Search:

SIYE Time:6:54 on 21st October 2018

Reviews For Darkness Within II

Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.01.14 - 06:02PM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

Ah -- I agree that teens who are confronted with life and death responsibilities might be expected to engage in some of the vices that afford a bit of release. I think my impetus for commenting on it was to guess that it might be a plot point, rather than just a character metric. And perhaps it may still be... Shall add it to the list of things to watch for as I follow you into the finish line.



Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2018.01.14 - 03:03PM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

starstarstarstarstar

Firstly, I enjoyed your little treatise on numerology/theology. Appeals to the geek in me :)

Secondly, I'm intrigued with the appearance of whiskey in each of the last two chapters. I'm particularly intrigued with treating it as an awkward fact that someone fairly straight-laced like Remus accepts (albeit, in its awkwardness), rather than an outright taboo. Personally, I would say that trampling a bit outside of social norms is part of teenaged normalcy, but it seems like it is not yet a point when Anna's life can be expected to conform to 'normalcy', in either the minor symbols, or the major plot threads. Thus, I will be very interested in seeing where that particular symbol heads.

Thirdly, you actually out-weirded me with the tooth decay / bloated people image. I will admit that I have had quite a number of dreams of seaside idyll turning dark and ominous, and I have also had dreams of teeth crumbling, but those two, in combination with blimping people, makes for a rather ominous plot omen. Full points for creativity!



Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! When I first read the Prophecy years ago, I thought the numbers must be important (the math geek and religious studies major in me). I was slightly disappointed that they weren't more important, although three Deathly Hallows and seven Horcruxes.... As for the appearance of whiskey yet again, I suppose I envision them all drinking rather more than they should at times :)



Reviewer: Truthrowan Signed Date: 2017.11.22 - 09:37PM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

I'm going to echo Remus' sentiment. Fuck. I want to read more, and I'm sad because I thought I had missed two updates instead of one, and would get to read two chapters. Excellent writing, I look forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2017.11.22 - 08:50AM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

starstarstarstarstar

What a chapter that was! I've never realised that about the numbers mentioned in the prophecy. You'd have to think it was deliberate by JKR. The hallows and the horcruxes.

Very, very glad that Harry has manned up and realised that he likes Ginny a hell of a lot sooner that in the books, and I like Sirius giving him advice about it. I can I'm imagine Sirius was very detailed in his talk.

Positive sign that Anna was asking Ginny about Charlie. (Although you are such a tease with your reply to my review last week!) I do hope Charlie appears soon, and perhaps an actual conversation between him and Anna wouldn't be asking too much? Anna's dream was pretty creepy though - I'm wondering if that has any kind of for-shadowing over anything to come. Sirius and Remus' reaction seems to suggest so. Looking forward to next week as ever. :)


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the numbers bit. It's been stuck in my head for years! Sirius is full of information, and a surprising amount of wisdom. The specifics of Anna's dream is not vital to the story and is not a hint of anything to come, more a response to her experiences. I wrote Remus and Sirius reacting the way they did because it seemed at least possible they would understand due to the horrors of their pasts. More scenes with Ginny and Charlie will be coming soon!



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2017.11.20 - 08:57PM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So... there's something with Charlie and the ocean? Any skinny dipping involved? :D

Poor Anna, it seems like bad dreams are a recurring HP theme. Could she not simply dream of Lockhart and unicorns like the average witch? But I suppose that would be boring and she's not meant to be so.

Author's Response: Thank you! Personally I think Charlie would be great fun at the ocean! As for the dreams, they are of course symptomatic of her life experiences. Fortunately, some happiness is on the horizon for multiple characters!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.11.20 - 10:12AM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I cannot decide what the "dream" was all about. I suppose I will just have to wait and see.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Understanding the dream is not vital to the story. I weaved together unpleasant dreams common to those with certain unfortunate past experiences. The next chapter will be a bit of a happy turning point!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.11.20 - 07:30AM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

starstarstarstarstar

I just noticed that in wizarding Britain it's no different than everywhere else in the world, the upper-class can pay tutors for their children while the poor must learn everything by themselves.

I'm glad Harry shared the prophecy with ALL of his friends, well, besides Luna.

There has been so much talk about magic numbers, especially the seven (by the way, seven is my favourite number), that I suspect that the fact that Ginny is the seventh child and the first daughter for seven generations will become important at some point.


Wow, every now and then Harry really surprises me. Obviously, he's doing many things different than common boys. I don't think that I, or one of my friends at boarding school, would have asked someone older how to ask a girl out. At least he's slowly getting a bit more courageous and proves to be a Gryffindor. I like that.

I wonder if Anna's dream was about a possible revenge of the Malfoys.

Great update! Thank you.


Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! Your observation about the affluent is of course spot on, as are your other comments. I would have enjoyed including Luna (she is such a fun character), but she was never available during the summer holidays (always spending time with her father searching for fascinating animals in interesting places). When I first read the prophecy years ago, I was sure the numbers were important, so I went with it!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2017.11.19 - 08:44PM Title: Chapter 17 The Prophecy

starstarstarstarstar

Well I couldn't be more tickled if I had a nose full of Butterbeer bubbles! A new chapter to end the weekend in stellar style! Glad Sirius, Remus and Tonks are training Harry, Neville and Anna! Hope they include Ron, Ginny and Hermoine! They'll all sure need it now that Harry shared the prophecy with them! I smiled when Anna asked about Charlie - maybe that amortentia woke her up! Glad Sirius encouraged Harry to ask GInny to be his girlfriend! When it comes to romance Harry has never been the fastest broom on the Quidditch pitch! Hate that Anna is having nightmares - the latest one was really wierd! Maybe a certain redhead dragon handler can 'tame' her fears! Anna's fat people reminded me of Harry's Uncle Vernon's sister Marge who ended up as a human blimp, and deservedly so! Can't wait for the dance lessons to begin - Arthur Murray anyone? :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Poor Harry really does need all the help he can get when it comes to romance. Fortunately Sirius is willing and able to be at least a little helpful, and rather amused that another Potter has clearly fallen for a red head! Anna's dreams are horrid, but with dancing lessons coming up soon and Charlie's visit, better times are coming!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear