Search:

SIYE Time:1:20 on 19th October 2018

Reviews For Together

Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2018.09.29 - 04:54PM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

I am impressed by your calm and open-minded response to my criticism in an earlier reveiw (about wording that could have been taken as disrespectful of certain religious views). I apprecite your explanation and your point about Ron being amazed that muggles would fast --from food!-- does make a lot of sense. I appreciate your willingness to take my concerns seriously and not as a personal attack on you or your work...gives me hope for the future of humanity! :-)

Author's Response: I'm glad :)



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2018.09.22 - 07:21AM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

starstarstarstar

1) Congratulations on an intriguing story that --despite covering an already well-covered era in HP post-Hogwarts history-- is compelling and true to character and engrossing. it's also one of the more emotionally honest fics I've read, realistically presenting the emotional confilcts and growth and failures that would be likely in the aftermath of war and loss. It's my current favorite read on SIYE and I am looking forward to many hours of enjoyment in the further chapters. Well done.

2) I must admit that I am consistently offended by your use of "Jesus Christ" as an exclamation in you author notes, due to my personal reiigious beliefs. It didn't help matters that, later in this same chapter, Ron suggested that the empty pantry in the home of the murdered muggles might have been due to their "fasting for one of those nutter Muggle holidays", also, coincidentally a part of my religious practice. Given the overarching view of the Potter series of tolerance and respect for all well-intentioned individuals and groups, I find this causal disrespect to be inconsistent with those value, and a distraction from the story to which they add nothing. How you speak in your personal life is, of course, your own business. But when you publish for the public, you may wish to be more circumspect in your choice of language and which of your personal values may --or may not-- be relevant to your message.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I am sorry that my choice of language has upset you. I did a quick search and only registered two uses of the term, one being in this chapter's author's note, and another used in Chapter Eleven during a Christian wedding ceremony. I think that the function of Ron's comment in Chapter Seven was to show that members of the Wizarding world are still largely ignorant of their Muggle neighbors, and because of Ron's reputation as being somewhat thoughtless in his choice of words, this was how that ignorance came out. I think, for Ron in this instance, the word 'nutter' was used because it's difficult for him to imagine a level of faith, ritual, or devotion where you would deny yourself food. I personally believe all religion is a beautiful thing, despite having a complicated relationship with my own, and so I will remove the use of the word nutter, as I can see how it is insensitive.



Reviewer: indywriter Signed Date: 2018.05.30 - 07:52PM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

starstarstarstarstar

Exhausting! Terrifying! Beautiful! So many emotions with so much going on!

I'm really not sure what to think about Robards. Is he good or bad? I really get more of a bad vibe from him, and not just because he knows he has a certain shelf-life with the new minister. I'm not entirely clear on how the taboo would come back on Harry. In a sense, I get it (restricting speech and all), but considering what happened at the ceremony the taboo would let them investigate.

But the real issue here is poor Ron! What a horrible curse. I had to keep telling myself that this isn't an AU story (and may have double checked along the way), so you wouldn't kill Ron off. But I was still worried. If this is what it takes to get Harry and Ginny back together, I bet Ron is REALLY hoping they don't break up again! lol

But what a great ending to this chapter!

Author's Response: I think where I was trying to get with Robards is that he's a member of the "Old Order" ie) not bad like Voldemort's regime, but corrupt and more concerned with his own power than trying to do good through his role in the Ministry. Things aren't so black and white, you know? I'm not so great at subtext so it probably didn't come through as well as I meant it to, but I've been reading a lot of le Carré lately :D I'm sorry for the lack of clarification about the Taboo. Writing this fic certainly caused me to realize that JKRs magic is no easy thing to conceptualize. The rules are hard! Your reviews are making a rather mundane Wednesday very special :)



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 08:32PM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

starstarstarstarstar

Outstanding chapter, with Harry and Ginny finally back together! Excellent, extremely exciting action and intense emotions!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 02:12PM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

starstarstarstarstar

Not sure why Robards is being such a jerk but he is partly responsible for what happened --- and Harry was spot on! Hope Ron is okay and I'm assuming he is if he was able to propose to Hermoine! I hope they got Rowle but if not his days are numbered! Can't wait for the next chapter! (I actually read this first on the other site) :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!



Reviewer: Celtics534 Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 02:29PM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

starstarstarstarstar

Oh Golly Miss Molly!

Maiming! Hospital Shagging! A Reunion! A Freaking Marriage Proposal!

This is all I wanted and more. I can't wait to see how the marriage idea pans out. Will Ron chicken out? Will Harry freak out?

Also, awesome way to reunite Harry and Ginny. Using their passion and fear to drive them out of their stubbornness. I love it! Having someone almost die does make their reason for a break up obsolete. Well done!

Author's Response: thank you for this wonderful review!! reading all the events of the chapter listed after one another like that certainly makes it sound melodramatic :)



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 12:51PM Title: Chapter 7 - Running Up That Hill

starstarstarstarstar

Love the dramatic end. K. However, is there a chance of shooting both Robards and Savage withHarry’sbrand of Sectumsempra? Those idiots should not be running the Auror Dept in the first place!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! Haha possibly!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear