Search:

SIYE Time:6:52 on 24th June 2018

Reviews For Fires of Time

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 10:13PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Okay, a firelight of clarity shines in the dark recesses of my mind!

Author's Response: Ah! Great to hear that things are starting to gel. The story begins to assume a degree of normality after a while; a general sense that things have stopped getting worse, and will find some way to get better and (eventually) clearer. Thanks for sticking with it!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.01.31 - 05:28PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Ha! I think someone else already commented, but there are 2-2.5 cliffhangers in a single chapter. And yes, I can see that the reason would be more along reasonable scene breaks than pure author evil. Anyway, very entertaining!

Author's Response: Too true -- definitely a source of some comments. Fortunately those people who are commenting generally seem to be forgiving. In my defense, I generally turn things around pretty quickly and, as kind people have already indicated a willing to buy, yes, the text breaks at a logical scene break. To start a new scene after each major disruption in a story like this would produce chapters a lot longer than I was intending, and would break up logical sequences or lull-conversations. So yes, I hate to leave people hanging, but in this particular story I'm pretty well stuck with that mode :|



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.12.18 - 01:49PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Gemina, who has to live a love vicariously through Ginny.Finally Harry discovered that fire is the answer. Kutgw

Author's Response:

Very true! It was not easy to write a segment acknowledging that such a tough, heroic figure has the same human frailties as we all do, although it was vaguely alluded to by Lucy Lovelace (i.e., Luna) in the 'obituary' in Splinters. Of course, it is factors such as this that necessitated a sequel to Splinters -- to give the unspoken heroes / heroines in that story a second chance at life, and a chance to be full human characters on par with our regular favourites. Implied in there are some opportunities, and some compensation for the tough existences they have led.

Yes, identifying the fire is definitely a step in the right direction! Now to hopefully soon finished editing chapter 8 to see what the next step is.

Thank you very much for the review, Silvia!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.12.14 - 08:38AM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful update! I particularly enjoyed the conversation between Ginny and Gemina. Fire or ice. I don't know whether to be pleased or nervous about their choice. Clearly they are all rushing into danger of one type or another. I'm glad that Traianius is hurrying after Annisgwyl towards Herculaneum. Cliffhangers are indeed prolific in this story, though I don't see that you have many other options and so will not hold it against you :)

Author's Response:

Ah! It is possibly one of the frustrations of this story that it swept in on the winds of peril, then... remains on the brink. Danger is all around, but fate is being just a little bit aloof. Where and when will the next jolt occur? What, and to whom? Everyone who's anyone may well teeter on the edge before it's all done, but... some might wait a bit longer than others.

Thank you very much for your forbearance in terms of the cliff-hangers! I think chapter 8 is a rare break from them, with the tension coming mid-scene instead.

In any case, I greatly appreciate your kind words!



Reviewer: AuntieMuriel Signed Date: 2017.12.14 - 05:17AM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Oh dearie, wouldn't it be wonderful if young Ginevra really had a twin with young Gemina. Molly's twin boys would look like choirboys, and Molly would look at least twice as old as me. Well, then she'd still look better than she's now, wouldn't she?

Do you consider having your story printed in the weekend edition of the Daily Prophet? I think for a few Galleons the editor, Barnabas Cuffe, would be glad to be of help. Maybe you still know him from Slughorn's Club. I'm sure Horace has invited you to his club, hasn't he?

Oh, I almost forgot, would you tell the Potter lad to... well, you know ...Molly would be devastated if her twin girls get lost.

Author's Response:

Verily! The extent to which Gin&Gem can induce grey hairs is hinted at in a couple chapters. They definitely do make Fred and George look 'mostly harmless'. However, in the final (mysterious) conclusion we will not have to threaten Molly's sanity (or matronly comeliness) with responsibility for such irrepressible spirit. Another ending awaits!

Sadly, Horace stiffed me at the door, perhaps because I have no claim to the sacred 28... or to the ineffable 218, for that matter. I believe he may have hindered my progress with Cuffe as well, although I am entering preliminary negotiations with Flourish & Blotts...

Chapter 8 shall bring young Harry closer... closer...

My sincere thanks for fine words of encouragement, Mlle. M!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2017.12.13 - 03:41PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Ah yes, the repatriation of our beloved Ignotus. You have immediately cast me into the memory of the first chapter. A reminder, that I now remember. Somewhere in through the 6th from the 2nd the ol' confundo trickled in. Wilsey's reception of the insinuating.

Really ;)

Now then, a brief word on something, since I am about to talk about that which can not be commented upon. ISP's injecting Javascript into my viewing of siye content is not particularly appreciated. It chaps my backside.


Whitch of that. One for all, a guide, one of chaos. The gift of the eld-est, by an arse of mist. Yes, the underlying and in between current.

Looking for Ward, forward, for your words. It's quite alright to send a preview.







Author's Response:

Saludos!

So, let me begin with the most basic: if you're getting unwanted javacript-induced crap accompanying SIYE, then my best guess is that your browser acquired some spammy combination of unwanted apps and/or cookie-driven annoyance. Depending on which browser you have, it should be possible to alleviate the problem by cranking up browser security to the max, and perhaps selectively deleting cookies and/or personal data.

Onto more fundamental stuff, you allude, I believe to the three who, by legend, outwit the one? For a story that is nominally about them, it has taken quite a while to actually meet one of the players and he is, as you suggest, not very pleasant. Perhaps less murderous than before, though?

A preview? That may be possible toward the end of the holidays. Right now, my first drafts of chapters 8-11 are requiring a lot of editing (which I am lagging on) because of the epiphany that I reached several weeks ago on precisely how to end the piece. The general chapter shapes are stable, but I'm having to parse dialogue and key details very carefully to make sure that things align well. Anyway, hopefully I'll find time to catch up with that (and begin writing 12-15) over the next few weeks, and thus perhaps give me an opportunity to send you something that's not too misleading...

Anyway, thank you as always for the diligent reading!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.12.12 - 05:57PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I can feel a cheer coming on.

Author's Response:

Sometimes the buildup can inspire a bit, yeah?

I must cautiously warn you, though, that there are a few mountains left to climb :)

Thank you for the review, Dad!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2017.12.12 - 02:31PM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Great to see a new chapter, which begs for an appropriate soliloquy in response! While reading this story, I was actually reminded of a famous Shakespeare quote from his play, "As You Like it" - ‘All the world ‘s a stage, and all the men and women merely players. They have their exits and their entrances; And one man in his time plays many parts.’ (Sorry, but you opened the door to The GLobe Theatre). This was an interesting chapter which led me to a question about this story - 'To be or not to be?' Is this a story, writing exercise or something more mysterious? Really enjoyed Act III featuring Ginny's scene with Gemina! It was almost as if she was talking with another self!
(or was she?) At least they have a plan - I think! While reading this chapter, I couldn't help thinking I was in an episode of the old TV series "Lost In Space" entitled, "The Space Creature", in which the robot, who was created by the same person who designed Robbie the Robot in the Tempest related movie, "Forbidden Planet", delivers a quote from Hamlet after Dr. Smith is found missing - 'Alas poor Smith(Yorick), A fellow of infinite jest, of most excellent fancy! And so we ended this play with an epiphany by Harry himself about the fire in the forest, or is it the fire of time?! And I must end my soliloquy with a quote from The Tempest,' We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep.’ And a glass of Rex Goliath Merlot from Black Rooster Winery didn't hurt either! So good night good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow, that I shall say good night till it be morrow! Or until the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response:

In reading this review I was 'nearly' rendered speechless!

Nearly.

If it had been more than 'nearly', I don't believe my readers would have believed it, so fortunately I won't stretch your credulity too far. Nonetheless, I do find myself hitting the Submit button on a placeholder reply as I contemplate several soliloquies, some philosophical robotics, at least one highly perceptive intimation, and a spirited black rooster.

More anon!



Author's Response:

Okay, I'm back to comment properly!

First of all, the "All the world's a stage" quote really caught me as a wonderful encapsulation. In particular, a theme that runs through many of my stories is the element of fate as an over-arching power. It, indeed, is the stage, and both heroes and villains strive to learn their parts and play them to the best of their abilities, but fate remains an actor of undeniable voice. That was true in Splinters, so it is perfectly reasonable to expect something comparably adventitious in this story.

Of course the 'dreams' soliloquy is very much what I had in mind when I mentioned The Tempest in my A/N. However the preceding question offers a remarkably salient phrase. Brilliant! The only corrective hint I would offer is wondering whether you should replace the definite article ('the') with the corresponding indefinite ('a')?

Finally, I should ask whether the Black Rooster Merlot is indeed from the famed Chianti Classico wine country between Siena and Florence? Needless to say, I checked to see whether any of old Will's tales hailed from thence, but no luck. Nonetheless, I'm sure a fine woody Merlot would inspire a wondrous review!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.12.12 - 09:23AM Title: Fire First

starstarstarstarstar

Will Antioch really help Annisgwyl, or is he just trying to trick her. Who knows what he and his brother have done with Ignotus. Looks like a trap to me...

I shortly had the silly thought that Ginny and Gemina may somehow 'merge' at the end to escape the void. I wonder how Harry would cope with an even more tomboyish Ginny, lol. (Well, tomboyish isn't the right word I was looking for, but it's the closest I could think of.) However, I suppose this silly idea will most certainly go down the same way most of my theories go ...into the void.

It's interesting that Gemina's image of Harry is somehow a reflection of the Harry in Ginny's mind. I like that idea. I remember that I was wondering where Gemina’s pretty exact image of Harry came from when I read Splinters. Gem is a wonderful nickname for Gemina. Well, that is most certainly my favourite passage of the story so far. (And no matter what you say, it's a shame I forgot about it.)

Gemina is checking on Rob and Hettie? Maybe Hettie can give her a clue...Maybe all three of them, Ginny, Gemina and Annisgwyl must work together to extinguish the fires of time...one of them at each end.

I wonder if they need to reunite the hallows. I take it, or better I hope so, that the cloak is already in the possession of Ignotus.

The fire in the forest? It certainly would be a surprise if the eruption of the Vesuvius was set off by a fire in the Forbidden Forest...

Well, my thoughts are a wee bit unsorted this time. Sorry for that. Let's put the blame on my confused mind and the overwhelming scene with Gin&Gem for that.


Author's Response:

As in title, so in response: 'fire first'

I can state categorically (without giving up too much) that the eruption of Vesuvius was not set off by fire in the Forbidden Forest, nor vice versa. That would stretch credulity, even for an insane story like this one, right? Oddly enough, I have actually given everyone a tiny clue about the metaphysics of the fires. The clue was in a chapter prior to this. More, at this point, I shall not yet say.

So, you suspect Antioch of setting a trap? Maybe; maybe not. There's only one thing I can promise is that the authour has set a whole mine field of traps for his dear, logical readers... How evil of him.

Your fourth paragraph is all about collaboration. This is exceptionally apt, as the whole multi-threaded nature of this story is intended to emphasise the eventual collaboration. I won't yet say much about what brings this all to an end, though I'll admit that you are right that this will not conclude all in the hands of one person this time. However, I do believe that I will nonetheless deliver something unexpected. Another one of those nefarious traps ;)

Finally, I absolutely have to laugh! Yes, Harry would certainly have his hands full with even a half-Gemina! That said, though, don't even try to speculate about the ending; I think you'll like it best as a surprise.

Thank you very much for the review, Martin! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the Gin&Gem scene!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear