Search:

SIYE Time:6:50 on 24th April 2018

Reviews For Fires of Time

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 04:36AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

I was slow to get started on this story, as you already know, due to continuing health issues. As a result, anything that began with the loss of one of my two favorite characters would prove difficult to overcome. Nevertheless, here we stand at the end of one of my favorite adventures! Between this story and Splinters, you have taken me on two unusually rewarding rides, and I thank you for your dedication to this writing! I have to admit I was shocked to see my pen name was included in your closing acknowledgments! Thank you for that honor and, even more importantly, the time and energy you poured into your reviews of my story and itís outtake! I hope to see more of your work soon and confess that reading this has started my head spinning with a few more plot bunnies. Regardless of that decision, please allow me to thank you for sharing such great work with us! Best regards, Ed

Author's Response:

Ah, well to be truthful, several of your comments back in Splinters helped quite a bit to seed and shape this story, so the acknowledgement is worthy in my eyes!

Some plot threads stirring in your mind? Great if those took shape!

Finally, I can't recall if you've ever betrayed audiophile type tendencies, but I'll be posting chapter 2 of Anthem for the Scraps tomorrow. Something 'completely' different!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 05:07AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

Just in time Tuesday morning, I automatically started watching the site, awaiting the new chapter to pop up ... and then the realization hit me like a brick, there will never again be a new chapter for this story. Fortunately, there is still Darkness II...and a few new challenge stories.

I just hope you don't get bored because you don't write a story for us. ;)
Have a nice week!

Author's Response:

Withdrawal! Yes, that sort of thing does seem to go with the territory, does it not? Well, I'm somewhat flattered and a bit saddened empathetically to hear the perspective!

From the writer's perspective, finishing a long (or longish) story is an interesting experience -- an odd blend of the thrill of accomplishment with a gradually growing melancholy of a withdrawal not too different from what you describe. I can say from experience that it is not at all the same as finishing a marathon or other long distance athletic challenge. The marathon runner does not get glum later, sitting in the bar, wishing he or she was still out pounding the pavement :|

Anyway, for a while, there are suitable diversions for pent-up energy. At times in the past I've celebrated the completion of a story by writing music. This past week I've thrown those extra hours into pursuing some special extensions in work. Thoughts invariably turn back to writing at some stage, though, and I did very recently get a prompter in Trix, which I will likely act on soon.

Anyway, there;s always something out there to stir the writer, and there is plenty of fresh fiction out there (new, or old but awaiting rediscovery) for the readers.

Thank you for note, and a happy Tuesday to you!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.03.02 - 06:13PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Well GHL, you have wrapped up another one. The first thought I had after finishing was a reference back to the beginning. "For the Brittania of today, for the Brittania of tomorrow." I suppose the bloodline may be the true savior of Britain. Especially considering that the The Druid is confirmed dead...for now.

The boomerang arc of Voldemort's curse was a nice touch. I am a little surprised we didn't end up watching the battle in the Great Hall. Odd, after all the visions I thought for sure the action would turn up there. Yes, I suppose the placeholder was apt. You see, the voices in my head I am fairly certain confer with the voices in your head, perhaps when we disassociate form the mundane, just a guess. I doubt we pick up on more than 10% of the conversations between said voices. However, it should be taken into consideration that I Am well versed in reading your writings. 2015 especially proved a crash course, Splinters too, lol. It s no small task keeping track of 3 or 4 timelines that end up converging into one story. No small task as the reader, and certainly no small task for the writer to convey so much on fly. I believe someone(MollyandArthur perhaps) said your style is haunting. I concur. Especially when you are engaging the senses.

I was both glad to see Annisgwyl still 'keeping in touch' with Traianius (that name, lol....in the top five for sure,) yet disappointed she was yet to be with child. I always imagined Ginny/Gemina were descendants of Anni's maternal line once she was introduced as Ignotus's twin. There is a rather touching element that the twins lines would eventually re-converge. It would be a bit like the Princess and the Publican reuniting a couple thousand years later.

Voldemort bringing Duff back from the dead was pretty fucking dumb, lol.

Of course Ginny was the master of the wand.

Yeah, I noticed Hettie consonants we're loosely band on my own meanderings, go figure. :)

Is it not fair you do n't know my name? There are too many sequential diphthongs in the pronunciation to Bear sharing it. I still don't know if I should pronounce yours with hard or soft invocation.. I noticed the Druid never spoke his True name either. On a site like SIYE, that is about what I would expect. I imagine I will continue dropping phrases in your head for you to loop. I gotta be me.

One last thing....what the hell happened at Malfoy Manor? It was intense enough to make Harry/Ginny start taking the left hand path....Hmmm....







Author's Response:

As expected, many fine points!

Yes, the Britannia statement is no accident, and was definite foreshadowing of the role that Annisgwyl and Ignotus would play in securing Harry's and Ginny's safe return. The lake itself is key in other myths of the motherland, including legends where the fate of Britannia is called into question, however writers over the years have tended to paint a view of there having been multiple (perhaps many) ladies of the lake, each with different demeanour and purpose.

Yes, it is indeed 'surprising' to you and to the characters that the final confrontation did not take place in the Great Hall. The authour might have twisted it otherwise, but as the plot began to converge, it seemed more important to me to let Ron, Hermione and Gemina succeed in keeping the battle out of Hogwarts. In the end, acceding to their very correct desires seemed more important than sustaining an old symbol, especially when the story has gone to such lengths to show how things 'have changed' from how they ought to have been.

Note that the little bit about H&G learning how to Apparate to where they were 'needed' is a nod to the fact that the shift from an expectation of a Great Hall battle.

Yes, I have to admit to have also considered (and been enamoured of) the thought of Annisgwyl bearing Traianius's child and having the blood of emperors blending with the magical line. It would indeed have been a great place to divide the lineage between Harry's ancestry and Ginny's. You realise, of course, that what very little I've actually written doesn't fully preclude this possibility, right?

Yes indeed, regarding the Druid. I think I did not properly convey this, but his living presence and knowledge was crucial for the prospective temporal coup to work, however he clearly had no interest in having something that drastic succeed. And, verily, he has never been 'named', for Duaff is but a monikor he said he disliked. As far as who, exactly, he is -- there are many possible interpretations. I like your Solomonic interpretation very much, though I believe he also has 'some' elements of a Norse Loki in him as well. He may be an Earth spirit; a rare one that takes real interest in the affairs of humanity, though with a moral code that is not an exact match to ours.

And regarding your name -- most intriguing to hear that it's one that is ill-served by limited typewriters. That only adds to your mystique!

And finally, what the hell happened at Malfoy Manor? That's a hell of a good question! I actually don't know all the details yet, but it sure must have been a seminal experience and you can bet it bloody annoyed Malfoy!

Anyway, great thoughts! What a ride it's been!



Reviewer: AuntieMuriel Signed Date: 2018.03.02 - 05:18AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, dearie, I'm glad the Potter lad finally moved his arse, even if it needed a good deal of support from his better half. Lads sometimes are as thick as a brick, but somehow they can't help it.

How are your negotiations with Flourish & Blotts going? It would be a pity if your wonderful story would be available for Muggles only, wouldn't it? It should be included in the Hogwarts curriculum. I'm sure young Gemina would enjoy reading it.

I'm looking forward to reading your next novel. Never say never.

Author's Response:

Ah! Great to hear from you again, AM!

Well, I generally try to balance the heroics between our two favourite protagonists, which typically does give Ginny a fair bit more to do than in Rowling's fine stories. She (Ginny) did indeed end up in a position that took a protracted effort to pry her loose, but then she obviously made up for lost time. As far as Harry's getting her sprung loose, I think it was all in keeping with a story-long sub-theme which might be phrased, 'every misstep has a purpose' :) Makes for frustrating reading, but is fun to write :)

The proceedings with Flourish and Blotts are encouraging, however we are having problems with dict-a-quill transcription that keep interposing Weasley with Wilsey, and vice versa, and also have a tendency to write flowery asides such as the fragrance of Hettie's hair and the hard glint in Rob's eye. The daft feather must think this is 1950's Hollywood or something...

Thank you most kindly for your encouraging words!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.03.02 - 04:48AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

You imagine an ordinary life for Gemina and Henry? I like this idea very much, and I'd like it even more for Ginny and Harry. They deserved a better life than JKR gave them. I'm pretty sure it would have made their stomach churn if the Ginny and Harry from the books knew that they're condemned to a life on the front pages. It went against everything we knew about them!
Sorry, sometimes I can't suppress my dislike of the post-Hogwarts canon. Your mentioning of a ordinary life let my emotions rise again.

Author's Response:

I have to admit, I have still not seen or read Cursed Child for those reasons. I've read the remarkably complex synopsis and concluded that such complicated, difficult lives may make for compelling fiction, but do not seem to be a just reward.

But yes, for Gemina, Henry, Henrietta and Rob, here is what little I've been led to glimpse. I believe that some odd twist (in some pre-Hogwarts backstory) will now have brought both Riddle and Malfoy to unexpectedly untimely ends. Henry will be successful and a charmer, but will almost certainly have an unpleasant time in store from him from an aggrieved Severus Snape. Gemina will be balancing head-of-class magical abilities with a tendency to attract detention, and as Henrietta wanders the castle, she will have odd visions of another, stranger world. And Rob will be Rob. In another legendarium, I suppose that might not be considered boring.

Does that help to alleviate the stress of HG canon? :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.03.01 - 09:28AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

I would not have missed it for a fortune. Unique style. Brilliant ending.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Dad! That is very kind of you to say!

I must admit that I love to write endings. And especially epilogues. There is something immensely gratifying about giving those hard-working characters their due. And it is a great place to drop lots of sly innuendos and allusions, without so much concern about setting up the next scene. Very liberating!

In any case, I greatly appreciate your thoughtful comments throughout!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.02.28 - 08:49AM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, what a wonderful ending.

Seems, I have to go back and check how and when Ginny became the master of the Elder Wand.

Oh, Gemina. What a perfect surprise. I love the idea to let everything play out again for her, right from the beginning at platform 9 3/4.
Honestly, Henry Paulter...you did it again. Poor boy, if he only knew that he'll never get out of Gemina's clutches again, lol.
I wonder if Hettie is the only one who remembers...it seemed so. On the other hand, maybe Henry knew, too...he seemed to be quite determined.

So, if you, by all means, know more about Henry and Gemina, please don't hesitate to tell us about it. ;-))

Yeah, you know, there's a saying, he offered his little finger, and he took his whole hand. I just hope you'll stay with us for a long time, and that you'll, every now and then, forget your intent to not write another novel-length story. It would be a bitter loss.

I never thought I'd ever write a story, and I want to let you know that you're part of the reasons I eventually did it. And now I'm sitting here, seriously considering to write a longer story, a sequel to my recent one, which will probably have about 20 chapters, a project that will probably take me almost a year. Insane, if you ask me...


Author's Response:

Very glad that you enjoyed it!

So, you may indeed go back to Splinters to resolve your question about the wand, but I can make it a bit easier with a bit of interpretation. In particular, there is this running theme throughout Splinters how the Coritani Druid was intrigued with Lanossea having 'two hearts'; how he foisted the Elder Wand on Boadicea even though it as pretty obvious that it would never bend to the Queen's will; how every time Lanossea came into contact with the wand, awesome, frightful magic would occur, but it was unclear if Lanossea was using the wand, as opposed to the wand using her. Anyway, toward the end of the story, like a trainer with a maverick, the desperate situation requires Ginny to confront the wand and force it to bend to her will.

And yes, for all the many non-tragic endings you tried to imagine for Gemina, I actually did manage to catch you off guard. An somehow even managed to keep it a secret :)

Yes, I do think that Hettie is the only one who really holds onto the full story and background. In Fires, I think I sewed some very loose seeds to suggest that Gemina had a slightest, faintest sense, though it is far more likely that she is merely feeding off Ginny vibes, rather than truly 'remembering'. As far as Henry Paulter, I think you, and any other reader, should be free to interpret as inspiration hits, although personally I see Henry as a quietly confident person who has been raised (as an only child) by parents who have encouraged him to understand what he wants, and then pursue it. This is opposed to an 11-year-old Harry Potter, who is motivated half by a desire to escape his terrible upbringing, and half by a willingness to go with the flow.

As far as what happens to Henry and Gemina? It may actually turn out that they are accorded an existence that is rather more 'ordinary' than the splinter-y or fire-y scenarios. Ordinary may be a better for 'living' than for being featured in a story. But, we shall see.

In any case, it's great that you're considering a substantiative work! They can certainly be very rewarding!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.02.27 - 09:17PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Lovely ending to a story that took me on many highs and a few lows! I'll admit to having wet cheeks at the moment. Ginny's pain, Hermione's words, the possibilities in the other world are hopeful and poignant. An innocent Gemina able to experience a different life, Annisgwyl finding peace and acceptance among her family, and Harry and Ginny celebrating their love, planning their future life together. You pulled it all together beautifully!

Author's Response:

Thank you ever so much!

To be perfectly honest, I rather suspected you would like the epilogue capsules. This little journey has reminded me the sort of scenes I most like to write, and has also happened to reveal to me that they also happen to be the ones you seem to enjoy. I speak, of course, of the cameos, or word paintings.

I began the story with a bunch of cameos, and scattered others throughout. Frankly, I probably would have tried to make the whole story out of them, but they tend to lose a lot of readers. I'm not sure exactly why it is that some people seem to really enjoy that format, while others tend to pass them over almost before they've begun. I assume it's the difference between people who walk through an art museum glancing about dutifully, versus those who drift into a gallery, are pulled in by a piece, and must pause until that piece has been given its voice to speak the message it must convey.

Anyway, this extended writing experience has been a wonderful experience, made all the more special by a handful of great readers. Thanks!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.02.27 - 05:59PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Beautiful!

The way you wound down the action was cool and well written, but those little epilogue pieces at the end are amazing little portraits! I'm not sure I can remember another 'mourning' scene as vivid as Ginny coming to grips with Fred's tombstone. Hit me pretty hard!

Author's Response:

Ah! I will be honest and say that the action did have to be resolved, and sense did need to be made of 17 chapters of prior struggling, however such postcard encapsulations of epilogous outcomes aare far easier and more joyful to write. They are nearly prose poems and, in one of my earlier writing lives, I was a bit of a poet.

Thank you for your full slate of reviews, CG!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2018.02.27 - 05:43PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

I than you for your thanks, though I don't deserve any. I almost didn't review this story, but I have read it. So I feel indebted to you. Bit I have had real hardship trying to understand it. I am not he best with action scenes, in literature or film. I get confused. But anyway I enjoyed it.

Author's Response:

Thank you for leaving a note Silvia!

Sorry, I had no intention of making you feel obligated in any way. You had left a review earlier on in the story, and I ultimately end up acknowledging most people who do. That was my only motivation.

As far as following the progression of this story, it's likely easier to handle in a single shot (rather than on chapter a week, for 18 weeks), however even still it is (as I cautioned at the start) a very challenging melange of plots and interdependencies. Not the sort of reading experience for everyone. So, I understand.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.02.27 - 04:23PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

The Westminster Abbey Chimes rang out in joy with the arrival of the long & much anticipated crescendo of this marvelous adventure! (Thanks for the nod at the end, G!) Oh No! More confusion - this time a question of whether this ends in the glade or elsewhere! (I was already really confused so glad to see it was the glade!) And the fact that Voldedork and the 3 stooges are slavering isn't a good thing! Fortunate those two stunning bolts of light showed up - Harry and Ginny - to the rescue of Ron, Hermoine and Gemina! Strange, I didn't think old Snakeface's eyes could bulge! Harry sure did a great job of letting the hot air out of Moldyshorts boxers! Holy switcheroo, Batman! Ginny is the master of the wand this time! While reading this chapter, I got the odd feeling I was in a scene from the movie "The Neverending Story", but I didn't notice Bastian and the giant dog flying around in this thing! Can't help but wonder if when Voldytwerp saw that monstrous tongue of toxic green execration(I just had to use that) coming for him he dirtied his drawers!?! Meanwhile, back at the Burrow, beautifully whimsical words indeed! Glad to see you didn't leave Hettie and Rob in the lurch, but Henry Paulter? Crabby crawfish! At least they found Gemina! I have a question that needs an answer: who the heck is Airell Paternas? Glad to see Annisgwl is at peace beside the lake although her Iberian Prince is somewhere else(another story perhaps?)! Nice ending with the the blazing ruby(Ginny's hair or the ring) and the sparkling rock on her finger(still no intense snogging - sheesh!) I congratulate you on the end of a story that I found a billion times more magnificent than the Resurrection Stone but not Ginny's ring! Thanks for the terrific ride you took us on G! I toast this epic tale with a glass of Yellowtail Shiraz, my favorite red! Cheers! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response:

I have definitely heard of Yellowtail Shiraz, though I have not yet imbibed. Shall have to look for it on the next trip to the store!

'The Neverending Story'! I have not read nor seen it, but the title itself seems like it belongs happily in a review for this one. I must look it up!

I do not have a whole lot of data on Airell Paternas, but the first name is of Gaelic origin, and the second (presumably middle) name is a fairly standard Roman monikor (it was also the name of the Publican, from Splinters). And, at the time of that capsule, Airell goes around acting as though Ignotus is his father, and that Antioch and Cadmus are uncles. Any more intel on him will have to be provided by creative readers.

Er, well, with respect to Lord Soildeshorts and any pre-mortem accidents he may have had... well, technically there is a brief mention of a bit of a stench. Regardless of the precise nature of said smell, thankfully a breeze freshened things up.

In any case, you are most welcome for the ride, and my exceptionally sincere gratitude for pointing out all the roadside attractions en route!



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2018.02.27 - 04:01PM Title: Sunrise, Sunset

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant

Author's Response:

Thank you very sincerely, Adelinda! This story was so far outside the mainstream, that I wasn't certain how many of my stand-by readers would follow me on the adventure, but I'm most gratified that you did. Thank you!




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear