Search:

SIYE Time:19:54 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.09.23 - 11:05PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstarhalf-star


I have just started reading your story and have found it quite interesting.
Keep up the good work.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.09.10 - 11:32PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Just want to let you know how much I'm enjoying your story...

Blessings



Reviewer: kaeota Signed Date: 2017.08.31 - 12:41PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

I've read a lot of FanFiction, Guardian Minerva is a story design that I enjoy in theory - I find it suits her character far more than many of the AU scenarios out there, but to see it portrayed well is somewhat rare. Recovery from child abuse is a massive thing, even non-directed abuse leave its marks deep, and to truly tell the story of a teacher-come-carer truly delving into the mess that it may inflict tends in one of two directions; either the abuse is mere plot tool, or the plot needs to address the mess in a manner which doesn't detract, bore, or disorient the readers while also making them feel a ghost of what a child in this situation may actually be experiencing.

You've damn near nailed it.

It's not perfect, I don't know if Minerva would react quite so emotionally, I don't know if Harry would break like that; but god-freaking-damn I need this to be more than another half finished story, I need to see the moment where Harry and Minerva together break what's left of his upbringing and start to build this boy into what he deserves. I need to see Albus crack, just slightly, when his plans fail. I need to see (humane, possibly even coincidentally) the Dursley's get their comeupance - and Harry's breakdown when he can't help but still blame himself for everything wrong in their life.

I need, need, to see when more of his and Ginny; "What had he done that she could see his freakishness in just a single glance?" is a line that will stay with me for a long time, for that I thank you.

I love that so little of this is from his perspective, we've all heard Harry's story a hundred times and then some, thank you for not adding another.

And now I have to mention it, because it's the only actual problem I have. Albus paying the Dursleys, especially him thinking throwing more money at them. I've read probably more Manipulative Dumbledore stories than is healthy, I've seen it done well, I've seen it done poorly. I've seen Harry reacting, accepting, raging, outsmarting (I mean, as a frigging twelve year old - thank you for not going that route!), and everything else to "Albus pays the Dursley's from Potter funds", I've never seen it be actually interesting. As a plot tool, I can appreciate it, I ask only that it A) fit the character you build for this Albus, and B) it doesn't become "just another fault on the list". You seem to be doing well building characters, I would hate for Albus to be the one you don't construct properly (Severus /is/ a shallow character, Albus, for all his faults, is not). And for all that's dear, if Harry has enough issues with Albus, this is simply not relevant. If it was simply to put it in the story that "This Albus doesn't care" and never really touched on, I'm happy to let it go and just be happy it's there, if there's a decent plot behind it I will be thrilled - but I've yet to read one.

And that's it - I agree with most Manipulative Dumbledore stories, they fit his actions scarily well, but to make those actions fit his character... well, I don't even think Rowling managed that, not even remotely if I'm honest.

All in all, well, I registered just to tell you that I need this to continue - please take this as the highest compliment I can give, all of my concerns are out of the... I can't say joy, because this story is so far lacking (and rightly so!), but the true strength of emotion you've portrayed.

Thank you for writing and sharing;
Kae.



Reviewer: Old guy Signed Date: 2017.08.10 - 03:17AM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstar

I am enjoying this story, and hope it will continue to update often, as I really want to see where it leads. I hope they get Harry and Ginny together much sooner than in canon, as I think they are both better together than apart.
Very sensitive handling of the relationship between Harry and the two women dedicated to helping him. He will need them.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.08.09 - 06:33AM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great update. I'm looking forward to finding out what Minerva will do to keep her promise. The autumn term is already over. Soon she'll be running out of time.



Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2017.08.08 - 11:19PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

I certainly hope that she will be able to fulfill that promise. Maybe, let him go to the Weasleys until she was able to take custody of him.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.08.08 - 09:23PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

Powerful scene between Harry and Minerva!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.08.08 - 05:51PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

Well poppy and Mcg have there hands full with harry right now, but at lease now he is making a recovery to will be able to fight what will come next....kutgw and thinks harry has every right to keep that little hope at bay until it comes true.....



Reviewer: Jewels Signed Date: 2017.08.08 - 05:40PM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstar

Go Minerva! So glad for Harry. She's exactly what Harry needs and hopefully her influence will allow him to notice Ginny and be there for her a lot earlier.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2017.08.08 - 11:10AM Title: Chapter 8: A Ray of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

A very emotional chapter for both Harry and Minerva. I hope she is actually able to follow through with her promise, otherwise Harry is going to be crushed.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear