Search:

SIYE Time:19:55 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: Jewels Signed Date: 2017.07.20 - 10:59PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wonderful story; It had me in tears. Love stories that have McGonagall ignoring Dumbledore and taking a more active role with Harry. The Dursley's are such hateful people and you definitely portrayed that without making them over the top. I just want to wrap Harry in my arms and give him a hug. My only wish is that the assignment was given when he was 8, because I feel like that is the age you wrote him at, but I adore this story and would love to see a sequel. Fingers crossed

Author's Response: Thanks! I also love the idea of a more proactive McGonagall. I admit I went back and forth with the age Harry should be in the story, so part of that must have been reflected in the story. In the end I wanted it to only be a few months before he would learn about the wizarding world. I didn't want to turn this into a 'saving Harry from the Durselys story' - not the story I was trying to tell :)



Reviewer: Truthrowan Signed Date: 2017.07.18 - 07:50PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarhalf-star

As a mum, this made me tear up. Well done, though Harry does behave a little younger than the typical 10 year old might, at least compared to my own experience with boys that age. Still, had to grab the tissue to wipe my eyes and blow my nose. I'd love to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree he might behave a bit younger, but I figure he's trying to fit his childhood into this one visit. With Minerva, he was able to do things he'd never done before and things his Aunt Petunia wouldn't allow.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2017.07.14 - 07:04AM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

Thank goodness for the Miss Kennels of this world. On a serious note, as a teacher myself l, we should never forget or underestimate the difference we can make in a child's life by listening to them, observing and acting on our instincts.

Author's Response: I agree! Miss Kennel is modeled after one of my favorite teachers. As a pediatric nurse, I agree that we can most certainly make a difference in a child's life! Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: Guest010 Signed Date: 2017.07.09 - 06:00AM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

A definite tear jerker! Great story. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.07.08 - 11:27PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar


Great story.
But you need to put a warning at the beginning...'Need to have a box of tissues, or a handkerchief, ready!'.
I could see poor Harry huddled against the school building trying to keep warm whilst eating his meagre lunch.
You definitely need to write a sequel. Would love to know how Minerva gets to introduce Harry to the wizard world, and not Hagrid. Dumbledore would have a purple fit if he knew.

Author's Response: Thanks! I will keep that in mind. I know, poor little Harry makes me want to mother him to death.



Reviewer: seekers_destiny Signed Date: 2017.07.08 - 02:00PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

Harry seems to be meeting women who want to mother him and he certainly needs it.

Author's Response: Yes he does! I just imagine what a tragic little figure he would be. I'd be wrapped around his little finger.



Reviewer: blstedman Signed Date: 2017.07.08 - 01:03PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: duckster Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 11:48PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 08:04PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

Crying uncontrollably! Thank you for a beautiful story.

Author's Response: Thank you, so much!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 02:52PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! I really shouldn't read stories like this at work -- because truckers aren't supposed to get misty-eyed and start sniffling.

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope no one spotted you all misty-eyed ;)



Reviewer: ColdFeetWarmHeart Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 02:07PM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

I loved this little story. Brought tears to my eyes. It's always upset me than not many people told Harry about his parents / family, and he turned up at Hogwarts knowing practically nothing about himself or the wizarding world.

It would be lovely if there was a sequel to this story, and we saw McGonagall taking him to Diagon Alley and teaching him even more about the wizarding world / his history. Maybe sending him a birthday present or two like "Hogwarts: A History" and "Modern Magical History"?

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I agree. I wish he'd known so much more about his family.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 11:51AM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

This was both heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time! Touched my heart and brought tears to my eyes! Thanks for another wonderful offering, SB!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: demonesprit Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 11:26AM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

What a wonderful story! I love it when young!Harry gets the best (with help or without it) of the Dursleys. I would love to read more of this -- I wonder how McGonagall could get Harry's key from Hagrid (or Dumbledore) to take him to Diagon Alley.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm thinking about McGonagall taking him to Diagon Alley.



Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 10:17AM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

I have to admit that I really enjoy it when Professor McGonagall defies Dumbledore.

Author's Response: I agree!



Reviewer: Lokken Signed Date: 2017.07.06 - 09:27AM Title: Chapter 1 Discovering his Roots

starstarstarstarstar

Good one! Thanks for sharing it! Any chance for a sequel?

Author's Response: Thanks! Thinking about it.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear