Search:

SIYE Time:23:02 on 23rd June 2018

Reviews For James and Me

Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2018.02.24 - 12:17AM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

One of my favourite updates. I like the fact that Harry’s guilt and suspicions are highlihgted in equal measure.

Author's Response: That's often the way with Harry. -N-



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2018.02.12 - 05:32PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

I really like James & Me, I have read and re-read (and re-listened via TTS) this story many many times, but this chapter always feels wrong. I had hard time to figure out what's wrong with it, and I think I have finally some thought: there is just not enough plot in it. I could summarize this chapter in two sentences (and I think I am generous): Harry comes home, and Ginny tells him The Seven were in Drakeshaw. Harry is then worried kids broke International Statute of Secrecy. That is not enough stuff for whole chapter. You can add some fluff with Ginny fixing garden and some random facts spread through the chapter, but it still feels really thin.

For example, I really don't understand what's the point of the Ginny game “I won’t tell you where the alarm went off”. I mean what’s the reason from inside of the story, because the only reason I can figure out is that you tried to make up some matter to make this into whole chapter; but it feels cheap (and no, you are not alone, I hate for the same reason two chapters in the Shrieking Shack in HPPoA: whole business with confusion around pronouns seems hopelessly cheap to me).

Author's Response: I thought it was necessary to provide background. Readers also learn that Harry and Ginny have moved house again, and other stuff.



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2017.09.20 - 10:27AM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstar

Damn you! I couldn't sleep and spent three hours rehearsing my head a huge trial of Harry Potter v. extremely suspicious Wizengamot & Obliviator Patterson (Perry Mason meet Dolores Umbridge/Cornelius Fudge).

Author's Response: You're actually closer to the truth than you might think! -N-



Reviewer: Ginnys twin Signed Date: 2017.08.31 - 05:26PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: fi103r Signed Date: 2017.06.19 - 11:12PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

Keep up the good work!
lots of stuff there
another wanna be dork lard? so sad
was hoping Harry wouldn't poke in to the meeting, lots of luck with that


Author's Response:
I'll do my best.
And a lot more to come.
You think?
Harry simply can't stop investigating.
-N-



Reviewer: pcoates Signed Date: 2017.06.19 - 07:48PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

All about context.
I suspect that putting someone at risk of losing their magic trumps juvenile indiscretion over magic. The Big Bad Obliviator is going to get in trouble, but not for a fair number of chapters yet. And of course Annie is not really pure muggle seeing as how she is a great (30+ times) grand niece of Merlin.

Author's Response:
The next chapter will add a lot of context.
The big bad Obliviator will be back sooner than you might think. James will have to come clean about his "crimes" and Annie needs to remember. I hope I can keep it interesting. -N-



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.06.19 - 08:00AM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

I agree with Ginny. Harry needs to back off and mind his own business. Having said that, I'm curious and concerned about all of the obliviations the children apparently experienced over the years.

Author's Response: So do I, but Harry hasn't backed off and minded his own business since he was eleven! ;-) Some of the Obliviations will be explained in the next chapter. -N-



Reviewer: mjc Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 10:36PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

Hmmm...it looks like the fecal matter is about to impact the oscillating air movement device.

Author's Response: You may have some time to wait, although James' birthday (only a week away) is shaping up to be a very complicated day for the Potter parents. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 09:03PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

Intriguing! Glad to see that Harry didn't order his own kids, niece and nephew to be obliviated. I look forward to all the parties meeting up.

Author's Response: Thanks. He didn't, and you'll get ore of an explanation in the next chapter, which will start with the seven atop the Drakestone, and will feature Harry and Ginny. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 06:44PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

yay! an update. I am so dancing! thank you for giving me worries. lol. glad to know Harry is a worry wart and Ginny is there to make sure he does not do anything he will regret!

Author's Response: Thanks. Long time since I last updated, but things have been busy in real life, but Strangers 33 & 34, and James 14, are all in progress. Harry worries about his kids, even though Lily is nineteen (or possibly because Lily is nineteen). -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 06:44PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

It's amazing how much information you put in this little reminiscence chapter! And it is everything such a natural part of their conversation! So Annie was right in not liking the obliviator. Her instincts were right. He was probably already planning something. And I love that they went back to Sheffield by portkey. That means they told their friends about magic. I was reckoning they would have to, because how else their friends can be protected? But that is a problem, the kids of the Head Auror and the Minister of Magic all together breaking the law. Well, James can marry Annie and then it is allowed.

Author's Response: Thanks. There was a lot I wanted to put in, and the stuff I missed is mostly just dates, because no one remembers the exact date something happened. You'll be seeing more of the Obliviator, but not for a while. The next chapter is back to Annie, and it will explain more. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 04:24PM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting. Its always hard when the kids are that age - when to intervene and when to let them be. I can see Harry, as someone who didn't have anyone watching out for him, wanting to be a bit overprotective. Interesting about the Obliviator. Annie seems to be remembering things from both when Ginny and Harry Obliviated her as well as the Obliviator. It was funny how Harry and Ginny both dismissed Annie and James snogging out of hand - hope they will be pleasantly surprised. Hope the kids don't get into any trouble.

Author's Response: It is, and Harry is an investigator to his core. Patterson will be making an appearance, but first the kids will have to deal with someone else from Harry's past. -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 10:23AM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

Oh harry harry harry...what a can of worms you have opened now....kutgw

Author's Response: Indeed he has. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.06.18 - 06:49AM Title: Common Piece: Potters Alarmed

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Hey! Fathers day present.

Author's Response: My timing was accidental, but apposite, although Harry's still struggling with fatherhood. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear