Search:

SIYE Time:22:16 on 21st October 2018

Reviews For Darkness Within II

Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2018.06.17 - 11:05AM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

starstarstarstarstar

I can't wait for what's coming!

Author's Response: Thank you!!!



Reviewer: MichiganMuggle Signed Date: 2018.06.07 - 11:06AM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

starstarstarstarstar

Itís all happening so quickly! Ron and company wonít have much time.

There is a fine line between Noble Harry and Reckless Harry. I am rather surprised he didnít cross it.

Author's Response: True enough! Harry does reckless and noble rather well ;) Thank you for reviewing!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 03:10PM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A big build up. The next chapter looks exciting.

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 07:40PM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

PRAISE THE LORD for that result! :D

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 04:00PM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

starstarstarstarstar

And so the attack on Moldyshorts and Malflunky Manor starts! Lots of horizontal tangos going on at the start of this! Too bad for Ginny that Harry had to be the noble one in the bunch but maybe that isn't such a bad thing! Not sure I like the idea of Dorko being involved in this after what he tried with Anna! So Ron and Neville are in! Always liked Dobby and I'm glad he was still around to help! He was also smart enough not to mess with two determined women, Hermoine and Luna, who now have their men's backs! Tense moments with Bill, Fleur and the wards falling - well done! Holy cow what a well-timed bout of dragon breath by Charlie and Anna and their 5 Welsh friends! Bet Anna was holding on for dear life! Can't blame Arthur and Molly for being worried about their kids all being in harms way! Now I'll be on the edge of my seat chewing my nails waiting for the next chapter! BTW, I'd suggest sailing around the Chesepeake since there would be stuffed crab and clam chowder - yum ;)! Seriously, I hope you get to feeling better(I wondered if Cissy's conditon was a reflection of your own) and you are most certainly in my prayers! I've been thru biopsies before with my Mom and both brothers! Mom survived breast cancer and just today turned 86! Prayer works! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I decided Harry being noble was realistic, if perhaps slightly disappointing to readers and to Ginny ;) Dobby is a wonderful character and I definitely wanted to include him in our Malfoy Manor battle. He adds a lovely bit of comic relief in a powerful little package! I would certainly agree with you that this is about the worst day imaginable for Arthur and Molly. They are basically betting their lives and those of their children on a single battle against a brutal enemy. I was always impressed by that one scene in the books when Harry witnessed Molly fighting the boggart at Grimmauld Place that continually changed from one family member to another. The imagery of that moment was so powerful and disturbing. As for sailing the Chesapeake Bay, I completely agree and I do love the bay (as well as the crab cakes, she crab soup, steamed shrimp, etc.)! So far, I've only been out once this year, but after I've healed up a bit more, I intend to go out again soon. My biopsy results came back fine (benign), so I just have to wait patiently for stitches to be removed and strength to return ;) Happy birthday to your mom!!!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 09:35AM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

starstarstarstarstar

Just a little bit of tension in there!

You've woven a lot of complexity, and many opportunities to surprise us all. I appreciate your not having telegraphed... anything, to be honest. Well done!



Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is very much a setting things up type of chapter. Hope you enjoyed the bit of tension ;)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 04:18AM Title: Chapter 37 The Beginning

starstarstarstarstar

Ah yes, Harry's always doing what he thinks is right, no matter what Ginny thinks and feels. He's a wee bit frustrating, isn't he? I'm afraid Harry has missed the opportunity to further strengthen their Bond. I just hope it won't backfire on them later. As we have seen with Bill and Fleur, they'll need every ounce of strength.

Ah, interesting. I hope Luna and Hermione will get the chance to save the arses of their boys.

Great chapter. Let the showdown begin!

I wish you all the best, as much as I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter, health always comes first.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Harry does indeed try to do what he thinks is right, even if he is a wee bit frustrating (or is left a wee bit frustrated). Glad you're ready for the showdown - I'm hoping to start writing it soon ;)



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.12 - 07:36PM Title: Chapter 36 Preparations

PUT THE WORD OUT!! I'VE SEEN A PREVIEW FOR THE NEW FANTASTIC BEASTS "THE CRIMES OF GELLERT GRINDLEWALD"MOVIE COMING OUT IN DECEMBER! ALL THE CHARACTERS FROM THE FIRST ONE APPEAR TO BE IN IT AND JOHNNY DEPP PLAYS GRINDLEWALD AND THERE IS A NEW CHARACTER PLAYED BY JUDE LAW.....NONE OTHER THAN A YOUNGER ALBUS DUMBLEDORE!! LOOKS TERRIFIC AND I CAN'T WAIT! AUROROFTHELIGHT

Author's Response: Wow!!! Definitely exciting! I'm looking forward to it!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.05.06 - 09:37AM Title: Chapter 36 Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

Even though Anna is not pregnant, I was just wondering what Tommy Boy would do when he learns that he has become a great-grandfather.

Oh, oh, "He (Dobby) wonít be in any danger.Ē...somehow I've got the feeling that Dobby won't survive...
Ron should inform someone about his plan so that he won't be accidentally attacked by his own friends because they're clueless.

Regarding Game of Thrones, we also watched the series between Christmas and New Years, but only season 5-7. So I'm eager to read your version of a dragon attack!

Great update. Thank you so much!

Author's Response: I would hate to think what Tommy Boy would think - most loyal future Death Eater ever perhaps - if properly raised and groomed. Shuddering... too disturbed to write such a story line, though now you're making me contemplate it! I will admit that I am not a fan of Cursed Child. I'm actually trying to forget I ever read it and block it from my mind entirely. Yep, Ron's plans are certainly dangerous for all involved, though a necessity really. As far as Game of Thrones is concerned, I'm somewhat nervous about what to expect from the next season. Thank you so much for this review :)



Reviewer: MichiganMuggle Signed Date: 2018.05.05 - 09:07AM Title: Chapter 36 Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

I'm with Harry on being alarmed at how quickly Ginny can be drained.

Hmm, is Anna going to have an actual pregnancy scare (or actual pregnancy) at some point during this story?

Ron's confidence seems a bit optimistic.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry should be concerned. I'm hoping I managed to convey my thoughts on how potentially dangerous it could be for one person to draw magic from another. With regard to Anna, I can promise she will not become a teen parent. They definitely have enough to handle right now ;) Thank you so much for your review!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.05.05 - 05:43AM Title: Chapter 36 Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating, unique plot developments! Won't comment on them here, though, in case people are skimming the reviews before reading.

"he didnít understand that wizards generally could not feel magic in others" -- interesting twist on explaining something that Rowling hinted at (that Harry had an element of the aura perception that Luna had) but never tried to rationalise. Numerous FF writers have run with the ability, yet I don't recall a plausible attempt to address cause.

"They can smell fear and use it against you if you let them." -- spoken like an experienced educator?

Anyway, cool chapter. Concise, well written.

Sincere wishes for you with things at home!




Author's Response: Thank you very much! Rowling gave us so many interesting little hints about Harry's magical abilities. Harry himself of course was always modest - that 'I'm just Harry' attitude, but others occasionally perceived and commented upon his unusual magic and power, especially for one so young. I'm not generally a fan of the 'super-Harry' type of stories; however, I suspect Harry is capable of more than the average wizard - perhaps due to a combination of natural ability and a lack of perceived limitations. Harry's ability to drive off the swarm of Dementors at the end of PoA at the age of 13 is a prime example, as is his Side-along Apparition of Dumbledore at the end of Half-Blood Prince at the age of 16. As for smelling fear, you are absolutely correct ;) Actually it was a 10 year old boy in my first year of teaching (almost twenty years ago) who introduced me to the Harry Potter stories. My student wanted to write a report about the first book for extra credit. Naturally I needed to read the book myself in order to be able to accurately grade his report. It was brilliant, of course!!!



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2018.05.04 - 03:04AM Title: Chapter 36 Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.03 - 02:19PM Title: Chapter 36 Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful to see a new chapter! With all those vibrations going on it would have been apropos if they'd had the Wizarding Wireless turned on listening to the Beach Boys playing "Good Vibrations"(I have that album)! Guess in this case the old adage, "Practice makes perfect" really rings true for Harry and Ginny. Glad Bill and Fleur were with them! Poor Charlie about came unglued when he thought Anna was preggers! Would've loved to have seen the look on his face! I guess magical folk wouldn't use Dramamine! Can't wait to see how Anna does meeting and flying with the dragons! Ron sure has come up with a brilliant(no surprise there) yet dangerous plan for he and Neville to pull off! I don't blame Hermoine for being concerned! It'll be interesting to see if you have Neville remember to take the Sword of Gryffindor with him or if it'll appear when he needs it! Can't wait for the next one! Hope your hubby is OK and he is still in my prayers! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Love the Beach Boys ;) Our magical friends could really use a beach holiday - instead of endless practice and war prep! The scene between Anna and Charlie was half written before I decided she ought to take some type of potion to settle her stomach. Once the idea popped into my mind, I ran with it! I'm glad you liked the bit about Ron, Hermione, and Neville (even though he wasn't technically in the scene). I could easily imagine Ron staring at the chess board and seeing the flaw in the plan. Thank you so much for this lovely review and for the prayers - my hubby is much better now :)



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2018.04.28 - 05:01PM Title: Chapter 35 The Plan

starstarstarstarstar

Another good chapter to read. That's quite the plan you've prepared. It should make for some interesting reading too.

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.04.22 - 01:26PM Title: Chapter 35 The Plan

Oh, you too? Essentially every story I wrote, I had plans to finish it according to a nice even schedule, then ended up scrambling at the end. I'd advise you to not rush it -- the last few chapters are disproportionately important to most stories and, all too often, are accorded the least amount of editing time. Anyway, best wishes!

Author's Response: Yes, indeed! I'll admit my husband's recent hospitalization due to pneumonia slowed me down considerably. Fortunately he is recovering nicely, and now I simply must make my outline become readable chapters :)



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.04.21 - 09:36AM Title: Chapter 35 The Plan

starstarstarstarstar

And so continues my personal growth as a reader of your story!

Prior to this chapter, the work seemed sometimes to blur the lines between novel and serial, but now all of your master planning begins to tie together, and the story binds coherently into the trajectory of a dramatic novel. Well done! It's not easy to keep all of the threads aligned over the course of two years of writing.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! Now I must find the time to finish a story that is so close to being complete ;) I have truly appreciated your support throughout the course of this rather lengthy project.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 11:29AM Title: Chapter 35 The Plan

starstarstarstarstar

Great update.
I could hide a grin when I read the cat and dog phrase.
A dragon attack? Really? Somehow I suspect that Dumbledore is a Game of Thrones fan. Or is it the author? ;-)
I just hope he didn't forget to consider the antiaircraft defences of Malfoy Manor in his plans, the peacocks.
I've always liked the idea of Harry and Ginny defeating Tom together. I hope they'll get the opportunity to beat Charlies and Annas record before they'll have to face him...

Wow, I did it...the 200th review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And, wow - the 200th review! My husband actually had me watch the entire Game of Thrones series with him between Christmas and New Years (admittedly, he occasionally skipped a scene that he felt was too far past R for me and simply told me briefly what occurred). Oh my goodness - the peacocks! I had honestly forgotten about them :)



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 07:41AM Title: Chapter 34 Touched by Darkness

starstarstarstarstar

I rather think you had fun writing this chapter! And that, of course, makes it fun to read.

First of all, the 'darkness has touched us all' observation is salient and fundamental. It is not over-elaborated; it is just there, and it is true. Secondly, I did smile at the almost offhand mention of Charlie breaking his hand. Not that I wish for violence of pain, but rather it was something you vaguely promised, and you delivered. Finally, in the spirit of a 'single word' making the entire image, I loved the mention of Sirius cursing 'fluently'. On the surface it seems a bit of casual irreverence, a throw-away, but it does more to paint the atmosphere than any writers would achieve in hundreds of words.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. Part of what makes Harry and Ginny who they are is the darkness they were exposed to because of Tom and the fact that they chose to survive it. I think that may be part of the reason JKR put them together as a couple. They can understand each other in a way others may not be able to due to their history. As for Charlie breaking his hand, I couldn't resist and am thoroughly impressed you remembered my earlier reference :) Regarding Sirius, though he cursed fluently about the meeting, he may have cause to feel better later on.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 08:34PM Title: Chapter 35 The Plan

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful chapter! Glad Anna didn't Hold Kat against Charlie and they broke their record! ;) I must admit that Sirius and Kat hooking up has definite and interesting potential! And Sirius certainly didn't waste any time hitting on her! I thought poor Charlie was going to have a stroke when he realized what Dumbledore had in mind with the dragons and Anna! Augusta was none too happy either! Dumbledore's plan seems to be well thought out but a lot could go wrong, especially since the last word you'd use to describe the Malflunkys is "trustworthy"! I'd advise them all to remember an old saying" "The best laid plans of mice and men often go astray"(Robert Burns)! Can't blame them all for getting well oiled after the meeting! Really looking forward to the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you! I have to admit I was supposed to bring Kat into the story several chapters ago (in part as a love interest for Sirius - he was alone too long!!!). Somehow I forgot to do it. Oh well, better late than never I suppose ;) Yep, poor Charlie - his delight at the notion of working with dragons again was rather ruined by the realization of Anna's participation. Glad you approve of Charlie and Anna breaking their record and of the group enjoying a few libations after the meeting :) Your quotation is perfect and quite apropos when it comes to many of Albus's plans.



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 07:00PM Title: Chapter 35 The Plan

starstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks!




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear