Search:

SIYE Time:7:48 on 25th September 2017


Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2017.05.19 - 09:34AM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

Love that Harry and Ginny spent time talking alone



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2017.03.30 - 10:54PM Title: No Pain, No Gain

starstarstar

They are acting much older than twelve and thirteen. I can't see Hermione with all of the sex jokes.

Author's Response: They're really not. I appreciate your opinion, but having grown up here, I know what we're like. We're far more vulgar than I would put on paper, and the rubbish kids of this age do here is clearly beyond what you want to accept.
As to Hermione, we have little evidence on how far her sense of humour stretches that way since Rowling wouldn't jeopardise her target audience of younger children. But she enjoyed a sex joke or two in the movies. Lighten up a bit, friend, this is supposed to be fun :)
Again, thanks for taking the time, but if you don't like this style, my stuff isn't for you. Sorry.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2017.03.30 - 10:48PM Title: First Contact

starstarstarhalf-star

Everyone seems a bit ooc. Hermione especially - suddenly great friends with Ginny, joking around, etc. Again there was a lot of content directly from the books.

Author's Response: Hermione quietly becomes friends with Ginny in canon. I have it happen more rapidly because Harry includes Ginny directly. There's no reason for them not to be friendly with each other openly, especially since Hermione supports helping her recover, and they've already spent time together at the Cauldron anyway. It's said nowhere that they have a deep and trusting relationship.
I'm getting the impression from these criticisms that you're not a fan of my style :D I'm afraid everything will be like this. The characters are all a bit OOC (as with any fanfic that isn't missing moments, really). In my case because I tend to draw them as more age-appropriate characters, and I emphasise banter and humour because, firstly, I enjoy the feel-good element, and secondly, these are kids at school. I want to paint them that way.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2017.03.30 - 10:41PM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstar

I like the idea of Harry helping Ginny so soon after the Chamber. The middle was straight from the books - it might be better to summarize. At the very least the book and page numbers should be referenced. I'm a bit surprised Hermione just blurted out she's taking all of the classes. I thought she was sworn to secrecy about the time turner, how will she do that if they know she's in two places at once.

Author's Response: I always felt the alternative was a little odd, especially with Hermione's influence.
It's difficult to add flavour if you just skip over things, but I appreciate the point. I cut the word count of that part by about half, intending to maintain pace and reset the scene, including a nod to this Harry not having completely ignored Ginny. I probably should have rewritten it, but time was short. Sorry.
Why wouldn't she? She tells them freely about all the classes she's taking, and Ron spots the problem with her timetable on their first day. She knows they can add. Kind of confused whether the criticism lies with me, Rowling or Hermione.
Either way, thanks for the review.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.03.29 - 08:53PM Title: A Happy Memory

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoyed this story!

Author's Response: I'm glad, cheers :)



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.03.29 - 08:52PM Title: No Pain, No Gain

starstarstarstarstar

So many great conversations in this chapter! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you :)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.03.28 - 06:43AM Title: A Happy Memory

starstarstarstarstar

Iím with Ginny regarding her choice of the happiest moment. Whenever I read a fanfiction story where Harry stopped Ron from pushing Ginny away at the Hogwarts Express, itís a really happy moment for me.

When I read the books the very first time, it was just a tiny scene, very soon forgotten. It wasn't until I reread PoA when I realized what an important scene it was, regarding the consequences of Ron's jealousy and his refusal to share his friends with his sister. It was the moment Ron lost the status as one of my favourite characters.

Great story. I loved it.


Author's Response: There are more?? Can you PM me some recs? I was upset because I thought it hadn't been done, it was one of my biggest frustrations with the series.
Thanks, glad you enjoyed it :)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.03.28 - 06:37AM Title: No Pain, No Gain

starstarstarstarstar

The two of them are quite the team in the having fun department. Working out and flying together are certainly good ideas to let their friendship grow, besides that they'll train together.

I just hope the two of them will soon let the twins know that their relationship is a no-fly zone for them, lol.

Author's Response: Heh, that would be another story :D Might do that actually...
Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.03.14 - 12:51AM Title: First Contact

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! Love all of the light hearted banter! Trelawney really was rather horrid to predict the death of a student every year.

Author's Response: Thanks :) Yeah, I can only imagine the conversations when some of these students tell their parents she's told them they're going to die. Smells like trouble to me. Or maybe she just picks on orphans. Who knows?



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.03.13 - 12:03PM Title: First Contact

Ah there the ginny we all know and love....and ron is starting a little early on the i hate harry routine....kutgw

Author's Response: Heh, he's just being Ron :) Cheers!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.03.13 - 11:34AM Title: First Contact

starstarstarstarstar

The usually so moody Harry seems to be in a really good mood. Not even the grim can dampen his good mood. It's really fun to read.
I'm quite curious when the possession part from the summary will come up again.
I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter.


Author's Response: If only I could attach memes. There's not much better of a cure for a downer, really. It's a short loop, gotta get within that 20k limit :D Cheers!



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2017.03.13 - 11:00AM Title: First Contact

starstarstarstarstar

I liked their banter very much, and the way Ginny stood up for herself.
Well done!

Author's Response: Cheers :)



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2017.03.13 - 10:43AM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstarstar

Great start. I like it. That's the way it should have been. I always thought it illogical that the two of them never talked about the events in the chamber. Usually, sharing such experiences brings people together.
I'm glad that Harry intervened when Ginny's always so over-protective brother tried to push her away.


Author's Response: Cheers! Yeah, I always figured it was JKR's way of delaying the romance and keeping the old formula going, but it did make it feel off.



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2017.03.12 - 11:26PM Title: First Contact

starstarstarstarstar

"Harry smirked over at Hermione, whose chest was heaving distractingly..."

Our little Harry is growing up and noticing girls... love it!

Author's Response: Haha, yeah. He's very much 13 now.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.03.12 - 06:00PM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstarstar

Ah-yes, I love it.

I've always had the feeling that it was strange that when Harry and Ron saved Hermione from the mountain troll, they immediately became best friends for live. However, when Harry saved Ginny from Tom Riddle and his Basilisk ... nothing happened, nothing at all.

Oh, I just finished reading the first chapter, when magically the second chapter appeared. I won't complain if it'll happen again at the end of the second chapter. ;-)


Author's Response: Cheers! Yeah, exactly ^ Haha, I wish. I'm writing from scratch now, here's hoping I can get it done by the deadline :)



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.03.12 - 01:22PM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstarstar

Great story! I love the way you changed the train ride and the Dementor visit. Harry and Ginny are becoming friends in a way they should have after their experiences in the Chamber of Secrets. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Cheers! Yeah, it always seemed weird to me.



Reviewer: Hank Signed Date: 2017.03.12 - 03:26AM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstarstar

Off to a nice start! I'm looking forward to seeing where you take this.

Author's Response: Thanks :) (me too, this was a skeleton of a piece, it's been gathering dust for years now)



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2017.03.12 - 01:12AM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstarstar

You got me hooked already!

Author's Response: :D



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.03.11 - 10:39PM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Different enough to be interesting. Look forward to more.

Author's Response: Cheers!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.03.11 - 08:38PM Title: Prologue/Getting Through

Im glad to see ginny and harry are talking and harry is using his head for a change....as for ginny she needs to get her self out more and get use to harry again....kutgw

Author's Response: Yeah, it's hopefully a fresh take :) Cheers




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear