Search:

SIYE Time:12:37 on 21st September 2018

Reviews For Fires of Time

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 04:36AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

I was slow to get started on this story, as you already know, due to continuing health issues. As a result, anything that began with the loss of one of my two favorite characters would prove difficult to overcome. Nevertheless, here we stand at the end of one of my favorite adventures! Between this story and Splinters, you have taken me on two unusually rewarding rides, and I thank you for your dedication to this writing! I have to admit I was shocked to see my pen name was included in your closing acknowledgments! Thank you for that honor and, even more importantly, the time and energy you poured into your reviews of my story and itís outtake! I hope to see more of your work soon and confess that reading this has started my head spinning with a few more plot bunnies. Regardless of that decision, please allow me to thank you for sharing such great work with us! Best regards, Ed

Author's Response:

Ah, well to be truthful, several of your comments back in Splinters helped quite a bit to seed and shape this story, so the acknowledgement is worthy in my eyes!

Some plot threads stirring in your mind? Great if those took shape!

Finally, I can't recall if you've ever betrayed audiophile type tendencies, but I'll be posting chapter 2 of Anthem for the Scraps tomorrow. Something 'completely' different!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 03:33AM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

The imagery is beautiful, especially the cleansing, purification of living water administered and shared with such purity of love. Youíve done a lovely job with a well-honed topic! I canít wait to move into the next chapter!

Author's Response:

An ever so slightly 'mushy' way to escape from a harrowing fate, perhaps, and if something like that happened in Hollywood the critics might accuse the director of meddling with a harsh ending... but after quite a bit of personal wrangling over precisely to best tie up the plot tangles, that won out resoundingly for me.

Very gratified that a lot of commenters shared my wavelength on that!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 01:06AM Title: The Wand

starstarstarstarstar

Nice twist! The answer? ďItís magic!Ē

Author's Response:

Yeah :) There's a slightly more detailed answer in there somewhere if you pull back some onion peals here and there, but the most fundamentally practical answer is just that -- it's magic.

It all is in HP, after all. Thank you again for the reviews!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 12:15AM Title: Brothers & Others

starstarstarstarstar

I think I have run out of things to say! Surprises come at such a rapid rate that they have ceased to be surprises! Iíll try this a different way. When my wife and I first saw a Raiders of the Lost Ark, the pace of the action was mind-boggling. The movie literally redefined the parameters of an action movie ... so much so that, by modern standards, Raiders no longer seems fast-paced. This story throws surprises at the reader in much the same fashion! At long last I found the answers: (1) Itís magic; and, (2) Itís in the plot! Nonetheless, your writing quality, both from a story-tellerís perspective and as a technician, remains outstanding. Now that I have abandoned my drive to thoroughly comprehend each element of who, what, where, why, when, and how, itís now simply a brilliant ride, and one I am delighted to have taken.

Author's Response:

I'm immensely flattered by the comparison to Raiders of the Lost Ark -- thank you! It's bizarre for me to admit this but, despite knowing that it was a rare movie to have made the transition from hit sensation to genre defining exemplar, I have never actually seen it. On the bucket list!

Anyway, I'm delighted to hear that the story has fully caught on. I think the remainder will be pretty fun.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 11:07PM Title: Plans: Made, Delayed, Waylaid

starstarstarstarstar

Action and excitement abound, but given the genre ... if it has a genre ... Iím just hanging on for the ride.

Author's Response:

Genre? That's a good question that I don't have a ready answer for. I suppose I use the word 'nonlinear' quite a bit for this tale (and have also applied it to Prisoner of Azkaban, and Tijdvelt Twist). That might work it's way into a usable label.

Thank you for the review, Ed!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 08:00PM Title: Starshine

starstarstarstarstar

Wow ... taken to the edge of melancholy and rescued, whether temporarily or not remains to be seen. There are so many colliding powers and timelines. Is it possible to reach an amicable resolution for each time line? Only time will tell!


Author's Response:

Well, I should likely warn you that you've reached the point where perils and rescues come at a furious pace! The good thing about this is, unlike early in the story, there are few almost no opportunities for feel down for too long.

Regarding your question, needless to say that was a precondition for writing this story. Time will, indeed, find a way of telling you :)



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 06:10PM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarstar

The king of the ccliffie strikes once again!

Author's Response:

Very true! I believe, in discussions during the writing process, that various of us concluded that this story is little more than a steady stream of cliff-hangers... though I prefer to call them "natural scene breaks" :)

Hope the travels are going well!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 02:05PM Title: Disruptions

starstarstarstarstar

The question we all are asking! LOL! Thanks to your advice, I have let go the idea that I should understand cause and effect and allowed the splintering flinders to embed themselves in my subconscious mind! The result? Well, I either better understand what is happening, or I am convincing myself that I do. Either way, I am enjoying this much more thoroughly as a passenger on a 777 who emerges from his pod and stares occasionally into the thick clouds, occasionally to be rewarded with momentary glimpses of the Grand Canyon or the High Sierra! How or why, or even when we got there matters less in the moment than the fact that we are there and are free to commune with those who cohabitation time and space with us ... at least we reach the end of the story and will be afforded a clear view rather than the obscured one we now see darkly, as through an ancient mirror.

Author's Response:

Flying over interesting geography is wonderful, isn't it? I have flown over the American west and southwest several times, and loved the experience. I have also flown over the Great Wall of China (yes, you can see it from 20,000 feet), as well as the late October bays of far northeastern Siberia when the ice was already setting in... How I pity the flat-Earthers...

Ancient mirror? A bit prescient, are you?



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 01:23PM Title: Southern Slopes

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, my! Now Hettie is following hunches! My how the worm has turned!

Author's Response: Hettie, yes, perhaps my favourite non-Ginny character ever. I have basically imagined a Hermione who, in the soft sunny life down under, has both mellowed and sharpened. The liberal arts (i.e., non-Hogwarts) education has broadened her horizons, at the same time as her cognitive powers have continued to grow in different ways. A true bi-hemispheral thinker, a bit like combining the right parts of Hermione Granger and Luna Lovegood.

Sorry, I fell in love with the young lady at the end of Splinters, and needed to give her another story :)



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 02:27AM Title: Thimble and Block

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you for your replies to my recent reviews ... they have helped me quite a bit! Lovely, hope-filled chapter with a great reflective discussion between a Rob and Hettie!

Author's Response:

Certainly! Very glad to have helped! I have, for reasons ranging from professional to enrichment to pleasure, read a pretty broad range of things over the years and have learned various ways to read some of the stranger and/or more impenetrable stuff and derive enjoyment. As far as writing something like FoT, it was a fascinating challenge -- very gratifying -- but SIYE may not be the best venue for experimental stuff. Surprisingly, it won awards, but I doubt it will ever garner more than perhaps a quarter of the readership of my more mainstream stories.

Anyway, all that said, this particular chapter (and several more subsequent ones) are pretty 'normal' :)



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.15 - 12:17AM Title: Lurches

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent! Simply excellent!

Author's Response: Yes, this was a fun chapter to write, and I think it came out as one of the 2-3 best in the story. Thank you very much for the review!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 10:13PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Okay, a firelight of clarity shines in the dark recesses of my mind!

Author's Response: Ah! Great to hear that things are starting to gel. The story begins to assume a degree of normality after a while; a general sense that things have stopped getting worse, and will find some way to get better and (eventually) clearer. Thanks for sticking with it!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 02:28AM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

And the fog begins to lift. I have a feeling that I must have missed a section that had a conflict between Hattie and Dunbar, unless she is simply speculating about events from her past we have yet to read! Iím growing perilously closer to a decision tore-read everything from scratch before the task becomes too onerous to consider ... not that reading your work is ever anything other than pleasant and rewarding! God, I hate feeling confused.

Author's Response:

Hey again! Please see my suggestion in reply to your prior comment. Also, have you ever read Finnegan's Wake, or other loosely associative work like that? This is perhaps a bit similar. It is a mystery, but it is not Hercules Poirot where every detail snaps into place within a logical framework. Rather it is like backward footage of a vase shattering -- everything in utter disarray, gradually back propagation towards a set of associations that all revert to coherence in the end.

What was it I said about 'fiendish'?

Anyway, the quick answers are that Hettie has no recollection of ever having met Dunbar, but is acutely aware that he obliviated her and her family and sent them off to New Zealand for their protection. Thus, she feels as though she was stripped of her magical birth rite, without ever being given a choice. Hence, she is a little torqued.

Also, I didn't reply to your earlier comment about Ginny / Gemina / Annisgwyl. They do not have all the answers, and they are not working all together, but they are starting to grasp each other's stakes in a share journey and that will help to bring them along to what will ultimately be coherent action.

Anyway, my best wishes for a full return to health. Take care, my friend!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 01:00AM Title: A Friendly Hand

starstarstarstarstar

I donít know if I am too fragmented or if we are just started to see some hint of cause and effect. Since starting this story I have been twice hospitalized for sepsis resulting from unrelated freak exposures to nasty bacteria. I am averaging two hours of sleep per night for the last month, and I fear my brain is working at about 25% capacity, but perhaps the characters of Hettie/Hermione and Ginny/Gemina/Anniisgwyl are starting to discover some sense of reason, if not outright control? Or am I simply grasping at straws and needing to start over.

Author's Response:

Oh! Very sorry to hear that you've had run-ins with bad microbes -- I hope you're able to keep them away this time!

I can certainly relate to any uncertainty in the story, so let me offer a little bit of advice: it is very sensory, impressionist writing, so you might consider rolling with it; letting it wash over you. At the end of the work, everything converges, and details from prior chapters actually do make coherent sense, but prior to that it may seem all like a work of origami, with many strange folds whose final shape is difficult to grasp.

For a person such as yourself with an appreciation of characterisations, as well as of metaphysics and mysticism, I think the loose, sensory reading might be more fun. And later, knowing the final outcome, you might even come back for a second reading to see how the details fit into place.

I know -- it's a bit of a fiendish work, though.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.01 - 06:26AM Title: Today is the Day

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating chapter that draws the clear distinction between the order of JKR's closed loop and the chaos of modifying what happened in history. Very cool.

Author's Response:

Thank you -- that is a most astute observation! I believe that Rowling made a very wise choice (early on) in deciding to wipe out all of the Time Turners, so as to not threaten the rest of her exceptionally well conceived plot-line through DH. Then later, of course, came Cursed Child, but I won't go into that.

Anyway, in Splinters the loop may have mostly appeared closed, but I did hint at some remaining loose ends... which ultimately provided the ill-minded inspiration for, as you say, chaos.

Anyway hopefully, after another 15 chapters, you can assure me that cause-and-effect have been mended, and that histories and fate are healed :)



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.03.08 - 01:26AM Title: Eyes and Rainbow

starstarstarstarstar

Please excuse me for taking so long to work through this increasingly compelling story. I was already feeling hopeful before you slipped the lovely surprise in at the conclusion of this chapter. Thank you for helping Harry (and me) push away the gloom and glimpse the magic of the rainbow!

Author's Response:

No apologies necessary! I believe I still haven't left the intended reviews for the last chapter or two of your story, so I know where you're coming from!

And yes, the rainbow is there, with its promise. That promise may take a while to come to full fruition I must caution, but you likely know that I can't sustain angst for very long. I can do a fair job of creating it, but 'hope' is far too important to me in any story.

Anyway, I sincerely appreciate the kind words!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 05:07AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

Just in time Tuesday morning, I automatically started watching the site, awaiting the new chapter to pop up ... and then the realization hit me like a brick, there will never again be a new chapter for this story. Fortunately, there is still Darkness II...and a few new challenge stories.

I just hope you don't get bored because you don't write a story for us. ;)
Have a nice week!

Author's Response:

Withdrawal! Yes, that sort of thing does seem to go with the territory, does it not? Well, I'm somewhat flattered and a bit saddened empathetically to hear the perspective!

From the writer's perspective, finishing a long (or longish) story is an interesting experience -- an odd blend of the thrill of accomplishment with a gradually growing melancholy of a withdrawal not too different from what you describe. I can say from experience that it is not at all the same as finishing a marathon or other long distance athletic challenge. The marathon runner does not get glum later, sitting in the bar, wishing he or she was still out pounding the pavement :|

Anyway, for a while, there are suitable diversions for pent-up energy. At times in the past I've celebrated the completion of a story by writing music. This past week I've thrown those extra hours into pursuing some special extensions in work. Thoughts invariably turn back to writing at some stage, though, and I did very recently get a prompter in Trix, which I will likely act on soon.

Anyway, there;s always something out there to stir the writer, and there is plenty of fresh fiction out there (new, or old but awaiting rediscovery) for the readers.

Thank you for note, and a happy Tuesday to you!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.03.02 - 06:13PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Well GHL, you have wrapped up another one. The first thought I had after finishing was a reference back to the beginning. "For the Brittania of today, for the Brittania of tomorrow." I suppose the bloodline may be the true savior of Britain. Especially considering that the The Druid is confirmed dead...for now.

The boomerang arc of Voldemort's curse was a nice touch. I am a little surprised we didn't end up watching the battle in the Great Hall. Odd, after all the visions I thought for sure the action would turn up there. Yes, I suppose the placeholder was apt. You see, the voices in my head I am fairly certain confer with the voices in your head, perhaps when we disassociate form the mundane, just a guess. I doubt we pick up on more than 10% of the conversations between said voices. However, it should be taken into consideration that I Am well versed in reading your writings. 2015 especially proved a crash course, Splinters too, lol. It s no small task keeping track of 3 or 4 timelines that end up converging into one story. No small task as the reader, and certainly no small task for the writer to convey so much on fly. I believe someone(MollyandArthur perhaps) said your style is haunting. I concur. Especially when you are engaging the senses.

I was both glad to see Annisgwyl still 'keeping in touch' with Traianius (that name, lol....in the top five for sure,) yet disappointed she was yet to be with child. I always imagined Ginny/Gemina were descendants of Anni's maternal line once she was introduced as Ignotus's twin. There is a rather touching element that the twins lines would eventually re-converge. It would be a bit like the Princess and the Publican reuniting a couple thousand years later.

Voldemort bringing Duff back from the dead was pretty fucking dumb, lol.

Of course Ginny was the master of the wand.

Yeah, I noticed Hettie consonants we're loosely band on my own meanderings, go figure. :)

Is it not fair you do n't know my name? There are too many sequential diphthongs in the pronunciation to Bear sharing it. I still don't know if I should pronounce yours with hard or soft invocation.. I noticed the Druid never spoke his True name either. On a site like SIYE, that is about what I would expect. I imagine I will continue dropping phrases in your head for you to loop. I gotta be me.

One last thing....what the hell happened at Malfoy Manor? It was intense enough to make Harry/Ginny start taking the left hand path....Hmmm....







Author's Response:

As expected, many fine points!

Yes, the Britannia statement is no accident, and was definite foreshadowing of the role that Annisgwyl and Ignotus would play in securing Harry's and Ginny's safe return. The lake itself is key in other myths of the motherland, including legends where the fate of Britannia is called into question, however writers over the years have tended to paint a view of there having been multiple (perhaps many) ladies of the lake, each with different demeanour and purpose.

Yes, it is indeed 'surprising' to you and to the characters that the final confrontation did not take place in the Great Hall. The authour might have twisted it otherwise, but as the plot began to converge, it seemed more important to me to let Ron, Hermione and Gemina succeed in keeping the battle out of Hogwarts. In the end, acceding to their very correct desires seemed more important than sustaining an old symbol, especially when the story has gone to such lengths to show how things 'have changed' from how they ought to have been.

Note that the little bit about H&G learning how to Apparate to where they were 'needed' is a nod to the fact that the shift from an expectation of a Great Hall battle.

Yes, I have to admit to have also considered (and been enamoured of) the thought of Annisgwyl bearing Traianius's child and having the blood of emperors blending with the magical line. It would indeed have been a great place to divide the lineage between Harry's ancestry and Ginny's. You realise, of course, that what very little I've actually written doesn't fully preclude this possibility, right?

Yes indeed, regarding the Druid. I think I did not properly convey this, but his living presence and knowledge was crucial for the prospective temporal coup to work, however he clearly had no interest in having something that drastic succeed. And, verily, he has never been 'named', for Duaff is but a monikor he said he disliked. As far as who, exactly, he is -- there are many possible interpretations. I like your Solomonic interpretation very much, though I believe he also has 'some' elements of a Norse Loki in him as well. He may be an Earth spirit; a rare one that takes real interest in the affairs of humanity, though with a moral code that is not an exact match to ours.

And regarding your name -- most intriguing to hear that it's one that is ill-served by limited typewriters. That only adds to your mystique!

And finally, what the hell happened at Malfoy Manor? That's a hell of a good question! I actually don't know all the details yet, but it sure must have been a seminal experience and you can bet it bloody annoyed Malfoy!

Anyway, great thoughts! What a ride it's been!



Reviewer: AuntieMuriel Signed Date: 2018.03.02 - 05:18AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, dearie, I'm glad the Potter lad finally moved his arse, even if it needed a good deal of support from his better half. Lads sometimes are as thick as a brick, but somehow they can't help it.

How are your negotiations with Flourish & Blotts going? It would be a pity if your wonderful story would be available for Muggles only, wouldn't it? It should be included in the Hogwarts curriculum. I'm sure young Gemina would enjoy reading it.

I'm looking forward to reading your next novel. Never say never.

Author's Response:

Ah! Great to hear from you again, AM!

Well, I generally try to balance the heroics between our two favourite protagonists, which typically does give Ginny a fair bit more to do than in Rowling's fine stories. She (Ginny) did indeed end up in a position that took a protracted effort to pry her loose, but then she obviously made up for lost time. As far as Harry's getting her sprung loose, I think it was all in keeping with a story-long sub-theme which might be phrased, 'every misstep has a purpose' :) Makes for frustrating reading, but is fun to write :)

The proceedings with Flourish and Blotts are encouraging, however we are having problems with dict-a-quill transcription that keep interposing Weasley with Wilsey, and vice versa, and also have a tendency to write flowery asides such as the fragrance of Hettie's hair and the hard glint in Rob's eye. The daft feather must think this is 1950's Hollywood or something...

Thank you most kindly for your encouraging words!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.03.02 - 04:48AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

You imagine an ordinary life for Gemina and Henry? I like this idea very much, and I'd like it even more for Ginny and Harry. They deserved a better life than JKR gave them. I'm pretty sure it would have made their stomach churn if the Ginny and Harry from the books knew that they're condemned to a life on the front pages. It went against everything we knew about them!
Sorry, sometimes I can't suppress my dislike of the post-Hogwarts canon. Your mentioning of a ordinary life let my emotions rise again.

Author's Response:

I have to admit, I have still not seen or read Cursed Child for those reasons. I've read the remarkably complex synopsis and concluded that such complicated, difficult lives may make for compelling fiction, but do not seem to be a just reward.

But yes, for Gemina, Henry, Henrietta and Rob, here is what little I've been led to glimpse. I believe that some odd twist (in some pre-Hogwarts backstory) will now have brought both Riddle and Malfoy to unexpectedly untimely ends. Henry will be successful and a charmer, but will almost certainly have an unpleasant time in store from him from an aggrieved Severus Snape. Gemina will be balancing head-of-class magical abilities with a tendency to attract detention, and as Henrietta wanders the castle, she will have odd visions of another, stranger world. And Rob will be Rob. In another legendarium, I suppose that might not be considered boring.

Does that help to alleviate the stress of HG canon? :)




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear