chapter 16 - Some Stupid, Noble Reason

starstarstarstarstar

A perfect stroke of the pen to have Harry finally drive home the truth that is love...

Through much of this story you write our protagonists as the struggling teens that they, rather than the idealised icons we might wish them to be. Reality is more difficult to read than ideality, however the reward that comes with the epiphanous apparation of true sincerity makes it worth it.

One tiny quibble with Kingsley saying, "I know it seems like a lot to ask...". I believe a straight shooter of his character would say, "I know it *is* a lot to ask..."



Author's Response: I'm sort of speechless after this review! Thank you so much. This is perhaps the most meaningful review I have ever received, especially coming from someone whose writing I respect so thoroughly. Thank you so much! And, good catch on Kingsley's statement. I agree. That would have been a better decision.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2017.08.06 - 06:09PM Title: Chapter 15 - St. Mungo's

starstarstarstarstar

This chapter is a fascinating exercise in conflictedness -- healing followed by woundedness; resolution but irresolution, etc. It makes it all maddeningly real, as opposed to the nicely packaged fictions that we're so accustomed to. So, well done!

I loved Hermione's line about evil rising up to replace evil. This is a great example of Hermione's book smarts evolving into wisdom, which is a development that JKR provides a few faint hints at in books 1-6, and showed a little more in DH. Anyway, I like it, since I believe that many people who really try to learn things also learn to 'understand' things.



Author's Response: Thank you for sticking with this story! I truly appreciate your insights. I'm so glad you liked the way I had Hermione continue down the transition from knowledge to wisdom. So many stories set after Deathly Hallows have continued to write Ron, Hermione, and Molly as if none of them had evolved despite having gone through this terrible war. I just don't get it. Yes, it is fun to have an easy foil built right into the group of main characters, but it never feels right to me that Ron would remain a clueless, jealous child, Hermione would be shown as an abrasive, self-centered know-it-all, and Molly would be a shrew of a judgmental mother who insists that her daughter remain a 12-year-old. I hope I have allowed all the characters to develop, yet not become unrecognizable!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear