Search:

SIYE Time:4:47 on 20th February 2018

Reviews For Fires of Time

Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.02.02 - 01:08PM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarstar

Tough choices! Ginny having to choose between being cautious, and doing what her ancestor would have done, and Hettie deciding between go and no-go. I want to guess there are no good options, right?

Author's Response: Indeed. Yes, this is a story rife with forks in the road, each demanding tricky decisions with limited knowledge. And, I think it will emerge that for many decisions, the one made does not prove to be the obvious 'right' choice, even when the decider is a smart person (as most of the protagonists are, in their own ways). However, I am not Robert Browning, and not every questionable choice ruins lives.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.01.16 - 06:42PM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarstar

I had to laugh at the idea of Hermione eventually killing Ron for being so dim :) Ginny trusting Cadmus is a bit disconcerting. I understand her thoughts on the matter and can only sincerely hope her decision is not misguided. So, where are Dolohov and Mulciber? Part of me suspects they are merely hiding, but then I wondered if they could have traveled to another time or place. Anyways, great update! Looking forward to reading your next chapter ;)

Author's Response:

Yes, when it comes to Hermione's rare but deadly temper, I always think back to the Oppugno incident in HBP. It's not made clear in this AU whether Hermione has ever had call to act quite so frighteningly, however I think somewhere in his earthy (i.e., well buried) wisdom, Ron would be wary of crossing certain thresholds.

Regarding your trepidation about the way Ginny handled Cadmus, I think the safest response is that nobody, neither friend nor foe, is destined for a restful chapter for a while.

Good question and speculations regarding Dolohov and Mulciber. I will not answer your question with anything approaching directness, but will rather suggest that the reason things went dark at the very end of the chapter has (as will be stated explicitly later) nothing to do with any exotic Peruvian powders...

Thank you very much for some stimulating musings, Kimberly!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.01.16 - 03:03PM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I hope somebody knows what is going on, because I think I am lost in a time warp. Is there light at the end of the tunnel?

Author's Response:

First of all, I'm grateful that you've stuck through the confusion!

Secondly, I can (as of a careful mapping session a few days ago) state with moderate confidence that the authour, at least, has a pretty good grasp of what's going one. Beyond that, perhaps all is a bit vapourous. I believe that there is one person who has a comparably good understanding of the situation. That person is probably not any current reader, and nor is it Dumbledore or Voldemort. Not even Duff. That person shall be introduced soon, though.

Thank you for the review, Dad!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.01.16 - 02:52PM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarstar

To add a fifth stone...I forgot Harry was carrying the one into the forest as well! Ch.8 indeed!

If it doesn't just resurrect stuff...hrrmmmm. Seems Cadmus used a bit of quick logical deduction that it COULD resurrect...but that doesn't appear to be its prime purpose in his mind's eye. Ron Weasley is proven right, even if the presentation of what he ascertained made Hermione cringe. Somewhere Brennus is wringing his hands knowing that Ron did something useful, cheers. This is some truly fascinating Hallow mythology you have cooked up for us here.

The sulfurous vapor emanating as Ginny (via Annisgwyl) approached the forge put me on pins and needles. Smells like the approach of a working of Solomon if I put an old T spin upon this. The Death Eaters have become unseen in the area of the glowing (fading?) Spectre...Duff (YAH!) is comatose, the flames are frozen, Ginny and Gemina both see him in the their throes of death. Has he been trapped in...a rock...albeit an extraordinarly explosive one? I wonder if he trapped himself or if this is the machinations of an outside force. Then again, I'm not sure if really there is a difference all things considered, lol.

I am getting close to the purpose of the stone...for now it remains just beyond my perception. Well done, my friend.

Author's Response:

Regarding the Stone count, you may wish to quickly check my second reply to Cosmo on this topic for my own personal count. Note that I always do listen to readers when they arrive at unique impressions, though. Also note that (via a plot twist that I just arrived at a few days ago) the sane, intelligent stone-count will ultimately be off by one. No further spoiling of that for now.

You are, of course, following Ron, Hermione, Ginny and Cadmus all onto a fruitful path of speculating just what the R-Stone is good for. More, for now, shall wait 'til late.

Solomon / Old Testament. Good thought. I do not delve as deeply into the history/mystery of the Forge as one might. Readers are welcome to freelance on that.

Needless to say that Duff is critical indeed. His life and fate are irrevocably bound to the Hallows, now, and the Hallows are inseparable from the outcome of FoT.

Yes indeed, you are getting closer to the stone... and the stones are getting closer to each other... On that obfuscating note, thank you for some inspiring discourse!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.01.16 - 02:36PM Title: Crack in the Rock

Hark! Another great chapter appears to bring joy to us who follow! So many questions along the way and so few answers at the end! Good to know Ron(Rob) is somewhat confused in both timelines although he occasionally gets it right! (Note: I googled Anorak for kicks and saw it's a parka like coat that the Caribou Inuit invented for hunting in the Arctic - I could've used one this morning when I woke up to 8 degress fahrenheit with a -12 wind chill!) Loved Ron's apt "Old Snake Nose" name for Moldyshorts! Wonder how Cadmus can be Ginny's half-brother when she didn't have one in her world? Gotta love google translate (Audaces fortuna iuvat)! While reading this chapter, I suddenly got a weird impression I was in a scene in Star Wars Return of the Jedi, but I couldn't tell if I was on Tatooine or Endor! (I am proud to say with Last Jedi I have now seen every Star Wars movie on opening weekend since 1977) Okay now I'm confused - is Cadmus Ginny's half brother, Annisgwyl's half brother, Ginny's distant uncle or none of the above? Good to know Ginny is confused too! Rob and Hettie seem confused with their find as well! Now that I have reached the end of this stellar installment, I have five burning questions begging for answers! 1)Where is Harry? 2)Can a fissure, a cleft, a chasm, a gorge and a crevasse be the same thing(I suspect yes in Websters Collegiate)? 3)Is everbody in this thing as confused as I am? 4)How many stones are there or are they the same stone? And 5)what in the name of Old Snake Nose's Bermuda shorts are Wonky Wekas? I think I need another glass of the Dom Pergnon I had for New Years Eve! Champagne anyone! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

And hark again! Now let us talk mysterious plot points!

Firstly, who is the gent that Ginny is tasked with managing? He is, to her, truly a very distant relative of the oncular variety. However, Cadmus knows that he accosted Annisgwyl (his half-sister) and has not yet clued into the fact that the personality and cognition currently inhabiting Annisgwyl is anyone other. Thus, he persists in addressing her as a close relation and Ginny (who is proud of, and makes frequent use of her acting/affectation skills) plays along for fairly straightforward reasons.

Where is Harry? Some place that makes him smile. Purely platonic, I assure you.

How many stones are there? I can assure you that Harry has one in his pocket (inside the Snitch), and Hettie has one in her bag. Cadmus seems to have one woven into his hem. Those are the definite ones. At a certain point in the story, they could conceivably have all been the same stone, merely being possessed by different people at different times. At a later point, that gets a bit confusing. If you would like to torture yourself in personal development, you might read a bit about Brane Theory, which is a membraneous extension of String Theory. According to physicists (who are even more whacked than the authour), multiple distinct projections of the current universe may exist as distinct, parallel branes. Under the right, or wrong, circumstances, there are actually scenarios under which these branes and cross and overlap. You may think about that a bit if you wish. Or you may resort to something stronger than Dom Perignon. While you're at it, I suppose you might be able to explain to me the science underlying those pesky Midichlorians -- a topic you may (or may not) have a great appreciation for after 8 SW epics.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.01.16 - 02:36PM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarstar

Hark! Another great chapter appears to bring joy to us who follow! So many questions along the way and so few answers at the end! Good to know Ron(Rob) is somewhat confused in both timelines although he occasionally gets it right! (Note: I googled Anorak for kicks and saw it's a parka like coat that the Caribou Inuit invented for hunting in the Arctic - I could've used one this morning when I woke up to 8 degress fahrenheit with a -12 wind chill!) Loved Ron's apt "Old Snake Nose" name for Moldyshorts! Wonder how Cadmus can be Ginny's half-brother when she didn't have one in her world? Gotta love google translate (Audaces fortuna iuvat)! While reading this chapter, I suddenly got a weird impression I was in a scene in Star Wars Return of the Jedi, but I couldn't tell if I was on Tatooine or Endor! (I am proud to say with Last Jedi I have now seen every Star Wars movie on opening weekend since 1977) Okay now I'm confused - is Cadmus Ginny's half brother, Annisgwyl's half brother, Ginny's distant uncle or none of the above? Good to know Ginny is confused too! Rob and Hettie seem confused with their find as well! Now that I have reached the end of this stellar installment, I have five burning questions begging for answers! 1)Where is Harry? 2)Can a fissure, a cleft, a chasm, a gorge and a crevasse be the same thing(I suspect yes in Websters Collegiate)? 3)Is everbody in this thing as confused as I am? 4)How many stones are there or are they the same stone? And 5)what in the name of Old Snake Nose's Bermuda shorts are Wonky Wekas? I think I need another glass of the Dom Pergnon I had for New Years Eve! Champagne anyone! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

Hark, indeed! I suspect that what the British regard as Anoraks might not quite stand up to the sort of cold you're experiencing! They're rainproof, and generally fairly ugly. I believe some of the HP characters in some of the later films were spotted wearing them in less clement weather, hence it's my go-to garb for weather that the Weasley metabolism can't quite handle alone.

While we're on the topic of definitions, a wonky weka is basically a bird with a problem. A bird (i.e., avian) from New Zealand, to be precise. But, to be more precise yet, it is but the latest installment of 'Epithets According to Hettie'. I believe she would like us all to know that a clean vocabulary need not be a boring one.

Finally, for a response focusing largely on language and the use thereof (a topic I love), I do tend to juggle synonyms around a bit, and the chapter title was both a consensus definition as well as a semi-deliberate double entendre, the nature of which I leave as an exercise to anyone who is either bored or curious. I admit that swapping amongst synonyms might get a little confusing or distracting (Is the gorge in the paragraph the same as the chasm half a page back?), there is a bit of method to the madness. Whenever I repeat a given word a lot (rather than use synonyms) that tends to be part of an intended effect or message. Witness the use of 'obvious' in the first scene of the chapter.

Anyway, thank you for your ever-insightful discussion!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.01.16 - 09:14AM Title: Crack in the Rock

starstarstarstarstar

That's sad news, only five or six more Tuesdays to look forward to, and the fun is over.
On the other hand, maybe I can take advantage of the situation and bother you with my latest creation when you've completed this gem.

I must admit that I missed the hint in the last chapter why Fenrir travelled to the wrong timeline. However, going back and doing a bit of re-reading, did the charm.

Has the damn stone something to do with the fires? ... as a kind of burning glass, to be used together with some other artefact? ...and the flames are frozen because the stone is missing? ...frozen the moment Harry used the stone on Ginny for a moment?
I hope you're enjoying my guesswork. ;-)

I hope Annisgwyl's father was right when he told her that her half-brothers will help her to a certain extent. But deep inside, I have my doubts, big DOUBTS.

A klaxon? They didn't get hit by the Knight Bus, did they?

Let's hope that Gemina is behaving in the meantime. I'm afraid it would cause problems when Ginny comes back and she's snogging Harry.

Author's Response:

Primeiras coisas primeiro, thank you for the kind words with respect to your weekly anticipation! I really should ride my current momentum to closure on this story, though, and hopefully find the energy to get back to a few Trix chapters and hopefully steer The Flying Circus past their date with the Portuguese Nationals (hence my choice of opening phrase).

That said, though, do feel free to toss drafts my way whenever inspiration hits!

I think I can answer a bit of your question about the stone without giving away any big surprises. Thus, I can tell you what you (and Hermione and Ginny) already know -- the stone is critical to the plot but (what none of you have yet guessed) the stone does not cause the fires. They arise in part because of one force that everyone can guess, in combination with another force that (I think) nobody would have guessed. And, no Albus, the answer this time is not 'love'. :)

One suggestion regarding the eldest two brothers Peverell -- doubt everything, including doubts. Trust not their loyalty; trust not their treachery.

No, the Knight Bus did not take a wrong turn in the Appennines. Blame the noise on poor quality jinxes.

Finally, I think we can trust Gemina, despite the whirlwind forthright life she leads, to find the right level of discretion for the one life encounter than means so much to her. You will find out next week :).

Thank you very much for the 'Tour de questions'!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear